Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Strand Hotel 4 stars

Strandgatan 34, 621 56 Visby, Sweden

#27 of 47 hotels in Visby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 744 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely small toilet in a very big room. It has just bath gel as courtesy toiletries. Furniture and stuff in the room was old (I mean it could not be considered as antique or kind of vintage, it was just old)

    The location was very good, also very easy to find cheap street parking in the area. Courtesy Tea and coffee in the lobby and in the room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a few brochures & tourist info in English. A small gift shop might be nice. I bought the last Gotland bag and used it immediately! The outdoor restaurant next door was beautiful !!

    Room 348 was wonderful!! Pricey but nice. We had a problem using booking.com by charging us before we confirmed. The front desk staff were very nice and very helpful!! Breakfast was nice but rather crowded & chaotic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old and unconfortable. Stains on the carpets and curtains. very small and old bathroom. Bed felt filthy and disgusting!!

    Breakfast was okay but nothing special Spa was nice, little pool, sauna and steamroom. Very clean!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin....uncomfortable beds, disgusting dirty stained carpet, musty smell in hall,gross bathroom, no shampoo, thin rough towels. breakfast first day..they didn't remake food when it was depleted..they put out store bought cookies from a tin! Asked about bike rentals...would have been nice if the girl working had to,D us the hotel had them, but no we realized this after finding bikes to rent and locked them up. She also couldn't tell us where to rent them (several places located on waterfront by piers). I have no idea why this hotel had gotten such good reviews (the reason we stayed there). I would avoid this hotel!

    The location! And decent wifi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking available at hotels private parking, luckily a parking spot just outside the walls (150 m from hotel) was available.

    Very central location inside the walls, sunshine made the rooftop bar a very nice place to be at, modern rooms in old buildings

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning in our room and it was over 24 degrees at night. When we asked for a fan there wasn't one available but they did find us one for our second nights stay

    Great location. Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eftersatt underhåll. Generellt kändes sunkigt. The hotel has seen better days. It needs freshening up and repairs to rooms. It took us 3 changes before we were satisfied. No double beds, just twin beds pushed together. It was also very, very noisy due to parties in neighboring properties.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great and the location one of the best

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not clean up the tables at breakfast, I guess the hotel was fully booked and problably new staff befor the high season :) No big question..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and room interior

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Free Wi-fi. Delicious breakfast. Comfy bed. Free coffee and pastries at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna, Spa are excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Inside walk and climb.

    Souvenir store.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Economyroom not priceworth at all, under all accepted standard due to price!

    Central cituateted

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking although stated at reservation Unableto payo one hour before departure when no cue

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking spaces

    Good breakfast buffet Parking across the street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is like a maze trying to find your room, which is average at best.

    Standard hotel - nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area could be a bit cleaner/fresher though.

    very friendly and nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was nice about this hotel: Staffs were very helpful. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was GREAT :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lite för dålig belysning i gången från receptionen till hissen längst bort.

    Sängen va skön! Nypressad juice👍

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Master bed room looked like a meeting room, very basic bathroom

    Breakfast was nice, personnel friendly, good family room, great location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy shower and location of room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna was just 50-60 degrees the second day

    Friendly personal

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tables at breakfast at certain times.

    Great breakfast and you couldn't ask for a better location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Got the wrong type of room in the beginning, which was corrected when we contacted the reception. Did not have water for a short period, was not previously notified, and after contacting the reception was corrected.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, and the staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice spa facilities. Nice and clean room. Quiet. Nice breakfast with everything we wanted. We were allowed to check in three hours earlier than the normal check-in time. Fantastic surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We lived in a room high up in one of the oldest buildings and had to climb several stairs (no elevator). But we understand that an elevator was not possible. Some information when you are assigned one of these rooms on this so you can inform the hotel if you are able or not to climb these stairs is important.

    How the old historical houses had been renovated and cared for.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The decor is dated. It looks like old couple furniture which was not very comfortable. There was old food left under the couch and the hotel was difficult to find without gps. Finally, no chain on door and my child let himself out.

    The hotel is a beautiful setting right off the Baltic sea. The staff was accommodating and friendly. They were quick to recommend nice places to visit in town.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was muggy, smelly and didn't feel fresh. The breakfast room was adequate, but not in any way charming. If you are planning a romantic weekend getaway, pick another hotel.

    Perfect location in a beautiful, quiet part of the old town, a few blocks from from the sea in one direction, and from the buzz of the restaurants and so forth in the other direction.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower in our bathroom didn't work very well

    Well run hotel in good location. We liked the room and the free coffee, tea and biscuits in the lobby was welcome.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although a busy weekend . 1)check-in at 1500 (check out at1100) even so there was no flexibility to get room early . Not even 1 hour. Very disorganised with cleaning staff and poor customer service (I'm a returning customer) 2) booked a double room to get a queensize bed but received 2 single beds "you didn't notify us" was the answer. They couldn't even arrange it after I pointed out 3) They gave me the room in the far end corner . Furthest away from everything despite booking 6 months in advance 4) when pointing out all the mistakes and fault wanting to speak to manager the staff totally ignored me (young and inexperienced) . I asked them to leave a note to manager to contact me . This was never done . Last time staying here . Very poor

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location , cleanliness and friendliness

    Modern hotel in an old town

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy bathroom door, unclear control of room heaters.

    Overall cleannes, breakfast, silence, free parking.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor key cards for door locks

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Location and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Central location Big family room with a little parlour and a beautiful view on ancient walls

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly more expensive than we thought was justified

    Location

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Best Western Strand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: