Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Grand Hotel 4 stars

Stortorget 8-12, 251 11 Helsingborg, Sweden

#6 of 25 hotels in Helsingborg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1132 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper ventilation in the room. (Terribly hot! ) No AC. We were told that "all the rooms are the same" in that aspect. Another good one: we were placed in a handicap room without any request from us

    "Luxury" appearence

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So minor..but there was no full length (and only 1 small mirror in the bathroom).

    Everything was awesome! Great service, very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast and location. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is historical but needs updating. The breakfast room doesn’t seem like a 4 star hotel but more like a 2 star canteen. Perhaps a slight dress code for some guests could be suggested....

    A historical hotel with super friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the half floor and from 1am-4am we heard a lot of people in the street and we couldn't sleep

    Location, good breakfast, lovely smell in hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a standard room and we got one in the old par of the building. Room was quite basic and the bathroom and the sink one of the smallest we have seen for a while. You find bigger ones in the ferry cabins.... Hardly a 4-star hotel room.

    Nice old building in central location. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very beautiful first of all, second the breakfast is great. If you want to eat healthy you have options, but if you're more like me and a warm waffle with some syrup and fruit is an excellent breakfast then you have that as well. They had some troubles with the keycards when we got there but the staff was real nice and helped everyone get access to the room and we even got a check to spend at the restaurant for the trouble. Overall a great hotel, lovely staff and and incredible breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smarmy staff who were very good at belittling us - can the Swedes really treat us English people like 2nd class citizens! Bedroom far too small, they did promise to change it, but never managed it - staff far too busy to attend to my needs. Breakfast in the bunker! Parking very expensive!

    Nice facade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not 100% clean. We had a room facing the backyard. Small room with separate beds even though we asked for 1 bed. Whole hotel a bit worn and not extremely clean.

    Perfect location. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hotel with hroughout vintage style with nice ambience. Good service attitude of staff (both reception and at the breakfast). Nice bar/restaurant area. Dogs allowed. Safe parking. Good wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offered a room that did not look like the pictures at booking. Changed rooms to a better one but very noisy at night which we werent infomed of, a big negative since we travelled with 2 kids.key did not work numerous times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just flew in for the night I needed an afternoon nap asked for a king size bed but two smaller mattresses on the surface creating a hole in the middle of the bed . Front desk girl very nice.The two housekeeping staff coming to put one single mattress on top incredibly amateur had no idea how to make a bed. Can't tell you about the breakfast even though it was included in the price because it finished ridiculously early even though it was a holiday those 2 days.Plus I don't care for having to have to go down in the lobby begging for vanity supplies.Come on...its Grand Hotel

    Had dinner with my friends at night nice menue good food. Downside in the bar we had champagne etc. but not properly wiped tables and crums on furnitures

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The View and the television signal could have been better

    The breakfast was very good, and we loved the hallways, lift, and other interior surroundings at the hotel with details such as cute little messages on the carpets, mirrors, etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some minor details in the room, but since we booked a standard room, then I cannot really complain.

    The hotel looks positively rustic, yet cozy. Had a great weekend getaway! However the best part was the rich breakfast - great deal of food was offered as organic, which for a person with massive allergies to chemicals was brilliant, because for once I was able to actually enjoy my breakfast without worrying about getting allergic reactions! Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough necessities in the room, the room very small. The breakfast eggs were cold. We did not sleep well. Huge wall in front of the room. The room should have been less expensive.

    The room was clean. The breakfast was good. The central location good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of us were uncomfortable and did not sleep well because of the very soft and narrow beds (choose separate beds!)

    delicious breakfast, beautiful view from the rooms, stylish

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom there are no some nesessary things as lotion, cotton pads and sticks. Christmas dinner was limited, with no choice for vegans and very ordinary even though it carries the name of Samuelson.

    Location is great. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good but ends very early at 10.00 and it was on Christmas Day! Early check out on a holiday weekend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three things: 1. The beds unfortunatley, were too hard and had cushions and linen made of polyester or a similar non-natural material - it matters to me since I wake up from transpiration if the materials does'nt breath properly. 2. Absence of ventilation - if there existed a button somewhere I did'nt realise it until it was too late in the morning, however I never looked for it. But the room then lacked oxygen, that is for sure. 3. A sound/noise of a buzzing tone appeared and disappeared erradicly during the evening and the night. Since I was already awake I checked it with my tuner, it appeared to be a B5, if anyone cares. But that kind of stuff is what one does while one is having a hard time to sleep, I guess.

    Position in town, old and fashionable athmosphere, great breakfast with a great choice, the restaurant/bar downstairs. Very nice and service minded staff, both in the lobby and in the bar.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna is nice to have but this one did not work really well.

    Beautiful old building in the historic center of the city. Near restaurants, trains, ferries, and landmarks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fantastic. We asked for a room with a view and had a room at the front of the hotel. It was huge, with a sofa and a jacuzzi bath. We had a fantastic nights sleep and breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building has lots of character, staff were nice, very convenient location near train and ferry, great breakfast included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noises outside of hotel in the morning

    It was a very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Lift

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very personal check in! Great dinner. Cosy room for single travellers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathroom, but it was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resautant very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant - both breakfast and dinner. Location. Professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor WiFi - especially in room

    Cozy restaurant, Service spirit of the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inte svenskt kött dåligt utbud på mat då det ej var svenskt

    Jättebra personal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slitna rum och smutsigt

    Toppen läge. Fin interiör i anmälan utrymmen

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rummet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The third bed was not comfortable, it was a little bit hard

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let people get what they have ordered .We had to fight for it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room, uncomfortable bed, weird room layout

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is excellent, big choice of food and plenty of it. Slippers and bathrobes were a nice addition

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saltkaren var inte bra!

    Överlag bra upplevelse

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older rooms not OK - new rooms great.

    Good, professional, friendly and willing staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff very helpful. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Very good breakfast, great bar, attractive surroundings, comfy bed and very clean and well presented room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was high for a town off the tourist path.

    Nice hotel. Great location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 2 single beds pushed together in a superior room when we are a married couple was questionable. Also maybe some tissues and moisturiser in the room might be a nice touch like other hotels.

    Location is perfect. The breakfast was amazing and the room was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of refill bathroom toiletries (no shampoo) and older crisp towels. No batteries in tv remote. Needed to work tv manually. Very small rooms even with a paid upgrade.

    Excellent reception staff and restaurant

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is excellently located just below the castle/ slot of Helsingborg. Situated close to the harbor and on the high street it is an excellent choice for those who want to minimize commute. The view at the harbour is phantastic - on a clear night even more so ! Staff was very friendly and made us feel well-received instantly. The hotel spreads the charm of the historic hotel facility excellently. Spacious antique elevator set in a manor-style hallways and large rooms made our stay special. The breakfast buffet was exquisite and a nice blend between Swedish and Continental flavors.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The gym is tiny and can fill up quickly. Would love it if they expanded into the room next door.

    The hotel is small but well appointed. The restaurant is very nice and the staff is top notch.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very homely

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    All the staff are so friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very busy atmosphere among the staff at breakfast and too expensive.

    Great location, nice staff in the reception and good selection at the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent central location on main square!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was quite cold

    Very central in Helsingborg

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Clarion Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: