Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten 4 stars

Hamnplan, 432 44 Varberg, Sweden

#7 of 13 hotels in Varberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1131 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Not coming back. To expensive compared to what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Dinner. Staff seemed unfriendly. Very arrogant and very fast to ask for the payment. Didn`t fell welcome at all!

    The dinner at night was awfull. They are serving one meal each night. Either you like it or not. No options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Loved the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dusty in the hallways. Double bed was annoyingly easy to move apart so you can easily find yourself in the "crater" between the beds, but I guess it should be like that and I just chose the wrong room with wrong bed set.

    Loved the location of the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were really good. Staff in the reception was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice location in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the first hotel room (no. 237 I think it was), we heared a quite loud motor noise from somewhere outside the door. The receptionist said this probably is sound from the spa-pool so we will not hear it after 21 o'clock. We said we wanted a new room, as the noise is too terrible. She gave us a new room (upgraded to superior room). The difference between our new superior room and the former (standard) room, was: Superior room has Nespresso-like coffee machine (we could not find the manual), we also got 2 bathrobes and a quite nice window view. The standard room had a mobile suitcase stand (hanging on hooks on the wall). To our surprise, there were no such in the superior room, - here we had to put our suitcases on the floor. Otherwise we could not find any difference between the two kinds of rooms, - so if you can accept a view towards the back yard, not getting bathrobes nor Nespress-like coffee machine, you can consider to save the money and rent a standard room. There were not so many sockets for our mobile and ipad chargers. Too little space in the bath room - quite difficult to place our toiletries. Average evening buffet.

    Nice location in the middle of town. Free parking just outside hotel. Excellent breakfast. Very good coffee. The bed was comfortable (two duvets) and the room was clean. Friendly receptionist who was most willing to change room to new upgraded one when we complained about noise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Included Dinner was great, as was breakfast, complimentary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a business hotel, so view was.poor - but otherwise great for us breaking our drive to Malmo.

    Included Dinner was great, as was breakfast, complimentary afternoon 'fika' was welcome. Really handy for train station, right by the seafront, free parking. Superior room was comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Friendly Fregattan pleases visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were very satisfied overall. We travelled with locals so transport matters didn't arise.

    Friendly staff; convenient location; sound advice; good meals. We were able to do all the things we planned and enjoyed its location in its pleasant and relaxing environment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improve bathroom amenities. Install a correct shower instead of a curtain and a hole in the middle of the bathroom

    Nice Buffet for breakfast, afternoon tea and dîner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    I'm happy with nice staff and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one more chain in double room could be a bonus

    comfortable beds, mini freezer, clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient when crossing with the ferry to Grenaa
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wine selection was poor.

    The included evening meal was simple (no choices) but quite good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    I like the breakfast and diner. The personell was kindly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Clean and modern
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air was bad

    Clean and modern

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    awesome location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not a hotel, so no hotel amenities.

    awesome location. our own flat in Nice close to beach, restaurants and shops

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Great stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers breakfast and buffet dinner (served from 6pm to 9pm) with no extra charge. I also love the jacuzzi and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel very close to tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    This cost a bit more than some hotels.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious. I liked the breakfast, tea, and dinner,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    8.8
    The beed and that you got both dinner and breakfast in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beed and that you got both dinner and breakfast in the price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location, breakfast, and a ice machine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, breakfast, and a ice machine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Well worth it. Would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice location, excellent staff and our dogs made very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very limited choice for dinner if you are not a salad muncher only a very ordinary chilli con carne. Still as included in room price you can't be too critical

    Nice location, excellent staff and our dogs made very welcome. Rooms comfortable and clean. Staff offered a free drink after no hot water in my room.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Excellent food, great location between harbour and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    room facing the road and railway was noisy with the window open, which was necessary in the summer.

    Excellent food, great location between harbour and town.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    A very clean modern hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was some noise from a night club nearby which reduced after midnight

    A very clean modern hotel in a good location. The buffet food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    The room and the breakfast were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No coffee or tea facility in the room.

    The room and the breakfast were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.1
    Nice room, clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds need replacement.

    Nice room, clean

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff made my first stay in Sweden with a young...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very helpful staff made my first stay in Sweden with a young baby very pleasant. Breakfast and dinner buffet very nice and good range

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: