Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Barken Viking 3 stars

Lilla Bommens Torg 10, Centrum, 411 04 Gothenburg, Sweden

#8 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1578 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Rather odd place to stay, so I suggest look beyond simple review scores. It might be exactly what yo
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All very odd here and has a distinct feeling of end of season, or maybe a business being run down. The room was very shabby in places (damaged wire casing around edge of room, drill holes that weren't covered or filled), and some maintenance issues (portholes that weren't possible to close, flush on loo a bit temperamental, sink very slow to drain.. you get the idea). Breakfast was also very odd. Nice spread laid out, but no staff on hand (which I needed to check allergen information). Or at least I didn't think there were any staff, until the only other two actual guests got up and left, and then the lady who was lounging with a coffee on her phone got up to clear the table. I had to ask and wait for a napkin/serviette. Yet same time lovely crockery specific to the ship. All quite bizarre. Bar was closed. We were allowed on the deck when we asked, but there wasn't really much point being on the boat without that open.

    Was novel to stay on a boat. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and room was very clean. If you like quirky, this might suit. If it's peak summer and maybe the place is livelier then this might suit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can get hot drinks etc in reception - sometimes they were out of coffee / milk. I would have preferred in room facility for this, or at least to make sure they always had the supplies available. Usually there was plenty, just a couple of times it needed refilling

    If you travel a lot and get sick of the same hotels then this is a breath of fresh air. I love staying in a cabin, the whole hotel has bags of character. The room is comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable and different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite having emailed in advance our late arrival, we still arrived to find the boat completely shut up, and had to telephone for the access code. It would have been nice if this could have been emailed to us in advance, as we were tired and wet (it was raining) when we arrived, and our mobile phones nearly out of battery....!

    A quirky type of hotel, well located. Interesting to look around the boat itself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    This is what I hoped it would be from seeing fotos and reading specifications at Booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One should know that the restaurant was only open for breakfast at our stay, and your car must be parked in a nearby shopping center Nordstan (450 m walk).

    The lokation near city center and staying at and old sailing ship. The breakfast is everything you need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    A fun alternative to regular hotel room & just being on the water, but not adrift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our cabin was against the shock absorbers secured to the hull - so you could hear the hull flexing against the immovable shore.

    The novelty of being on ship's cabin was thrilling and have drinks on deck below the masts as sunset occurred over the harbor. The public room decor was excellent. The cabin was small, but efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Location was surpurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulty in finding property. One thing when arriving with our cart, but even a taxi driver had difficulty. In part due to road construction in this section of Goteborg! Carpeting needs replacing. Property has seen better days. On line booking system left little flexibility when tried to stay in same room.

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Quirky accommodation in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a bit of TLC. Bed not very comfortable. Hotel took payment from my card before I arrived and they do not accept cash.

    Unusual place to stay, close to city centre, train station and bus stop to and from airport. Big room, good shower and good selection of items at breakfast. Internet connection good in room and common areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Fun, relaxing and completely original experience in Sweden.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs were dry WiFi was not the best

    Amazing old ship - beautiful cabin rooms overlooking the water. Breakfast was hearty with loads of options. Great bar on the top deck with good beer. Very relaxing experience overall - very close walk to Gothenburg central station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    This “hotel on a ship” is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This “hotel on a ship” is a gem. It has a history of its own and such a lovely place to stay. It made our stay in Gothenburg even better. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Quirky and a unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold attitude of staff (maybe they had a very hard day). Bar and restaurant closed on our first night. A pity as we arrived around 6pm hungry and thirsty. Took our money elsewhere both nights.

    A very good experience for a quirky kind of stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    3.8
    Serious problem of bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs in the room ruined our stay; even the luggage had to be disenfected; Floppy service; Cleanliness was a serious issue- the interior of the ship was rather shabby and unclean.

    Well located; emblematic ship

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, we thought that the deck & outdoor areas could use a little TLC.

    The location was great. It was clean, comfortable & the reception staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    I can't say thing bad, then I don't expect a personal servant at my beck and call at the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guy who mans the Crows Nest must have taken his annual holidays during the time of my visit (joking)

    For a start I Love boats. The fact that Barking Viking is moored less than 5 minutes walk from the Central Station and Bus Terminal, made it easy to get to from Landvetter Airport. Across the street from the main station is Brunnsparken tram stop, with trams constantly leaving and arriving to access all parts of the city. Likewise, walk for about 2 minutes up the harbour and you're on the main street, for shops and restaurants. All the staff were extremely courteous and very helpful. Couldn't ask for more

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    myself and my sister travelled across Scandinavia over 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was very quiet in the night, no reception and not even sure if there was security. felt a bit eerie down stairs but we were there mid-week so maybe it just wasn't that busy. still loved our stay though.

    myself and my sister travelled across Scandinavia over 2 weeks and this was probably our favourite accommodation. the rooms are cosy and quirky, good size. great showers too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Lacks a bit of "boat feeling"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set aside the fact that you're actually on a ship and that you can't open the windows, you quickly forget that you're on a ship. I don't know if it was because of the bad weather but there was no way to go on deck and as far as I could tell when the bar is open it is also open to the general public.

    Good location, close to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was great with easy access to the airport bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are a bit thin, but the neighborhood was very quiet (except for the bar on the deck).

    The location was great with easy access to the airport bus and the city center. I loved the ship's atmosphere, but I think it had seen better days. Still, it's a good value for the money I paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    it is a hotel on what used to be a Viking ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing- the rooms are on a slant which may bother some people. for me it all added to the charm and quirkiness

    it is a hotel on what used to be a Viking ship. it was quirky, fun, clean. excellent selection of food at breakfast. showers were great, staff lovely and in great location excellent value for money- I loved it !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    The boat is very cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bathroom looked a bit old however they were clean and the shower was good.

    The boat is very cool. Rooms were comfortable and breakfast was very good! Staff were very friendly and let us check out an hour later on request. Tea and coffee available from reception. Bar area upstairs is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Unique! I love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It's a unique place to spent the night or having a drink at the bar or have a nice dinner in the restaurant on the deck. This the most amazing hotel with restaurant in Gothenburg. It's in the heart of this amazing Swedish city. Once you enter to check in, there will be a very friendly receptionist who will help you with all the information you need to know with a smile. Breathing the clean air what's created by the water makes you already a happy person. Public transport is close by: Tram, bus, boat and the central station is also very near by foot. Wanna paddle or rent a kayak? You will find it also in the same street. I recommend everybody who looks for accommodation in Gothenburg this hotel. ★★★★★

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    If you like boats, charm and comfort - Stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only issue was that the pillow top of the bed kept sliding everywhere, I'd wake up with it, and me, half off the bed! I know I move a lot when I sleep though! It would be nice to have an extra blanket in the room, on the last night I woke up freezing and had to use my coat for warmth. It would be nice to see a billboard with the history of the ship on it, I ended up reading about it on wikipedia, but it'd be a nice addition to the reception I think.

    It was exactly as I imagined a 110-year-old ship to be, warm, cosy and comfortable. It had a lot of charm and I found the room small but well-laid out. I loved the portholes, they just look charming and give a surprising amount of light and fresh air. The breakfast was a fairly average continental breakfast with plenty for everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Charming accommodation with delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Fantastic breakfast, gorgeous deck to sit and relax on at the end of the day at the bar. Love the charm of the boat with porthole windows and rustic cabin. Good location to get around from. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Good for a very short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window cannt be open. Feels very dry near the end of June. Seems to be a family business. Staff are polite but there isn't much of service. No napkins during breakfast and no staff in sight for a long while.

    Stayed here for one night for a different experience. Simple facilities and clean room. Location easy to find with 5-10min walk to the central station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    So much potential as a unique property that is well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful this property takes payment before you arrive!! The staff running it have no idea about hospitality and offer NO customer service. Getting a complimentary coffee was near impossible and the cutlery at breakfast was filthy with power cords stretched across the floor - a real safety hazard.

    So much potential as a unique property that is well publicised as an historic ship that is a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Sleeping in a ship close to the centre of Gotenborg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping in such a beautiful ship is no doubt a great experience. The Viking is spectacular, magnificent; on the outside. However, the inside is a different story, The common areas are dark, dull and maintenance looks neglected. Also, the rooms are dull and demand urgent renovation. I am not saying the decoration should be modernized. What I am saying is it must be renovated while preserving its ancient atmosphere. The upper deck, potentially the most appealing part of the ship, is a mess and it is closed until 11:30 am. That said, breakfast was good, my room was good size, Internet worked all right and everything was functional. Will I repeat the experience? probably yes. Could be better? certainly yes. The Viking has a lot of potential but currently it is neglected due to lack of maintenance. I have been hosted in other smaller ships in Sweden with a much better experience.

    Check-in time is too late: 3 pm. The bar at the upper deck closes too early 9 pm. The ship is totally empty after that time; no amenities, nothing to do. The ship is anchored within walking distance to the city centre. A fantastic location during the day. However, at night, the area is very solitary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    Poor management, lack of customer care spoilt what should have been a good experienced. Poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to the outside deck area in the evening or morning. No shared space as the lounge area was used to store linen trolled. No complimentary tea or coffee. Harassed in welcoming staff. Breakfast was served over 1 hour later than advertised with no explanation.

    The location was great. The building itself was very interesting - but poorly managed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    interesting choice, need to experience it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside cabins are unusual, clean but difficult to access if one has a heavy case, as they are up a flight of stairs.

    really quirky accommodation, unique setting. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast buffet was extensive and varied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    A great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy on a Friday, but to be expected and really peaceful otherwise.

    The unique experience of being on a boat-a great view from the portholes! Great selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    See you next time!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interesting Hotel located only 2min from the trainstation. Comfortable bed in a clean and cozy room. Nice ship parquet in the bathroom. Breakfast was tasty and had everything you need. As I arrived late after Check-In hours, I was given entrance code etc. per text message.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money - clean, comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location - very close to the Gotheburg Opera and to the Central Station. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfortable, wifi worked very well, there was a hairdryer in the bathroom and the breakfast was great with good choices. And they looked after my luggage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    A really enjoyable stay in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was warm it would have been good to have had an air vent for fresh air.

    The character of the ship. Its location was excellent. We really enjoyed the whole experience. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice environment on an old cargo ship which is older than...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missed baked beans at breakfast))) Except that it was a good breakfast.

    Nice environment on an old cargo ship which is older than Titanic. Still modern after the latest renovation. Great location in the center of Göteborg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    A perfect, flexible venue for a long weekender in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing that I would suggest is that the Reception/Bar stayed open later in the evening. There were no restrictions in taking food and drink onto the ship, but without chilled vending or fridges, options were very limited. Having said that the city of Gothenburg was right at the end of the quay!

    Great facility in a great location. Quirky and comfortable you will get a great nights sleep. Breakfast is also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Friendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the rooftop bar/restaurant was closed all day Sunday, and it was glorious weather. Would have been nice to use it. - Cheap toilet paper. Extra charges for a baby cot.

    Friendly reception staff. Interesting concept for a hotel. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok but would try to find safer location especially when coming by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was decorated with american flags. The matrass was extremely soft that I couldnt sleep. The location is city centre but the individuals in the neighbourhood in the evening made it impossible to feel safe.

    I really liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Great experience to stay on a boat like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lounge area downstairs was too cold to sit in of an afternoon and evening

    Great experience to stay on a boat like this. My two sons loved it and we all slept well. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is excellent, a short walk into the middle of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all!

    This hotel is absolutely great! Very nice and convenient location, Nordstan, Nils Eriksson terminal, bus and tram stops are just five minutes away walking. Everything in the city center is pretty much within the walking distance. Staff was super friendly, and they checked me in two hours before the usual check-in time without any problem. Breakfast was very good and tasty :) And the breakfast area was never crowded. The room was very clean, quiet and cozy. Very soft bed :) It was a little bit chilly in the bathroom, but it was ok!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    If you want to stay somewhere a bit different - a cool experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the highest of quality re: room and cleaning (there were a number of hairs in the bathroom and on the bed), BUT perfectly adequate.

    It's a boat! Pretty cool to stand/sit on the deck and look out/up. Kept remembering we were on a boat!!!!! Cabin is cute, not luxury but certainly a cool experience to stay in a real ship's cabin (with portholes and fittings) Breakfast was plenty. Coffee was available in takeaway cups too to take with you, which was nice. Check in/out was very simple, and they let us store out bags there after check out so we could explore the city without them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Good stay for the novel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room didn't look particularly clean, which was disappointing. Breakfast was only ok, nothing too special. One small complaint about the boat itself is that the floors can be quite steeply tilted and so balance was a real issue!

    Check in and out was very easy. They let me check in 2 hours early without any prior warning from me. When I checked out they looked after my bags for a hours. Love the novelty of staying on a boat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    The room as very large (in upper deck)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed, and therefore it was not possible to reach the sun deck (well, in February, it may be normal) Staff is really limited, one person at reception desk and another during breakfast.

    The room as very large (in upper deck) The boat is very nice, and really big ! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel on a quiet location still really closed to city centre and transports.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast doesn't have much choice but it was enough for me. Tables were not cleaned between guests and I didn't see many staff at breakfast time.

    Staff was really nice and smiley. The location is good and the hotel really quiet. It was pittoresque and comfy at the same time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation on a boat, beautiful decoration,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic accommodation on a boat, beautiful decoration, comfortable bed, friendly staff who spoke excellent English and the boat itself looks amazing, especially by night. Great location, too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Very conviniently located, clean, has the charming feeling...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great

    Very conviniently located, clean, has the charming feeling of travelling in a longship. Great coffee and super kind & helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Cozy ship
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was by the sea port and might be hard to reach should the weather be harsh.

    It was of a walkable distance to Nordstan mall and also the central station of Gothenburg.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Best stay in Best price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time when we were leaving from there.....

    Location is excellent very centralized just close to Centrum and central station, it was really very nice experience to stay in a heritage just in front of Gothenburg Opera.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    1st class comfort aboard with a great buffet breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not great for cafes, etc..but perfect for transport.

    We came in very late and had a nice welcome. Our room was very comfortable and the morning breakfast plentiful and diverse. I absolutely reccomend this for anyone wishing to find a place near the train station that wants a bit of lux & comfort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Ventilation spoiled it to the degree that I couldn't recommend staying in the particular room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had an awful ventilation system which could not be switched off and was directed at the bed. Also it was noisy so very poor nights sleep.

    Nice ship. Friendly staff. Good shower. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few bit of maintenance need done (eg banisters fixed poorly with parcel tape, loose hook fittings in the room etc) which pulled away from the elegance of the ship a bit, but otherwise a lovely experience.

    Nice stay. Good location for public transport in and out of Gothenburg, and a short walk to the city. Great breakfast room and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location, good breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts in my room such as the white ceiling panel were fixed with brown tape, this was easy to notice, also a wall that was brown but sill I notice that was fixed with this brown tape, but overall was good.

    Good location, good breakfast included

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    3.8
    not comfortable at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, pillows and blankets were full of bugs.. i was not sure what kind of bug, but there were lots of them. I ended up sleeping on the chair.

    The bathroom is nice and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Permission to come Aboard! PLEASE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING!

    Went all the way to Goteborg to stay on this ship and it was totally worth it. The room was spectacular. I travel alone so I got the single room and it was STILL SPECTACULAR! It was spotless too! The bed was SO comfy! I LOVED the writing desk . The bathroom was HUGE considering that it was a single room on a ship! Bathroom light was nice and bright too. Shower was delicious. View from portholes was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everything was just gorgeous and I didn't want to leave. Reception were amazing and so helpful and friendly and also let me take pictures all around and up top too. What a treat. Didn't stay for breakfast but breezed through fast for a coffee and some pics before I had to leave and it was QUITE A SPREAD! OH, and thank you so much for the coffee on tap!!!! BV is close to everything including bus stops and train station. Wish I could have stayed longer....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Magical Comfort!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a great experience while staying at this amazing beautiful place. It's so unique spending the night at a ship like this while you have the heart of Göteborg around you. Shops, restaurants, architecture, museums, the opera house, the harbour,... name it. I still have more to explore, but when I will need a hotel in Göteborg; this hotel will be my first choice. Your bedroom (cabin) is so cozy. You have a lot of space for yourself. The staff is very friendly and it's so piecefull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    I think the reception Staffan was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the reception Staffan was excellent. Very friendly and serviceminded. I felt like a Queen thanks to the reception staff especially Hanna was outstanding👍👍👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Gothenburg is a great city and enjoying it on a boat gave it an extra spark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast had no soya milk and nothing but fruit is you were veg/vegan. The didn't activate my key card correctly at reception so I was stuck outside at 1am for some time before another boat close helped me out.

    The location is beautiful. Truly stunning scenery and close to the main hub of the city. 20 mins walk max to the bars and clubs I liked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disappointing - it was the most expensive place we stayed for our trip but wasn't nice at all-the decor was really old and outdated and the curtains didn't close properly. The pictures online were misleading. The price made us think we'd have a really nice room.

    Wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    An exceptional staying experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To leave! Wish we could stay longer!!! Will recommend Hotel Barken Viking far and wide!

    The staff at reception, especially Sophia who welcomed us, were wonderful: friendly, helpful, accommodating. Everything was special, wonderful breakfast. Simply a wonderful staying experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous - sorry to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fabulous accommodation - my partner, who I hadn't told I had booked this historic boat, was lost for words. Bed was very comfortable. Boat was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    An interesting experience with comfortable clean accommodations and a delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV had only two channels. Hockey and something... To confess I didn't ask for help with that as I was trying to avoid watching TV while on vacation. It was a bit chilly in the room due to the central ventilation on the ship. The wonderful staff compensated by giving me two warm blanket covers instead of one.

    My first time in a Ship-Hotel. The room was great. Clean, with four big soft pillows on the bed, a fluffy rug on the chair, and fresh towels changed daily. The floors were slightly uneven (tilted) which made it kind of cool... with a Navy Ship-py feel so to speak. The ship is beautiful inside and out. I liked the experience. Breakfast was delicious. Coffee was really really good.. I loved the shampoo and body wash (White Lily). The location is ideal: a short walk from the central station. Would definitely stay there again., Oh!! Almost forgot. I strongly recommend the Kayak rental and guided tour place 20 m from from the Viking ship entrance. Seeing the city from the ocean and water gives an interesting perspective.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Sorry, this could be an excellent place to stay ...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff made an unmotivated impression, especially those attending (watching) breakfast. Our room had had better times long ago: Lots of holes in the walls where formerly pictures, TVs, cloth or towel hangers were installed. There was mold in the shower and the room was not well heated. The bed was a disaster as it was not leveled and I rolled over to the side of my girlfriend every night. The mattress was not high enough, so you got bruises on the back of your thighs from the creaky bedframe every time you sat down. We were there mid of September and the bar on the deck was closed, so I assume we missed the best part of the hotel.

    The location is excellent. You can reach all sights in Gothenborg on foot easily. The hotel itself is a sight already and you can find home from many places in Gothenborg by just spotting the high masts of the Barken Viking or the Lilla Bommen (Lipstick) Building next to it. Dockside parking was for free while we stayed in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    The fact that the hotel is an old ship gives it an extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The fact that the hotel is an old ship gives it an extra special vibe. I think i had some last minute / low season deal so for me it was great value for money. Breakfast is certainly oke. Room was nice and comfortable. Nice view from the windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Good place to stay for one or two nights if you value privacy and an en suite bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed understaffed. Reception closes from 23h-8h and there was only one poor guy handling breakfast (cooking, cleaning, etc). Therefore, when I arrived the tables were all dirty and some things, that where later replaced, where already missing. Breakfast is good. Very good bread, eggs, cheese, yogurt, cereal and fruit (different kinds). No croissants, but maybe its a Swedish thing, because none of the hotels I've stayed in Sweden had it. The most annoying thing about the hotel, was the housekeeping staff knocking on my door twice at 9h and 9h30 when checkout is at 11h. I had to shout through the door "I'm only leaving at 11h!!!". I hate being disturbed by housekeeping. I guess if you rent a place until certain hour, no one should rush you. But then again... maybe they are understaffed and had a lot do. Still, it was not nice and ruined a little bit the experience.

    The hotel has some character as it is an old ship, turned into a hotel. The rooms are not big, but well organized and the bed is very comfortable. I would say it is a good place for a night or two, more than that it probably gets claustrophobic. The shower pressure is nice and everything was very clean. Location wise, is is right next to the Opera and a few minutes to the shopping center (5m) and central station (10m). There are some restaurants close by and a lot of shops. Gothenburg has a lot of offer regarding shopping, design, etc...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Something else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to get used to a downward slope in the floor and bed. It is an old ship with dated facilities.

    Great location and amazing venue. Staff was very nice and the breakfast buffet was good as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Cosy room and very clean, I asked ahead of time could I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been a bit more welcoming. Neighbouring guests played really loud music on a Monday night at 2:30pm, as there are no staff and reception closes at 9pm I had to ask the guests to turn down the music rather than staff doing it which I didnt like. Perhaps a sign can be put up about excessive noise after a certain time at night in the rooms.

    Cosy room and very clean, I asked ahead of time could I have the room available earlier and it was ready an hour earlier when we arrived which was great! Nice experience to stay overnight on a ship.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    not worth the money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy outside with loud music all night long. Since it's on the water any sound is very loud and strong. If you want a good night's sleep look elsewhere...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic old ship, sunset on the deck unforgettable, really...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a tad too soft for my back. Breakfast opened at 7.30, summer hours, which was a bit late for my needs, especially since the staff was late opening up the breakfast room. But these are minor problems! All and all a very good experience.

    Fantastic old ship, sunset on the deck unforgettable, really cosy room, good bathroom, decent breakfast in stylish settings, nice and helpful reception staff, friendly atmosphere. Very good location in the port, within walking distance to everything including train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    Great set up and the rooms are very cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were not able to regulate the aircon, so it was freezing in my bedroom. Breakfast area is very dark.

    Great set up and the rooms are very cute! The top deck is also very nice if the weather allows to sit outside. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    A bit of a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not resemble the pictures (no wooden walls), walls had many old drill holes, broken wall socket in bathroom, all kinds of 'dirt' stripes on the walls, lamp missing a light bulb. The room felt like a budget hotel.

    Spacious room (room was also designed for disabled people)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    4.2
    bed bug's hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of bed bugs live on bed linen, pillow.. anywhere. Different information about breakfast time. They were send message to me, breakfast time 0630~ but breakfast start at 0730. I can't eat breakfast because ferry time. They didn't refund breakfast fee. Do not advertise this hotel. No more another victims.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    The location should be great, once was, but is now a big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had stayed here several years ago and was always impressed by the quality of the hotel and its location. How things change. The hotel is at best, run down. We had to wait 20 minutes before someone showed up at reception to check us in. The rooms were hard used, not so clean and had two single beds. Upstairs bar has also seen better days and if they have no customers they close, guests are then not allowed on deck once the bar closes - which was at about 2130 when we stayed. After the bar closes there are no services available, not even a soft drink machine. And again, while the location was once great it is no more and you have to wade through construction equipment and gang wannabees to get anywhere. Sad decline...

    The location should be great, once was, but is now a big construction site and late night hang out for noisy drunk kids acting like gangsters. However, it does have a cess to very good parking and that is saying something for Göteborg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Barken Viking -a different choice worth taking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not particularly helpful. When we asked about a taxi to the train station she could not estimate a price, which seemed strange. Also my friends room was made up without towels and the desk clerk wanted her to wait until morning instead of getting them from the housekeeping closet. At neither time were they busy. If it weren't for the staff's lack of helpfulness, our stay would have been perfect!

    Loved the historic boat ambiance. The rooms are comfortable, unique and clean! Breakfast was wonderful. Great selection and good quality. Loved the bread!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was relative cold in the room in July, when it was some +18 outside - heating didn't work. Wi-Fi connection was very slow and didn't always work properly. Reception is manned only in between 07:00 until 23:00, so if you arrive late at night, you need to arrange it in advance and provide the hotel your valid credit card details. The value for money ratio is very low in my opinion. The hotel is very expensive in relation to what it offers. I would not like to stay here for the second time, and therefore can't recommend it to you.

    The hotel looks very cool, since it is located on a ship and all the rooms are authentic with wood panels and view to the harbour. The ship is interesting to walk through and to explore, there is even a small exhibition with some authentic stuff and cosy chairs in some areas, old books, magazines, etc. Breakfast is ok, no more than that. Don't expect something special. Beds are comfortable, sleep quality is very high. Bathroom was fine, low ceilings, and soap didn't come well out of dispenser.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Good for a weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot drink making facilities in the room. Cooked breakfast could be better. No breakfast tea. Opening hours for deck top bar and restaurant limited.

    The bed was very comfortable. Cosy room. Good location. Nice hot shower. Clean and quiet onboard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Ok value but no thrill
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier check in would be nice. The room is 'skewed' - when lying down on my bed my head was several centimeters higher than my feet... unnatural but maybe this is standard on the ship. During breakfast my table was cleaned even though I have left the full cup of coffee and clearly haven't finished yet (I went to the bathroom and came back to an empty table). Reception is not open 24h so you cannot get hot water or tea or coffee later on. In the evening there is no open shop nearby so a wending machine inside would be nice.

    The location is very handy - next to the opera house and the giant shopping mall. Close to the train and bus stations. Good price. Nice breakfast but service is too eager to clean your table. Ship doesn't move at all which is convenient but you loose 'thrill/night on the ship' effect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Sisters exploring Scandinavia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold in the room..but blankets were warm😀

    That is on the ship and we later realise it is one of the simbol of the city.As someone who works on cruise ship it was very exciting. Upper deck is beautifull for relaxing enjoying the weather when is sunny. Fully recomending the ship. Breakfast was enough and good, and not like some people review as poor. You wont leave hungry for sure.Like the fact that this hotel is a museum as well. Good job guys👏👏

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, staff, interesting place
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very clean, the bed was a little uncomfortable for co-sleeping with my baby as it wasn't firm enough and little space, no facilities to make own hot drinks in the room

    Excellent location, staff, the boat itself is a tourist destination, good internet, breakfast and cute room decoration

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Loved the setting and the ample space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately a guest was smoking in his room and set off the alarm at 5 AM. Rude awakening.

    Loved the setting and the ample space. Great breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Barken Viking traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: