Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Drott 4 stars

Järnvägsgatan 1, 652 25 Karlstad, Sweden

#3 of 20 hotels in Karlstad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1129 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot food after 21 though included in the price. Make sure to read facilities as photos do not correspond with chosen room type.

    Good evening staff and great shrimp sandwisch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds were comfortable breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner included so was a bonus. Very hot weather so air conditioning was welcome, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would change is to turn the complimentary evening meal into a proper dinner.

    The Clarion Collection Hotel Drott always delivers! The staff is superb and the facilities are great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, my husband and me diecied to go to stockholm, but we didn't catch the right train, so we stayed in K for one night. That was the 24th DEC, but the beaty lady in reception was still very nice. We enjoyed the buffe in the chrismas eve, and the breakfast was also great. Finally, we found this hotel has some history. This city was not in our plan, but was better than our expectation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ice-cold floor in the bathroom and it was a bit freezy in the room during the night.

    Helpful staff, always with a smile. Good room facilities like comfy bed and a spacious room. Tasty breakfast and various evening meals. Lots of vegetables and healthy snacks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room towards mainstreat was very noisy, music from cars. Breakfast was messy, food ok, but too many people.

    Location, staff, Nice room with bathroom items from Rituals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I liked the hotel. Would return if in Oslo.

    Provided room as requested, twin beds as required. Room was quiet, front desk personnel were helpful and appreciative. You felt welcomed. I saw other reviews who complained about proximity to the city center. Walk a block, catch a city bus that will drop you to a tram stop if needed or other easy connection to anywhere in the city. We changed bus once to go the Viking ship museum that dropped you at their door. The museum is a little further out so having the bus take you there and return you to the city center was convenient. Returning to the hotel was just as easy. Day passes or single destination tickets were easy to get at the terminals that offered English displays for purchasing your tickets. The hotel is situated next to the farmers market gourmet foods and restaurants offering all types of food choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's smoke free hotel but you smell smoke inside the halls of the hotel. The rooms are very small and you can hardly move in the room . The beds are not comfortable

    The location is good . Breakfast is not that bad . It's smoke free hotel but you smell smoke inside the halls of the hotel. Have coffee in the afternoon and sweet. The reception staff were nice helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too big pillow. I would like the possibility to chose a thin pillow. I need conditioner after hairwash and had to go out and buy it.

    Nice room. All the Pictures of famous "värmlänningar". Good information. Generous with the afternoon "fika". Our train left early but we were welcomed to start our breakfast Before opening time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were children in the hottub and sauna. So the sauna was cold when we arrived and the floor was like a pool. Better if childeren may not come to the sauna alone. Please ask for a room not above the kitchen (you smell it really good during the night)

    Free breakfast, afternoon tea and buffet. Friendly people. good (small) room. In city centre, parking in parking garage (3min walk), +/- 130 sek a day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated towels upon my arrival. Had a car with me and the staff wasn't clear about where to park it. They provided free dinner which was an added benefit but wish I'd gotten a recommendation for another restaurant.

    Things were just ok.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money with all day coffee,breakfast and dinner included in the rarte.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was extremely tasty with plenty of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whirlpool looked quite dirty.

    The included dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the oldest reception has no service mind but others OK

    breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complete stay with Dinner included and Nice bar in Great Atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All aspects.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clarion Hotels give good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal for free was really great. Best value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Friendly helpful people. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bed sloped towards the floor No nameplates under portraits in the corridor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To soft bed, poor breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been more proactive

    Ambience, historical atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    should not be rate 4 star hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -dinner and coffee in the afternoon were included -very nice location -perfect room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows to hard and high. Not good for people sleeping mosltly on their side

    Nice with included afternoon meal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located in city centre, just a minute walking from train station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent evening meal. Very nice and roomy bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very nice close to shopping area and to the walking street.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Opened before I checked-in half-drunk bottle of beer stayed at fridge all my staying there, although I told about that to a reception in the first day 24 Nov

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room where I was needs renovation. Heating only worked in the bathroom, not in the room. Fortunately the season was not yet very cold.

    The staff was extremely friendly. The free buffet dinner was a welcome plus.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lost long distance and wifi service for a few days

    Great choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location, very nice staff, room convenient, good food - we loved to stay there

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is only can be called a motel

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Atmosphere The inclusive dinner concept

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very nice and cozy, the hotel itself was beautiful and stylish. Staff were really nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds are to soft.

    Afternoon buffet is very convenient. Very good location.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise in the morning. Builders hammering in the next room at 7:15am

    Buffet dinner and breakfast were both excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    It was brilliant... So central and excellent tripple glazing

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, good position to reach the hotel by train, and to see the city centre

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice with a evening meal, free of charge

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no space to securely store our bicycles, so we had to book (and pay for) a bigger room which allowed the bikes in the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff and location

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    none

    new hotel, everything is new

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no problems.

    In centre, 50m to trailway station, near of nice lake side. Easy parking in next building P- house. Excellent dinner and breakfast!

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: