Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Hotel Grand Östersund 4 stars

Prästgatan 16, 831 31 Östersund, Sweden

#4 of 18 hotels in Östersund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 877 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not that service orientef. When checking in no info about the hotel, breakfast etc. was given. Could not use the shower door since it opens inside the shower! No way getting "in". A big designe flaw. Therefore the whole bathroom soaked after showering. Drilling noise after 11pm.

    New room, good bed, excellent towels and nice shapmoos etc. Good breakfast and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is excellent! This is my favorite hotel in Östersund, I chose it even if it's a feew hundred kronor more expensive than others because I know what I get. Clean, wonderful breakfast and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no coffee/tea facilities, drinks or minibar in our room. No extra skincare products either, such as body lotion etc. Also, we had to pay a bit – 140 SEK – for the parking. No big deal though, considering the great price.

    Excellent, clean and cosy hotel in great location with nice staff, nicely decorated rooms and lovely pool/sauna in the basement. The breakfast was superb! Clarion is always a generous place to stay, we had our 11 year old kid staying for free in our double room. We even had a nice view over Östersund's central plaza and a glimpse of the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That breakfast was not served later than 9:30am on the Weekdays. We were also not made aware of this at check-in.

    Clean and comfortable rooms. Modern decoration.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was good and match my expectations! see you again!

    In my opinion this is the best hotel in Town, very central position, you can walk around very easily; nice breakfast buffet, good restaurant for dinner, all was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was under partial renovation and a lot of noise in the morning

    The Spa was very nice. SIlent and large areas. The bar was fine although since the restaurant was closed quite small tables to eat at. The food served at the bar was indeed excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi had not so good signal. I did not like the bathroom door. It was old with scratches and the closing system was inappropriate for a bathroom.

    I loved breskfast, especially waffles. The bad was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Location, cleanliness, Eco-ethos. Rooms were average size. Ice-making machines. Good breakfasts and great that we could at least get a continental breakfast from 6am because we had an early departure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a "superior room" which was very pleasant but nothing special. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the first room allocated to us was already occupied. Thankfully they were just sitting on the bed as we made a sharp exit and returned to reception to get another room. Oops. Ah well, no harm done.

    Good basic accommodation but looking rather tired and if you want to open the windows it is VERY noisy from revellers outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt a bit too warm, and I think it would be nice if they fixed the room-card (key) issue or let you know about it beforehand.

    The staff are helpful and nice. Enjoyed my breakfast and stay. Also loved the cozy atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unqualified staff who have written off a larger amount from my card than they should have!!! For a week now I have been trying to return my money. And instead of official cancellation of the transaction immediately in the bank, they offered me to tell my personal card information to them by phone so they can put money back... The official e-mail address of the hotel doesn't work, as they said, they do not see letters from me (I have sent messages twice and didn't receive a delivery failing, so they do receive letters from me). They insist on provision personal card information by phone as the easiest way of returning the money! Scammers in one word.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel wasn't very clean, sheets did not fit the third bed (a stained sofa), taps dripped constantly and pipes screeched when neighbours flushed loo.

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant.As it was so lovely,I had breakfast and dinner every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in centre of the city. On site parking a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy beds and warm bathroom. the hotel was clean and the staff really helpful and friendly. Great Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Clean comfortable room & excellent locations

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was no bathtub in the room.

    Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the best Hotel in the City.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t a mini bar and a safe in the room

    Breakfast, bed, location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    skohorn på rummet...

    The breakfastbuffe was the best, so much to choose between and soft light, soft music and candle lights, best start in the day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness center really poor but full sized gym 2 minutes walk away was free for hotel guests

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inefficient reception staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Staff attentiveness could be better.

    Reception staff service Breakfast choices and quality Excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cozy bar, friendly staff, nice atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing not to like

    location, friendly staff and the hotel in general

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the stay, from the staff to the room to breakfast, was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Position, parking, services were good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking facilities are a little confusing.

    The hotel facilities were outstanding. The location was great and the staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good breakfast, good Clarion :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great! Easy to find. Had parking available.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff did not respect the:" Do not disturb" sign. The room ( No 218 ) had grey walls, grey ceiling and no decorations att all on the walls. Cell-like experience.

    The location is good. Parking and wifi are ok.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit dated in some parts. Treat yourself with an upgraded room.

    Friendly staff, central location, comfortable beds, and a great Scandinavian breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Couple

    It was hot in the room and we had to request a handle to open the windows which could not be open otherwise.

    My wife thinks the breakfast is great. They have a very good luggage storage room on the first floor.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant/bar quite pricey

    Low key but effective staff

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My phone (iPhone) could not find the wifi.

    Great breakfast. Lobby and bar area were really nice. Rooms are okay.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent food and awesome breakfast. Friendly stuff

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: