Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza 4 stars

Västra Torggatan 2, 652 25 Karlstad, Sweden

#8 of 20 hotels in Karlstad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1283 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The multi story car park across the street had to be paid for, our Swedish is not good enough to understand the instructions so we had to guess what to do.

    Evening meal was included in the price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast but wouldn’t stay here again. Busy city hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a small “standard” room when we had booked a deluxe and had to spend time sorting that out after a long journey. Little attention to detail with regard to preparation of rooms.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were EXTREMELY small. I could not even place my open suitcase anywhere. Not comfortable at all!

    The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great and also the dinner which was includet was good. The location in the center of the city is also very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location when arriving by train
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not clean. Toilet was dirty and had been used prior to my arrival. Only 2 towels - nothing to step on to after shower. 2 pillows - 1 giant and 1 extremely small - would have been nice with a normal size pillow

    Gym, Sauna, evening buffet, close to the train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    1st time ever received evening meal as part of the package. Excellent food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows in my room didn't open into the courtyard (per fire code) ... it wasn't until the last night of my 6 day stay that I realized I could ask for a fan.

    Breakfast, afternoon coffee and evening meal provided!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Really friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning in all but the deluxe rooms, had to change room for a quiet night

    Really friendly and helpful staff Parking garage in front of hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Clarion exceeds all expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful stay in Karlstad! We came to Varmland searching for our ancestors and where they lived. The staff at the hotel was always helpful and accommodating, and smiling. We had a medical issue as my sister was injured a the state archives and was hospitalized over night. They helped us in any way they could, and let us extend our check out time as needed. Breakfast was included with a Swedish Smorgasbord that was amazing, and dinner was also included. Dinner had nice Swedish style meals set out buffet style with several entrees to chose from, and vegetables, salad, bread, and fish. It was a relief to come back from a busy day and have dinner ready, and have limited choices, not so much food that you want to try it all, but several nice choices. We hotel is near the town square and shops,indoor mall, and we saw a ballet school's "recital" presented at noon in the center of town! We were so welcomed and felt at home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    jättebra frukost och duktig personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vi var ett sällskap på 7 personer och fick tillgång till 1 rum strax efter 15.00. där befann vi oss ALLA. Efter ca 30 min fick vi ytterligare 1 rum. Vi hade inte möjlighet att invänt de andra rummen för vi var bokade kl 16.00 på restaurang. Och efter det direkt till Wermlndsoperan. Personalen i receptionen gjorde vad dom kunde och var mycket HJÄLPSAM. Men det hela blev ju inte riktigt som vi tänkt oss. Vi fick tränga ihop oss för uppfräschning och ombyte. De andra två rummen fick vi när vi kom tillbaka på natten. Som kompensation fick vi EN frukostbiljett per/pers Jag anser att ni även kunde sätta ner priset på rummen. Annars hade vi förutom detta en jättefin visstelse i Karlstad. Med vänlig hälsning Yvonne Eriksson

    jättebra frukost och duktig personal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    Both good and bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4th floor rooms were tiny. The fact that they have specially designed doors and showers to save space, gives a feeling that they put economical winning on top of the guests' comfort. It's both uncomfortable with such rooms and gives an unwelcoming feeling that fast money is more important than the guests.

    The breakfast buffet had a lot of options, was delicious and clean, and had good opening hours. The hotel has great staff and we received good attention on the phone before arrival. Very central location although it means a view over a parking deck.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    The location is very good, the breakfast was a lot and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was so weak and hard to connect to it was basically non existent. The windows in our room couldn't be opened so it got pretty hot during the night. Room was quite small and the bed is not very big.

    The location is very good, the breakfast was a lot and tasty. It was very clean and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast and dinner (!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and dinner (!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    The bar was not open to residents after normal service hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was not open to residents after normal service hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Good lacation, Spa and gym, Free Dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room was too hot.

    Good lacation, Spa and gym, Free Dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Staff there are real helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Courtyard music is noisy .

    Staff there are real helpful. Hotel is just ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    buffet breakfast was good and a lot to choose
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived at 2pm and the room was not available before 3pm

    buffet breakfast was good and a lot to choose

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Great place, thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking not free!

    Breakfast was fantastic, staff was very helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    5.4
    Fail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air condition was missing The mattress on the bed was gliding and the bed itself was very spongy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is located next to numerous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located next to numerous businesses/restaurants/shops, and across a quiet street from a large parking garage. The hotel has an impressive lobby.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.9
    Great location, just a couple of meters from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room and the bed was also quite small.

    Great location, just a couple of meters from the train station and right in the city centre. Karlstad's "shopping street" is located a couple of meters away from the hotel and you will also find most of the restaurants in the neighbourhood. The hotel itself is one of Karlstad's best when it comes to the standard. The hotel also has a great restaurant, but if you're thinking of dining there on a Saturday night for instance, make a reservation!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    9.2
    Great location (just by the railwaystation), excellent staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superior room on top floor (good) but rather small in size. Rather pricy compared to what you paid for..

    Great location (just by the railwaystation), excellent staff, very good wifi (one drawback, you had to reconnect all the time), hardwood floor (no carpets hooray!!), VERY GOOD BED and great breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    6.3
    X central location, good breakfast, quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms,

    X central location, good breakfast, quiet

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great Location! Right next to the station- less than 5 minutes walk. Easy to get to other places from there.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.9
    För varma täcken.
    • Group

    För varma täcken.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    10
    Mycket varmt i rummet och fönstret gick ek att öppna
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Mycket varmt i rummet och fönstret gick ek att öppna

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: