Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aveny Bed & Breakfast 2 stars

Södra Kungsgatan 31, 802 51 Gävle, Sweden

#16 of 18 hotels in Gävle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 824 B&B reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast (not continental) is fine, but it is a pity that the room is not equipped with a kettle (otherwise it would be possible to make tea or coffee).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 6 nights. The breakfast was very good lots of choice and the coffee was lovely and hot. The girls working there were very helpful. Fantastic place to stay as it's location was just great. Close to shops bars restaurants and walking distance to the station . Will definitely be using this hotel again in the near future. Thank you Aveny .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Sound isolation is not very good - we could hear people in the corridor and it was noisy when people were having breakfast. Also, as warned, the nightclub under us was noisy on a Saturday night

    -Even though the facilities were old, everything was clean, comfortable and functioning -The room was warm, spacious and cozy with comfortable beds -We asked for vegan breakfast alternatives beforehand and were provided with soymilk and milk-free margarine -Good location close to everything -Price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room a bit small, but cozy, tv signal bit weak, good hotel for just one night,

    We came late around 11 pm, and owner was very kind and give us code to get into hotel, and instruction how to get key and wifi code, and where to park car, perfect telephone reception room was ok, we had the windows on the street, which was noisy in the morning, but noise get in only if you open the window, otherwise it was ok, no noise very good breakfast, with one adittional very nice breakfast room with sofa, for those who prefer such sitting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is in the center. There is coffee and tea for free. The heating system worked and we could dry our clothes that were wet by the rain ridding our motorbike.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible noise. Extremely loud music from nearby location, leading to vibrations in the walls/Windows, smell of cigarettesmoke in the toilet. You could hear people talk in the corridor. Doors slamming. Bad TVreception. Bad coffee.

    Nice staff. The bed ok. Price low but still not worth the money sadly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only 7m2 room, blue colored!, window was not to open, smelled old cig and snaps, i got a panik attack, had to leave and to book another hotel

    norhing at all

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the area in the evening. Decoration was a bit tired. Sofa bed was not very comfortable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice continental breakfast. Seating area meant we could leave the kids to sleep whilst we sat nearby reading.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is as good as it may get. The location and condition of the hotel is poor, and cannot be improved. Stay was comfortable, and everything was reasonable within the price parameters. Only breakfast may be improved a little bit.

    It is quite cheap, free parking is an extra plus in Sweden and is quite a relief. Parking meters are extremely difficult, very expensive at some locations and ALL ARE IN SWEDISH.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My particular room had venetian blinds but no black out curtains, which might be desirable this far north. On Saturday night only a faint but inescapable rhythm arose from a nearby subterranean nightclub.

    I considered it to be good value for a budget hotel but perhaps before long they will be thinking about refurbishment. The staff were helpful both generally and particularly with storing my baggage. The room was large (larger than actually booked). The linen and bathroom were clean, the water was hot, the breakfast was adequate. Ten minutes walk from the centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gal working at reception was not very welcoming or helpful. The outside of the hotel was very dingy looking as were the entryways. Our room could have been cleaner.

    The location was good for walking around and finding a place to have dinner. Our room was comfortable and the shower was very nice. In the end it turned out to be an ok place to stay but I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style Hotel, very friendly staff, good location, ok breakfast. Dont expect something fancy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 27 is a desaster.

    Breakfast as always good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old room 5, noisy doors from other rooms did me awake.

    Breakfast OK

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple and effective

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    non-smoking room ok, but I don't like this kind of floor, wooden floor is much better than the carpet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    love the staff and its easy access to everywhere. also staff been very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is very outdated if you care about that kind of thing.

    Very nice staff and easy check-in/out process.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled bad because of the piping. This place should be refreshed

    The receptionnist was very kind and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    A friendly, clean hotel in a very nice town with wonderful walking along the river. It's close to restaurants and transport

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower

    Bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with many choices of food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the room of my friends there were obviously smell of mold.

    Nice small hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was not working properly and in the shower was black mould.

    The staff was very nice and the breakfast was okey. It was warm in my room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Was good location for what I needed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place needs remodeling baaaadly. Smell in room. Electrical system felt a bit dangerous.

    Location, free wifi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet was not working throughout my stay and it wasn't fixed too bad

    The staff were very nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not ready when arrived during the night, breakfast was poor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing worth commenting.

    General neatness of hotel, good breakfast and friendliness of staff, plus it was very close to relatives we were visiting and they had on site parking

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, excellent location, easy access and good parking. Stored my frozen salmon in their freezer over night, and waited for me despite late check in.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is available from 07:00 Mon to Fri but only from 08:00 Sat & Sun which for us meant no breakfast on Sunday as we had to see something at 08:00. Did not appear to be any opportunity to request earlier breakfast.

    If arriving late the reception is not staffed and a code is needed for entry, make sure hotel send you the code and leave room key on reception desk. Excellent value for money and good breakfast. near train station and plenty of eating opportunities nearby. Has car parking.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    /

    I am a student moving in to Gävle and it was a really good plan to stay for a night before going to my apartment. The room was comfortable and with a lot of space and the breakfast was surprisingly good! Very friendly and serviable staff. Well situated and calm. For that price, it is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Morning bread was a bit stale

    Location, free parking

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Dragging suitcase on stairs

    Service

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely friendly staff. I had a frozen salmon which they helped store in their freezer overnight, and waited for me despite my late arrival.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Group

    windows were to the street - and it is pretty noisy even during night time

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Near restaraunts,shops centre

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom, no paperinvoice.

    Near to city centre, supermarkets and trainstation, spatious room.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was good andit was near to shops and cafes

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Aveny Bed & Breakfast traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: