Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Gamla Teatern 4 stars

Thoméegränd 20, 831 34 Östersund, Sweden

#11 of 18 hotels in Östersund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 714 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travel quite a lot in wintertime. this Hotel was one of the nicest and original i have been in the last years. unexpected, but so even nicer! hope to come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a single room on the 1st floor, the windows were to a very noisy street and it was impossible to sleep at night.

    Staff ,cozy restaurant,clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little storage for clothes in the room

    Staff were without exception excellent. Very helpful and always smiling. Lovely atmosphere and a fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park but site says there is. Have to pay for street parking. Noisy inside and outside. WiFi not good in the room but ok in common areas. Difficult to work with laptop in room.

    Staff kind & helpful. Room was small but comfortable. Good coffee machine in room. Close to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You either have a small room in the basement with a window to a conference room, which doesn't have any windows so there us no light and fresh air or a room with a bathroom outside. Very unpleasant stay.

    Only the attitude of the stafc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast bread was not the best we've had. Room was rather small, scarcely any room to put our case.

    Handily located in the centre. Tries to recreate the atmosphere of the old theatre but we found it not quite to our taste. Comfortable and clean though.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A simple old world charm. Nice staff and good food. The tea and cakes through the day was a good addition even though we didn't use the facility but it seemed popular.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaner changed the towels, although we hung them up. I left a note NOT to clean the room at all and they didn't listen. When we were back after our day out, the lights were ON! What? Is this how you take care of the environment?? The note with the 'hang your towles if you don't want them changed' is just a decoration. Practice what you preach!! If I say I DO NOT want my room cleaned, the beds made and the towels changed, then LISTEN!! The room in the basement had a window, but it was facing a conference room. Kinda creepy. Nicely decorated, though. Tell your cleaners NOT to touch other peoples' stuff! Definitely picking another hotel next time! The receptionists are nice and helpful at least..

    central location, easy to reach the airport, good breakfast, good WiFi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a great place for us..we did some family research around the area. The breakfast was great- lots of choices, fresh orange juice, good waffles, scrambled eggs and bacon as well as the typical Swedish fruktost. The room was on the Second floor, roomy and comfortable. We ate a night at the hotel restaurant, Omkase. That was very good also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room seemed like it was in the basement. There was poor air circulation and the window opened up into a storage room. There was also no way to adjust the temp of the room. I called the desk and the staff let is move to a room on street level that had a window open up to the outside which really made a world of difference.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Sandwiches available for purchase after we arrived late to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi connection was really poor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger breakfast buffe, very small room.

    Big bathroom, good sized tv.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities were a bit outdated

    Hotel has a nice shady atmosphere of the old theatre, free parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, moved us when asked.

    Didn't find some of the bar areas or the restaurants shown in the pictures.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    easy access to complimentary drinks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has got lots of atmosphere. Location is convenient next to the bus station and walking distance to the train stations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Hotel, centrally situated. Love how they have kept the feel of the old theatre. Very helpful and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in had this extremely noisy fan in the bathroom that we could not shut off. And again, we asked for a double bed and did not get one (this was the 5th time). Sleeping together in two twin beds is tricky.

    We try to stay here every time we visit Östersund. The location is perfect for shopping and travelling about the town. The hotel always has a good breakfast! The decor is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a double bed but we got two singles anyway. The beds separate while you are sleeping on them so snuggling is not possible.

    The staff here is pretty great. The decor is refreshing. Breakfast is very recommended - several options for people that do not consume animal products. Location is perfect for shopping.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Watch out for rooms in the basement! They don't have windows and you won't have natural light

    Breakfast is just awesome and the place were they serve it is really beautiful

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower - the water sprayed all over the bathroom floor and there was no scraper to guide the water into the grate. The room was a bit on the small side.

    The ambiance of days gone by, especially of the first two floors, where there is still a theatre and stage. The breakfast room is still in period decoration, very cosy with subdued lighting.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were given a basement room with no window at first. We had to pay more to move up one floor to get a window. Of course, this room ended up being on a very busy street and it was very noisy all day and night.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel told us drive in to the parking place just to find out that there were no place left, and had to drive out again. They gave us a room in the basement, with a window into a adjacent public room, and people could look right into our bedroom. We paid 200 more and upgraded us to the second floor with a window to the outside world, though it was not very clean and there was only one glass and one towel, but we borrowed three small towels from the cleaning lady’s unattended cart. They had a wonderful bar, but no one attended it. A lot of people was enjoying the bar area, but there was no service there and we had to go into the dinning room and order some wine, then bring it back to the bar, nuts. Did I mention that there was only one wall in the shower, creating a smaller flood in the whole bathroom as a special treat.

    Otherwise the place is very pretty and they have a wonderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We think they changed the price from our original booking. We have not booked any rooms that cost the four of us $225 each per night, which these rooms cost us. The girl said that their was a big football tournament there, which should not have changed our booking price.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room in the basement, a small, cold and uncomfortable. Information about the rooms in the basement was not on the site, otherwise I would not have booked this hotel.

    Wi-fi , breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was "upgraded", which in normal situations would be something positive, but in this case my room was on groundfloor next to a busy street.. If this was an upgrade, wonder what a "normal" room then is... :

    Good beds, clean, nice people in the reception and a great location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was poorly cleaned, an old alcometer muzzle on the floor in one corner together with a coin, and the tissue box had stains of blood on it.

    The restaurant staff, and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior décor was beautiful & very cosy. Spa facilities were also of a high standard. Reception staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just across the road from the bus station so very easy transfers to/from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Group

    Beautiful place, great area, super friendly staff! Comfy beds and big bathrooms. Very clean too!! Big breakfast, yummy!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spa not working, no bikes available..

    very nice personnel, possibility to do a laundry

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cleaning failed to take out the trash and did not make the bed.

    Location, WiFi, Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cold roomtemp Traficnoise Not free parking

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast canteen is so cool.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very good

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: