Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MJ's 4 stars

Mäster Johansgatan 13, Norr, 211 21 Malmö, Sweden

#2 of 40 hotels in Malmö

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1464 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Great Malmo hotel in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything

    We liked the location being close to the city centre. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The ambience throughout the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay if you don't have little kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The late lobby party from the first night (Saturday) and usually there is noise coming from surrounding streets. The menu isn't so kids friendly because it wasn't properly cooked for a 11 months baby, our daughter eats by herself but not "aldente" food. Even if the info cards mention that the breakfast could be served until 10.30 a.m in fact there was available until 10.

    We liked the all concept, the design and interior terrace. The rooms are really large with comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again. We found the location brillant. Thank you MJ's!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need shelves in the bathroom and one double duvet for the bed instead of two singles! Otherwise very comfortable.

    The selection at breakfast was rea;;y fantastic so fresh breads, fruit, yogurts etc. The staff were very helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Simply brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great

    The hotel is very quirky and fancy. Our room was on the 4th floor and was amazing. Spacious, spotless clean, well designed, totally quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was perfect with everything you could possibly want. Very polite staff as well. Good location for train station and center. Very good value for money. The Restaurant was also very good! Would love to come back and stay longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Quirky & comfortable hotel 5 minutes from Malmo station serving an amazing breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly too warm, even with all the windows opened, and the bins were noisily emptied at 6.30am so not the best night's sleep.

    The hotel was very quirky, with well designed spacious rooms and lots of interesting art and flamingo's dotted around. The indoor courtyard was bright & airy and the bar area was comfortable with good jazz music on arrival. My favorite part was the breakfast which had amazing hot & cold choices and the best freshly baked bread I've had in ages! Just a 5 minute walk from Malmo central station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Overall, awesome stay and will come back on my next pass through Malmo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The noise on the side street in the morning at 6:00am. 2. When the garbage is picked up there is an unbelievable nasty Oder that penetrates the rooms on the size of hotel facing Hotel Elite. 3. No wash cloths / bath mittens to wash your body.

    Love the uniqueness of the hotel— the mixture of Art Deco and modernity.; the quirkiness of the bar area was awesome. Staff is very attentive. The breakfast is truly wonderful and we looked forward to it every morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in Malmö
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned well and we ran out of body wash on the second day. The furniture was a bit worn-out which spoils the first impression

    The breakfast was great. The hotel is located quite close to the central station and the city center. The staff is very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable and incredible value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, close to both the central station and nice areas of the city centre. The breakfast was very good and served in a beautiful atrium. Even though my room was located close to the bar, and at street level, the room was quiet. Extremely comfortable bed!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is wonderful! Helpful, friendly and extremely willing to make your stay the best. The hotel is very cool, a bit New York Paris, great bar and wonderful breakfast! (only one curiosity ...where's the maple syrup in the nordic region!?;)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    On trend classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vibe of the hotel and the common areas were nice and chill. The decor was spot on and the breakfast simply perfect. The hotel was able to maintain its original beauty while incorporating a fresh modern feel. MJs added a unique flare to our stay in Malmö.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Very nice room with a large and comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud outside in the street on Friday night. A lot of partying people. Impossible to close the window as it was too hot in the room.

    Very nice room with a large and comfortable bed. Very nice photos on the wall. Wonderful breakfast in a nice and large breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good stay. Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airco in the room. Sleeping on Friday impossible till 1 am due to a huge disco noise of the next door bar/cafe.

    Very good restaurant and super dinners. Interior was colourful and spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast and quality of produce used was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC. Business Queen room was disappointing - old and unappealing stench in bathroom. Bed absolutely not for a couple - 140cm.

    Breakfast and quality of produce used was excellent. Attentive service at breakfast. Bespoke vanity products and plush towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Very cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to check in earlier, but the staff just laughed and said that perhaps we also would had to wait checking in at 15.00, as they were not sure our room would be available at 15.00...

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel. I will probably return.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some building work was going on at the time of my stay. Bathroom window was bricked up!

    Small but different and beautiful! Awesome breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    MJ’s a great place to stay in MALMÖ.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No, they even got the towels right since my last visite.

    MJ’s is a great welcoming oasis in Malmö. It works for business as well as for a private outing with partners or friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly, well-located place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled slightly of sewage on a few occasions.

    Beautiful and wonderful bar, delicious restaurant, excellent and friendly service, great location, spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Old charm turned in to sad nightclub
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I used to stay here all the time when it was under the previous owner. This was the best boutique hotel in Malmo and the service was impeccable. It has now changed into a nightclub wannabe with the reception being a bar, the decor taken too far and the noise levels and general commotion at the reception / restaurant area being way too much. The cost has been the service levels that are now downgraded. No business center and no willingness of the staff to even help with printing an important document. A guest in front of me, who had stayed the night with his wife wanted to leave his cabin sized bags behind until 6PM but the most the hotel could offer was to 3PM, and that was being kind he was told. Pity, but I guess some people will like this... not me however.

    I like the location, which is right dead center of town with easy access to all. The bed linen are very comfortable and the extra large pillows are very nice as well. Breakfast was OK but too many people and not enough space where the food was actually served, made the whole experience a bit annoying.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Stay here it's amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer

    Location perfect for bars and restaurants The decor from House of Hackney is Fantastic Friendliness of staff helpful with recommendations and information. Bar staff let us try 3 different beers brewed by Mjs as we didn't like the first, couldn't do enough The area for breakfast and lunch is spectacular high glassed roof with climbing roses and curtain window give the effect of sitting in an outdoor courtyard.The breakfast have lots of choice and the bacon cooked to perfection. Our room 404 was beautifully decorated the bed the comfiest I've ever slept on.Tea and coffee in the room and a bottle of cava to welcome us for our Anniversary. One small dislike was the bath/shower as I am quite small it was hard to climb into but that's not their fault. Overall a fantastic stay in a beautiful hotel.If you have a choice stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great quality hotel, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - competent & friendly staff - well-equipped rooms - cozy environment with ample room to relax, and a nice patio for breakfast - great location just 10 minutes away from the central station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    It was so different - it oozed character and a place that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing - I was in room 218 and one night wanted to get to sleep early but u can hear the music going to about 12 or 1am - that can b off putting

    It was so different - it oozed character and a place that made u feel at home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    I had a room numbered “514”.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room numbered “514”. I thought it was on the fifth floor; there is no fifth floor. It was in an attached building and was on the ground floor next to a road used by cars...and refuse trucks, as I found out one morning. I would have liked to have been informed at check in about the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Divine oasis of tranquility, comfort and pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny toiletries and construction noise at 7am........

    Comfy and perfect. Great atmosphere in the hotel and the decor is fun yet sophisticated. The restaurant was divine (dinner was fab) and the breakfast was wonderful too. The staff couldn't do enough to help us........valet parking too....what a delight of a break - really fabulous. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little lame - there's a weird soft porn photoshoot all over the walls in every room in an otherwise lovely old building - and the restaurant is one of those 'we recommend you buy three small dishes at 180kr each' places

    The comfort level is really high, the breakfast was amazing, it's a lovely old hotel, people were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, bar & restaurant but rooms need to be brought up to better standard
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black out curtains. Rooms need a proper not just a superficial refurbishment. Mattress wasn't very comfortable.

    Interior design of the public spaces very nice. Buzzy bar, beautiful restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is boutique, with heaps of character and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is boutique, with heaps of character and atmosphere. Fabulous location for exploring central streets. Was a great experience to stay there. Wonderful front desk. Convenient parking underneath. Room was small and old but quaint and charming. Had everything we needed. Very interesting building. We loved the ambiance and enjoyed the distinct character of the hotel. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Very happy and pleasantly surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the ceiling didn’t fully turn of at night, bit disturbing.

    I enjoyed the fact that the food was layed out in pots instead of massive containers. Nice selection of juices, breads. My bacon loving partner really liked the bacon too, so plus for that!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Perfect atmosphere, cosy, feels like you're in your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect atmosphere, cosy, feels like you're in your super stylish home.. excellent service. We ordered breakfast and due to 15 minutes lateness we were not charged!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    A charming boutique hotel in a good central location with helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel reception, bar and corridors are very very dark, almost gives the initial impression of being uninviting which isn’t the case at all.

    Great central location, boutique hotel, particularly liked the garden atrium for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable experience. Loved it. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The great design of the hotel, so different to any other hotels. A real pleassure. Very calm, relaxing and an aesthetic design. Large room with Sofa, beatiful bathroom, the restaurant is excellent, food is amazing, breakfast has a choice for everyone, the reception service is excellent and the staff are very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you dont want to miss this experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    The coffee was perfect, the hotel was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some sort of get-together at the hotel restaurant when we arrived, whis lead to loud bass music through the nighthours.

    The coffee was perfect, the hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    An unforgettable stay in Malmo, thank you MJs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, well decorated, with everything we might need. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The lounge was fun. The best thing of all? The food - magic. We had a great stay and highly recommend a meal or overnight here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Perfect choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not easy to get into the garage, but one appreciate that a hotel in the center of a big city has a parking space at all (and my husband is a very good driver :)).

    Excellent choice to discover the city, relax and have fun at the same time. After our first stay here we had high expectations and wasn't disappointed. Evereything was so cool as a year ago.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Very hip hotel, comfortable but with some bugs to work out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Music in the halls and at breakfast constant. & mainly too loud- felt assaultive first thing in the a.m. when I asked if it could be turned down- staff said " no"! 2) The light in the restaurant was too dim and the menus written in small font so hard to read; 3) Food was expensive and odd in its presentation. Small amounts that were mainly appropriate for starters was designed to be the main meal, with the intention apparently that,you would order several dishes. However the cost would have been $30 -$50 just for the several dishes- not including dessert etc. Highly stylized dishes, usually creative and unusual. However sometimes you also need some ordinary options- a stew, a bowl of soup or a small steak. I was at the hotel 10 days and ate there 5 times- tasty plate but not enough for dinner unless you spent a large amount.

    Double doors for each room increased the quiet in the room; bed ,duvet, pillows were excellent; breakfast was great; staff friendly, pleasant and tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in a very good standard of hotel, convenient for my business venue.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found it strange to enter the hotel from the street and immediately found myself in a busy and noisy bar/lounge. Had to wait to ask a member of staff behind the bar where reception was only to be informed the till at the end of the bar was the reception for check in. Not liking it is too strong, more unexpected surprise as never come across it before. However room very quiet so not intrusive. The only irritation was the lounge area was in the bar area so couldn't relax there.

    Room very nice, clean, comfortable and quiet. Bonus was coffee making facilities in room. Restaurant very nice and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    The atmosphere in this hotel is absolutely magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soap dispenser and trash can wasn't maintained properly. Hotel bar served no drinks.

    The atmosphere in this hotel is absolutely magical. The dining area is super cozy and breakfast is what you'd expect from a hotel breakfast. Mini fridge in room provided interesting stuff and beds were great. Vanity kits provided were useful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Hotel was located at the heart of Malmö old town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was located at the heart of Malmö old town. It was nice and clean and with well decorated interior. Room was spacious with stylish furnishing and with view to inner courtyard. Breakfast was tasty with lots of options also for vegans. I definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Excellent two nights stay in a groovy, happening hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of any.

    The hotel's location was excellent. Short walk from the main train station and right next to the little square. All spots of interest such as the castle were within short walking distance. The excellent Mando Steakhouse is a few minutes walk across the square. The hotel itself was quite groovy, with cozy and colourful decor. The room was spacious with a delightfully comfy bed. Breakfast in an atrium under a skylight was quite pleasant. The reception IS the bar - and it's quite a happening bar too. Staff were efficient, no fuss.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The breakfast did not live up to our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast did not live up to our expectations. Last time I visited Mäster Johan, it was a lot better. We came down to eat 9.30, and we felt like it was about to shot down. It looked messy and we had to ask for a lot of different stuff. Everything else was amazing about our stay, and we will defenetely come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Quirky, well located and worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has undergone a bit of a makeover since we visited six months earlier and now has a booming nightlife with a busy bar and people spilling out into the street. The rooms are quiet, nevertheless.

    Decent breakfast and a fixation with flamingoes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fully wooden hotel, decorated with old objects, makes you feel really at home. Very comfortable, the tile floor is heated from inside, the bed is just amazing. Near the centre, easy to get to. Breakfast is just unbelievable, both the food and atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, lovely food & cocktails and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were super comfy & the staff were very helpful. They arranged a late check out for us as our meeting wasn't scheduled until the afternoon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    The room was very spacious and bed comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had booked months in advance yet the room i was given was on the ground floor with a view of the alley. The person at reception said it was room 514 or something and i assumed it was a higher floor. They take you in a separate lift first from reception to first floor, there you change lifts , you have no clue you are going back to the ground floor. They did however change the room the next day at my request. The same day they didn't change the room as they were fully booked.

    The room was very spacious and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing! This hotel was highly rated on booking.com and
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel functions as a bar/disco in the evenings. The sound penetrates the room making sleep difficult, and a poor hotel choice for weary travellers. One of the staff was cold to the point of rudeness, we encountered her on both arrival and departure.

    Location and room were good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Dont think anbout any other oprion, trust me it is a grat hotel with all means.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    I have stayed in more than 100 hotels world wide, this was one of the best hotels i have ever stayes in, great location, greath athmospire, great breacfast area, i loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and we would return gladly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every morning, we were woken up with noise from the outside of our window; workers were at work before 6h00 am.

    Bar section at the entrance with games to play while having a dring; complete breakfast included; parking available from hotel personnel; staff in the lobby very responsive and always eager to help solve any issue;

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is cosy and very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was very noisy. Fortunatelly the room has double door too keep the noise out. Even so music was very loud and we could still hear it hear up to 2 a. m.

    The hotel is cosy and very nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed was big and comfortable. Really nice bathroom with big bath tube. Location great, in the very center of Malmo, very close to the bars, shops and restaurants. Overall I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.9
    Good atomosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a weekend dance time on Friday and Saturday at the basement floor. the noise of music are huge. We are staying at the top floor special room but still could not sleep at all until 2am. their disco parties finished, due to their full bass and drum sounds on Frieday and STurday. It was creazy.

    Good atomosphere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    It's a great hotel and perfect spot for visiting both southern Sweden and Copehagen. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was disappointingly small and cramped and awkwardly laid out. Did not compare even closely to the pictures on the website.

    Breakfast choice was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    One of the highlights of the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are spacious, the decor evocative of the luxury of days gone by. The staff were outstanding - helpful, polite and patient. Excellent breakfast in beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    The staff were super friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were super friendly & helpful. The location is prime with restaurants & shops close by. The room was spacious & very comfortable. Breakfast had a variety of items. Recommend this place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location but let down by dirty bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at 8.30pm and were told to wait for 10-minutes upon checked in for the staff to make sure that the room is ready. It did not give me a good feeling at all especially since we are checking in at night! Once we collected the keycard and entered our room, we were greeted by a dirty bathroom. The floor was extremely dirty with black stains all over the floor, it was so disgusting I gagged. The bathroom floor mat was grey and dirty and scrunched up. Awful.

    Buffet breakfast was nice and the location of this hotel is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Still nice, but has lost 'it'!
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mäster Johan is a nice hotel, no question about it. However, it has the feel If something that is pass its peak, and has lost its passion for providing Malmö's best hotel experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel! Nice breakfast, great drinks and nice spacious rooms! We will be back for sure! Oh, we love the name too! Great having two doors to the rooms to keep the heat in and noise out! Really great hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel with everything you need for a comfortable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a small problem with our shower which spurted water all over the bathroom floor which meant it was slippery and dangerous when stepping out of it (you had to step over the edge of the bath and I can imagine that some less mobile people would have struggled with this). We let the staff know and they sent someone up straight away who changed the angle of the shower so it didn't wet the floor so much. The shower was the one thing that felt dated and in need of replacing.

    The breakfast area was beautiful and the range of food options was great. The bread was delicious, there was always a range of different juices and the coffee was kept topped up. The room had everything we needed and was very comfortable. The temperature of the room was perfect and we were able to get an extra pillow on request. Everything was very clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and had wooden shutters to keep out the light too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    A comfy charming hotel in central Malmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed everything.

    The hotel is located very near the train station; 5 min walk. The room was spatious and cozy, the bed and the bedding were comfortable. The Staff were really kind and attentive. Breakfast can't be rated as I had to miss it due to my getting up late! The overall experience here was superb and I thank you for the staff for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, a short walk from Lilla Torg . Very comfortable and a fantastic breakfast. Within walking distance of all the sights and the railway station. Room 422 on top floor very comfortable with a massive bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    New, beautiful and so convenient!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant in the hotel? But that is hardly a complaint, given that Lilla Torg is 30 seconds away, with all its restaurants and cafes....But I had to write something here:-)

    Mäster Johan is the best hotel in Malmö! Its design is modern and beautiful. Breakfast is abundant and tasty. Rooms are large, stylish and so comfortable! I have been there twice already, and I will return. Oh, and location is so close to the center and all the restaurants and shops - one needs to walk no more than 30 seconds to reach Lilla Torg square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    a. Great Location, 3min walk from Malmo central station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the light is opened in the WC, you hear a "Beep" every 1 or 2 minutes and it can be annoying. However, if you shut the door of the WC, you can not hear it any more.

    a. Great Location, 3min walk from Malmo central station b. Large Room and comfortable Bed c. Clean and Tidy d. Rich Breakfast e. Friendly Staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Cosy boutique hotel with charme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    one round window had no curtains

    very close to the station, central and quiet, super large rooms (we had a 50qm one), cosy beds and high-quality bedding, clean and renovated with old charm, friendly and professionnel staff, delicious breakfast, bikes to rent. overall: highly recommended, worth every krone:)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel with lovely bedrooms. Loved the interesting decor ! Breakfast was exceptional, with a super selection of hot and cold food. Hired the hotel bikes for the day, great way to see Malmö ! Staff were extremely helpful and location couldn't be better. Highly recommend !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Perfect spot I've ever been in a city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for all kind of activities within the city! The breakfast is pretty good, nice and comfortable bed, old fashioned toilet that invites for a bath! We had a meal at the hotel that we ordered from their small list and it was quite ok as well!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be somewhat dark and outdated. Breakfast is ok but nothing special.

    Public areas like lobby and breakfast area are beautiful. Great location. Very friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building work in the lobby which we were not informed of when booking. Bed very uncomfortable. Bedroom needs a little tlc.

    Central location. Great safe parking. Fab breakfast. Good communal rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Very friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was of a good standard with a great choice. The bathroom was excellent with a good shower. Great location, being close to the reliable public transport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel exceeded our expectations, on arrival we were booked in very quickly and was made very welcome. The room was excellent, very clean and very quiet. The bathroom was large and clean. The facilities were up there with the best. Breakfast room very relaxing with good choice of food and beverages.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel in the best part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The landing carpet with its repeat motif of pink flamingoes would have been more suitable to a nightclub or a brothel.

    The bed was very long and so am I so that was good. The breakfast was extensive and tasty. The staff were charming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in Malmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel and cozy. Very close of the city center and public transports. Personal was efficient and seriously. The breakfast had a lot of things, but sunday it was much better than monday, I don't know why.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.3
    Bra säng
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tråkigt slitet rum. Ombyggnation pågick borde gjorts utan gäster - varför inte en våning i taget. Frukost medioker -inga alternativ för veg som inte äter mjölkprodukter

    Bra säng

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice traditional features but not so much attention to detail
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fine to refurbish and have no carpet on the landing and plastic on the wall but not to be drilling and vibrating the entire room at 0715 in the morning. For a hotel that prides itself on attention to detail, this was a bit too quirky. The carpet in front of the bed meant the bathroom door wouldn't open without a lot of force, curtains are too narrow to block out the light from outside and the sole of the iron in the room was so caked with burnt residue it was just about unusable.

    Good location very close to the WMU and Central Station, easy to reach from Copenhagen Airport (direct train from there to Malmo every 20'). Nice quiet property with some nice traditional features, friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    Beware the Rubbish Collectors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the stay at the Master Johan, with nice friendly staff, lovely rooms, and the stay was less distrubed by the work being done in the hotel than we thought, but more by the work being done outside the hotel (with the tap-tap-tap from the street repair), and the rubbish being collected each morning @ 06:30. We were offered an alternative room, but we did not move as we had stayed already the previous 6 nights in a different rooms/hotels. We understand the issues of an inner city hotel (usually it is the church clocks), but this seemed out of proportion. The hotel did indicate that they are in the middle of a "battle" with the local authorities, but this is not something that should require a fight, as it should be obvious for many that not everybody wants to be awake at that time of the morning

    Room was lovely, with a nice little touch of the candle in the bathroom. Nice furniture, and comfortable bed! Centrally located for all that you would need in Malmo, only 5 minutes from the train station (which is 30 minutes from Copenhagen)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.2
    Great place with personality and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is getting a bit dated and worn in the rooms and the breakfast was a bit less than expected. No biggies though. Highly recommended.

    Staff and location are fantastic! The rooms are large and nicely decorated, bed was comfy and the hotel had a very home-like feel to it. Perfectly situated smack in the center, but still on a back street.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    3.3
    The floor that I stayed at was a complete building space,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor that I stayed at was a complete building space, wellpap on the floors and painting all over the place. Even got colour on my new shoes. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in fantastic location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wasn't a fan of the bedding - just a comforter on top of you, no sheets or blankets. I also wish we could control the temperature, though I didn't have issues with it for the most part.

    The hotel was excellent. Location was wonderful - close to the train station, easy walking distance to many stores and restaurants. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast offered homemade breads and lots of variety from which to choose.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    6.7
    Correct hotel but a bit expensive / oldy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit "oldy". Breakfast was ok technically but nothing terrible. Staf at breakfast was not very nice, even if professional

    Nice location

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse MJ's traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: