Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel 4 stars

Södra Strandgatan 15, 55320 Jönköping, Sweden

#7 of 28 hotels in Jönköping

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 572 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains in the room were just not wide enough to block out all the light. Car park entrance can be easily missed.

    Great location, clean and comfortable, great breakfast. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel location is great. All the restaurants and lake walk are right across the street. Hotel has secure private parking. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are rather small and cramped (in stark contrast to the spacious rooms), but on the plus side they include a wonderful large diameter shower head. The reception is located inside the pub/restaurant which was a bit too trendy for my taste (and makes for a chaotic lobby), but there are plenty of other dining options in the surroundings.

    Lovely spacious rooms with comfortable chairs. Delicious breakfast which includes fried eggs. Excellent location right in the city centre of Jönköping. The hotel has its own parking garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t properly cleaned. They had even forgotten to refill the soap. Breakfast area was so crowded (no seats available) that I had to go and eat in my room. I would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar, too much light in the room courtains were way to small and thin for the window, bread for breakfast didn’t taste at all why don’t u buy in the bageri just outside the hotel ?!!

    Nice hotel new rooms nice bathroom good beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor soundproofing. Woke at 3,30 in the morning by other very talkative guest coming back from a night out and they talked loud until it was time to get up. Three to four hours of sleep was lost. It was hard to localise the source of the sound. I told the staff about it when I checked out in the morning and they were very sympathetic and said "Too bad", which I didn't feel was adequate. I will never stay at this hotel again and I will not recommend it.

    Quality in general, service and location OK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The staff was very friendly and it was a nice welcome to Jönköping. The breakfast the next morning was very good and the variety of the food was very good. It was also nice and easy to leave the luggage during the day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish there were luggage carts so we could more easily get our luggage from the car to the room. Also wish there was a newspaper in English. I realize that Jonkoping may be off the beaten path for American tourists, but it would be nice.

    The eggs actually were fluffy, the Swedish pancakes were divine, good bread, the entire breakfast was so very enjoyable, we don't eat meat but there were plenty of delicious foods from which to choose, the hotel has all the amenities we like: great breakfast, bar, comfy places to sit, room was comfortable, bathroom spacious enough, good shower, nice neighborhood, quiet at night. We have relatives in Jonkoping and will return! One of the staff even took the time to answer my questions about Swedish and taught me how to say 1 to 5!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 4 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was not very cosy, no other customers.

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Very easy to park your car in the Hotel parking garage. We had a family room with a great view on the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little understaffed in the restaurant bar area and so the valiant staff were running to keep up with everyone's needs, but were lovely, efficient and kind, just more staff needed

    Lovely, friendly, helpful kind staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to know the procedure to get back into the hotel late at night. I'm a single, female traveller and had gone to a friend for dinner. Coming back at 11:30pm I realised the front doors were locked and the room keycard doesn't let you access them. After about 10 mins ringing the bell someone did let me in but couldn't initially see anyone.

    The room was large and comfy, very clean with tea and coffee, toiletries, a fridge and a safe. Perfect location for spectating at the Ironman as it was very Central and close to the bus stop for travel from Stockholm and to Gothenburg. Staff very friendly. Bars, restaurants and shops all very close by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a lake view room but unfortunately for me there was a massive building infront which was blocking our lake view . Our double bed was actually 2 single beds which kept splitting apart in the middle .Very disappointed

    It had underground parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms to the street can be noisy at night and in the morning when the busses start. Staff could be a bit nicer and caring.

    Relaxed stay with dogs. Parking garage part of the hotel. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff not all that well aware around the booking details from booking.com. A bit too much hassle on check-in.

    Good breakfast buffet. Nice looking hotel and rooms. Fresh.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the center, great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easier Y access to the Transportation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast, I liked that you could make your own waffles. Location is fabulous too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the bed, the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is closed on Sundays.

    Comfortable spacious room, very clean, good beds, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no refrigerator in room

    hotel staff are very nice and also locataion is perfect, you can have a lot of choice on resturastants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was there during a trade show and the prices were a bit high.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the fair quiet expensive

    Nice friendly hote

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 4 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was not as good as other Best Western hotels. Should have public laundry

    bathroom facilities, room space

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Something "special": interior design and lightning was pretty nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    It was very comfortable, I was very well rested. Very good location, very beautiful inside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reading light was broken.

    The relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    Great location with own parking. Easy walk into town and lakeside. Welcoming staff. Good variety breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic & did not smell fresh

    Nice bar area, nice location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was not stable

    Location was very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the heart of town. Parking costs 130 SEK, but worth it. Book parking in advance

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel staff could be more friendly and concerned about their guests.

    Great location, next to the lake and just in a few minutes walking from the center. Cozy and nice room. There are two types of sauna for hotel guests, and a small gym (with rather limited equipment, but still it's better than nothing...). Good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Deluxe bath quite basic, no kettle / coffee / tea in room, street in front of hotel very busy and loud in room. Rather a basic business hotel than a romantic retreat.

    Nice breakfast, large room (deluxe)

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - restaurant was closed when we arrived at 22.00

    - VIP-treatment for the dog: big place to sleep, bag with delicacies and little towel - location in modern suburban environment, many shops around

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms and especially the bathrooms are clearly designed to look good, without regards to what is practical. The in-tub shower had a too short hose and the screen is so small that the whole bathroom is soaked...

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect breakfast. Parking garage at the hotel. Located in the middle of Jönköping.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could check in esrly. The bed, sheets and pillows were great.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    unfriendly staff, chaotic breakfast buffet, room not very tidy

    location

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: