Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aveny 4 stars

Rådhusesplanaden 14, 903 28 Umeå, Sweden

#6 of 19 hotels in Umeå

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1839 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow cases smelled as if they had not been changed for a long time. It might have been the washing powder or something else, but I do hope that you check that the cleaning ladies change them after each guest.

    Good breakfast. I was also very happy to get a small breakfast outside the normal breakfast time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free mineral water in room but no bottle opener! kettle lead too short - had to put kettle on the floor. just minor details

    Super breakfast with a very wide choice on offer. I really liked the little dumbell weights in the room - nice touch!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double bed might seem to be a bit small for other guests. Lift was quite loud, even to hear a few rooms away.

    Room was not quite big but we hed everything we needed, including free tea facilities. We liked the modern style of the room. We loved the breakfast buffet and the good location in the centre of the city!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location Comfortable clean rooms with great views Good wifi Parking facilities Freindly and professtional staff Good brakfast. The restaurant and bar is also very good, and the live music (Piano) is a big plus. All in all a great location right in the heart of the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room was a bit small for one week but I should have picked a bigger one (at a higher price though) Make sure you pre-order your taxi the night before because it is very difficult to get a taxi in the morning in Umea especially when it is icy.

    Great customer service! Close to great pubs & restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room are small, even if much cheaper if compared to equally sized rooms in other hotels. No wardrobe in room

    Excellent breakfast and nice staff. Excellent Quality/cost ratio

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-I could not use the Wifi in my room, so if you book there for business porposes, make shure that you get a room from which you can work online. 2-They charge you extra 100 SEK/ night for parking AND there is NO connection between the garage and the hotel so you have to walk about 200-250 meters 3-alot of noise from outside ... the ones of you who need silence to get a good sleep, will not be so lucky here

    Great location. Perfect Breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not fond of the color scheme in this hotel.

    Good-sized room, nice bed, and good breakfast. I booked the hotel for its location since I was going to take the train fairly early in the morning - it is the closest hotel to the central train station in Umeå so I recommend it for that reason.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no free parking even though it was advertised. We had to park on a street (it was fine because we found a spot right in front of the main doors, but we had to pay for the parking).

    Really good location, clean and inspiring outlook throughout. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A sink inside the bathroom itself would have felt more sanitary. So that I don't have to open the bathroom door handle with my dirty hands.

    The TV worked! other hotels often have technical issues with channels and stuff. Quiet rooms. Loved the breakfast, so much to choose from. Great coffee, biscuits and eggs. The cleaning staff was top of the top awesome!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were rather small. Its a design hotel and the bathroom solution a bit odd but functional and ingeniuos to spare space. Worst, could not open the window.

    The location is near the Central station, convenient if you come and go with train. And its a short walk tp city centre. Breakfast very good and the lobby nice and roomly with free coffee/tea and newspapers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small and the room was a bit warmer than we would have liked.

    Excellent location hotel next to the train station which was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms were comfortable but fairly simple. The breakfast was excellent! Really nice running trail close by down at the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I reserved a double for a few extra SEK expecting a larger bed - but double in Sweden = two singles :) LOL

    V. short walk from station, near the downtown core, close to restaurants and shops. Funky 70's lighting and carpets in hallways. Access to full-sized gym and sauna. B'fast spread was wonderful. Pub with live music - but not heard in rooms above.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were two single beds put together which created a "hole" between the beds (not fun at all). Also, the bed linen was coarse and not soft by any means and there were no comforter. The breakfast was also quite small , no pancakes but eggs, bacon and (undercooked) meatballs and swedish prince sausage. Also, our room was unfortunately located above a pub and the noice was quite...something. We also had a weird door in our room that (probably) connects to the room next door.

    The bath, staff was friendly, easy access to town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar was not open at the time I arrived 10PM. However the night porter server beer and non alkoholic bewerage. And that was good enough.

    Nice rom, some What diffrence from other hotels I have been visitingen. Quite at the 4th flor and a view ower the neighbors roofs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to have a bottle opener for the sparkling water in the room.

    Loved the mini croissants and the whole breakfast buffe with fresh orange juice!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like all of it, but we have been visiting here several times through the years and the facility will soon face the need for renewal.

    The atmosphere, the staff and the central location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't told that a reservation was required for the restaurant. When I tried to eat there, was told " all booked up". Disappointing. Restaurant/ bar closed on Sunday.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent wifi

    Generally very comfortable, late checkout, excellent breakfast, free tea/coffee in lobby & room, helpful staff. 300 Mtr from train/bus station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodations were comfortable. the room was a good size and so was the bathroom. The bathroom was very modern, upgraded, but not sterile. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking arrangement at the hotel was not ideal with limited spaces available in a separate garage. Alternative was a multi-storey car park a short walk away from the hotel.

    Staff were very helpful and were always available to answer any questions we had at anytime of the day. Breakfast was superb with a great choice of food on offer to cater for all tastes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On friday evening quite noisy room on first floor. Cars were driving just above the window. At night it was not so noisy anymore.

    We loved breakfest. Hotel was very comfort and nice. Great location, many restaurants and shops near.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was very friendly I strongly recommend Hotel Aveny to everyone

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good breakfast , staffs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To little info that the breakfast on saturdays starts very late. We had an early flight, no breakfast 😩😒

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaletten är under all kritik

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too cool in the night in the room, lunch just buffet and to pay in advance...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was full of dogs hair and dusty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room No outlet by the bed No outlet in the bathroom

    Location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water crane outside of bathroom, bathroom really small

    Bed was comfy and cleanliness was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast, everything you need in the room, close to centre and busstation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to hotel computer for those with no wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no aircondition in the room.

    The bed was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel does not offer parking.

    Very nice place. Great price! Close to the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms and a great breakfast, with a very good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fried eggs...

    Very clean rom and fantastik view over town.Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A quite nice hotel downtown Umeå.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft matrasses

    Good location, all facilities you want.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was all over the place.

    Super gym! Truly excellent. Strongly recommend this place to the fitness mad people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People who services, was amazing, very friendly in the same time professional, too! Tack

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive. Price doesn't match with what you get.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extra comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway looked a little bit "disco"-ish

    The Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was warm and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    All ok

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was disaster. Happy to have mobil tv!.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room

    New and colorful lighting decorate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom. The water goes all over the place and floods the floor.

    The service and attitude of the staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was wonderful. Beds comfy. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and attractive design all through.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice, a bit small, but perfect for this trip.

    A good hotel for a one night overstay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel we've been to on our trip!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good location. Friendly staff. Nice and quiet room, although the window was to the street (not too much traffic). Definitely a hotel I will choose also for my future trips to Umeå.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room wasn't very sound-proof, we could hear the guest next door moving around and coughing. Will not say what he might have heard.

    Elegant, nice colors, modern atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were unable to use the Jacuzzi in our suite because it was clogged. We were compensated though.

    Wonderful breakfast, helpful staff, very comfortable beds and beautiful suite! We only had a minor issue and were helped right away.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Couple

    The shower cum toilet area was very small. Only found out when departing that the bottle opener for the free spring water was hanging in there!

    Staff at reception most professional and helpful. The room was modern & restful. Security to the upper floors via the lift was only with a room card which is an excellent idea. Being in Sweden the price was good value. Very pleased with our booking.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Lack of parking Curtains did not keep light out very well and in the summer its virtually light all night. Black out blinds would be a great improvement

    Friendly staff Good Location Good food and drink in the attached pub

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was fine. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. The room clean and tidied daily by pleasant and helpful staff. No issues at all with lifts, food, noise or coming in late.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The hotel was just a few minutes walk from the station but alos close to the town centre. The room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the heart of Umea a very clean and comfortable hotel, never mind the somehow wired layout, the rooms are comfortable and clean! Friendly staff and really good breakfast! The right choice to have a propper treat for a weekend in town!

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of privacy from bathroom to bedroom. A blind or thicker curtains would have been better! Some furnishings could be renewed.

    We, mother and daughter, had a great stay!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't know !

    I liked that the hotel was very near to the central station, the room was very clean and the breakfast was included. The staff is sympathic.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be better.

    Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Weights (dumbbells) in the room! No excuses not to train a little while travelling...

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast had everything you could wish for and the and the staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food was great, even at the stroke of 22:00 when the kitchen was supposed to close. Thanks again.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi service was very poor, rooms are also fairly small.

    Great restaurant, but rather expensive. The adjoining pub was great!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff was extremely helpful at any time of the day! Lovely packed sandwiches as our flight was very early and therefore missed breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price

    Room

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    nice, clean, good price and we even got a free beer !

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast buffet. Nice Irish pub around the corner

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loved this hotel. Excellent location. High quality fast WiFi. Very comfortable.

There are also 55 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Aveny traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: