Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Diplomat Stockholm 5 stars

Strandvägen 7c, Östermalm, 104 40 Stockholm, Sweden

#18 of 184 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 794 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Cosy and stylish stay, room not matching price level
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the room. Would have needed more light at least in the bathroom. Very old bathroom. Needs an update does not match the price of the hotel. View was bad facing wall.

    Very cosy stylish hotel with beatiful decor. Excellent location and breakfast. Good size room and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff who put themselves out to help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff who put themselves out to help you. Great breakfast and location and one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed in. Exceptional service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    OK, but wouldn't be my first choice in Stockholm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym is poor, and while the sauna is good, it isn't easily accessible as it has to be booked well in advance.

    The location was great and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel, and its beautiful terrace towards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was ok, expensive for what it was. No view and relatively small.

    The location of the hotel, and its beautiful terrace towards the street is amazing for some drinks. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotels exterior is quite special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    For the cost--stay else where!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was poor and disoginized.There was no room for the hotel brakefast room. Brakefast was open to the public crowed and hard to get a table in the moring.The bar was for some reason closed for the season for some unknow reason...I am not sure I would stay here again . Hotel misses a lot of services and facilities that one would expect in a 5 star Hotel for $500 a night.

    We upgraded for a room facing the harbor--view was terrific but it was small.The location of the Hotel could not be better

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    We had a superb stay in an elegant but vibrant hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The dining-room and downstairs bar can get busy and on first arrival it can be a bit daunting to find a vacant spot, whether to sit for a drink or just to relax. The maitre 'd is often busy and staff are not always instantly welcoming. This is a small criticism but can be important for the client concerned.

    The position overlooking the Harbour. The comfort and style of the hotel. The friendly Bar with helpful staff. A comfortable bedroom with everything to hand. The elegance of the Cocktail Bar upstairs and the peace of the lounge on the first floor. It is well worth knowing that the restaurant is busy and vibrant but if you want a quiet spot there are two very peaceful areas

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent though pricey in hotel in best location. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea making facilities in room. Air. Conditioning in some respects problematic (312)) as no thermostat.

    Rooms very comfortable and well equipped. Excellent breakfast and restaurant. Also a great deli/coffee shop. Staff very helpful and charming.. excellent free wifi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Everything, particularly the doorman who was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their practice of reserving The total cost of the stay on our credit card when we arrived as pending. Would not have ordinarily been a problem but being unaware I paid with another card when we checked out and this meant that the pending amount on the first card was not reversed for 5 days leaving us short of funds to travel.

    Everything, particularly the doorman who was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely perfect stay. 5 nights of comfort and luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key often demagnetised and didn’t work

    Every member of staff was super helpful, kind and polite. Room very very clean and comfortable and well equipped with everything you need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    I just love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just love this hotel. Everything is so good. The location is great, close to everything and with a fantastic view. The staff is professional but very friendly. The bed and room is just amazing. And one of my favorite things about this hotel is the lovelh hotel breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    Miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    facilities are poor , One old style lift in the hotel for the luggage and guest with a manual door which mean that is anybody forget to close the door you have to wait till some body closes that door.Wifi is very poor in some rooms. No airconditioning in the rooms (only ventilator). Not at all a standard of 5star hotel which I know.

    Location is good and staff are trying to help but could do nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Best location in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one elevator, it’s old style so if someone gets out at a floor and doesn’t close the door the lift gets stuck there - very annoying if trying to take luggage to/from room. No Airconditioning which wasn’t good during recent heatwave, a fan to circulate the air would have helped.

    The location is excellent - opposite the waterfront with easy walking access to major sights, shopping and transport links. Charming building with heritage features. Outdoor bar/restaurant area. Butiken cafe is great for coffee and snacks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place rooms a bit too small
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud cars driving by at night. Rooms are very small we had to change to a suite that was beautiful but obviously much more expensive.

    The staff was very professional and friendly the bed was very comfortable. The location is gorgeous on the water with lots of restaurants and shopping area nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    We would use this hotel again, but would upgrade to a bigger room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room contained all the essentials, but was so tiny that we couldn’ t unpack our suitcases with ease, there was very limited hanging space and there were three steps which we both tripped up/ fell down at various times.

    Excellent location . Great bathroom products.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea & coffee facilities in room. Netspresso machine on corridor out of order much of the stay & wasn’t fixed respite being reported. A lot of street noise from ‘boy racers’ if window left open. Large van advertising strip club parked outside the whole time (4days)Not the best view!

    Very good location.Excellent breakfast .Professional but friendly & helpful front desk staff.Good size room & bathroom.Very nice toiletries in bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved everything

    Location is perfect. The rooms are very clean. The restaurant is wonderful. We had breakfast and dinner and loved all our meals!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A perfect hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We adore this hotel and have stayed here many times. It's a perfect combination of traditional and modern - lovely rooms (very comfy bedding and nice bathroom products). The restaurant is great and cocktail bar excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    The worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. Relatively speaking, the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. A functional disaster, with many things that don’t work, tiny rooms photographed from angles to appear bigger, one single tiny elevator for the entire hotel - to list all the things wrong would take too long but most of them show a clear intent to dress up the outside and charge high prices while cheaping out completely on the actual experience of staying there. A youth hostel masquerading as a 5 star hotel with 5 star hotel prices.

    It looks really nice from outside and in the lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Older hotel that needs to become a little more handicapped friendly; otherwise a thorough delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older hotel had many steps without railings. As an older person (71), I have to be very careful around steps or I could fall. I need hand rails even for one step. This is a major flaw in this hotel. Because of a lack of warning about a step in the room, I fell and was mildly injured. I was lucky. I could have needed to be hospitalized. The hotel needs to do more to be handicapped friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Very good location . The facility capture the spirit of Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is little old ( but in best condition) had small issue with electricity one of the nights . But nothing to change my decision to come again to the same hotel

    Old style very impressive facility . Great location. Great breakfast . Very good location between the old and the new Great style

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home!

    Superb! Great breakfast, lovely staff who speak perfect English and so helpful. The hotel is exquisite, the rooms are warm and stylish, our bed was enormous with the nicest pillows and duvet we’ve ever slept in. We had soft and cosy bathrobes and slippers, complimentary bathroom smellies so if your travelling with hand luggage only these are really useful and very nice too. Perfect location, situated in a stunning part of Stockholm and close to all attractions, shops and amazing restaurants, all walkable but a local tram service is a short walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Travel like old-time diplomat in style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service line answered after 20 min waiting (busy hour I understand).

    Unique, sense of old time but in a chic modern way. Very comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast. Service impeccable. Location perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music played on the ground floor, bar, lobby and restaurant vað far too laut. Also I found the kind of music played at odds with the overall ambiente. Would have been more appropriate at a disco bar.

    The temperatirr in the room vas excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    3.3
    Very poor and overcharged
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room and bathroom where you cannot moove. Price overcharged. No wardrobe in room. No service

    Location is the only positive point of this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Avoid the breakfast if you can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast experience was terrible every three mornings we stayed there. First morning we were told that the buffee is open until eleven o'clock. We got there at 10.05 and the buffee had already closed. The second morning our order never arrived (OK, they appologized and didn't charge for the cappuccinos). On the third morning we waited 45 minutes for the pancakes for our daughter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Classy and stylish hotel in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very classy and stylish hotel in a great location on the waterfront. Both the bar and restaurant are fantastic and the breakfast is to die for. The last time I stayed was a Monday and not too expensive but it can be other nights depending on the day, season, weekend etc. My wife found it a couple of years ago as a great location for a romantic weekend and I have stayed there several times on business since. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice room, nice bed, nice pillows, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food could be improved for dinner and lunch, but great breakfast buffet in the morning. I should not have had to argue with the chef to have my breakfast taken in the area near the reception when my wife had a bad cold and did not want to contaminate the other guests in the breakfast room as this should have been appreciated. Bedroom a bit drafty in December, unable to adjust the thermostat.

    Nice room, nice bed, nice pillows, great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    I love this hotel I’ve stayed there and had afternoon tea there with my family since 50 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was chilly.

    The reception, great quality breakfast and bar, excellent Bloody Mary! Beautiful view over the sea good location. The new adjacent café/bistrot next doors was a good surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    great location, very kind and efficient staff, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location, very kind and efficient staff, very nice corner for having a tea great breakfast with a very good house tea and freshly made waffles! will definitely go back1

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Diplomat is the place...
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought all the rooms were renovated. I stayed in Diplomat last August and the room was perfect but not this time! Room 212 is so tight, old shower and sink... I was a bit disappointed to be honest.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. I had a bad experience last year but I think things has changed to the better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Old world charm with warmth makes for a great, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quirky elevator could be a bottleneck!

    Lovely large room with a fabulous harbor view was a delight coming from a cramped room in another city. Helpful staff,& a charming bistro adjoining the hotel where we had a light breakfast each morning were real pluses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No spa, very "sad" fitness center (I would say no fitness center really), restaurant food selection very limited, wait staff not very friendly. (Breakfast buffet and staff were excellent)

    Staff was excellent. Max, the doorman, was super friendly greeted us every morning with a smile, and helpful. Front desk staff was very accommodating in finding a nice restaurant, massage (no spa at this hotel) and turned on sauna for us to enjoy. Room was very nice, clean, and room service (night bed turn down, bottled water) excellent, slippers, robe, etc. all very nice. Location superb!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Elegant but relaxed hotel in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    I have stayed here before and just love it. Room calm and elegant and bed super-comfy. Excellent restaurant and great bar ... full of non-hotel-residents, which makes the hotel feel very buzzy, fun and part of the local scene. Staff very helpful booking restaurants etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    First floor rooms with view which come at a premium are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First floor rooms with view which come at a premium are very noisy. There is also a cocktail bar on the first floor so this floor should be avoided especially if you pay a premium for sea view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel in excellent location in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. Lighting very poor in bathroom.

    Charming hotel. Spacious room. Restaurant in property excellent. Staff very friendly. Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Property...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful interior, super fresh and clean. USB sockets for mobile charging on both sides of the bed. 3 pillows with different sizes and fillings. Great Hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent staff, comfortable beds and beautiful view,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are very small. It would have been nice to have 2 towels for me- the female guest, but we did not ask. They are so great with service it would have not been a problem. We had not checked ahead as to hotel parking and the only option is for a valet service that will park the car and return it for $79 a day. The staff was very helpful with this option, we just should have asked ahead of time. Excellent everything with this property- as US folk we just need to think more European!

    The view we had was beautiful- we requested and had a view room. Our daughter had a courtyard view, and it also had a peek a boo bay view and a terrace to sit on which we did not have and it was relaxing for her. The beds were so comfortable, and the bath products were lovely. The staff at the front desk, all service employees and the next door food service were outstanding and made our first visit to Sweden perfect. We will be back and recommend this to everyone!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Air con was a bit too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was a bit too much. No hand wash in the loo. Tea facilities which I requested weren't refreshed. Bath was warm but could've been hotter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Location, Great People!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just one thing: There's one old elevator that sometimes takes a long time to be available.

    The staff was most welcoming and very helpful in proposing and finding for us the right place to visit or dine in. The location of the hotel was excellent , it' s accessible to all attractions by feet. A great stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with stunning views and the friendliest service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have had a larger area for hanging clothes, but managed fine.

    Beautiful hotel with stunning view of Stockholm harbour. Just minutes walk to shopping and other areas of interest. Room was gorgeous, incredibly comfortable bed with lovely linen. Nice and spacious. Separate shower and bath. Food in the restaurant is delicious. Breakfasts are scrumptious and dinners are fantastic, good wine list too. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Have a genuinely positive attitude toward young children in the hotel. An extremely relaxing and high quality place to stay. We have re-visited this hotel 9 times now and will continue to come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location and the view from our window was to die...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location and the view from our window was to die for...but we paid alot to get it! Expensive but worth it for a very short visit. Helpful staff and delicious buffet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff,...,awesome!. We broke the zip of the suitcase in an esrly Sunday morning and didn't have time to buy a new one before the flight departures...The valet gave us another old suitcase and made us really 😊.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Stunning Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was recommended by a friend, and we very much enjoyed our stay. The location on the waterfront is stunning, and it is a very easy to walk to other parts of the city. The staff were exceptional, very friendly, cheerful and always ready to help. The room was clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable bed. Fantastic staff especially the front desk staff. They could not have been more helpful. Maxwell the doorman was excellent as well. friendly, happy and helpful. Gorgeous little balcony in our room. Would definately recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.0
    Never thought I could be so disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never thought I could be so disappointed. Cleaning staff came in without knocking the door.. very small room...simple breakfast.. over price tourist hotel.. etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.0
    What a rip-off
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A genuine ripoff - expensive, old , poor condition, small rooms, small closers, no room to store clothes, Wifi super slow - not useable This property is run by slumlords who are overcharging for a supergreat location but invest in nothing, serve really bad food. They are preying on a public who want a waterfront stay in this beautiful city

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like everything.

    The Hotel location allowed us to see a lot of interesting sites in Stockholm in few days. Restaurant is very good - food, interior, staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.7
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was very basic for the price. I had to pay extra for poached eggs which took 20 minutes to arrive and were stone cold.

    Good central location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better room, central heating, more attentive staff

    I had a small room which wasn't automatically heated: and a little cold and not very spacious. The room itself was quite basic tbh

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Elegant modernized hotel in a fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second room we changed to for a shower was a bit tight but hey, we moved from the most gorgeous big room just bc the tub was a bit high for me, a short person. The bonus was I had use of the beautiful lounge upstairs all to myself and was meeting with Swedish friends so that was so nice!

    The staff especially Annya & Lina were so helpful & gracious. The hotel is old but modernized with beautiful appointments in a posh location and a hub of activity. It was a great choice, had a nice restaurant, fun sauna to privately book.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Cosmopolitan, luxurious, and yet personal and friendly - attention to the small details
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decoration, friendly professional staff, luxurious bed linen, amazing views, great buzz in the restaurant and bar. A very nice mix of international guests and locals and the beautiful sunny terrace. The location of the hotell is amazing!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    The greatest hotel in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel Breakfast I've ever had! The room was perfect and so spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Definetly staying at the Diplomat next time aswell as I visit Stockholm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    The room was spacious and they provide amazing toiletries!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is only one elevator in the hotel so the wait for one might be annoying especially if you are in a bit of a rush and handling a fair bit of luggage.

    The room was spacious and they provide amazing toiletries! The interior design was cozy and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, excellent food and very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee making in room (standard in UK & US not sure if standard in Sweden but missed by us). Wi-Fi kept dropping out.

    Bed extra comfy, bathrobes and slippers provided. Great location. Room very clean and comfy, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Stockholm stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much! Perhaps just that there's a rather limited room service menu.

    Am incredibly perfect cosy and classy hotel. Wonderful staff, plush and quiet rooms, good gym facility, lots of English TV shows and movies on offer....and most importantly - an excellent location. Right on the water, walking distance from many great parts of the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    Good location near everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We picked this hotel for its rave reviews and we did not understand whatsoever where all that love came from. At first we thought it might have been a culture clash with Sweden. We later came back to Stockholm and picked the Lydmar hotel which was a million times better, so not a culture thing after all! When we first arrived we were greeted by the staff in a what seemed to be the middle of the restaurant/bar. The desk just doesn't make you feel like you are arriving at your hotel. The staff was okay, not especially charming or welcoming for a hotel staff. The elevator! Oh God! Goes to show that people don't really care for others. You have to close the metallic door outside the elevator when you exit it or else it will just stop working. Well pretty much half the time the elevator was not in service because someone had left said door open. Now for a hotel that has at least 4 floors (we were on the 4th) that is highly inconvenient. When I wanted to take my luggage down I had to myself go grab the elevator from another level by the stairs. Speaking of pulling my luggage around the halls. There is no valet??? To take our luggage from the taxi into to hotel, or to our room. Nothing on the morning we left either. We had to ask for a taxi to the lady at reception. She called and when the taxi driver arrived he was SUPER upset with us that we didn't have a "ticket" that the reception desk should have given us. Really awkward and uncomfortable. The room is nice, but a bit inconvenient. There is a little lobby area and then a couple of stairs that get you to the bedroom on the left, and a living room on the right. There was not enough room for me to open both of our suitcases, and the one that was open was in the middle of the living room which made said room completely useless. The bathroom is tiny, and when I say tiny, I mean it. I have never seen such a small bathroom counter and sink, ever. Especially not in a high end hotel!!!

    Good location near everything. Room is fine and clean. The restaurant was nice. The food was delicious and they had a table available on the night of our arrival even though we had not made a reservation. The breakfast buffet is pretty great as well. Lots of choices. The service in the restaurant is a bit better than the front desk, but again they would not come back and ask us if we were enjoying our meal or if we needed anything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.4
    Room for Improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was cold and only after 2 radiators were provided did it make it bearable. The shower temperature adjuster was stiff so it meant very hot showers. There was no tissues even after we asked. We had to ask for a kettle to boil hot water then the hotel was going to charge us for tea. It could have been cleaner and I had to clean the old style radio for a coat of dust.

    The location was good for the city, waterways, and museums. The decor was ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    A pre-Christmas holiday for St Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have like a kettle in my room for tea and this was provided when I asked for it but tea bags etc. not refreshed daily. Tiny thing.

    It's an extremely elegant hotel with an informal and very welcoming atmosphere. The staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The manger of the bar Andreas, was so proficient and professional and Ewan mixed one of the best bloody Mary's I've ever drunk! The room was warm and stylish in a typical Scandinavian way and the bathroom spotless clean. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly staff great food and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were awful the lobby toilets were not very clean. We also didn't have our room cleaned or dirty plates etc taken once

    The staff the restaurant the location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    Perfect place to explore Stockholm from. Cosy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small pillows! Also at the breakfast buffet, no one ever came to clear away plates!? Perhaps very short staffed during our stay, but this wouldn't not put me off returning.

    Beautiful room. Very comfortable bed. Amazingly good food. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We had lunch in the restaurant and it was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Elegance and comfort coupled with a gastronomic experience!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price steep

    Beautiful architecture, amazing location on best street of Stockholm overlooking water. Best meatballs Ive ever lasted and the toasted broccoli was superb. Scrambled eggs at breakfast ace! Recommend it even if it is rather pricey!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Super nice Hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super nice Hotel in great location!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    The atmosphere and grweting!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small single rooms and very small bathroom.

    The atmosphere and grweting! Make you feel Welcome

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Location and design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and design

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff were so helpful and friendly, and the beds were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was TINY

    The staff were so helpful and friendly, and the beds were super comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Large elegant space great breakfast food perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large elegant space great breakfast food perfect location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.5
    Location is v good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must have air conditioning in the rooms

    Bed was quite comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, beautiful room overlooking the harbor, helpful staff and delicious buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.5
    Great experience, wonderful service, but room too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought our room was a bit too small a bit uncomfortable.

    I loved the hotel and the terrace restaurant was lovely !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Great location, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner!!!!!!! Stuff was not friendly

    Great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location with excellent staff, excellent rooms and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ewan the bar steward was extremely helpful. In fact, we couldn’t fault any of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent hotel in a great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic situation on waterfront and close to all ferries for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very soft.

    Amazing breakfast- had everything you required and more! Room very comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Location, staff extremely friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotels is aged, no air condition, long wait for the only elevator, small rooms

    Location, staff extremely friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: