Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal 4 stars

Bäckgatan 10, 352 30 Växjö, Sweden

#10 of 14 hotels in Växjö

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 823 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer cleaner rooms and in the toilet room have air fragrance as ventilation works poorly in room. Also, I prefer small bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel - this hotel has just one shampoo and gel on the wall and soap for hands on another wall - so I needed to go to the pharmacy to buy those it was not lovely...

    Breakfast + afternoon snacks and dinner worth to stay for long trip period as you will not need to look for different restaurants everyday. Staff is nice and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refridgerator in the room - singleroom - but I did not expect such either

    Läget, att middagsbuffén ingår i priset! Personalen. .... Evening meal also included in price, at 18:00-21:00 - soup + that evenings maincourse + salladsbuffé + bread and butter + coffee/tee free of charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it’s time to renovate it a little bit, but otherwise it’s perfect!

    The staff was very polite and breakfast and dinner were absolutely perfect !!! Location is in heart of the town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in an annex building opposite to the main building. Not far away but a little bit confusing, so we went into a wrong building at the very beginning. The room is not spacious but enough for two.The beds are too soft and the heating is not powerful enough in the afternoon.

    The staff at the reception is helpful. The location is good, five-minute walk to the railway station. Easy access to Linneaus University.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No vegetarian option for dinner. It would be great if there is any thing vegetarian as main course instead of just soup and salads. (Vegitarian = no meat, no Fish, no eggs.)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall impression: some parts were little worn out. Dusty carpet on the floor. Bathroom needed some make over.

    Nice location in the center of the town. Diner and breakfast were included, and the quality ok. That made good value-for-money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room extremely small and in bad condition. Shower worked poorly and bathroom was not clean.

    day time employees was very friendly. Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Första natten natten var kall ute, vi frös då elementen inte fungerade som de borde. Personalen var mycket hjälpsam då vi klagade, vi fick extra element och man gjorde någon justering på elementen. Följande dygn var helt ok.

    Mycket hjälpsam och trevlig personal. Stort plus för kvällsbuffén. Centralt läge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning service was poor and food was almost the same every day. Very uncomfortable beds (extremely soft). Accommodation was very old fashioned and I would rate it as a lower 3 stars hotel (definitely not 4 stars as presented!).

    Great location, very friendly staff, free wifi and the biggest advantages were free refreshments during the day (coffee, tea, cookies, fruits,...) and evening meals.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned wifi when not a member. Floor not quite clean in the room. You had to ask for new glasses for your toothbrush (stayed 5 nights). Pillows uncomfortable. They removed my husbands towels and bed linen because he was not there all nights so we had to ask for new sets when he came back. The food was not excellent but eatable. After two days you needed a change. Seemed a bit old fashioned all over and worn out and not worth the price.

    Central in Växjö. Easy to park nearby. Quiet in night. Big room. Two televisions in the room. Friendly but busy in the reception. You could all the time serve yourself with tea and coffee on the ground floor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main office is on the walking street and a little hard to find

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The complimentary dinner and breakfast buffets were tasty

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else... the interior of the room, the dinner, the breakfast, everything

    The service staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was not cleaned after previous guests, bed sheets were dirty.

    Centrally located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    hair i shower...

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable to have dinner included, and breakfast as well!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to stay in a kind of annex so that I had to go out to reach dining/breakfast restaurant. No reception staff in annex.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and dining room were in separate buildings.

    Sauna was available all the time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like separate building without reception or any personal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    evening meals are almost the same every day and really not tasty

    Excellent location and friendly stuff; very good value for money; good breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too small

    it was nice to have a evening meal included.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet could have been more variety and the food was cold.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing worth mentioning.

    staff we very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. The evening meal a real bonus. Nice little terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good buffé when we arrived and a very good breakfast before we left.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included evening meal was great as we arrived late!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dependable, modern hotel. Excellent breakfast. Not much character but it does have modern style.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of perfume/scents from cleaning stuff used in rugs was a bit strong.

    Good location, very friendly and helpfull staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was perfect !

    The staff was really nice and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are really good, with a large choice of food. The rooms are confortable and clean. Excellent place to stay !

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got a room a short walk from the main entrance on the outside. Unfortunately the weather was harsh and if I had known about this I had only accepted if the price was reduced, or chosen another hotel, where I didn't have to do this.

    Nice dinner with almond oven baked fish and cheese with biscuits for dessert. Nice reception staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When I change one of the rooms in my booking from two persons in a double room into one person in a single room, I would certainly expect a price reduction. Which I didn't get!!! What's the point in changing then??? Very negative!! We had rooms allowed for bringing a pet. However, our dog was not allowed to join us for dinner or breakfast, so we were forced to leave him alone in the room... Very negative!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our family of 4 had a good 3 night stay at the Clarion Cardinal- we had 2 rooms with twin beds. The location was good in the center of Vaxjo which is a small town. We could walk to restaurants, market, etc. We had a car and the hotel had a garage. The breakfast was good with hot food, cereal & yogurt, fruit, etc. The included evening meal was decent with different entree selections each day, bread and cheese and some fruit and cookies. You can definitely get better food around town, but at least it was something to fill you up after a long day out. The room was clean and the bathroom in our room looked newly renovated. Looks like they have different buildings of the hotel so I'm not sure if they are all the same or if some are newer than others. We had a good stay for the price and would recommend staying here while in Vaxjo.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central hotel. Railways station is also close by. Friendly staff. Clean and modern room, not very big but with enough storage space. Very good breakfast selection. Room out the back with view of cathedral tower was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, no keycard lock.

    Great location, valur for money. Free dinner included and if you missed it there were sandwich and coffee later in the evening. Helpful staff and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com website was misleading, stating that there was free parking when there was none.

    Well equipped room with helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great place with friendly staffs

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Chair / comfotr in the rum

    Läget, Personalen

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, evening dinner

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast and evening meal were good

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small dinner is a nice add on in this hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking, had to walk a bit through town with bags. Noisy trucks outside windows, fairly unpleasant.

    Good breakfast, dinner not too bad.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room needs a new mattress

    Staff was very nice & helpful evening dinner included

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the staff and the good meals.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really nice staff and perfekt food anf coffe in the afternoon.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: