Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset 4 stars

Skeppsbrogatan 26, 392 31 Kalmar, Sweden

#3 of 16 hotels in Kalmar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 997 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our room. We knew it was a budget one, but did not expect to be assailed by the pungent smell of (we assume) the kitchen outlet on the flat roof below when we opened the window during the whole of our stay. The regular noise of the staff emptying dozens of empty bottles into a container was also disturbing. The close-up view of a roof and straight into the rooms opposite was not the most pleasant.

    Lovely decking area to watch the boats go by and tea/coffee on offer whilst doing so. The so-called ‘free’ evening meal was helpful, but rating the overall cost against 6 other properties we used that holiday, we felt we paid for it in the accommodation price. The staff kept telling us how good everything was. Excellent central location for visiting Kalmar and Öland.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, room carpet was quite old with several stains. When arrived, windows were not clean and only half of the soaps and coffee were furnished. They also forgot to fix the room one day. That was not nice indicating that management was just sloppy. To me, at this price. if the customer wish, every day paid should provide a clean room. Like a new one. Bringing nice candies is unfortunately enough to fix this at this price... Common, it is not hard at all to smile to the customers ;)

    The food, the place, the equipment, the view of the sea. Charming with really nice potential.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were uncomfortable and the bathroom extractor fan was too loud and disturbed my sleep.

    All the food that was included in the room price was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking will cost you from 9am to 6pm as this is next to a mall.

    Room reservation included dinner and breakfast (both buffet style) and the room was clean, simple & comfortable. Great location for walking to the castle or town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing that could have been better was not having to pay for parking.

    Located in an old warehouse right on the waterfront. Our room had exposed old beams and was an odd shape like the old building it was in. Town center was right across the street and Kalmar Castle was a 1 minute walk. Nice breakfast buffet and light supper.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and dinner were very crowded. The free dinner was pretty unappetising, the spare eating areas were quite dirty. I don't think they had enough staff on.

    Free parking was great, the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very equipped bathroom (just all in one schampoo, hairconditioner, soap). No minibar/ refridgerator. I had to remind the staff that my reservation included a seaview and I had to change the room.

    Nice view and veranda. Clean and comfortable. Nice design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems that the hotel has a shortage of cleaning personnel. It too too long to clean the rooms; once we put the please clean our room -sign on the door in the morning and the room was not ready at 6 pm. Similar problems most days.

    The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Wonderful young people. We know, that since we as Finns are willing to speak our second language Swedish, that is always appreciated in Sweden. Here definitely as well yes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet dinner included in the price was very basic: salads, sausages and potatoes, no dessert. The downstairs dining area, right on the way between the reception and the rooms, is very crowded and moving around is difficult. The staff could have been nicer: the reception guy specifically asked for my credit card on arrival "in case you leave without paying", which I found pretty insulting.

    Comfortable room and beds, nice location on the seafront of Kalmar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Included in the price we had afternoon tea and cakes. Also Included were the evening meals. Tables over looking the harbour. A sort walk to the train station. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room - number 108 - was right next to the restaurant/reception and although this made it very convenient for us to get to the facilities, it was very noisy at night and disturbed our sleep. There needs to be a door in the corridor outside the bedroom area that can be shut at night to prevent disturbance.

    The location. The style of the hotel and the outdoor eating facilities looking onto the harbour. Friendly and helpful staff. The food - particularly the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next door to where they were refurbishing the rooms. We weren't informed of this. The room itself was clean, but the carpet was dirty due to the renovations next door.

    Great location. Afternoon tea, breakfast and dinner all included.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The area is quite nice, we happened to be there when there was a choral concert in the cathedral, food was great, easy to walk everywhere, hotel staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lite besvärligt med att dra resväskor över stenbeläggning till hotellet kunde vara bättre kunde ju ordnas med någon slags gångramp.

    Jag tyckte disignen med bevara det gamla från packhuset tid med balkar och pelare av mörkt trä mycket förnämligt

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    For both dinner and breakfast it took quite a lot of time to refill the buffet table. The pillows were a bit to big for my taste. But they also had an extra small pillow so that saved the situation.

    The staff was very nice. Food was good and pretty diverse. The rooms were nicely decorated and had a nice vibe.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got two rooms which are facing garbage cans, which made us disappointment. And the staff did not tell us how to take elevator, since there are 2 ways to our room but one we can not move bagade by hotel cart. We waif for long time for the staff both check-in and check-out.

    The hotel is just located on the harbor, but unfortunately it was rainning during our stay. Just beside a small mall and coop. Very near to old town....It is a very good hotel and we recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large and clean. The included breakfast and dinner were wonderful- loved eating outside by the harbor. Could see the castle (great to visit) & was located right next to Old Town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though we had requested a twin room, it seems the staff ignored/forgotten this at first and gave us a double room, but fortunately we could immediately change to a twin room. The beds were a bit hard. It was unexpectadly hard to turn on the shower.

    Very nice brekfast and dinner (which is a full buffet and not a "light evening meal" as advertised!) as well as free afternoon fika and 24h coffee/tea. Hotel location perfect, next to train station and water, with outdoor part of restaurant next to the sea. Top floor rooms very nice with high ceiling and nice view of the sea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in bathroom dispenser. Single quilt only on double bed. Wooden beams in bedrooom appeared to have live woodworm. Staff unsympathetic. Bathroom and shower were very dirty and dated. Rooms stuffy and warm. Carpets grubby.

    Evening meal included in price. Management sympathetic when we made numerous complaints about room. Refund welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fruit at breakfast? The room needed better ventilation. Rather a lot of street noise in the morning. But it's the centre of town so what do you expect?

    Excellent location. Right in the centre of town. Great staff. Attentive service. Decent bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel offers B&B and includes an evening buffet which is excellent. It is extremely convenient to the marina where our boat is kept in winter storage.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Atmosphere, food, and bedding were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location in Kalmar. Meals included. Although we only had the breakfast. It is very cozy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not as good and wealthy as two-three years ago. Large minus

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent. Nice room, good breakfast. Good to have access to evening mesl, alghough I did not have time to eat this time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant staff and front desk. Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location on the harbour and close to town. The rooms were really lovely and the inclusion of afternoon tea and dinner was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right at the waterfront, within walking distance to all of Kalmar's places of interest

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fika (coffee and cake) on arrival at 3pm wa a nice touch, good buffet and breakfast. Excellent value for money and really relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little cold.

    Very friendly and helpful receptionist! Great food (evening buffet and breakfast buffet)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The whole experience was great. Having dinner included was a bonus.Beautiful location, Would have stayed longer if it had been possible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very small room that did not give value for money -- i.e. this room was overpriced

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locked into evening meal when I would have liked to eat elsewhere occasionally.

    Location, location location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner buffet was not worth the monet.

    Good location. Nice toim.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition and it was hard to sleep atnight specially in july

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC. Dinner was very poor.

    location and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mold in the shower! Small rooms. Narrow beds.

    The friendly staff. The nice location of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was rather rustic, but as a convenient place to sleep it was just fine.

    Dinner and breakfast buffets were delicious. Staff extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would like access to a washing machine and dryer.

    Location, Location,Location. Great frukost och middag. Great value for the money when you consider including the meals.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinning/breakfast area too small. must use everyday a new code for the free wifi. no free parking.

    free beer in the sauna. Breakfast and dinner buffet included and value for money. no need to go eat outside, but the eating room id too small.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few internal steps with luggage, but not a major problem.

    Perfectly located on the harbour, near the old town, castle and tourist office. Helpful staff, good breakfast. Our room had a view over the harbour. Free coffee, cake and fruit for afternoon tea.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    parking isn't available on site. And only have coins feeding parking which is a bit inconvenient

    Room is spacious, staff are friendly, location is fabulous and excellent breakfast. Very good value for what you pay for

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and esp bathroom poorly cleaned prior to our arrival; single duvet on a double bed; tired seats on deck; dinner buffet quality

    Location, size of room, pet friendliness

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, felt very Swedish, very Kalmar, a great place

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The dinner buffet could be better. Otherwise, everything was good.

    The premises of the hotel itself, exellent location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Saunaaggregate was old so it was not so hot in the sauna.

    The view of the room was fantastic! Service and the food was excellent❤️

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great to have food available across the time; a delicious cake in the afternoon, and a fun modern building

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dinner choices a tad restructed

    Comfortable bed Nice room

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely unusual room with marine theme in hotel that was different from the usual run of the mill

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was rather small for an upgraded room had low ceiling - had to watch my head

    Great meals

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous location, great dinner and breakfast included! Staff very polite and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi connection system is too complex and outdated; can be done better

    Great location!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hotel is very comfortable. The breakfast and dinner are fantastic! The staff was very nice and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Breakfast and dinner buffets included in room rate. Helpful staff. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed too soft. That's all!

    Location is perfect, near Kalmar Slott and downtown. Staff exceptionally helpful, pleasant, nice. Food outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Sunday evening buffet was not very exciting

    The friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would prefer a double bed.

    Evening dinner was a great positive surprise

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: