Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Hotel 4 stars

Kungstorget 9, Centrum, 411 17 Gothenburg, Sweden

#5 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 782 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location and nice design boutique hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaness of the room quite disappointing - around the sofa it was dusty and cozy shower was not very clean (black spots and "something" ugly on the wall). What has got me was 1 pc of chocolate praline next to the free bottle of water. It was hard to understand that the chocolate wasn't for free. So I had it. Very mixed feelings to get the call from the hotel just in the plane, that you haven't paid one 1 pc of chocolate and they shall charge you 20 SEK for that. Oops. The hotel like this doesn't need to hide things for extra charge like that. The cost for the room was 1.520 SEK/night to complete the picture...

    Great location and nice design boutique hotel. My first stay was in the higher class room and it was just superb. My second stay was in a standard room and the bed was still greatly comfortable and possibility to open the window to get fresh air is always appreciated. The breakfast was again amazing. But...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was nothing for me to not like.

    this is the best hotel that i ever stayed in my life. everything was amazing from the location,the staff, the room, the view and the pool. there is nothing that i can say except book this hotel if possible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    On THE other hand THE rooms were very clean with big Windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE corridors were smelly all THE time making it a Little uncomfortable. THE breakfast concearning THE money we spent was poor.

    On THE other hand THE rooms were very clean with big Windows. THE staff was very polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, ok room. Bar and restaurent slow and disgusting! Only reccomended for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throughout our stay they let tables be with leftovers - leaving a constant svirm of big and small birds invade the outside restaurent, which needless to say is disgusting!

    Perfect location, ok room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable accommodations in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful!

    The hotel is beautiful with a good restaurant/bar offering indoor and outdoor seating. The breakfast was delicious, coffee and cappucchinos were excellent, and location is close to enough to walk most places. Loved the big comfortable chairs in the lobby with giant windows where we could people watch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    I wouldn't stay anywhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The very clever design of the hotel facilities show a well thought out use of small spaces to the maximum benefit and effect. The central location is absolutely perfect for access to all parts of the city either on foot or by the tram and bus stops outside the hotel door. The eating and socializing area and main shopping areas are also outside the front door so there's no excuse to not embrace everything this fabulous city has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    A curate’s egg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was expensive. I dislike the practice of ‘dynamic pricing’ which means at certain times, such as when there is an Ed Sheeran concert in town, the price of a room almost doubles. As booking.com gives a final price for the whole stay rather than for each night, you are not aware of this price difference, so, for that reason I would probably book directly with the hotel in future and ask for a breakdown before booking. We were told this practice is common in Sweden, but we didn’t find it anywhere else, The bathroom couldn’t decide whether it was a wet room or not. The screen was inadequate so water went everywhere. It would be best to provide a long handled squeegee like they do in Finland so you can dry the floor. The much vaunted swimming pool is little more than a plunge pool so don’t think you are going to be able to take a morning swim.

    Location was perfect, near the centre, the railway station and a tram hub. The room was spacious and very clean and it was quiet at all times. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was quite good and ingredients were well sourced. Waiting staff were delightful and very helpful. Porridge was made specially for us even when they were busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, that’s all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark hotel, specially the corridors. The wifi doesn’t work well on the rooms.

    The location is perfect to explore the city. The personal is really nice and helpful. Toileries in the room are amazing. There is a nice restaurant on the same building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall "fair to good"
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom layout impractical for doing serious work on laptop and/or hand written work. Fine for lounging and leisure, but no "desk element" at which one could sit comfortably with a chair at right height for keyboard work. Bedroom otherwise very pleasant, especially walk in shower "wet room" area.

    Co-operation of staff in providing a late dinner for my colleague and myself shortly after official closing time of restaurant at 22 00 hrs. Also very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    My second home
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find anything negative. Perhaps better lights around the mirrors for putting on makeup, and some way to cancel out the noise from the corridors. We were woken up twice early morning by fussy children.

    This property is among the best ones I've ever stayed at, all categories, and without a doubt my first hand choice in Gothenburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Love Gothenburg and the people. Have stayed in Avalon Hotel before and always enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room very nice, clean and practical, but the bed was so soft, consequently neither of us got a good nights sleep during our two night stay. The shower itself was good but very awkward to get in and out of. Bad design.

    Staff pleasant and helpful. Great location. Breakfast staff and breakfast very good. Night porter very pleasant. I visit Gothenburg twice a year, and will stay again but not in room 26.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    We had a good time in Gothenburg a time the Avalon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small side. Also had ordered a takeaway breakfast on last day as we had a very early departure. But there was no breakfast nor any record of us having booked it so this was disappointing.

    Location was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    The kettle and coffee making facilities placed on top side...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kettle and coffee making facilities placed on top side of the cupboard...strange. items on the tray may be drop or fall as it need to bring the whole tray thing down....really not advise for old person or people a little different in height.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Great time in Göteborg
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not so good Some rooms are far from the elevator Smells smoked in the room

    Great breakfast! Fantastic location! Kindest staffs! Nice equipments!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Bed is comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no desk for working in the room. I only saw on the last day, that there is a small table and chair in the closet which can be set up for working.

    Bed is comfy. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    My excellent hotel choice made all the difference to how I experienced Gothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The location was fantastic -- central, yet quiet, and close to trams, shops, cafes and restaurants, the food hall, Stadsteater, and the airport-bus stop. My room was comfortable and well appointed, and I liked the feng shui touches throughout the hotel. Staff were efficient and charming and the breakfast buffet a treat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Great Position, incredible Staff & Worth Staying a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel itself is getting old. The bathroom was a little small but adequate. The Pillows were hopeless

    The Staff at the Hotel were incredible. So welcoming and always happy to help anyway they could. I broke a glass and after one phone call they arrived in the room within minutes to fix. The balcony in our suite was superb, overlooking all of Gothenburg City.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Bed was very comfortable, room was immaculate, location was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop pool and hottub are only available during the daytime. Also they are attached to the penthouse suite so if someone rents the suite, the pool/spa are closed to the rest of the hotel guests.

    Bed was very comfortable, room was immaculate, location was great. Complimentary sparkling water and chocolates in the room each day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely, relaxing stay - would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twice in the bar I was ignored - once eventually I went up to the bar and ordered and the second time, when the staff were attending to the restaurant I left. A small point on an otherwise lovely stay and mentioned only so that you can improve service here and score 10.

    Very well located hotel, handy for the main sites to visit and smart shopping area. Staff extremely welcoming and friendly throughout the hotel. Very clean and comfortable; super breakfast; I wanted for nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Cool AF
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    I would recommend The Avalon as the place to stay in Gothenburg. Location,style,professional staff . I have stayed there on two previous occassions and have always appreciated my choice and the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    excellent designer hotel but not to everyones taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being an award winning hotel I personally didnt like the decor and found it rather cold and not cosy. Lime green net curtains! Greeny velvet chairs that didnt quite go withe the green stripes in the curtains. shaggy tassles alng the corridors instead if skirting boards......

    We wanted a quiet room. As it was a Free day night the staff found us a gorgeous d quiet room facing a small internal courtyard which was perfect if a shame we didn't have the view and light available in the street side rooms. Excellent choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is quite expensive. Selection of sweets at breakfast could be better.

    Very bright and spacious room with pleasant decor. Quiet yet in the bustling city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    Extra comfy pillows in many sizes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little pricey, compared to also good offer around Corridors not as new renovated as rooms

    Extra comfy pillows in many sizes. Little nice details like offered small chocolates in the room Luxury feeling in room Amazingly spotless cleanness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    Design-focused with a great breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central location of the hotel made it possible to hear the parties at the local bars from the room, but it was not so loud that I could not sleep through it.

    The breakfast buffet had an extensive selection, and it was open until 12pm(noon) on Sunday. Finally, there was a hotel with breakfast hours that aligned with my desire to sleep late on Sundays! The valet left bottles of water in my car upon its return to me, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    My third stay at the Avalon and was great as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My third stay at the Avalon and was great as always! This is my favourite hotel in Gothenburg. I had a single room for this stay and was very big and bright with 3 windows. The wifi was great and the bed was comfortable with 3 different pillows to choose from. The shower was brilliant and the shower products were lovely. The breakfast was a great selection as always.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.5
    Good location, nice staff; bad wifi, cold room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at all the first night, and was patchy when it did work. The room was too cold - woke up in the middle of the night. No way to adjust heating, one duvet provided only.

    Good location, nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice choice in downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Too far from elevator to my room. 2. The aisle feels chaos. 3. Room was comfortable but a little too small.

    1. Good location. 2. Colorful style. 3. Nice breakfast. 4. Nice free drinks in room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again, great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding on the beds were really comfortable but the beds were to narrow, even for single beds. Room service menu could be much better and the meals were really small for the price.

    Liked the room, bathroom and size of the room and the amenities were great. Lots of outlets, iron and board and so on. We're leaving very early for the airport and the staff went out of their way to put together a nice breakfast for the taxi ride. Great customer service, loved that

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant, friendly, well positioned Hotel in Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything.

    Absolutely brilliant hotel. The most helpful and friendliest of staff. My wife and I spent 4 days here over Xmas. Outstanding location, everything within walking distance. Can not fault in any way. Very comfortable well equipped rooms (ours was a premium room} even the fact all rooms are twins, just seemed in keeping with the relaxing Feng Shui theme. Super breakfast, all tastes catered for.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Great location, good size room, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good size room, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    A very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A water flood in a room close to mine made the corridor uncomfortable. A guest made this by purspose.

    The bed!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Design n cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa

    Design n cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    So close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great - no complaints.

    So close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Everything about the hotel was beautiful and perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing

    Everything about the hotel was beautiful and perfect. The breakfast was especially fresh and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    The room had everything I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The best hotel I stayed in in a long time

    The room had everything I needed. Very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    great central hotel, good design, great people
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    kindness and availability of staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything, but the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasen’t that nice.

    Everything, but the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of bedroom and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Room, bed, shower, pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very limited vegan breakfast option

    Room, bed, shower, pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for location and very smart hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, hotel clean and impressive. Breakfast was so amazing. We will be back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location but very loud and could not sleep both nights due to the loud music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym

    Great breakfast. Beautifully designed rooms. Very central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful hote in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hote in a great location! Very friendly staff and yummy beakfast. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Plush and stylish
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing artwork - cosy rooms with most luxurious spa bath

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It next the metro station, and shopping centers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms were small.

    Great location. Staff were accomodating and made good restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Superb hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable beds! Clean modern rooms. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in our room was rather dim.

    Good location, modern design, great breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Art
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark Hallways and Parking

    Décor - art

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Feng shui hotel, the sleep was refreshing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feng shui hotel, the sleep was refreshing. Liked the interior. Staff is super nice and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of bedroom in hotel overlooked a fast food outlet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great Place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning needs improvements

    Excellent neighbourhood, location and room view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Great location, staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location; helpful staff; very good breakfast; only stayed 1 night; booked 2 rooms for family of 4; clean and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    I enjoy my self and thats enought !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.5
    Personalen glömde ge mig rabattcheck i matsalen trots att de...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personalen glömde ge mig rabattcheck i matsalen trots att de hjälpte mig att boka bord.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.1
    The design
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parked every morning right in the front door of the hotel, very convenient!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.2
    The location is superb, about 500 metres from the train but...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very crowded.

    The location is superb, about 500 metres from the train but central to so many activities and adjacent to a canal. The room was very comfortable, great shower and bath and a comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    I travel with a kettle and pillow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I travel with a kettle and pillow. At the Avalon I did n't need either. Theirs were better than mine. Super clean rooms and an excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    The beds were comfy, the location great, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was all good - we shall be back

    The beds were comfy, the location great, the staff were friendly and the breakfast had everything you might want - including multi vitamins! It extra touches were nice - when we got our car back from the valet, there were two bottles of complimentary water left for our onward journey.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    We liked the central location with the close proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our visit coincided with Christmas and on the 25th there were all night celebrations from street revellers all in high spirits. However we understand this happens only twice a year at Christmas and New Year. Our other two nights 23rd and 24th Dec were surprisingly quiet for a major city centre.

    We liked the central location with the close proximity to public transport. The bedroom was well laid out in Swedish design. The hotel decor is very pleasing and the background music soothing.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Amazing location, varied breakfast and really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a moderate single room which felt abit basic - would like a higher grades room next time

    Amazing location, varied breakfast and really friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    It is a 7 year old designer hotel at the very center of town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Am I being too picky? The internet was too slow to stream videos. The shower faucet was set so that the water could not get not truly steaming hot. The white leatherette headboard had slight dark patches from people's heads. The shower didn't have a door or a curtain and the bathroom floor got wet. I would give a perfect 10 if they fixed these things, and I might still go back if they didn't

    It is a 7 year old designer hotel at the very center of town, with a great free breakfast and lots of interesting features.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller

    While the central location is great because it's easy to get to anywhere, it's also on a street with many bars which are open until very late, which means loud noise of music and people until 1am every night (except Sunday night, which was nice and quiet). The air conditioner could not be turned off. The décor in the hallways is weird and kinda creepy - bad drawings of naked women without pupils. The tap water have a very weird taste. I had to buy bottled water every day.

    Friendly staff. Brought a space heater when I needed it because the AC couldn't be turned off. Wifi worked well, the bed was very comfy, and the view was great. The location is central enough and near many public transit stops, which makes getting to any part of the city simple and easy.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Fourth time I stayed at Avalon, firsrt time having a single...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pool area opens not before 12.00 and closes alreday at 18.00.

    Fourth time I stayed at Avalon, firsrt time having a single room. Room very comfortable and pretty large to be a single room. Outdoor restuarant very nice. Outdoor pool spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Location unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking expensive.

    Location unbeatable. Funky decor with great art. Service great with little extras thrown in. Rooftop terrace and pool lovely though it was too cold and wet for us to use it.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Very extensive breakfast and great location in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel favours design over comfort - so the breakfast room was incredibly cramped, the twin beds very narrow and most of all the shower was in the same (small) room as the toilet so it all flooded every day

    Very extensive breakfast and great location in the centre of town

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    The location is first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is first class.50 yards from airport bus stop and close to tram and city bus stops. Rooms well configured with all possible items tucked away in feng shui style. Good restaurant and breakfast. Staff very helpful.Free WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    Location is great, good restaurant and terrific staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Housekeeping was slow in doing rooms, not their fault, just seems a bit late in the day. Pool not worth mentioning small and a bit of an afterthought.

    Location is great, good restaurant and terrific staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    10
    Practically everything.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    If the room was bit bigger, a longer stay would be more agreeable. For several days says it is quite comfortable, though.

    Practically everything. When we arrived there was construction in front of the building and the desk clerk immediately suggested to put us in the room on the other side of the hotel.

There are also 54 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: