Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elite Plaza Hotel 5 stars

Västra Hamngatan 3, Centrum, 411 17 Gothenburg, Sweden

#18 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1200 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    The reception staff were lovely and also the staff at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not of the quality of the star rating. Breakfast staff hovered over you waiting to clear all the food away.

    The reception staff were lovely and also the staff at the bishops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    Deserves 3 stars
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room is the smallest ever. This hotel does not serve complementary water and I don’t like that.

    Reception staff were friendly and helpful,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous breakfast, excellent location, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only way to switch off A/C is by removing the key card from the socket which switches off all the power in the room.

    Fabulous breakfast, excellent location, comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    superior room, but very small with no view, therefore, not the type of room you would really be able to relax in during the day. no iron/board and safe had no battery power. Bathroom very small...would not be able to move if two people in there! No pool. Touch over priced

    Nice area in the centre of Gothenberg with tram pick up points within 200yards, easily walkable from the main bus terminal/train station. helpful warm staff only had breakfast, which was busy but no problem getting any food...and plenty of choice. clean room and bed comfortable to sleep in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent service at the reception, nice size rooms, walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were frustrated with the amount of noice coming from a restaurant area right behind the hotel. It was at the same time really hot so We had to sleep with the Windows open (No A/C) (front desk helped us switch rooms the next day) I am sure this is not an issue in the volder months though! hotel is a bit dated...

    Excellent service at the reception, nice size rooms, walking distance to most things, breakfast was ok. Close to really good restaurants!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, excellent food, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked out into an enclosed atrium so it was a little dark and I couldn’t see the actual outside. Minor problem though...

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My room was small but perfectly adequate and it was very quiet. The Wi-fi was fast - I didn’t use the business centre but the gym was modern and the equipment was varied. The breakfasts were superb and the pub below had a very nice atmosphere. The meals were good too. A very enjoyable stay in an excellent location. It is very accessible for trams and the bus to the airport and five minutes walk to the boat trip which takes you around the moat and into the harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfy bed, nice bathroom, minibar is full of assorted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room is very small, between 9am - 10am you will not get a table. Staff in dining room they are not so quick to do thinstead. For example they don't take used plates and glasses on the tables, they leave it to be pile up, and therefore if you still want to take some more food, there will be no space on your table.

    Comfy bed, nice bathroom, minibar is full of assorted drinks and snacks. Very nice sound pròof bedroom,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so soft, one sank immediately. There are stairs everywhere, I was travelling with a 24kg suitcase that had to be lifted to get into hotel. And then again to the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff during the check in was not friendly! Room was too noisy, loud noise all night from the ventilation pipe and you can hear every person passing by and closing their doors.

    Location is great. Bed is super comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only flaw is the room I had was a little bit too small.

    Amazing hotel/staff/location. I travel quiet often and found this to be one of the nicest overall hotels I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Very lovely, would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting could have been brighter, no kettle to make hot drinks, lots of noise on the Saturday night from a nightclub and drunken revellers (left side of the hotel up the alleyway)

    Bed was extremely comfy and the room was very clean, breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Good Choice for Gothenburg Stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is not on-site and is expensive. Facilities could be improved.

    A quality hotel with good bar, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, great breakfast and WiFi. Central location and safe parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that bothered us was that our room was on the same side as the restaurant & when we arrived around 23.00 on Friday night & wanted to rest, it was a bit noisy.

    - Excellent location, close to transportation/5-10 mins walking distance to shops, restaurants, central station. Very easy to find. Also quiet, cozy & safe area. - Clean & eco friendly! - Perfect breakfast with a wide variety. Even if you are a peaky eater, you'll definitely find something to eat. On Sundays it's open until 12.00! - Very good access to information, both about the hotel or the city. Very helpful staff. - Wifi worked just as it should. - It was possible to check out at 18.00 on Sunday, so we didn't have to rush.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful. will be back again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was situated above the Bishops Arms pub which we did pay a visit to and enjoyed very much however it was a little noisy into the early ours with customers shouting etc outside in the street below.

    Everything was wonderful from the room, to the service received in every area of the hotel and the delicious breakfast buffet. Gym and sauna were an added bonus. Will definitely be staying again when I am next in gothenburg

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    A nice-looking hotel that lacked that 5 star feeling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was ice cold despite us staying in a superior room. No heater, no heated floor, no heated towel rack. There were no hooks to hang things on in the bathroom. The magifying mirror was too high up on the wall. The TV was not working during the length of our stay and could not be fixed. The double bed had only one comforter. This is not comfortable when the people sleeping in the bed are of very different sizes. I have never visited a hotel where you did´t get two comforters. The bed lamps were too weak to read by.

    The breakfast buffet was great. The location of the hotel was good. The building was beautiful as were the Christmas decorations. The cleaning staff was fast and efficient. Very nice and quiet at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location - many good restaurants and shops in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chaotic breakfast. Way too many people for the small restaurant. People everywhere and several people waiting to get a free seat. Dinner was disappointing.

    Great location - many good restaurants and shops in the neighbourhood. Nice comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel that does not stand out / nothing posh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight overrate. Room chilly. Not possible to turn radiator up due to limited adjustment. Chandelier clattering while others walking. Sounds of street and tram. Corridor voices.

    Location is terrific. Late check out very useful. Overall standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good service. The location is perfect, walking distance, and if not the tram goes precisely outside the hotel. The breakfast was really good, there's something for everybody. The rooms are really nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    I will return each time I go to Goteborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very noisy early in the morning from the small street outside. However, in the bathroom I found a set of earplugs.

    The bed was superb. The room was very stylish and cosy. The breakfast buffet was very good in a nice restaurant. The excellent hotel bar was a plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Disappointed! Room on the ground floor very noisy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a quiet room, they gave me room on the ground floor, I could hear tramways passing by, and in front of my window at 6.30 a.m. heavy garbage was thrown a huge container for special material. Would you expect that from such a hotel?

    For an elegant hotel, with nice furniture, comfortable bed, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is excellent, right in the center of the city. Superfast check-in and check-out with no fuss. The hotel and rooms are very clean and beautiful. The breakfast buffet is elaborate and caters for everyone's needs. I had a very pleasant stay and would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was great, location was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not possible to open the window inn the room and the view was no view. One can not see what weather it was outside. The window was inside the building. Very warm and there was no possibility to manually change or turn on AC. Due to heat and problems to breath I was awake all the night and had to go out outside of the hotel to get some fresh air.

    The breakfast was great, location was amazing. The hotel itself is nice. Room was of a nice size, bed and bed sheets clean and very comfortable,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Stay After the Elevators Issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first we did not like the fact that they put us in a room in between the two elevators. Usually when it comes to elevators, they sound very noisy but not like their elevators. It looks like the wall are built thicker and good enough the elevators are actually quiet. So do not be afraid if your room is in between these elevators.

    We like the location of this hotel because it is not far from the city center and high-end shopping. The breakfast was very good and lots of selection like fruits, yogurt, bacon, sausages, cold-cut meats, assorted breads and more. We also like the bed sheets of this hotel because it is filled with Nordic Dun feathers and hypoallergenic. We basically feel the luxury of this hotel. Recommended to all travelers. The staff in this hotel are all very helpful, well-mannered and customer oriented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely building in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room on the 4th floor had only tiny little windows - make sure you ask about this if you're claustrophobic and like light!

    A lovely historical building with modern facilities. Good breakfast and a comfortable room with strong wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice Hotel but 5 stars is too much.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only normal coffee for breakfast. You must pay for extras like espresso, latte macchiato and omelette. Rooms in 4 Floor.

    We got room in the 4th Floor. This we changed directly. There are only small windows and this is not possible to sleep in this room. We request a change and got better rooms directly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    Noisy Room and oh dear not the 5 star experience I was expecting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was appalling for a 5 star. Bad powdered tepid scrambled eggs, was expecting real scrambled eggs for a 5 star / option of fried eggs, omelettes etc. Bread was stale, ham and cheese not fresh. Breakfast presentation and options was similar to 3 star budget hotel. Definitely not what I was expecting based on other 5/ 4 stars I have stayed at, and I am not trying to be pretentious either. Only had breakfast once but stayed 5 nights. There were better options outside the hotel and maybe the hotel was aware of it hence the average breakfast. Rooms in the range 208 - 224 approx run parallel to Drottninggatan. You need to be aware that there is a bar / night club which plays loud music Monday , Tuesday, Thursday and weekends, now that did not bother me as its my type of music, but every morning between 06:00 and 08:30 bottles are emptied from the large bins, barrels are being loaded and unloaded and every morning both of us were woken up by this loud noise and commotion as the sound traveled in the narrow road plus the windows are not double glazed and offered poor sound proofing. Room service food options was appalling in that it was limited to basically snacks. You were better off going to a 7 eleven, which we did. Again the hotel is probably aware that there are better options outside, but if you are arriving late and everything is closed you are stuck until the morning. No tea and coffee options in the room.

    Location is great, this is the hotels best feature in our opinion. Some of the best rated TripAdvisor restaurants and bars are close by. Hotel pub, Bishops Arms fab. The room is very nice with high ceilings. Lovely bathroom with powerful showers. Shower gels and products smelt lovely. Trams within easy walking distance and shops are close by as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Luxury Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets near the reception need to be redesigned. The gaps on the toilet doors makes you feel very exposed..

    Clean rooms, attentive staff and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean, quite and safe and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no TV channel explaining the hotel facilities. The rooms was very very small on size that it make you difficult to move. There were no coffee maker and iron.

    Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Very fast service from the staff. Breakfast was excellent and variety. Good location. Hotel building is unique and sound insulation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    Centrality located, close to shopping and siights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was facing a pub and it was very strange, but you coupd hear the music playing until over 2.00 am. one of the nights. Strange, because I am not sure if the Swedish law allows loud music this late...

    The location, the interiors and exteriors of the hotel. The size of the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.4
    Overall my stay is satisfactory accept for their housekeeping.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am really disappointed with the housekeeping of the hotel. They did not clean my room properly. And it is not convenient for me to contact their housekeeping, forever no answer. Several times they never vacuum my room, I can know bcoz I purposely leave tell tale signs to monitor. This is the only frustration that I have with this hotel.

    The location is really superb. Easy access to everywhere. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    A great hotel for exploring Göteborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little dark for my tastes and a little warm at night.

    The staff were really helpful. We asked for quiet rooms and they fulfilled this request admirably. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was fantastic and the location was perfect for exploring the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Great stay - rooms on the small side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially given an absolutely tiny bedroom - laughably small for two people, especially given the cost of this hotel.

    Excellent, varied breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    2.5
    Shocking experience - nothing Elite about this place.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Absolutely shocking experience. Upon arrival (and after having traveled for a total of 22 hrs) I was checked in to room 109 which was facing directly into neighboring alley with a night club. The noise was absolutely unbearable and I requested another room. The hotel was booked solid and the concierge on duty (1am at this time of the day) was unable and unwilling to make any attempt whatsoever to satisfy a tired traveler. I was offered a room at the corner on the 2nd floor but first they had to move a bed there - I didn't bother to enquire which broom cupboard they were considering.

    Nothing to like - didn't stay for more than 15 min before I booked another hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staff, excellent location with walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are on a central heating system and temperature cannot be regulated from inside each single room. First got a really cold room, but staff was super friendly and helpful and let us change to a better room.

    Very nice staff, excellent location with walking distance to the entire city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    lovely, centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny, even though I upgraded myself at the cost of an additional 200Kr/night to a larger room. I cannot imaging the size of a smaller room. There was place to hang only one towel in the bathroom and the design of the shower, although pleasing to the eye, was such that water leaked throughout the bathroom. The additional towels, which I ordered and received were not only welcome, but necessary.

    The hotel is centrally located in a historic building, which has been renovated with very good taste, keeping the important decorative elements of the old, but adding elemnets of modern Swedish design. The staff was excellet: polite, helpful, friendly. The amenities in the room were ample and of a high quality: bath robes, slippers, soap, shampoo, body lotion... I had requested extra pillows and towels and although I upgraded my room upon check-in, these were brought to my room a few minutes after I did. The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was excellent; the buffet was vast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit crammed. Huge windows towards interior yard, just a feeling of some lack of privacy. Water control a bit strange.

    Friendly staff, location, classy lobby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Centrally located architectural gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small bathroom; lack of temperature control (although apparently there is A/C) - especially when there are no windows to open...; slight deficiencies at breakfast (e.g. no baked beans and extra charge for capucchino); spa very hard to find

    Great building and outstanding staff ready to go the extra mile, perfectly located in the best part of town for all our activities, less than 50 meters to tramway

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Gracious Hotel with A Class Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a little larger but not a problem for us just we are use to a larger bed at home.

    The hotel is located well, the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is gracious and decor is perfect in keeping with the age. Breakfast was superb, could not fault it and our room was quiet and large enough. Plush thick bath robes, toiletries and good bathroom. Free wifi worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    The room at the hotel was comfortable and had a constant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room poor and unless you were in bed there wasn't enough light to read easily.

    The room at the hotel was comfortable and had a constant supply of good quality bathroom products. The staff were efficient and helpful and were able to provide any extras we required very promptly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel in a loud neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy neighborhood st night - kept us up past 3 am on Saturday night. Moved to room at back of hotel - much better night 2. The rooms on south side of hotel face a club of some sort.

    Very nice rooms, good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    -location is excellent within a minute from shopping , great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room was very cold and there is no control for the AC - Lack of good facility like coffee machine in the room - Very poor breakfast selection and breakfast hall is small - Noise from the people in the hotel is annoying - Weak wifi signal in the room I don't feel it's a 5 star hotel at any way. 3 stars at its best.

    -location is excellent within a minute from shopping , great cafes and tram stop. - near by 7/11 mini market - Room size is reasonable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect hotel for exploring Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ventilation/Aircondition in the room were relatively noisy, and without an option to adjust it/switch it off.

    Location in center of Gothenburg is just perfect with close proximity to attractions and shopping. The relaxed atmosphere at the hotel with very friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. The Bishops Arms underneath the hotel is expensive (c. £15 for two beers) but can't really blame the hotel for that.

    The bed was very comfortable and there was very little noise. The breakfast was fantastic, loads of choice and great quality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place- tricky to park though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pretty unhelpful when I arrived and had to park the car at 2am I ended up getting a parking ticket I asked for help to pay it or at least translate the ticket as it was in Swedish and the staff were really unhelpful as to how I could resolve this.

    The bed was small but really comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.9
    Good room and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is problematic and should be better arranged. Public parking garage is not far but staff does not know how the system works. The machines in the garage don't work well (4 trials) and it's not comfortable to walk up and down with luggage.

    Excellent - sound proof - room, good airco, good bed. We liked the complimentary small bottle of cognac and chocolate. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    Very helpful and charming service
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not fully serviced on third night Bedroom decor very dull and disappointing and headboard almost grotesque Lift often didnt respond to keycard Snow not cleared at entrance UK adaptor would not fit socket in desk since a square top Circulation at breakfast bars very poor indeed, needs rearranging

    Very helpful and charming service Liked the bar and the friendly staff Despite many negatives, liked the atmosphere and would stay again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    A very nice stay in a caring and welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms are on the small side, still they are working quite well (very good closets for instance). The breakfast room/restaurant is also somewhat small, but the hotel compensates the lack of space with very generous opening hours for breakfast. Noice insulation isn't too god and both outside- and indoor noice can be heard (especially rooms close to the inner courtyard can be disturbed by functions in the early evenings). For Summer visits, Please beware that there is no air condition in the rooms.

    Charming staff and nicely decorated rooms. Very good breakfast despite limited choices: Do not miss out on the home made, delicious scramble and the perfectly roasetd bacon (if you're into that...). Everything freshly cut and of good quality. The hotel is situated in a nice part of the town, with most things within walking distance and local transport on the doorstep for the rest. Lot's of charm in this caringly renoveated former headquarter of insurance company Svea-Nornan (you can still see Svea on the roof).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    Best hotel experinece in Gothenburg ever
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying only 1 night in this great room with a great team in charge of the hotel

    Great staff with the little extra in terms of service, upgrades and attitude.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    The small gym was very nice and sauna too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to be able to throw water on stones in sauna. Otherwise it isn't a sauna; it's just a warm room.

    The small gym was very nice and sauna too. Breakfast was of high level presenting a variety of great tasting food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.4
    Don't expect a 5* hotel, but a very good 4*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a "superior double room" in order to get more space. Got very disappointed. Dirty bathroom at check in. Asked for new cleaning. Not a 5-star hotel as rated, but a very good 4-star one.

    The hotel is very good located for shopping and going out for dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    5 out of 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathtub bas a bit small, but i guess for a standard room you wont get any bigger that can fit two for a romantic bath.

    We loved everything, the staff was amazing. Enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room was spatious and nice decorated. Bathroom rather small but clean. Breakfast offered a large selection of items, especially cold items beautifully presented. Great atmosphere in the hotel generally, we like taht the old style is kept well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    This is very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi too slow

    This is very good value for money. Located right downtown it is perfect for walks around the beautiful town of Gothenburg. I had a single room on the ground floor (103). It was perfect. Nice big bathtub, towels and everything. The bed was comfortable with two different pillows and the lighting was also perfect. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. It had everything. If I have to be negative about something – then the wifi was not good enough to carry a normal Skype connection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.0
    Nice hotel - cold rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms had a aircon blowing in to them that was controlled centrally. both rooms we had (after being moved from the first room) were both cold. Poor central heating in rooms.

    staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    One of the best hotels in Göthenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was no AC and we had to leave the windows open and there was a Restaurent nearby with very noisy clients and it stays open till very late in the night.

    Everything .. The hotel ambiance is just what a traveler looks for in terms of comfort

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    An impressive building with room for improvement as an Elite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The phone to reach any of the departments were out of function in our room. The room was very small and dark. We ordered tea from the breakfast menu and were only given hot water but no teabags for our romantic Sunday breakie in bed. The tray of assorted breakfast items were placed on the chair in the room, resulting in a difficulty to fully enjoy the prepared order. Staff could and should take more time at check out to secure a return of the guest to the Elite establishments, a loyalty card perhaps.

    Late checkout was a big relief as we arrived very late on the day of check in. Lovely robes and slippers to get a comforting and luxurious feeling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    It's very clean and close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really..

    It's very clean and close to the city center. You can just walk around exploring the sights. And it's about 10 minutes walk to the bus stop to catch the airport shuttle. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. There's also a fab selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Best value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .. that I stayed only 1 night :(

    True value for money , spot on location , nice historical building, very helpful and friendly staff , good b/f buffet - loved it !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.1
    Clean, convenient location, friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old. It is actually a four star hotel instead of five as said on booking.com. The room has no good views.

    Clean, convenient location, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.8
    Staff make this hotel with their constant effort to help.
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of spa type facilities and liveliness in evening is the only thing you could have as a negative!

    Take away coffee at Breakfast was a great idea! Clean comfy rooms & very friendly staff. Bishops finger pub was fun too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    Great Hotel, Great location....pity about the nightclub booming in our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEWARE OF ROOM 101 - The room was on an alley that had a night club on it, didnt bother us too much (with our ear plugs) but it'd bug me if I'd been staying longer than a night.

    Great hotel, in a perfect location. Room was clean & comfortable & the hotel in general was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.9
    Really good hotel and location but the noise was a serious problem on the first night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from street - night club at rear kept us up until 3am; cleaning truck woke us up at 5am. Things improved when we changed room but it's a problem for the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.9
    glamour in the ghetto
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was bit pokey and akward, trying too hard with lots of desigener stuff, making it smaller than any hotel I stayed in Japan. Next to the lovely hotel bar is a side alley with restaurant magnus and magnus, that has some idiots and aggressive staff looking for trouble. recommend to avoid or be careful when you step out back of the hotel at night.

    Beautiful art deco with eclectic feeling throughout the public spaces, and really good breakfast and great staff all round.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.3
    First night had sound of loud music from club nearby until 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night had sound of loud music from club nearby until 3 am. When raised with reception they said had complained to police which made no dufference. They said could not guarantee it would not happen next night so changed rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a room on the 2nd floor facing the alley and that evening (Tuesday) there was a night club which was extremely loud till 2:30am. Not a good night sleep!!!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.4
    Old fashioned and Tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a very tired, traditional style hotel. The reception area is bare, there wasn't a porter to help with bags and it looked and felt old fashioned. The rooms were ok, quite dark, and didn't feel particularly clean. I didn't feel it was value for money considering it was sold as a five star hotel? It wouldn't have been five star in the UK. Next time I would stay in a much more modern, clean and bright hotel with a bit of atmosphere and a restaurant! There are plenty of other hotels right in the centre to choose from.

    It was in a good location, not the greatest but you can walk into the centre easily. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.3
    Nice but a noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the local nightclub was such that we weren't able to sleep until it closed at 3am. After we indicated we'd book another hotel for the remainder of our stay we were given a quiet room but the downside of that was that there was no natural light and a view of a wall. We do understand peace and quiet is hard to find in the city but this was more stressful than it needed to be

    The location was good and rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable place and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms could do with an update. Slightly dated to be honest.

    Very comfortable place and lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Superior room is just a fraction bigger than s closet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room is just a fraction bigger than s closet. The real superior room is the deluxe room. Really sneaky!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Wish they would have given a better room to begin with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room they gave us had a cement beam blocking most of the window.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    This is not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5 star hotel AC is centralized & rooms were very hot at times Noisy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Nice staff, really conmfortable room and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was too warm and there was no AC and the window could not be opened

    Nice staff, really conmfortable room and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    The place to stay in Gotenburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked all of it.

    Ambience: staff, especially reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    great property, excellent location, large room, comfy beds, great breakfast and helpful and polite staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    A Well Located Hotel in Gothenburg, with a Friendly Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Elite Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: