Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Birger Jarl This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tulegatan 8, Vasastan, 104 32 Stockholm, Sweden

#70 of 186 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4907 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    5.0
    Quite centrally located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Remodeling works ongoing one floor down, annoying electric drill noises from 9:00. When I complained I was offered an admittedly quieter but non-refurbished room on the 7th floor and had to realize that two of the three elevators only went up to the 6th floor!

    Quite centrally located. Room size nice. Windows can be opened.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    A truly enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A truly enjoyable stay. The room was pristine and very cosy. The design was superb as it was expected from the Swedish. The hotel lobby is so beautiful that we took a few pictures and you’ll all be able to see them on our Instagram page - Purevagabonds. We totally recommend this amazing hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    6.7
    Ok hotel but better options available
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms, especially the bathrooms, were a bit dates. I would say more of a 3 star than a 4 star. The beds and pillows were also not that comfortable!

    The gym was great and the breakfast was also very nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    Short but very nice stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is gorgeous, excellent stay for business or leisure. The room was nicely decorated, clean and had a big glass window looking over the next street. The stuff were very friendly and welcoming. The location of the hotel offers public transportation and restaurants within few min walking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    6.3
    it was enough cold in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was enough cold in the room. The weather was rainy and there is no where to dry clothes. The room without climate system, heater doesn't work propely and dryer at bathroom doesn't work at all. We use hairfan to dry clothes. Also I'd like to prolong the room for 7 hours (till 7 p.m.) because our flight was in the deep of night and pay for these hours, but i get a refuse and was suggested to pay for the whole night :-) From my expirience it's first time when 4* hotel in Europe has so poor service level.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Warm, welcoming and clean hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was delicious. The hotel is easily accessible via subway and there is a great selection of restaurants, pubs and shops nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    5.4
    The Gym was veyond my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The old fashion furniture. When you enter the room you feel like you are in a pansion.

    The Gym was veyond my expectations. Excellent view cool music...needs to be louder though

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.8
    The staff is really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast buffet is good but too small to accommodate everyone. It was chaos on the weekend!

    The staff is really friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and convenient. Happy to recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    3.8
    Additional money charging without notice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel charged extra money without giving notice and without explanation. Around 20 EUR per day extra money, is too large for the reservation without prior notice. Also, check-out was not any communication. By correspondence with the hotel, they respond that nothing can be changed. If you want to pay significantly more than you plan, without knowing what you pay, you can book this hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    An enjoyable trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk management - there are three 'check in' points at the front desk with only one person serving and, at one point, a line of 6 people waiting. It took 15 minutes to check out!! We noticed this several times, including when we 'checked in'. There seemed plenty of staff seen through the windows in the back office but none willing to assist their colleague at the front. Something is not right which is a shame.

    Friendly helpful staff, good location, very comfortable bed / room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    I like the location, pretty close to both Östermalm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very crowded. Room was just a little too small. Safe didn’t work.

    I like the location, pretty close to both Östermalm and Drottninggatan. Also I like the fridge and kettle.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    Cozy hotel, great breakfast..and good access to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good, except the bathroom (shower) was very small and the shower did not work very well.

    We got the small double room, which as enough for a week-end stay for a couple. Bed is comfortable, and rooms were quiet. Breakfast was very good, with a lot of choices; all dishes had lactose-gluten indications, and they even had a special lactose-gluten-free corner! Hotel was approx. 20min walking to the central station, and 15min to the city center, which was perfect as we didn't get the business of the city center & could enjoy a bit of calmness.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    10
    I really liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personal super nice. Breakfast complete. 3 walks away from a road with shops and restaurants and 10 minute walking from citycenter. I really recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.9
    Nice, easy calm and precise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plumbing in the bathroom was quite awkward. Pipe from bath went to middle of the room. And water was running there when I was taking shower.

    Selection for breakfast was really good. There were many options for vegans. Staff was super friendly and allowed me to check in early as my room was ready by that time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    8.3
    Very decent hotel, but room cleaning needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had long black hairs in the sheets, suggesting the sheets had not been changed from a previous guest. The toilet was also not cleaned well enough (at all?), as it smelled bad.

    Good breakfast, room was fine, nice to have a bath tub. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, great breakfast and a comfortable bed. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a terrible problem, but a small nuisance - the following should not deter you from booking the hotel, as it was really great overall, but the bathroom was a little lack luster taking into account the price we paid for the room. Didn't feel as nice as the room itself, but the biggest minus was the bath/shower combo. While showering, water was going over both sides of the bath, as the bath had a strange set up where it was against the wall, but with a small slit between the side and the wall. And the tub drain, had a strange contraption how to get the water to the drain pipe, which was not under the bath.

    The staff (especially the man who checked us in) was exceptional. We arrived early to drop our bags off and come back later for our check-in, but the receptionist was so nice to let us in without waiting as our room was ready. That was much appreciated, especially the innitiative as we did not request an early check-in, as we had gotten up early to fly to Stockholm. The Breakfast was also superb. Fresh, large selection of cold and warm food, fruits and vegetables. Bed was nice, a little soft, but good quality, as we had no back pain when we woke up. Also the blankets and pillows were nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    Birger Jarl was our base of operations for my wife and I to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC, though the window can be opened fairly wide to get air. Rooms are small, only slightly larger than the bed.

    Birger Jarl was our base of operations for my wife and I to explore Stockholm over three days. the location was convenient, about a 20 minute walk to the center of town and the water. It's in a quiet part of town which means the windows can be opened over night to cool down without much noise. The wifi was very fast and worked well. Service was exceptionally friendly and welcoming and even offered some suggestions for our stay at check in. The included breakfast was quite extensive with a variety of meat, cheese, spreads, and jams for sandwiches, cereals, and hot foods to really load up. We didn't need lunch most days as a result. Everything was quite modern and very clean. It was a great place to use to explore a beautiful city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    5.8
    Lazy staff, nice and quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waited quite a while to get checked in as staff were in the back chatting and laughing while someone getting training was the only one in the reception. The room was nothing like the pictures. I felt like I was sleeping in a teenage bedroom with the decor. Most of the tv channels didn’t work with a black screen and only audio. The rest of the channels were news channels. Not enough room for everyone at breakfast. Not much of a selection either. Some of the female staff were wearing way too much perfume which was not very nice while eating breakfast.

    The cleaners were fantastic. The room looked like new everyday. The area was nice, just a short walk into the centre of Stockholm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower floor is the same as the whole bathroom and the water from the shower spreads all around which bothered me a little. I found this at many of the places I’ve stayed in Sweden, guess it’s a common thing there. Not common in my country by the way.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom’s floor is heated. The two gentlemen from the reception were very helpful. We got to the hotel at around 7am from an overnight flight and they let us check-in and go to the room without extra costs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    An excellent option for the business travelller.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    The room was comfortable but quite small.

    The hotel is extremely well positioned for business or pleasure. Very central to numerous shops, supermarkets, and places of interest. There are 3 different metro stations within a short walk. The breakfast buffet offers an excellent selection. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The wi-fi was fast and stable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.1
    we asked for a double bed and we got 2 single beds but put...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we asked for a double bed and we got 2 single beds but put together and everytime we move while sleeping the beds get apart.. extremely uncomfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.5
    Overall very enjoyable stay but a few tweeks would have made it even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The works outside the hotel started too early, sometimes before 8am ( not sure if abroad this was acceptablreut in ik works cannot start till 8.30 - 9am in residential areas). The english breakfast option was cold even though put in pots on a hotplate! Could do with a few more coffee and tea sachets in the room Would have been good to have more simple options on menue if staying in like soup, jacket potatoes, omelettes, quiche etc Did think I had chosen a hotel with a swimming pool (oops)

    shower as a wet room was good for me. breakfast was ok with a good variety of options. Room nice and overall an enjoyable stay, staff friendly and spoke english well. Good transport links near hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast, nice location, comfortable room size, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower room is not comfortable. Hotel provided twin bed instead of double (hotel should write they dont guarantee booking orders)

    Great breakfast, nice location, comfortable room size, room was cleaned everyday:)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We missed a bath in the room, would have been nice. The gym is small but functional. Unfortunately, one equipment with cables which is key for every workout was broken. Breakfast is nice with many options, but area for serving is rather small for the amount of guests, so bumping into each other constantly. The hot dishes could have been better presented, real eggs for scrambled would have been nice, longer bacon strips would be better as well. Overall it was not kept very warm due to its presentation. Waffle machine is great, but only one available caused many cues and more people jamming.

    Good size and comfy room (7th floor), very clean, no outside noise (had backyard room), friendly staff, good breakfast, gym available, great location (just 3 min away from metro), also possible to walk to many of the touristic places from hotel if you don't mind a 30-45min walk (the surroundings are lovely, so worth the walk). Good restaurants in the neighborhood as well. Lovely welcome fruits and chocolate received.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really enjoyed our stay! The hotel was really nice and staff very pleasant and knowledgeable. We enjoy a walk so did not mind the distance to the city centre. Breakfast was great and although very busy at times you just needed to go a little later and it was much quieter. Stockholm is a beautiful place and we will definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not know, that in Sweden Taxi driver can charge as much as they want since their is no law. So from Central Station to the Hotel we paid 360 SEK instead of the usual 120 SEK but that is not the fault of the hotel

    Super clean, Room and bed vey comfy, Location great, very kind and helpful staff. We did not book the breakfast but had a quick look. It all looked delicious but the restaurant was very crowded so we just had a vey good cappuccino from the bar and took it outside in the cozy smoking area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, relatively quiet, nice cafes in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We told the staff that the basin sink was blocked, but the staff said they would fix it after we leave. We didn’t like everyone smoking outside the front door as it is unhealthy and unpleasant.

    Great location, relatively quiet, nice cafes in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was booked as a small double, so didn’t expect lots of space, but shower was a bit cramped and door kept swinging in when showering.

    Great location and clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    4.5
    I really expected more from 4star hotel.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the bed, it was to firm. I did not get much sleep because of that, and then there where some construction right outside the hotel the first night that started 07:00. Awful morning. And it’s not enough to clean only the toilett and the zink in the wc for exemple the door handle was sticky and light swicher was dirty.. among other things in the wc. Sorry i just did not like it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    8.3
    Stockholm break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    3rd lifter better not to use as not comfortable

    Good room that fits a normal couple. Hotel easy to reach though not close to centre town nor to metro station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.6
    Really nice clean and friendly place, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t think the hotel was too close from the turists areas; we had to walk 20 minutes and then walk another 15-20 minutes to selected areas!

    Really nice clean and friendly place, breakfast was excellent !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.5
    Good location and breakfast buffet but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are so small

    The hotel is in good location, near to a street of so many restaurants and bars, the breakfast buffet was so nice with much items and food taste was great. Thanks for reception team who were so friendly and cooperative with great smile in check in and out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    7.9
    Well located if you need to be in this area, clean, and its worth being a bit persistent at check-in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room: a small hallway (with closet space and bathroom door) leads to a room that has about 1,5 meters of free space around the bed on all three sides. The room feels a bit small but are big enough and very clean. Windows have double glass. The rooms on the back are very quiet, to the point of being able to sleep with the window open. I had no noise from neighbors but also don't know if rooms next door were occupied. Beds: On a scale from 1-10 (1=soft like a hot knife through warm butter, 10= hard like a door) I would say the beds are around 6-7, so on the softer side. Some people will like that, others might not. Bathroom: floor heating, fully functional, entire floor gets wet when showering but dries up quickly thanks to floor heating. Staff: there was a bit of nonsense at check-in: "sorry no rooms are ready but you can leave your bags" was suddenly changed to "we have several rooms ready" when the colleague of the person that was handling my check-in gave the people standing next to me a set of keys... Other than that staff was friendly. If you need an invoice: be sure to ask before paying, otherwise they only give you a small proof of payment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    10
    very comfortable hotel located close to the metro station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very comfortable hotel located close to the metro station and bus stops. Also very close to the center if you prefer to walk. Tasty breakfast with a very wide selection. Will totally recommend it and will visit again in the future

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.2
    Location from metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Working on the road...lots of noise. Early in the morning! But not hotel's fault! Rooms bit small!

    Location from metro. Early check in. Breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel in a great location, but staff aren't as friendly as you'd like
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel staff weren't very friendly or approachable, and I didn't think the options on the menu in the restaurant or in room service were very good - only 2 options for vegetarians and only fries for vegans.

    The location was good, the beds were comfy, and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Birger Jarl - the King of Hotels in Stockholm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room for two people with two single beds a little small for a holiday but fine if a business traveller.

    Excellent breakfast and location - in the quiet business district but within easy walking distance of the main sites.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    9.6
    The room is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very clean. Towels, shampoo, lotion and soap are provided. The breakfast is superb! Close to the subway and bus stop just 3 mins walk. Reasonable price. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    8.8
    4 nights in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too pricey the bed sheets smelled weird

    Great breakfast and really kind, professional staff. Also the hotel is close to the metro station. We had a nice stay there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great location with good restaurants in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shabby bathrooms not renovated, looked like an old ladys bathroom and was crampy and uncomfortable. Even the toilet seat was loose. TV was old and the TV signal was not working properly.

    Great location with good restaurants in the area. Short walk everywhere. Good breakfast although very crowded. Parking garage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for a short break in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stayed for four days in Stockholm. Hotel in a quiet area, but in walking distance (little bit more than 1km) to Gamla Stan. Very godd communication and polite employees. Extremely good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    8.8
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Airco not working properly in our room. Apparently OK for other customers but not all rooms are equal with respect to this.

    Great Location. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in Stockholm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The space for serving the breakfast as well as the bathroom could have been larger.

    The hotel is very modern, cozy and clean and offers great value for money. Breakfast and staff were awesome! We really enjoyed our time there. There is a supermarket, a bus stop and a metro station very close by. The city centre can be reached within 15 minutes by foot. Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    Placed a bit away from
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Placed a bit away from Central Stockholm (ca 1 km promenade), the hotel allows to enjoy cheap car parking on Stockholm streets, good bar, quiet surroundings and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    7.9
    Happy, friendly, helpful and warm.
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought breakfast was limited for vegetarians but the staff are really happy to assist with alternatives. Bathrooms are quite smal and I would describe the rooms as functional.

    The staff are what give this hotel top marks. They are all so unbelievably warm and friendly and go out of their way make help. I thought breakfast was limited for vegetarians but staff are really happy to assist with alternatives. Bathrooms are quite small. Rooms are functional, the bed is soooooo comfortable. One of those that you just dont want to get out of. Oh, and location was well situated. I walked every where. All in all I wasn't disappointed. Thank you Hotel Birger for my staff and thank you especially to the lovely, lovely staff :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    On a weekend trip with siblings and mom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - a bit old - looks a bit like student housing (but if you dont expect too much for this low price, you'll be more than fine) overall no big complaints - it easily deserves a recommendation

    On a weekend trip with siblings and mom - Great location - great Value - great breakfast - even had a gym (basic equipment, but still ok) - clean and functional rooms - very kind receptionists

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.3
    Good location, near the tube and just 20 mins to te city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room confortable but a bit small, small wardrobe and bathroom.

    Good location, near the tube and just 20 mins to te city center. Staff very kind, good breakfast. Very quiet area however well served (restaurants, supermarket).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    The location was peaceful and within a walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel rooms might need some renovation, especially the bathroom.

    The location was peaceful and within a walking distance from the city centre (10-15mins). An underground station and nice observation parks also nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    The room was clean, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was clean, comfy bed. Only a 20 minutes walk to the Main Street and old town. Very close to restaurants and bars. Extensive breakfast was a nice add on. Allowed me to store luggage and ordered taxi with no fuss.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay for a single traveler.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location in a beautiful quiet area with multiple links to the city centre. A journey from the hotel to the city centre is 10 minutes on average. Breakfast was great as well - longer hours than usual during the working days with a great variety of options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.3
    very convenient and very adequate room with excellent breakfast and helpful desk people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was a bit small and the shower a bit cramped. I was glad I did not weight 250 pounds.

    the location was perfect for us, near our daughter's apartment and 2 minutes from a subway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    You just need few minutes to reach the subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit cold inside, I couldn’t make it any better. They were doing a renovation. I knew it, because I read about it before on comments, but I hoped it was finished. Not that much noisy, but yeah.

    You just need few minutes to reach the subway. Try Subway rather than Taxi! Amazing city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    Close to a metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had some trouble checking in because of a system failure and the first employee wasn't very helpfull. But another employee helped us out.

    Close to a metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.8
    Good for Business travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a superior room. Ended up on the 7th floor in a very warm room, windows didn't open and air con temperature could not be adjusted. Also, the room looked very outdated. I was quickly offered another room which was a standard one which ended up being more modern and with a comfortable room temperature.

    The staff were great and bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff at the bar, cleaning staff was fast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had specified that I would like to check out at 15:00 - 16:00 the staff had written and said to me that that is no problem, but when we came back to get our luggage, our key cards were not working. The staff seemed confused but after a minute they gave us a new card and we could get our luggage and check-out with no issues.

    Very friendly staff at the bar, cleaning staff was fast and efficient. Check-in was very smooth!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    2.5
    糟糕的体验,再也不用booking了
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very disappointing experience.When we booked the room 2months earlier,the price was more than 1600kr with genius dicount,but the price when we checked in was less than 1000kr.However,the hotel refused to charged at the actual price.And the customer service of Booking didnt give me any solution or compensation.I would never use Booking again and sincerely,I advised u never book and pay on booking until the last few days u travel because the price of it would fall intensely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Easy Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is a bit small. The air con could not be switched off and the room was a bit cold.

    The breakfast is very good, it has a wide selection of food. There are many restaurants in the big street close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.7
    Midsummer in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably not the wisest decision of management to leave two new members of staff at the front desk that couldn't process payments; neither of them could split the room bill that I was sharing with a friend. I think if you're marketing twin-share rooms, at some point in time you'll have two customers that want to split the bill!

    Only about 20 minutes walk from Old Town and not too far from Central Station either. The room was nice (although the bathroom was a little small). A very good breakfast every morning, anyone with food intolerances (lactose, gluten) would be well-served here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    4.2
    Poor quality of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The housekeeping is really working badly - we had superior room , but the quality of room was really poor - see pictures . On top of all windows was blocked and it was no fresh air at all . This is not the level of 4 star hotel

    Hotel staff on reception was helpful and changed the room to junior suite , where we could open the window and the room was good . But this was after complaining for 2 days .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.8
    No-nonsense hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant can get very crowded during breakfast, so you have to come early.

    Very clean room, helpful staff, quite good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.8
    The location is really nice - only 3 subway stops from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very-very dusty - I had to clean all the shelves from the dust in order to put clothes. The bed is really small.

    The location is really nice - only 3 subway stops from the Old Town. Very good breakfast: good variety of options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    There are supermarkets and restaurants close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast area can get busy after 8:30 am, but there is still space. The staff are always bringing extra food so all choices are available at all times.

    There are supermarkets and restaurants close by. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the city center. I appreciated the printing facility and the gym which had the basics.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Fabulous staff, nice room and very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were fantastic in this hotel and it was across the board. A special and huge thank you to Thomas (morning kitchen staff) for his amazing kindness to us. The breakfasts were also fantastic and the location was very good. About 5 minutes walk to the Metro and 2 stops to the Central Train Station (could walk it in about 10-15 minutes). This has been one of our favourite hotels. We would love to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.0
    A shabby three-star hotel; not suitable for business trips!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A dirty and a shabby hotel, over 100 euros for a small room - not value for money. Personnel was not very professional (perhaps temporary staff even if old ladies - retired temp staff?) An advice: The hotel needs urgently a refurbishment and quality checks for cleaning. If you use e.g., refugees for cleaning tasks you got to train those people for European standards.

    A rather good location. Breakfast would have been good if there was food - it ran out every morning (e.g., scrambled eggs, bread, cheese, juice) - I chose this hotel due to a good restaurant but this time it was a disappointment.However, the restaurant is definitely the nicest part of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    A good and confortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room seemed a bit small than what we saw in the photos on Booking. I really did not like that the bathroom is really small - it serves one person at a time - and it could use an update. We stayed at 426 (Chez Pascale), a room with white and dreamy decor. The good point was that it was not facing the street so it was quiet inside... Except slamming doors from other visitors. A few points to consider to improve: - it would be useful an USB port on the electrical outlet in order to charge easily our phones - the rooms could have a system that saves energy when you are not in the room.

    The location is excelent, the bed is veeery confortable, and the breakfast is diverse and rich. All staff is very kind and helpful. The tea maker in the room is actually useful. Overall, it is a good and confortable hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a little too expensive for what it was but we did enjoy our stay

    20 minute walk from city centre and harbour. Breakfast was good value for money. Staff friendly. Room was small but functional but had everything we needed. Quiet room. Good Black out curtains. We had dinner in the restaurant too- limited menu but nice burger!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    Good loaction, with small double bedrooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a bit on the small side. I also requested a double bed but was given a twin bed. Additionally, the reading desk in my room was tiny, I couldn't even fit a laptop on it. Breakfast buffet lacked seasonal fruits like ( strawberries, blueberries, raspberry etc)

    Good location, near to Stockholm Central station ( 3-7 mins in a taxi and 15-25 mins walking (depending on walking pace.) Also 5 mins walking distance to nears underground station. Great breakfast buffet choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    5.4
    Breakast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid the normal price but hotel was definitely not worth of it. Room was a bit worn-out and very basic. Hotel was very general. It was not bad but not value for the money.

    Breakast was ok. Hotel was quite close to metro station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money - I reccommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was quite worn out and basic

    Very cosy, clean and spacious room. Great location - quiet area but within 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    The receptionist was very pleasant and checked in us very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had reservation for 2 rooms, each of them for 2 people. When we got into our rooms, we found out that in the bathroom there was set of bottles only for 1 person, not for 2. This was fixed relatively quickly, but I had to reach out to the receptionist directly.

    The receptionist was very pleasant and checked in us very quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with friendly staff and amazing breakfast in a superb location of Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Birger Jarl has met all our expectations. Great breakfast, super comfy beds and super friendly staff. Also, the gym is great and the location of the hotel is within walking distance of some great sights of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.8
    Comfy, very clean and reasonably spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfy, very clean and reasonably spacious rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in a quiet street, just two metro stops from the city's historic centre and has some good restaurants nearby e.g. the Italian on the next block.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was great and accommodating to many dietary...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A little expensive, also the room was rather hot and the air conditioner seemed to not work

    The breakfast was great and accommodating to many dietary requirements without needing to ask for them. It's in a great location and the rooms were nice and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.1
    The location is quiet, even though need to walk a few...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed it is a two beds combine together, the blanket is also for small single bed, not a queen size or king size.

    The location is quiet, even though need to walk a few minutes to the subway. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Ok, but for that kind of money I expect more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ventilation System in bathroom was very loud and could not be turned off during the night.Staff did not fix it although we asked twice.A different room was not available until 10pm at the last night of our stay. Color came off the ceiling of our room. Breakfast room too small for the large number of people.

    Breakfast buffet. Mostly friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Birger Jarl Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: