Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Birger Jarl 4 stars

Tulegatan 8, Vasastan, 104 32 Stockholm, Sweden

#62 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4910 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping is really working badly - we had superior room , but the quality of room was really poor - see pictures . On top of all windows was blocked and it was no fresh air at all . This is not the level of 4 star hotel

    Hotel staff on reception was helpful and changed the room to junior suite , where we could open the window and the room was good . But this was after complaining for 2 days .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant can get very crowded during breakfast, so you have to come early.

    Very clean room, helpful staff, quite good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very-very dusty - I had to clean all the shelves from the dust in order to put clothes. The bed is really small.

    The location is really nice - only 3 subway stops from the Old Town. Very good breakfast: good variety of options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area can get busy after 8:30 am, but there is still space. The staff are always bringing extra food so all choices are available at all times.

    There are supermarkets and restaurants close by. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the city center. I appreciated the printing facility and the gym which had the basics.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic in this hotel and it was across the board. A special and huge thank you to Thomas (morning kitchen staff) for his amazing kindness to us. The breakfasts were also fantastic and the location was very good. About 5 minutes walk to the Metro and 2 stops to the Central Train Station (could walk it in about 10-15 minutes). This has been one of our favourite hotels. We would love to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dirty and a shabby hotel, over 100 euros for a small room - not value for money. Personnel was not very professional (perhaps temporary staff even if old ladies - retired temp staff?) An advice: The hotel needs urgently a refurbishment and quality checks for cleaning. If you use e.g., refugees for cleaning tasks you got to train those people for European standards.

    A rather good location. Breakfast would have been good if there was food - it ran out every morning (e.g., scrambled eggs, bread, cheese, juice) - I chose this hotel due to a good restaurant but this time it was a disappointment.However, the restaurant is definitely the nicest part of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed a bit small than what we saw in the photos on Booking. I really did not like that the bathroom is really small - it serves one person at a time - and it could use an update. We stayed at 426 (Chez Pascale), a room with white and dreamy decor. The good point was that it was not facing the street so it was quiet inside... Except slamming doors from other visitors. A few points to consider to improve: - it would be useful an USB port on the electrical outlet in order to charge easily our phones - the rooms could have a system that saves energy when you are not in the room.

    The location is excelent, the bed is veeery confortable, and the breakfast is diverse and rich. All staff is very kind and helpful. The tea maker in the room is actually useful. Overall, it is a good and confortable hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little too expensive for what it was but we did enjoy our stay

    20 minute walk from city centre and harbour. Breakfast was good value for money. Staff friendly. Room was small but functional but had everything we needed. Quiet room. Good Black out curtains. We had dinner in the restaurant too- limited menu but nice burger!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a bit on the small side. I also requested a double bed but was given a twin bed. Additionally, the reading desk in my room was tiny, I couldn't even fit a laptop on it. Breakfast buffet lacked seasonal fruits like ( strawberries, blueberries, raspberry etc)

    Good location, near to Stockholm Central station ( 3-7 mins in a taxi and 15-25 mins walking (depending on walking pace.) Also 5 mins walking distance to nears underground station. Great breakfast buffet choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid the normal price but hotel was definitely not worth of it. Room was a bit worn-out and very basic. Hotel was very general. It was not bad but not value for the money.

    Breakast was ok. Hotel was quite close to metro station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite worn out and basic

    Very cosy, clean and spacious room. Great location - quiet area but within 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had reservation for 2 rooms, each of them for 2 people. When we got into our rooms, we found out that in the bathroom there was set of bottles only for 1 person, not for 2. This was fixed relatively quickly, but I had to reach out to the receptionist directly.

    The receptionist was very pleasant and checked in us very quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Birger Jarl has met all our expectations. Great breakfast, super comfy beds and super friendly staff. Also, the gym is great and the location of the hotel is within walking distance of some great sights of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfy, very clean and reasonably spacious rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in a quiet street, just two metro stops from the city's historic centre and has some good restaurants nearby e.g. the Italian on the next block.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A little expensive, also the room was rather hot and the air conditioner seemed to not work

    The breakfast was great and accommodating to many dietary requirements without needing to ask for them. It's in a great location and the rooms were nice and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed it is a two beds combine together, the blanket is also for small single bed, not a queen size or king size.

    The location is quiet, even though need to walk a few minutes to the subway. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation System in bathroom was very loud and could not be turned off during the night.Staff did not fix it although we asked twice.A different room was not available until 10pm at the last night of our stay. Color came off the ceiling of our room. Breakfast room too small for the large number of people.

    Breakfast buffet. Mostly friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated and showering in a (small) bathtub is not the best. Stockholm is expensive.

    Good breakfast. Good size rooms. The location is quite central but in a quiet street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the 2 people double room is very small. the online photos are enhanced and in reality, there is a quite industrial atmosphere in the room, and not a cozy home-like one. Wood on the floor with a bit of carpet, and disposable slippers are not provided Rooms are not sound-proof and noise can be heard from the hallway.. all the time! breakfast area way too undersized, it is very crowded.

    nice location, quite close to metro-bus and nice restaurants in the neighborhood. good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy in the reception tried to make us pay extra to get upgraded after the room type we booked was empty when we checked in... he was grumpy and finally he upgraded us without charge when I said I can dig up my laptop and show him my specifications where we ticked of life box for king bed. Not a very great welcome! Also, the breakfast had very little non meat or cheese containing toppings for sandwiches. Missed seafood or avocado/ similar ingredients. A bit disappointing considering the stiffer price of this hotel :/ won't come back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the beginning there was a bad smell in the bathroom, but when I informed the hotel staff they fixed it while I was away and it disappeared for good.

    I really enjoyed my stay there, I had to change my plan and dates several times and the staff was really - and constantly- helpful and friendly. The room was exactly what I needed, comfy, clean and equipped with basic but very necessary things like Iron and kettle. The bonus was the small gym which I really appreciated. I stayed there at the beginning of May - no high season- and the price was pretty decent compared to the facilities. I also tried the breakfast once, good and fresh for those who are willing to have full, big breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was great.

    My partner and I travel to Stockholm from London for a long weekend. The hotel staff was amazing, we checked out at 3am in the morning and they managed to arrange a breakfast for us at 2.30am! The room was great, spacious, clean and modern. The area is quiet and well connected. Would definitely recommend and stay again!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. No sound insulation at all. Our room was next to the elevators, so except of the rooms around, we had to hear the sound of the elevator any time someone reached the floor. Sheets not so clean.

    Great location. Close to everything. Excellent breakfast! Very comfortable and big bed! Bathroom was clean. In general, it was good for a city hotel. Probably we would stay there again, but in a bigger room away from the elevator!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, old bath. During the rush hours the breakfast area was too crowded

    Very comfortable room, kettle for preparing tea or coffe, iron and small fridge in the room. Very comfortable bad. Delicious breakfast, plenty of food, warm meat, pancakes, fruits, juice ... Kind and helpful staff. About 200 metres from metro station, very close to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to like about your entire trip when this hotel basically scams you and tricks you into paying your trip twice. You book & pay via booking.com, and when you arrive there they tell you they didn't receive the money and you have to pay a second time with the promise you will get paid back. It's been now 3 weeks since we departed Stockholm, and there's still no money back. We called the hotel 2 or 3 times and each time they LIED and said the money is being sent back. COMPLETE SCAM!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, perhaps a little closer to the centre but it was actually quite nice to have the 10 minute stroll back to the hotel from the city centre.

    Beds were especially comfortable! Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very clean and it's near two metro station: - 5 minutes walking from Radmansgatan - 15 minutes walking from Odenplan train station, from where you can catch the Arlanda train. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had breakfast at 10 and they had already started to clear everything except the remains of breakfasts already eaten, so I ate quickly, a little, and left in a hurry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It takes 15-20 minutes to the main shopping street so need to wear good walking shoes.

    My room was big and bathroom good size, breakfast is great with many options

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decent hotel located in the city of Stockholm, not too far from the center. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, but the standard of the room and the bathroom is not a 4-star level. It is a bit outdated and could use an upgrade / refurbishment. Otherwise, good stay, no frills, efficient and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Before to arrive I asked 2 things 1. check out late 2. Decaf espresso. The first one I had to ask again for it. the second one, they did not have it.

    The blondie guy receptionist was very helpful but all the rest wasn't good at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was only for one night but still very nice! The staff was very friendly, the hotel facilities were very good and the breakfast was great! The location is very nice, many restaurants, bars and shops around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room. Quiet at nights. Good shower with a lot of water pressure (important for me). Great selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, close to the retail/business district of Stockholm and only 20mins walk to the Central train station. All staff were amazing and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, serving a big variety of hot and cold dishes. We were satisfied with the space of our room and the bed was very comfortable. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, very clean (!) hotel in great location. Great staff, great breakfast. We could check in on arrival which was 4 hours earlier! Nice stay! Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms maybe just a little small. Not really a big fan of the bath tub. A shower space would be better.

    Nice staff, very accomodating. Really nice breakfast buffet! Good location near the metro station. Nice restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little cold in the winter. But they gave us a heater.

    Very pleasant stay. Nice location. Near to the metro and bus station. Really amazing service. The staff there are really nice and professional. The hotel restaurant is also very great. Nice breakfast and wonderful dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom with a central drain looked to me quite silly in a 4* hotel room. Also half of the TV channels were not working, as the the TV claimed "HD not supported".

    Best breakfast ever, the selection was great and they were coping with the amount of people very nicely. The hotel garage is spacious (5m car had no problem) and the free WiFi is the fastest one I've seen in a hotel (70/50 Mbit+). Everybody was super nice and the room was nicely soundproofed. And the location is just great - within reach of metro, bus and road you can be anywhere in couple of minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, which I guess is something you can expect from Stockholm and it’s not that big of a problem. Bathroom was indeed too small.

    Bed&Breakfast. Bed was supercomfy and breakfast was plenty with lot of options healthy and traditional!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only "issue" was that the air was generally too dry in our room, probably due to the general climate of Stockholm at the time. Ideally we would have been able to control it better - a minor point for me.

    The beds were simply the most comfortable I have ever had the pleasure to sleep in. The heated bathroom floor was both a novelty and luxury to me. Breakfast was great - plenty of options and good quality food and drink. Location was great - far enough out of the noise and busy centre but close enough to walk anywhere. Receptionists were super friendly on arrival - we felt very welcomed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good!

    Bedroom very comfy and the hotel was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice both hot and cold. The coffee was great! Some nice restaurants and bars close by. Takes about 20 mins walk to the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is very near to shopping center, to the old town, central station and many more spots in Stockholm but the neighborhood is so quiet. The staffs was very helpful especially when we had to take an early morning taxi ride to the central station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom flooded after showering.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. We booked last minute and had to change our booking and staff were very accommodating. Buffet breakfast is really decent. Great location. Good size room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold at times, and quite dim.

    Good location, clean and comfortable. I traveled for business, so did not spend much time in the actual hotel, but the gym was well equipped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel isn't the newest, so some maintenance to the rooms could be done.

    Clean and relatively spacious room. At check in desk I was given a choice for a room with a shower or a bath and the staff was most kind. The breakfast buffet offers a big range of fresh and healthy food. The subway is 10 minutes walk from the hotel and the neighbourhood is quiet though close to many nice restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small. Airconditioning was on throughout the night and I was told it cannot be turned off, room was too cold and heating was not working. Had to get an external heater for 2nd day.

    Location good, breakfast OKish. staff helpful. Lobby good, had live music one evening

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the metro. Breakfast is really good. The view from our room is spectacular. I took several shots of the snow and people walking by. Very affordable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are quite small but not a massive issue as we were out all day. Also the bathroom was in need of an update(Believe this is being done).

    Clean, warm rooms. Good choice at the breakfast buffet! Location is also very good, close to the metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The superior double room was rather small. When I made the reservation, I asked for separate beds, however, at the hotel I was first given a room with 1 double bed. After I asked for another room, I was given one with twin beds that my co-worker and I had to separate ourselves... at 2 in the night (when we arrived) we were pushing beds in the room.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spent there 2 nights. When i cheked in they hold the full amount on my card, then 2 days after check out charged the card for the same price but still did not unhold the first amount. So in fact i have been charged twice

    Comfy beds, great location, breakfast is ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Excellent breakfast with good selection of hot meals; -Helpful staff; -Nice room in good condition; -Fast Wifi; -Good location - for fast walkers all central attractions are within reach by foot; 5 min. to nearest subway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfect . Really quiet , perfect location , great breakfast and most comfortable bed i have ever slept in . Everything is perfect , really pleasant atmophere .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far from the city center.

    We arrived early and the staff is very attentive to help us complete checkin in advance. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noting really

    Stockholm isn't cheap but overall I found this hotel to be good value and location is fairly central. Subway is a short walk away. Breakfast was good. Staff were pleasant and engaging. The bathroom was a wet room so be prepared however it has heated floors and given it went to -9.c during my stay it was very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable and clean room, very nice shower, good Wi-Fi, friendly staff and really very tasty breakfast as well as food from the restaurant. Location is also good, close to the metro station (4 minutes walking).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping wakes you up from 9 oclock every 30 minutes in the morning of checkout, feels like they want you out, not very friendly.

    Nice breakfast, comfortable beds, everything very clean, very nice reception, location okay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative comment I have is that they should check the expiration dates on the nice refreshment drinks they proposed on the fidge of the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy to find and easy to get to. View from the room was fabulous. Bed was comfy. Room was quiet. Breakfast was a good value. The entire stay was a good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SO COLD. There is some thing weird with their heating. I had the coldest nights sleep ever in a hotel with the temperature -2 outside. The room temp would not go above 22 degrees on the thermostat and it never reached 22. The quilts on the bed were summer tog so i had to double up just to keep warm. I was freezing. So I changed rooms the next night. And the next room had NO thermostat and the radiator was turned off so I had to turn it on myself. I ran a boiling hot bath just to heat the room. It was just me as a business traveler and I don't tend to feel the cold, so watch out if you are bringing someone who is cold sensitive. Also there was lots of wood dust in the air and plastic sheeting on the floor as they were renovating worth knowing if you have a dust allergy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is incredible, the hotel really feels like four star hotel. Renovation work was totally silent, at least for the time when we were staying in the room (mornings and evenings). Security is good as elevators are card protected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of noises during a refurbishment in the same hotel early in the mornings and receptionists were really nice and kind but they weren’t informed about what to do for New Year’s Eve or when we asked questions about the metro or where to go. But overall it was very good.

    Breakfast was excellent and it’s close to the center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was pretty ok but it needed some renovation, as there were small marks of long usage everywhere - scratches on the floor, walls, sink was missing a tiny bit, etc. Also there were ongoing room renovations on our floor - they weren't making any hearable noise but corridor was in blue tape and looked untidy.

    Good location, 20 minutes to the city center by foot, also there's a metro station nearby. Couple of food shops in 5 min walk, many cafes too. Good breakfast but you'd better come earlier than later as some food like herring in different marinades or fine quality cheeses aren't replenished after they end. Good service and cheerful staff. Room interior is well designed and looks cosy, though the place is quite small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - quite small room (no space to stow your stuff) - quite small badroom

    + good breakfast (good buffet with a nice variety of food; open until 11pm and even one hour longer after new years eve) + comfortable bed + nice restaurants nearby + easy access with public transportation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    "Standard double rooms" are very dirty. We've found someones underwear in bed when we arrived. Reception offered another room which was smaller and didn't correspond to booking - i believe it was "smaller double room". It was dirty also.

    Breakfast was good and breakfast area is stylish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed at 10pm on Sunday, although could still get a drink from limited selection from reception so not too much of an issue.

    Breakfast was very good, huge choice all fresh and nicely presented buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed my stay in this amazing hotel! It’s within walking distance of the metro station, some nice shopping streets and a lot of different restaurants. The rooms were greatly designed and the bed was super comfortable! Also make sure that you grab breakfast there, it was one of the best buffett’s I ever had! Broad selection and everything was super delicious! I can definitely recommend this place to everyone staying in beautiful Stockholm!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be more modern like the rest of the hotel but they are working on that at the moment by renovating them.

    The bed was super comfy! The breakfast was also really great- you could even make your own waffle! The WiFi was really fast, the old city was 10 minutes walk and the shops were in a 5 minutes distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told our room (small double) was not big enough for two people, even though it was advertised for two people and made to pay an extra 400 kroner for the upgrade.

    Staff were extra helpful, particularly on their knowledge of the city and breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The minibar was really minimal. Refilling of body lotion wasn't made when finished.

    The staff was always very helpful. The bed and sheet sets are very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite the quote I received from Booking.com that the cost for the "3 nights would be approx. £424 and you will pay in local currency SEK 4680" - I was actually charged a different amount for each night - and when queried the hotel explained that price varies each night (dependent upon demand). First night was 1755, second night was 1485 and third night was 1440 (which although adds up to 4680 seems very strange that varies so much)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not exactly the same as it looked on the picture. Night table was dirty.

    Breakfast is amazing! They indicate the allergies (e.g. gluten and lactose) next to each food, which makes the dining so much easier. Dining and bar area is very nice. The receptionist, who checked us in, and all the staff we met were helpful and kind. Comfortable hotel, just 5-minute walk from the metro station and Gamla Stan (Old Town) is only 3 stops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a large double bed when I made the booking but that wasn't available at the time of arrival to the hotel, which was a bit annoying to be honest.

    Breakfast was really good quality food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in a great location, only a 15 min walk to Stockholm central station, and on the doorstep of the Underground, which was very convenient on check in/out with heavy suitcases.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Double bedroom felt cramped, especially the bathroom, but that I guess is to be expected in non-exclusive Stockholm hotels. I missed pastry options during breakfast and it would have been nice with a fresh orange juice choice.

    The locations was about 10 mins walk from anything central, and KTH was really nearby. The energy boost drink during breakfast was reallly good. The staff were very friendly and charged my iPhone downstairs during the night as I had left my charger at home. Nice as always to have a luggage room by the reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, and also the bed was very small (it was a one person bed that they’re marketing as a double bed). It was cold in the room (while outside temperatures were bellow zero), and the heating didn’t work. When we tried to complain at the reception, the receptionist was very rude to us, asking us from which country we were and then saying that we should be used to the cold!!! That’s NOT a 4-star hotel experience! He then said he’d send a heater to the room, and we did get one, a small one that could fit in a purse, which did nothing for the room temperature. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone ever.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Birger Jarl traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: