Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Camp Ripan 4 stars

Campingvägen 5, 981 35 Kiruna, Sweden

#3 of 12 hotels in Kiruna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1477 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    A recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location, on the outskirts, with very friendly staff. The cabins are attractively designed, comfortable and very clean. The size was sufficient for two people in the summer. The restaurant is fantastic, breakfast buffet very good. Unfortunately we had no time to use the swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    We liked the cabin which was very modern and up to date,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the cabin which was very modern and up to date, also the breakfast was excellent. For a place like Kiruna and for a camping place the price was a bit too high. On the way back we slept quite near in Piilijärvi in a cabin where the night was only 30 euros for 4 people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    The location of the Camp is strategic to move up to North...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of windows: we were aware of the mosquitos issue, however, to have a conditioning system able to refresh the hair would be better. We opened the door because the mosquitos' risk was low, but despite the open door and the small window with the net, no fresh air was circulating. I would try to improve that aspect also if it will impact on the final costs of the rent.

    The location of the Camp is strategic to move up to North for walking or trekking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Charming and comfortable cabin in Kiruna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better oven would be desirable

    Cabin was just amazing, warm and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was fabulous. Big shopping center is located 2min driving by car. There’s plenty of trails for running or hiking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    There was no help in terms of transportation or calling for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no help in terms of transportation or calling for a taxi by the hotel.. Although it says 15 mins walk from Kiruna bus station, it’s 25 mins walk and loads of chances of getting lost - a shuttle facility would solve this problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    We had a nice relax there after a trying drive from Lithuania with 3 kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk bed did not have guardrail, so our 5 year old refused to sleep on top.

    We were travelling with little kids, stayed one night and everything was perfect. Appartment clean, food, even on children menu, superb ( had dinner and breakfast), personnel helpful and polite. We even saw wild rabbits early in the morning jumping around the houses - kids were delighted! We also visited spa - it has a shallow pool, safe for kids (our 2 year old did not need much hep, except to get in and supervision :) ) and designated children visiting hours, which means adults may have a peaceful rest later. P.S. We noticed it's a perfect place for skiers to stay - our appartment had a skil-ocker and dryer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice place, but a bit overpriced and overrated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was old and a bit smelly (probably it was not used since long). Bathroom was ok size, however, toilet seat was directly at the door and you had to be careful entering the bathroom in order not to collide with it.

    Location is very nice. Quiet place, nice views. Breakfast buffet is pretty good. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful! A magical family adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beyond our expectations. The hotel and cabins were excellent and the spa was one of the best spas we have ever experienced. The restaurant food was superb. We went on the husky sleighing which was brilliant. We hired skis and got lost In the woods, which was fun. My daughter and I did yoga in the spa (at 6.30am) which was really special too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Perfect base!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very happy to have chosen Camp Ripan. Everyone was so helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Upon our special request (due to allergens elimination process), the restaurant and Chef kindly cooked my son a very delicious fish dish. They didn't mind if I wanted to order take-away for him too. Very accommodating, really appreciated that!!!! Kids had great fun borrowing camp's sled going around and down some slopes in the compound. We all loved it here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Obnoxious children ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have 2 young children too so I know kids, but when staff allow children to run wild thru the dinning room at dinner (zero interest of wedding party to manage childrens behaviour) and then even more wild children running around and around the breakfast room it becomes ridiculous. I know kids, will be kids ... but when they are allowed to do it away from their own parents and bother OTHER guests something should be done. I must say the staff looked after the children well with an endless smile and must be congratulated. The 2 meals there where ruined by out of control children, and this was outside of peak family season too.

    Spa and main building facilities are amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    we thought it will be pleasant stay because of toilet problem it was very frustrating situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, a toilet was blocked on the first morning, it was the very embracing situation with family. The receptionist was mentioned to talk with authority if they can compensate while checking out. Moreover, the apartment was not clean by the staff on the first day.

    Location and apartment were really good. We got the immediate help from the staff beyond reception hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    Very average and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cabins are very average (not well cleaned). Very small bathroom. Location: less scenery as expected (pictures on website present a much better view than in reality!). Surrounded by high buildings on one side. View from cabins is not interesting at all. Tours somewhat expensive (for dogsled they use third parties, don't know whether hotel skims off too much margin). We sometimes had the feeling: Camp Rip off! Snow shoe tour was a walk round the park (dinner was okay again!).

    Food is very good. Snowmobile tour and Dogsled very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice location just outside Kiruna center, perfect spot for...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small closet and not enough lights in the room.

    Nice location just outside Kiruna center, perfect spot for watching northern lights and cross country skiing! The rooms are actually small cabins, which during winter, feels like you are at small ski resort. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to downtown Kiruna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly staff and nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one issue for us was poor internet connection in our room. We were in artic circle and we were on holiday that we shouldn't had expected to access internet. But going on the internet was almost impossible. But the connection at the hotel reception was good that we brought our laptop there and checked emails. So problem sorted.

    All the staff were super friendly, kind and professional. We turned up at their restaurant close to its finishing time twice (not on purpose) but the staff weren't annoyed with us nor irritated by us. When we asked a receptionist about possible tours one late morning, the receptionist tried very hard to find a Kiruna city tour which suit our time - the tour was very interesting. We had to catch a very early morning flight from Kiruna that we could not have breakfast at their restaurant so that the hotel made us breakfast bags to take with us. This breakfast was very nice too. Location of the hotel was a bit away from central town but still walking distance. But because slightly away from the central and in a bit open space (not built in area), atmosphere of the hotel was calm and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    I liked the location and the area and also the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1.The room heater did not work 1st night ( outside temp was -17 degree & we were cold like anything the whole night) 2nd day after we called the reception and they provided a manual heater but no one came to check the room heater as they said they would. 2. There were no coffee or tea provided at all any day during our stay. only two small coffee packets were there when we checked in. And they never provided again. We had to ask the reception couple of time but then we stopped.

    I liked the location and the area and also the room. It was quite cozy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.8
    Well...it is ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds not comfortable, dirty bad (Tiles), for 4 star hotel you should provide at least shampoo in the rooms.

    The staff is very friendly, the breakfast ist good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay despite a day’s delay getting there :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cabin 63 needs to have the bathroom door sanded down, we could not close the door properly and handle was loose. This is a 10 minute job, please fix this. Bathroom is small but manageable. We had to turn our heating down a bit and open the cool air flaps as it was sometimes very warm in the room. Children’s bunk bed room is very narrow. Staff doing tours need to have knowledge of traditions of the Sámi people. We got quite a few “I don’t know” responses but our guide was new on the job.

    Good location. My children & I liked the soft beds, my husband prefers a harder bed. Coffee/tea making facilities in room. Cosy & clean rooms. Wifi was good. The drying cupboard for wet clothing. Heated bathroom floor. Restaurant was very good. Breakfasts were great. Sledding equipment is free of charge & great fun. Town centre is easy to get to by foot. Lingonberry jam & juice, yum!👍🏼😋 The Swedes speak very good English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    Correct but a little “over rated” though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was like a cantine, but more expansive. Pretty far by foot from center Kiruna. Having tested other place, it was our last prefered one. Conclusion: go for Spis (amazing restaurant!) or Eden Arctic! It coul like tough, but try and you’ll tell me.

    Chilling place on the 1st floor. A dedicated place to see auroras.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    The ultimate relaxation after 2 days dog sledding in the Arctic Wilderness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soft beds and late check in.

    Magical Spa which unusually allowed children. Very attentive and friendly staff. Superb breakfast which catered for Gluten and Lactose free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, but lacking in charm and too expensive for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Aurora viewpoint' and aurora viewing room seemed almost a scam given all the bright lights around the hotel. We stayed here on the last night of a skiing and aurora watching tour and had just stayed at much nicer places at half the price. It is a comfortable place, but not very charming.You could see the see the aurora, but the aurora viewpoint was situated low so you did not have a 360 view, and there was a lot of light pollution.

    Comfort, nice beds. The spa. Good drinks in bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    The location was great and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms and the furniture looked very basic, even the ones that were classified as luxurious. The information about the rooms on booking.com did not paint a full picture. The hotel did not alert us about the airport shuttle and we had to make our own arrangements to get a taxi in both directions.

    The location was great and the staff were friendly. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit steep price.

    We liked the design of the main building and the open environment. We also like the location of the camp and the cabin set-up. Also the variety of excursions were impressive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff are very average and don't seem to care to much about the people that are paying their wages ..... ie the guests! The restaurants dinner menu is incredibly limited and inflexible, I would consider other options if I was to visit again. Not all activities are available on all days. Check very carefully that the activities that you want to do will be running on the days that you are staying.

    Some staff are exceptional! Well done to those that care about what they are doing :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Great holidays in winter wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I would improve in the accomodation are the matresses as they have springs and it's not the most comfortable. Also I knew that there would be 2 single beds pushed together in the family room as a "double bed" but as it is a family room, I would prefer a normal double bed for the adults and the singles for the children. Was a bit annoying, as the beds seperated but nothing dramatic. Other than that, enjoyed our stay a lot!

    We had a great stay at Camp Ripan! Got there easily with the airport transfer-really nice guy and comfortable bus. The personell overall was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was also good and loved our little bungalow. Was surprised about the floor heating in the bathroom which was very welcome after being out in the cold all day and also very much appreciated the heater in the hall where you can dry shoes etc., have never seen that before. Also great to have a small kitchen in the room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Safe, great design, amazing location for access to town (5-7...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason I booked Camp Ripan was because of the spa (steamroom and sauna). However, what was not made clear was the charge of €30 per guest for entry (max 2 hours). I would have not chosen this hotel had I’d known this. This was very important for me and my wife and felt we were mid-sold the amenities.

    Safe, great design, amazing location for access to town (5-7 minutes walk), the Aurora Borealis can be seen from the caravan park, and we did see it! Green, Red, yellow! Amazing!! Breakfast was superb and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.0
    Specious room.
    • Group
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is bad, small bathroom ..Too Far from the center .. taxis are expensive to get to the center ..activities too expensive.. and the rooms are not 4 stars room..too expensive rooms for what we got

    Specious room..good staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Its possible to rent everything what is needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were unlucky - clearing came only during baby day sleep, as result we had several days without cleaning.

    Its possible to rent everything what is needed. Cuisine is great. Etc, etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    An beautiful, snowy eco-haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't say in didn't like the property because of this, as we would definitely stay again, but the location is not entirely ideal for viewing the northern lights. We were able to see them faintly but there is too much surrounding light pollution from nearby high rise apartments and street lights, even around the observatory area. However, we had a hire car and had already viewed the northern lights prior to our stay here in the wilderness surrounding Kiruna. Camp Ripan however is the prefect base to book northern lights excursions or to self-explore the area and chase the aurora!

    The chalet was incredibly comfortable and spacious, clean and with great amenities. The food was delicious - both the breakfast included and the meal we had in the restaurant. Highly recommend the reindeer fillet - best reindeer meat we tried on the trip and all produce is locally sourced, organic and eco friendly; even the prosecco was vegan and SO tasty!! The staff were lovely - very friendly and welcoming. The location is also great for access to Kiruna town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    An experience of a lifetime. The wild, cold and amount of snow leave you speechless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the end you must appreciate the cost of living in Sweden. Drinks and food are very expensive. If you are looking for a economical holiday then do not come to Sweden.

    Although only 15 minutes from the town centre , Camp Ripon feels like it is in the wilderness. The Cabins are extremely well heated, temperatures outside during our stay being about -25. The breakfast is good and all the staff really helpful. Hire of equipment is very competitive. The Spar is good with limited numbers adding to the experience. Overall Camp Ripon will enhance your stay above the Artic circle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wanted more vegan options which are hot and not just salads.

    We visited this place in Dec'17. It is a nice property. Lovely staff both at the restaurant and reception. Also did my Dog Sledg booking from through. It was a great experience. A great place to stay. Do book your transport from the airport in advance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast, if it can start earlier in weekend will be most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 bed rooms cottage that’s mean 1 bed room in a studio. Room is too small for 4 persons, not enough kitchen’s equipment

    Breakfast, if it can start earlier in weekend will be most better

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place in Kiruna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was disappointing and really over-rated (70 euro for 2 people to eat very little and nothing special). Advice: It's very difficult to see the northern lights in Kiruna town, even though the hotel is a bit far from the centre so make sure you arrange an excursion (we did a photo tour, amzing).

    The place is really nice. it's located outside Kiruna but it can be reached on foot if you want. We got to Kiruna by train and from the train station we took the bus to the bus station and walked from there to the hotel. It's a 15-20 minute walk. the cabin was really nice, spacious, comfortable, warm and well-decorated. Staff were nice and helpful. We didn't do any excursions with them but they had an office taking care of that. nice lounge room where you could relax and warm up. Breakfast was fantastic, the best we've ever had. We didn't try the spa but it seemed nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice and friendly hotel, perfectly located for the cross-country skier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower temperature regulator didn't work properly and the janitor couldn't fix it either. This could be dangerous for smaller children, when the water suddenly turns boiling hot. The lunch and dinner at the restaurant were poor and overpriced. The 15 minute walk to town restaurants is well worth the trouble.

    Friendly and helpful staff, easy access to cross-country ski tracks, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Great staff and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had our snowmobile break down on tour. However, issue was resolved and money refunded.

    Great staff and amenities. Restaurant had very nice food. Dog sledding adventure one of the best things I have ever experienced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There're no basic medical supplies (nobody was able to find a thermometer when I had fever), the air indoor was quite dry and not very comfortable.

    Aurora view point very close to the hotel (we saw the northern lights), pretty good breakfast, close to the airport. The restaurant offers tasty dishes at dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some difficulties with our travel arrangements in getting to Kiruna and we are immensely grateful for the responsive help we were provided by Camp Ripan staff in assisting us in making alternate arrangements. Not only in this instance, but from the outset of us booking our accommodation we had regular contact with staff as we planned which activities we would undertake during our stay. Camp Ripan did not disappoint in any way, the cabin was comfortable, food was excellent and the surrounds are truly a winter winterland.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Breathtaking spa with an outside hot tub, lots of options...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked to upgrade our room through booking.com messaging a few days before arrival, and got a confirmation, along with the new total. However, when we arrived, the new room was not available anymore and we were stuck with our old reservation.

    Breathtaking spa with an outside hot tub, lots of options for trips with pick up directly from the hotel. There are also sleds you can use for free to make your walk around town easy and fun.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Great stay in Lapland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at reception area was friendly, but could have been a little more efficient. Though the food was very tasty, it would be nice if there were a couple more choices on the menu.

    The location is great with cute little cabins, they're nice but not luxurious though! However, the bathrooms were new and modern with heated floor, which was nice after spending the day out in the cold. The organized trips were amazing and the food at the restaurant was good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Memorable stay - definitely recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you take a shower, the entire bathroom floor is drenched - there should be a ledge between the shower area and the bathroom floor to prevent this from happening.

    Super friendly staff, helped us organize the most memorable activities of our entire trip! We were able to book a trip to see the Northern Lights in Abisko and it was amazing. The ice hotel is also just a 20 minute ride away and the staff booked taxies for us. The facilities are neat, and the breakfast is superb. You do have to pay for dinner, but it's worth it - kudos to the chef!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff with good atitude to there guests
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine !

    Very friendly staff , they know how to threat guests ! , two friendly (cocktail)girls :-) (haven't remembered there name) we had a little chat with them ; they were interested and pure ... 10+ for facility and staff , basic cabin but very proper cleaned and comfortly warm !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Loved our four person cabin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved our four person cabin! I wish the sauna was included in the price of the hotel, but it was worth the price after a long day in the snow and definitely lovely! Dinner and breakfast were also amazing. We loved it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    One of the best trips we’ve ever taken!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be better on gritting the snow and ice around reception—dangerous!

    Friendliest staff ever and so helpful at booking activities. Great cabins with really warm heating, fridge and great shower. Restaurant is really good too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast,nice spa. Location is a let down as the hotel is surrounded by high rise buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a let down as the hotel is surrounded by several high rise apartments. The location is too bright for northern lights unless it is a very strong one. Furthermore, the maximum capacity is only for 4 people, we have 5 people and we need to get another cabin. We founds the cabin is actually big enough to take 5 people but the hotel insist it is too small to accommodate for 5 people. In order to get a cabin next to each other, we need to get the 4 people cabin. It is very inconvenience as we need to get in & out in order to go to another cabin. There is no inter-connect room!! The room is too hot although we turned the heating down & the duvet is too thick. Could not sleep very well.

    Good breakfast, nice spa - especially the outdoor one!! Nice clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Good Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in my room doesn't work, so the staff arranged me to take a shower at the Spa house. The price is a little expensive.

    The room feels warm and sweet, the environment is also very nice. The breakfast offered by hotel is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    good option in Kiruna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa was pricey and could be booked for only 2 hours, we were informed about this only at check-in.

    Cabin was very clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Great base location for exploring the surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricy

    Clean, comfortable rooms with everything you need. Don't expect super-luxurious, but definitely a modern and nice room. Breakfast was very decent, lot's of option and even glutenfree choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Not quite what we expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We assumed to have cooking possibilities included however it didnt. It was better to stay over at the camping site than in the cottage. No air conditioning, so it was too hot to sleep well. Someone had smoked in the room obviously, since the smell of the cottage was like that (we had to keep the front door open to get some fresh air). In a nutshell, the room didnt quite fullfill our expectations.. However, we were happy to have a proper shower with soap init.

    Breakfast included to the price and it was great! Also great location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Much more than a campsite, just outside Kiruna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is at an extra cost (not that we were able to use it, as it was too cold even in July)

    Mini-golf and play area with trampoline for kids. Good restaurant. Cabins are warm and good sized, with separate bedroom for kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Close to the town and to well signposted walks up the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to the town and to well signposted walks up the local mountain. An outdoor heated pool. Excellent breakfast (included), lunch and dinner (extra).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.4
    A good base in Kiruna for a short time, but be prepared to pay a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa is quite expensive, especially if you really just want to use the pools for a short time, which is the case if you have kids. And if you have kids, they are only allowed in between 6 and 8PM. It should definitely be cheaper for everyone at that time, if not free for camp guests. Be aware that the cottages are not 2 bedroom as advertised - they are one small bedroom with bunk beds for the kids, and the main bed is in the lounge/kitchen/dining area which simply isn't big enough if you bring any luggage! You make it work - but they are pretty small.

    The restaurant is really good - up there with the best in Kiruna, so don't feel you have to leave to camp ground to find a really good meal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    This was my second visit to camp Ripan and I will certainly stay here when I am back in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Breakfast was good, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the food at lunch time and the evening was excellent. The spa was a welcome relaxation from some busy days

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Remote and ideal for cross country ski-into and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a cheap stay and the rooms are lovely but basic - I'm used to spa facilities being part of the package and it was irritating that they were all extra and too expensive to dip into briefly. With lookinng at the excursions hey offer here - we booked ahead with a different provider and it cost us more than it would have if we'd waited until we arrived.

    Super restaurant - beautiful gourmet supper.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Camp Ripan for business and pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    High quality diner, price is correspondingly.

    Good and nice location, 30 minutes walk to LKAB office, 10 minutes walk to city centre. Clean cabine. Fantastic breakfast and diner. Excellent base for outdoor activities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.3
    An amazing night of northern light sighting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far away from the center. It would be nice that shuttle service is provided.

    The location is remote enough to see northern light and we did see northern light the first night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Lapland is Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed during a night that aurora borealis was very strong, but the "Northern Lights Viewing Area" was absolutely nothing special. The spa cost extra - a lot extra so it wasn't worth it so we didn't go. I also traveled with friends but they put us in cabins that were a fairly long walk apart. I couldn't figure out how to call to their room with the hotel phone. Also, the bathroom, though it had heated floors, did not have a shower curtain so when I showered, it got the whole bathroom wet. Very strange.

    The breakfast was amazing! That was the best part of it. And I thought the hotel staff very friendly -- we noticed some stains on our bedsheets but we went to the front desk and someone came right away to change the sheets. Overall very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    A perfect place for a snow adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and kind to my 4 year old daughter, we had wonderful meals in the restaurant and a lovely afternoon in the spa. Everywhere was immaculately clean and tidy, and we loved that they had sledges for children to borrow. We did an evening dog sled ride arranged through them and it was amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Kuruna and see the northern lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    things that would make it a 10: lack of bathroom slippers, lack of a shower curtain, could help guests with carrying their luggage to the rooms

    wide selection for breakfast, perfect location, comfortable big sized rooms. The hotel's activities were amazing. The chef was kind enough to prepare a lovely meal for us on the time the kitchen was closing for the night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.3
    Not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the two bedroom cottage and it was very small and not very clean. My son dropped a pillow on the floor and it was covered with dust. There was a group of students outside at night who were screaming and very noisy. Also, the wifi in the cottage didnt't work at all. We couldn't use the pool or sauna because it required pre booking, which we didnt know about. The hotel should let the guests know about that. This was disappointing since one reason for booking this hotel was that there is a pool we can use. Sorry, but we were not happy with our stay. This place is not good value for money.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic Once-In-A-Lifetime Trip To See The Northern Lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sweden overall is expensive but I found it better value for money in Kiruna than Stockholm.

    Mainly the staff, they were all excellent and so welcoming to someone who'd travelled 16 hours by train alone! Also the food in the restaurant is outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    6.7
    Three night stay at camp Ripan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told I had to pay extra to use the pool and sauna after paying 900 aud dollars for three nights Very rude I asked for room to be serviced and this did not happen

    Location nice room Walking tracks Breakfast was nice Had wifi Had tv No language barrier

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Love the Staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is fantastic! We won't move anywahere when we check in. The children love here and the skiing. The restaurant is very ghi rated and food here is delicious. WE had the CNY EVE dinner here and the recomended wine is excellent and uniquie taste, we all love it! The room is big & confirmtable. My gilr love the fold beds and she changed beds every night. In one secentece: Love the staying!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    Overpriced nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi worked only in the main building. Chalets were spacious yet very basic for this price. Location 10-15 min walk from center but not convenient for anything really. Too expensive for what it is. Chalets standing in the middle of a compound. Overall rather dissapointing comparing to what internet shows it to be

    Great help from activity desk and wonderful excursion booked at a good price. Good quality and lots of choice for breakfast. Very nice and helpful Staff. Fare size chalets.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent restaurant, slightly pricy, however.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to spa facilities is not included in room price.

    Excellent restaurant, slightly pricy, however. City center is walkable, yet the property is at the edge of town and suitable for basic aurora-watching.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    5.8
    Ok- but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are friendly, but don't want to go out of their way to help you. The heating cut out on our first night- and it was minus 30 degrees outside. When we asked about it, staff apologized did not provide a solution. We had to ask for a portable heater to keep ourselves warm. The check out process took nearly 45 mins. We also had someone in our group get food poisoning from breakfast the morning we left.

    The room was very clean, and housekeeping staff and the lady on the activities desk were very friendly and helpful. The lady on the activities desk even managed to book us on another dogsled tour when ours was cancelled at short notice. Convenient as you can book all activities through reception and all tour companies pick you up from the hotel. The centre of town is a short walk away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Great venue for a Lapland break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like, though the spa was rather expensive.

    We loved Camp Ripan. The chalets are very comfortable, and the restaurant was good value for money by Swedish standards, especially at lunchtime. The spa was great, and the breakfast excellent. If you're lucky enough to catch the aurora, it's on the edge of town, so away from most of the bright street lights.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Cabins are great for a longer stay and can walk to grocery store in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Probably still too much street lighting to be able to see the Northern Lights, but better than staying in town of Kiruna

    Good breakfast included Very comfy cabins and good that small kitchen included to do own cooking Good location on outskirts of town but still close enough to walk to town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcomed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are friendly and helpful. They had helped a lot before we arrived. We left early the next morning and they prepared nice breakfast packs for us

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast, good location and nice and tidy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no wardrobe closets in the cabin. And we were missing a shower door or curtain, so after every shower the whole bathroom was wet.

    Good breakfast, good location and nice and tidy room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location! Warm cabin. Amazing Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wish the entrance to the spa was free for guest. Also, could have use more choices of tea in the cabin as well.

    The cabin was spacious! Has everything we need for our short stay. It kept the warm. Heated bathroom floor was amazing for a night of -10 C! Breakfast is generous!!! Wish we could stay longer to explore the surrounding a bit more!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.3
    No teabag/coffee powder refill
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No teabag and coffee powder re-fill on my second day. Too far from downtown while still too close to the city for aurora. The aurora waiting room can't see outside well. Window got reflection. The aurora I saw was not very strong. If I stay inside, I must miss my chance to see it.

    Breakfast is good. And basically room is ok except no teabag re-fill.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    Nice base to explore the surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is a bit off from the city centre but its only a 15 min walk anyway. Nothing I disliked really.

    The room was quite OK. Fair location. Very good breakfast. Also try the restaurant in the facilities - Its very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    4.6
    Ok for a first try but not a repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic. But I was disappointed that every possible activity in the camp comes with a price tag. I would ve expected sauna and shuttle to train station as basics with the room charges. Breakfast buffet not to nordic standard.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.9
    Very kind staff, gives all the information needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough light in the room. Considering that it is 4 stars hotel: only one set of towels was changed, but we were 4 people. No extra toilet paper, so there was empty in a day of departure. No toothbrush holder.

    Very kind staff, gives all the information needed. Good breakfast. Offer a variety of attractions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    6.3
    Confortable however activities need work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The activities were non refundable. A friend who was sick could not come along however we were unable to get our money back on this even though a week's notice was given. I understand when the activities are run by external entities but not when you are going to the ice hotel and all they provided you with was your transfer and a ticket to get in. Do not purchase this from Camp Ripan. You can take a taxi return cheaper for 2 people or more and buy a ticket at the hotel itself. There was absolutely no guidance given as to what to do and what to look at by the transfer staff member and in my opinion you have to wait too long to get the return back afterwards. 5 hours is too long a time for the tour of the ice hotel.

    The waiting staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Best holiday ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, choice of hot food was limited sausage and egg, porridge and pancakes but plenty to choose from really and never went hungry. Small kitchen was perfect and we cooked twice for a family of four. The vast grounds around the hotel were superb and we even saw northern lights which was a dream come true.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: