Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Hotel Amaranten 4 stars

Kungsholmsgatan 31, Kungsholmen, 10420 Stockholm, Sweden

#92 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5441 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    2.9
    Bad experince to that extence that I will not be visiting it again. I have picture to prove me right
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First a small room of 10m2.., could not imagine that a room that you charge 2200 SEK /night can be this little. Then when arriving to my room ...not cleaned at all. Blood stains on walls and curtains, dust all over the room, poop stains in toilet, hair under tha mattress... Worst thing was that dust was dropping from the ventilation grid and when you are allergic to dust...It was a bad night. When I asked them to clean the room for the following two nights they refused fisrt and then after a long argumnet they cleaned it. It's nice to donet money for Cambodia BUT you expect your room to be cleand when you arrive then you can decide if you want cleaning during your stay or not. Never experinced this dirty hotel room during travelling. In general the hotel seams quite worn out with no freshness!

    Sorry to say but this will be my last stay in this hotel. Never had some many negative things in staying at a hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    There was no tea or coffee available other than breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea or coffee available other than breakfast. We couldn’t even come to reception to pick some up. So we were told by reception to go to the bar and ask for some. They sent us to the restaurant but they completely ignored and eventually they sent us back to the bar who then got empty cups and hot water and tea bags BUT no milk to go into it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Not so good not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 unhelpful girls were at the reception. Though I found them absolutely unhelpful, I think the hotel needs more stuff at the desk considering the number of customer.

    Breakfast was rich in variety

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointing. Sauna was a joke with no door handle, not a sealed door, not particularly warm, and a changing area that is falling to bits. Corridor outside room littered with panels etc. obviously being used to repair/refurbish a room. NO air conditioning.

    The receptionist on the front desk at check-in was friendly, and informative. Good selection at breakfast, and easy to get into the city from the hotel. Local '7-11' type shop on the corner should you need anything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Very good breakfast, quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel used, needs modernization. Very bad smell in bathrooom from time to time, especially at night and in the morning. The hotel has 4* should have 3*, no more. There are no bedside cabinets or shelfs to put on smartphone, watch or book in the evening.

    Very good breakfast, quiet street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    The city was great to visit, the hotel convenient for all areas. Hotel was adequate for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Air Conditioning didn't work. Lamp switch broke. Only supplied with bath mat on arrival, not subsequent days. Noisy neighbourhood at night.

    Convenient for sightseeing Stockholm City.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff, great breakfasts, good on-site...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very helpful staff, great breakfasts, good on-site restaurant also with very helpful staff, very good with children. Handy location and a competitive price compared with similar level Stockholm hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    Probably would not go back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned properly and towels were not delivered appropriately. Hallways were not clean.

    2 staff members, Alex at the front desk, and Magus in the bar area provided outstanding service!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Friendly hotel and nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The view from the window, I got a back-side room, but I totally understand that you can't host all the guests in the front-side rooms. 2. The doors' claming, there were too noisy. 3. I could hear the footsteps from room above, due to the wooden floor. 4. The TVset was too dark and I couldn't access its settings to change that. 5. The phone from the room had a dial set for the Reception, I rang twice but nobody answered. 6. There was nothing in the room with instructions on how to use the free wifi network.

    1. The location, right in tge center, close to bus and transport, close to Central Terminalen. 2. The size of the room, the matress from the bed. 3. The staff, VERY friendly and helpfull, very good English spealing level. 4. Again, the staff. :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good breakfast and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a bit small

    Very good breakfast and comfortable bed. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is always available for any kind of questions and the building is walking distance to the city centre. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great food at breakfast, kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, great food at breakfast, kind and favorable staff. Good WiFi. Note (not lack for hotel): there was very soft bed for me, but for my son it was OK. Thank you for Clation Hotel Amaranten for excellent relaxation in my vacation travel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Very comfy beds great breakfast lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no safe in the room which it should have. Few fixtures and fittings were a bit tired.

    The breakfast is great don't miss the make your own waffles. Worth staying there just for them! Staff were very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Very good position, really close to Radhuset T-ban station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not so “friendly” (night shift), 1 elevator out of order, another 1 not stopping at 2nd floor, so just 1 used by almost all hotel guests obliging people to wait for too long time before being able to catch it and, once in the elevator, you could never know where it would have stopped, as all people were calling it from all the floors so it was often running up and down with no sense. This was a big problem because stairs were difficult to be used by children, elder people and even younger if with luggages because very old, narrow and clearly port maintenance, so quite dangerous.

    Very good position, really close to Radhuset T-ban station (blue line), public transports and City Hall which really worth to be visited! Really good breakfast, buffet with a lot of options, with also big selection of different flakes and seeds and fresh fruit - very appreciable the strong attention to “special needs” (gluten free-lactose free products available with possibility to chose among more options)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice room in hotel well located to visit historic centre of Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    for improvement: ensure all elevators are working (during our stay only 1 out of 3 was working); at peak times insufficient seating capacity for the excellent breakfast

    Nice room in hotel that's well located to visited historic centre of Stockholm

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not standard expected, the hotel was very tired looking and "funny" comments about the elevator being "cheeky" and not working just embarrassing. At least laminate the signs so they look somewhat professional.

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous rooms and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one working elevator for the hotel and at peak times it was very busy.

    Gorgeous rooms and great location. The staff we all very helpful too including the lovely cleaners.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room and bathroom, ridiculously small. Booked this as we were only passing through for 1 night and leaving early the next morning. I new the room would be small but this was something else. Still not cheap at $230 AUD, we had previously paid $330 AUD, in Stockholm and got a huge, lovely room at another hotel. I shouldn't have been penny pinching and booked that again. You learn. Breakfast also offered at the Clarion, pathetic in comparison to the previous hotel at same time in the morning, early start. Nothing good to say so I'll stop. Kathy

    Convenience to Central statiin

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    Expensive and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even in high season of tourism the hotel would adapt their breakfast schedule to customers. They only served breakfast until 09:30 during weekdays whilst it was until 11:30 on weekends. For tourists it is always weekend. And probably 90% of their customers in August are tourists. They didn't serve bottled water in breakfast. For us, travelling with children, that's a problem. We don't give our kid tab water. The breakfast choice was pretty unhealthy and it was really crowded due to the limited schedule. The entrance and bar is very nice and new but as soon as you go to the rooms you realize reality. They have old and very tiny rooms. We booked a triple room for two adults and a baby crib and it was like a single room of most hotels. Claustrophobic experience. Beds where very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    overall nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionists were not helpful at all, they seemed annoyed and bored by the guests who ask for some directions or just infos regarding the check-in.. Right before us a couple checked-in, and the front desk agent was quickly informing them about some basics, and when our turn has arrived she simply pointed to the map "You can find everything there". Although we booked a superior apartment, it didn't seem like a superior one, but we only stayed 3 nights so it was okay like that, the only thing that bothered us was the size of the room. What could be the standard one? The check-in starts from 15:00, I informed the staff multiple times that we will arrive around 17-18. When we arrived, the room was prepared only for two instead of three, so it caused a bit of a disappointment that we had to go back to the reception and get it solved.

    Overall I would recommend the place. The breakfast was beyond our expectations - it was way more better than we imagined. The coffee is especially good! :) It was not that close to the center as they advertised, but a little walking (approximately 8-10 minutes) felt alright to us. The design was nice in the room, and the bathroom was well-equipped.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Well located hotel near the centre in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Floor in lifts and transit corridors could have used a bit more cleaning attention. A bit expensive when the price was translated to Australian dollars, but that reflects Scandinavia generally.

    This big tourist hotel was very convenient and much better located than I anticipated. Being next door to Radhuset metro entry on the blue line, and with bus stops also nearby, the hotel gave very easy access to old town and other major attractions elsewhere. There were plenty of eateries nearby and an excellent small supermarket opposite with budget food options. Staff were helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast had hot and cold options and dining room was big but busy. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and air-conditioned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Its good hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air conditioning! Specially the time when I was visiting, Europe was under heatwave and in that small room (which they made into 3 person room by adding a sofa-bed) it was impossible to stay in. So we stayed out whole evening and came back in room only very late. What is worse, they keep a heat regulating panel in the room, which is connected to nothing! It was hanging precariously on the wall, just stuck to a nail, perhaps to give psychological assurance that something will change.

    Its good hotel with friendly staff. The best part was the breakfast - a lot of variety and very good, large dining area with great atmosphere. Other very good part is that the underground station is right next to the station. So very convenient that way. I guess if you are not travelling in summer (see 'what didn't you like'), it is a ok hotel to stay at.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great location, comfortable and great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing apart from no Air condition however didn't need it.

    It's in a great location and in a quiet neighborhood - it is beside the entrance of a subway station, and close to the Centralstation. The breakfast was great with a large variety, friendly staff, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.0
    Slept like a baby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was advertised as 'executive', thus we had certain expectations and we were quite dissapointed to get a small and quite outdated room (furniture and curtains were really old and should be retired). Also, if you need your privacy while in the bathroom, this room is not for you unless you're alone (glass sliding doors near the bed).

    Very comfortable bed and great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Great staff, Nice breakfast area, and good choice of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning in the room and bathroom not good there is lot of hair on floor, long time waiting to use the lift.

    Great staff, Nice breakfast area, and good choice of food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was extremely disappointed when the WHOLE hotel was CASH FREE. From the payment of the rooms to the bar or restaurant. It can be extremely penalising for a foreigner, specially when in Booking it is not specified ! Last detail regarding the payment, the hotel forces you to pay EVERYTHING even before you checked the rooms ! Secondly, my friends and I took the option " breakfast included ". The restaurant is supposed to close at 11AM each morning. But to our big surprise, when we arrived at 10.30 everything was almost closed as they have " summer schedule and winter schedule ". Absolutely disgraceful. All in all I do not recommend this hotel.

    What I liked about the hotel was the modernity and the rooms. In general the establishment has good facilities and spacious reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, train station right next door and street is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very dated, but looked like they were renovating the other half of the floor we stayed on, so maybe better in the near future(?). Only 2 of 3 elevators were working, it was slow getting up/down during busy periods.

    Good location, train station right next door and street is on the bus line.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    The good attitude from the staff made up for the lacks of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There's no air conditioning. There's a musty smell throughout the corridors. My room was at the first floor and you could hear all the noise from the street. "Small double" rooms are small indeed.

    It's very well located, right beside the entrance of a subway station, and close to Centralstation, where you can take buses or trains to/from Arlanda airport. There's no air conditioning all around the hotel but the staff got me an electric fan (from the second night on. There was a heat wave and they didn't have enough fans for every room). My bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    2.9
    Are you sure?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very, very tiny room Also, they said breakfast is supposed to be until 11am but they close it at 10am although you can see this information on lift, your room and they say that to you in check in time. There is not concierge so be patient! If you have any question or request. Very slow check in and check out. The entire hotel was under construction so very it was very uncomfortable. This hotel requires better management.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Classy hotel with a great quality-price ratio next to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free parking.

    Classy interior, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable room, great quality-price ratio. Not far from the city centre, right next to a metro station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Warm and welcoming at the Clarion Amaranten
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was underwhelming. It has the basics, a fried eggs, bigger bowls for serials a choice of Jams would make a big difference.

    Great restaurant, plenty of space to sit on the ground floor to relax in. Good music with a live dj in the cafe area during the evening's.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly, central location and an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room we booked was definitely not for 5 people. It was small and 3 of us had to sleep on an open sofa bed.

    Staff were very friendly, central location and an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    The gym, sauna, friendly staff and breakfasts were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the point of staying in the hotel (sleeping) was not met as it was like an oven in the rooms. There was no air conditioning and the windows would not stay open, making it a very uncomfortable stay. The staff tried to be helpful by giving us a fan which did nothing but blow hot air around the room. We were overall unhappy with our experience (especially considering the rating of this hotel, which we paid for) and would not stay here again until this problem is fixed, if again.

    The gym, sauna, friendly staff and breakfasts were the highlight of our trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Clarion knows how to hide its imperfections by impressing with little (insignificant?) things
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not ideal for a hot summer. Extremely hot, no air condition, no fans provided. They were experiencing a very hot summer for weeks- I can't believe that they hadn't predict to provide ALL THE ROOMS with a fan. At the beginning they gave as a ridiculously small and hot room at the 6th floor. No space even to move around and we could not even breath because of the heat. For sure not value for money. Luckily we complained and there was another room available, so we changed it. The smell in the corridors! That terrible smell...

    the location: the hotel is not such close to the city centre but it was next to a metro station and close to the water (ideal for the summer if you want to go swimming) and extremely close to the start point of the Gay Parade. it is indeed a Gay Friendly Hotel I was there the night that the staff must have had the worst nightshift of this summer. Unbelievable many guests, many problems, heatwave, but they were there patiently trying to do their best and solve unsolved problems.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    We will come back!👍😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was crowded - to many people - families with children had to wait for table. It was a que for our table when eating.

    Bed was really good - but no air conditioning and Stockholm was hot at the time☀️ Central and traveling was easy from the hotel - all directions!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    What a location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room ventilation has condensation drops. So we had drops in our room. The weather was unusually warm for Nordics so hotels we were in this summer holidays did not know how to deal with it. I do not fault them as they did everything they could to make it as comfortable as possible. They put a fan in the room to try to help the situation ..... So we benefit from having a fan in our room during hot summer night!

    The hotel staff was lovely to start with, the breakfast was great, and the family room was comfortable. The location was equally conveniently close to key spots ..... We walked most of the time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    The staff was friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrive, the room was dirty, the sink had a big crack, the smell in the room was bad, after staff changed the rooms, it was again cracked sink, but no smell, bed comfortable and breakfast grear.

    The staff was friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    For cyclist there is no option to put the bike in a safe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For cyclist there is no option to put the bike in a safe storage in the hotel. Two of our bikes were stolen at the staff recommended place to put them.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Hmm.. yeah!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two working elevators, which made it a bit cramped (and also not a big fan of elevators in general). No fans/air-conditioning, which was actually really needed because of the heat. The hotel isn’t far from the centre, but not that much in walking distance. Parking was hideous, they wanted us to deliver the car keys to them so that they could replace cars whenever possible. Due that, we got a parking ticket on our first night.

    The breakfast was incredible. Staff were helpful and very nice in situations. The rooms were spacious and the beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    safe is in the loby. no air condition/ 2 rooms were not on the same flor

    10mniutes wailk to the center. metro station is on the block .graet, genruos breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Outdated hotel with medium service but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls need paint, all bathroom goes wet when you shower, carpets in hallways old, dirty and smelly, two of three lifts out of order, no smiles or interests in lobby to offer service or in end of stay to ask how our stay was, all deco dark and I saw how it was used to hide dirt in corners or beside of walls down by the floor. Breakfast was ok but I would like pancakes with my eggs and bacon.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location and space for a family but could do with paying attention to maintenance issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problems as follows: (1) Windows were broken and could not shut - letting mosquitoes in (2) A/c not working - very hot. (3) Bathroom leaked constantly over floor (not a problem for us but we did report it). (4) Walls are paper thin - constant banging of doors etc (felt like next door had a hammer to our headboard).

    The hotel was very nice and a high level front. - business like. The breakfast variety was perfect, the breakfast area very lovely, the staff courteous and the hotel well located (next door to metro). Kids also appreciated ice machine by lift!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good and very rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms for two times. The first (called small double) was just a Single room - tiny; the second, after payed upgrade a real double room, was very smelly. A fan was already on as we arrived. So changed room again. Which was quite annoying at 1 o’clock at night.

    Breakfast was good and very rich. Liked the waffles ion. Stuff was always very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not air conditioned and window coukd on,y be opened a few inches. Very small elevator that was in high demand. Had to use the stairs which were steep and narrow and not air conditioned.

    Next to a Metro station. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    very good place for a short stay -safe and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sauna (I kind of counted on it) was almost stone cold at 21-30 when I came in to have a look. Technically it was open until 22:00 but of course, it was not enough time to heat it up again. A group of males was shouting on the street at 4 am - they were having a good time!

    amazing breakfast - you can even cook your own waffles! everything fresh and nice. Very good location - we walked everywhere and did not use taxis/public transport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was tasty and atmosphere very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our stay only one elevator was in use which was rather inconvenient when we were leaving the hotel. With all the luggages and children it took a while until we had our turn. This was a minor setback but hopefully they'll fix this problem soon.

    Breakfast was tasty and atmosphere very pleasant! Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.0
    Did not meet expectations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a double room that was not suitable for 2 people and 2 suitcases therefore we had to pay £50 to upgrade to a bigger 'double' room and apparently this is the fault of booking.com according to staff at the hotel and it is something that had happened before. It was very hot during our stay and that is not the fault of the hotel but there were not enough fans for us to have one until the final night and we were quoted by staff to simply 'deal with it' for the previous 2 nights, which shows little empathy. We had planned to stay at a clarion for our next city but we cancelled this and went with another hotel.

    The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This summer Stockholm is incredibly hot, however there is no AC within the entire hotel. It’s too hot to stay. The hotel did make some efforts to improve this, like providing iced water in the lobby, and putting a fan in our room.

    Great location. Wonderful breakfast. Nice design

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    The room was really big, as the bed, and really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room window was broken and despise two air thing the room was unbearably hot, it was difficult to sleep in it. The room needs a bit of painting, there were many marks on the wall especially the bathroom door.

    The room was really big, as the bed, and really comfy. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Superior room is spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel in summer is a like giant sauna everywhere. They don’t have air con. And it’s 30 degrees in Stockholm. So you can imagine how it feels like in a room without air con.

    Superior room is spacious Metro is right around the corner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the size of the room and the bed was too small for two people. I have never found a hotel where we had to ask to clean the room. The room didn't have an A/C. The overall cleaning of the hotel wasn´t good.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not very clean (found hair in the bed and bathroom). The elevators are small and most of the time only one works, the other two being out of service and in need of "help". This means you have to use the stairs most of the time, which was not a big deal for me, but it may be annoying for some.

    A decent hotel with good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    This hotel was a huge disappointment. We did not bother filling out the loyalty card!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to change rooms as toilet was so dirty on the outside that it was a health hazard. The second room was not much better, but the receptionist offered to clean it himself as there were no housekeeping staff on duty on Sundays. We were told at reception that the hotel was very hot because of the unusual summer and that there was no air conditioning installed. We were surprised therefore that our second room was air conditioned although the pipes dripped onto the floor in the hallway constantly. There has been no swimming pool for a couple of years, as it used to leak onto the underground station below! All public areas are tired, grubby and a bit smelly.

    Front of house staff were friendly and helpful under duress, location was convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.2
    Good location and breakfast. Everything else was pretty bad. We would not recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. There were only 3 elevators on this hotel. What's more, only ONE was working most of the time, with lines of people waiting to catch a ride, and many getting frustrated and using the very narrow stairs. 2. No air conditioning in the rooms! The first room that was assigned to us had a table fan on the desk (!), the window was open. In 30+(C) degree weather, it got unbearably hot. We complained at the desk and they assigned us another room. This was cooler (due to the fact that the sun was not hitting it directly). The next morning, there was a puddle on the floor - condensation, we were told. We were given the choice of changing a room again (which they did not have one of at that point), or they could have it cleaned. We chose the latter - we found towels on the floor when we returned - they stayed there for the rest of our stay. 3. The general hotel areas were pretty dirty. 4. There was no customer data center - with common computers. 5. Their WIFI was a nightmare - we had to "restart" the connection each morning, which was not an easy thing to do.

    1. Location 2. The breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast buffet (but be on time)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, during the evenings and mornings the slamming of doors from other rooms was very noticeable; also the airconditioning couldn't compensate for the exceptional outside summer temperatures in Stockholm during our visit

    Nice breakfast buffet (but be on time)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Day time staff was not so helpful. But restaurant really worth to try.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition during summer, asked for fan and answered no. Changed 3 times in the night because one room like Sauna, and sencond room could not open the windor becuase some part was broken. And finally 11pm moved to a new room which I need to leave the hotel on 4:30am next day to catch the flight.

    Good location, 10 minutes walk to airport express, 15 minutes to the City Hall. And hotel have very good restaurant - Kitchen & Table.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, very small room, 3 times we had to ask to fix the leaking condensation water , only 1!!!! working elevator

    Good location, parking under the hotel garage , avarage breakfast , free water and coffee during a day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    Amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room is a joke. We had to upgrade the room to simply have a bed that fits two normal size people. AC not working in the second room by 30c plus outside and finally 1 elevator out of 3 was in order. 6th floor with a pregnant wife, waiting 20 minutes in the morning to simply commute up and down. Big disappointment

    Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    great location with fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was a disaster, the only one was properly working can only fit three persons. Get ready for exercise on stairs.

    great location with fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with our room which was in much need of some maintenance. The bathroom door was stuck open, window had no latch so they had tried to tape it unsuccessfully closed. There was a sign on the window regards safety and keeping it closed but that was impossible. Things that should have been included in the room we had to ask for. Thankfully they were very happy to give us another room but one wonders why they let the room be used at all. The lift to the 7th floor was broken so you had to use the stairs from 6th level which didn't worry us but may have made things difficult for less mobile people. The remaining 2 lifts very busy and so were the stairs.

    Good location, just far enough away from the really busy area. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice sized room but in need of some general maintenance. Very comfortable bed and thankfully there was a fan as our 7th floor room very hot, given the temp high 20's. Car park convenient but costly as they all are. Breakfast was adequate for the big numbers they cater for. It is a big hotel so lots of people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very good in general. However, the day we landed and checked in, there was a male representative at the reception - I was travelling with my aged parents and had clearly put a note about that. I asked the male representative to help me with the bags only till the elevator (since they did not provide "luggage services"), he rudely refused to do so and started talking to other customers.

    Breakfast Facilities Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing although Stockholm lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was awful. Despite saying we were going to arrive between 11 and 12 there was no prioritisation over room cleaning and we had to wait until 3pm to check in. We watched other parties of 3 check in before us but they kept is waiting. Very disappointed and a very poor first impression. Check in staff seemed not to care and more interested in chatting to each other. No acknowledgement that we were waiting to check in. Nowhere to get coffee and bar not open over lunchtime.

    Room was fine although very warm with no air conditioning and we had to request more towels every day for our party of 3.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, worth staying for the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the rooms are somewhat cosy for a triple occupancy (which is the same size as their standard double rooms). There were only two working elevators (and usually only 3) for quite a large building so it's a battle at peak times for elevator space if you need to move luggage - the rest of the time, you are encouraged to use the stairs, which is fine unless you're part of the checking-out crowds.

    The breakfast buffet is amazing, and served both in their cafe area and their main restaurant area (which is a foodie destination in its own right). WiFi connection is easy, reliable and works for an unlimited number of devices. The location is super-convenient as the hotel is right next door to the metro station (Radhuset, on the blue line). The size of the hotel room at 16sqm is fair for hotel rooms in a European capital city, but was too cosy for the triple room that we had booked. The hotel is also geared towards groups and conferences, and they're very efficient at that, with busy staff always finding time for a smile and a polite greeting. Whereas the Clarion is part of a nordic hotel chain, this establishment might not appeal to those who want to stay in a building with historical character, but would appeal more to business travellers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, great breakfasts and super helpful pleasant...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning to cope with warm weather. Our stay at this hotel could have been great, but it was actually terrible because the room was so hot. Staff were sympathetic and gave us a fan, but that only helped a little.

    Great location, great breakfasts and super helpful pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    We booked standard taxi services to airport through the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked standard taxi services to airport through the hotel, but it turned up one with premium services and being charged 200 SEK more than the standard, fixed price. Don't know what went wrong in the booking process. Also it seemed no air conditioning in the hot summer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelled, I was really annoyed by that. One of the cause was pillows. Cover cloth was clean but the pillows themselves had an odor. I never used them, put away from the bed, instead I used cushions. I asked to the front desk and left the memo. Nevertheless, totally, the stay in the hotel was nice.

    I could go to the hotel either by the particular line(blue line on a map) of Tunnelbana (metro) or by walking taken only 10 minutes from the Central station. The breakfast was awesome, especially there was a variety of breads. The temperature of the room was so comfortable that I could sleep well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    No daily cleaning, to save to UNICEF - ludicrous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, they tried to fit as many bedrooms as possible and their sizes are appallingly small. Gym and sauna are sad and tired one has to cross the entire entrance lobby to go and use these facilities - lockers in the gym and sauna do not lock.... We were not told, on our first day (or EVER before we asked), that the bedrooms wouldn't be cleaned on a daily basis (as one would expect whilst staying in a hotel). They have argued that they don't do the daily cleaning in order to save money and send to UNICEF (!!!!!!!!!!!!). I wonder if all the immigrant cleaning staff are even paid properly. The room when we arrived was not even cleaned properly (dust, chipped drinking glasses). We were absolutely appalled by this excuse and will seek clarifications regarding this matter with the hotel.

    Breakfast was generally good. The reception, restaurant and bar were all renovated in a stylish fashion and so have the bedrooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Stockholm is great, location is fine, hotel has a few limitations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs more staff and definitely needs a couple more elevators as 450 rooms with two functioning elevators (out of three) is really not enough!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast is delicious and plenty of choice, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit smaller than the picture in the web.

    The breakfast is delicious and plenty of choice, especially the liver paste and the waffle. The location is not in the main centre of Stockholm but still walkable, it is 10min walk from the central station or the city terminal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff at a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small room with only 1 duvet that didn't cover the whole bed. However, we asked reception & they provided us with another

    Friendly staff & great location. Tasty breakfast with lots of choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with excellent location and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a room for 2 adults and 15 years old child. When we got the room we found out that the third bed is too short and can fit only for very young child. The guy in the reception first of all told us that this is the room we made a reservation for. When I showed him our booking where I clearly stated the age of the child, he agreed that this is a mistake and in a few minutes we got a new room with a regular third bed. I don't know how this mistake happened, either the booking site didn't path the correct information to the hotel, or vice versa, but I would recommend to the both sides to be more accurate with the provided services.

    The hotel has excellent location very closed to the metro and in distance of 1 station form the T-Central station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Very good breakfast, well arranged but tiny rooms, friendly crew
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast: no unsalted butter, espresso coffee, good bread. The rooms are very small. This was not a surprise (the surface is mentioned on the website), but still annoying. We did not read the information about the room, so we were surprised to see our room undone (no cleaning done to sponsor UNICEF). Very expensive garage (350 SEK/day)

    The breakfast was extensive and in general very good. A typical "northern European" breakfast with lots of salty dishes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice room with air conditioning and dark curtains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 140cm bed. A bit small for two persons.

    Nice room with air conditioning and dark curtains. No noise from the street. Breakfast was good with a variety of choices. You get what you pay fore. Easy to access, rådhuset station is next door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was great for visiting/ walking downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning very weak on a hot day. Quite noisy on the street at night.

    The location was great for visiting/ walking downtown Stockholm. Close to the train station. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, hotel was located close to bus terminal and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room for two was really small ;) Superior room for three had a double bed and a sofa, not extra bed

    Great breakfast, hotel was located close to bus terminal and from walking distance to gamla stan

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Great service from the staff and a hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most memorable thing I will take with me is the excellent service from the staff at thr reception, the kindness from staff working at floor five. A nice smile and "hej" is most of the time enough to get the customer feeling good and noticed.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: