Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elite Stadshotellet Västerås 4 stars

Stora Torget, 721 03 Västerås, Sweden

#3 of 16 hotels in Västerås

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1360 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room. I understand this is quite common and they are available from reception but after a long journey it’s nice to be able to make a cup of tea without going back to reception. Would be nice to be seated for breakfast did struggle to find a table on Saturday morning. Need to clear tables more regularly at busy breakfast times.

    Very nice hotel, some parts need refreshing but in general is a great place to stay. Room was very comfortable, clean & quiet. Very good breakfast buffet with good selection of hot&cold. Reception friendly and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I put up a sign to make up my room and it seems that the room was not served.

    Location is perfect, just at the heart of the city. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The breakfast is awesome, nice food accompanied with nice room and good music.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation is perfect,beautifull situeted,but ... the room was to cold for me without the posibility to get it warmer,i could not get a decend cup of coffee specialy in the evening ( small coffee corner or a machine) the pub had coffee but thats nit a good quaility . Not even close .. for me as a business traveler thats very important .. for the rest it was ok ... maybe give clear dirrectiond where to find the breakfast .. i had to search for it .. thanks very mutch and kind regards Aad van der Heijden

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was a bit too small. and the windows needs to be changed for new ones that blocks out the sound from the street

    nice looking. an old feel to it. nice strong room table. and the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel uses a magnetic-stripe keycard lock system which in our case failed to work two times (and we only stayed for one evening)! Of course the staff were quick to resolve this, but the system could have been more reliable.

    Clean & comfortable room, good breakfast, central location (accessible from the train station on foot), polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reason I booked this particular hotel was the location - I was attending an event just 2 minutes away - which was well worth the money. However, the reason I will stay there again is the magnificent breakfast - it beats everything I've ever had at an hotel, and makes me wish I was staying longer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By being an old hotel it comes with some design aspects that some people may not like but in all my stay at this hotel was good, I don´t really have anything to complain about. Elite hotels keeps a standard across their hotels which is at the top.

    Elite Stadshotellet Västerås is a beautiful hotel in the middle of Västerås. The hotel is old but it does not feel old at all. They have kept all the details that make the hotel so nice and made the rest of the hotel very nice, feels fresh and new with a touch of the hotels history.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good.

    Central location. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Secure car park on site, but you need to book it - only seven places, SRK 110. There's a pub on site with lots of brands of beer, but little by way of eating menu Several good restaurants nearby though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very ordinary, also the brakfast, lean coffe and not very nice breakfast room. My view is related to very expensive rooms. Not value for money.

    The location is great, the building is nice, lobby and pub are ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure you are able to provide room service. That the guest has to call down to the restaurant Bishops Arms (who never answers, and thus not being able to get food to the room) is not satisfactory at all.

    Good rooms for one person

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the online booking, we were obly shown the expensive family suites, we were not informed that it is possible to book a double bed suite and ask for extra beds for the children.

    A warm, friendly welcome. We got coffey and cookies, and our two children recieved a gift.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot find any fault whatsoever with the Elite in Västerås but I just wish Sweden would in general get into providing the tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    What a pleasant surprise. We tend to avoid modern major group hotels and take a chance on older classic hotels - often finding bags of character but tired small noisy rooms in need of refurbishment - but not this one! The hotel is in the midst of what looks very like a beautiful renovation in keeping with a magnificent old building in the finest location in the central square in Västerås. Our bedroom was already updated and very nicely appointed and judging by what was being done elsewhere in the hotel Elite have got it spot on. Super breakfast.Very nice staff and lucky enough to get a parking spot at the hotel.Very good value for money. A further bonus being the fact that Västerås is a very nice clean town with some lovely old buildings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charge seemed high considering parking available next to hotel.

    Although being renovated, we still enjoyed our stay. Good bed and good dinner in Bishop Arms Pub. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At this price it is really not acceptable to not have an iron+board in the room. At this price it is really not acceptable not to have a way of making a cup of coffee or tea in the room.

    Breakfast is great. Bed is fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Det stog att vi skulle ha en 160-200 cm säng men vi fick två stycken 90 cm sängar som var ihopskjutna. Det tyckte jag var dåligt!

    Bra med badkar på rummet, sköna kuddar och fina rum.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiles falling off in bathroom. Beds too soft for us. Asked for double, got twins tied together. Reception and breakfast areas rather gloomy. No visible porterage.

    Very good location. Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was comfortable but needs a fan as it was stuffy at night. No window.

    Very nice lady in charge. Beds were comfortable. Lounge area great. Kitchen excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service when you arrived, and the restaurant's service and the service will could have been much better based on the price paid. To find and help with parking was not easy and I do not recommend this hotel for people with reduced mobility. The breakfast included the most part, but many of the products were consumed, such as coffee and juice.

    The location of the hotel is very central.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average inside hotel with rooms like a travel lodge only smaller. Rooms in main part of hotel may be grander.

    Beautiful looking hotel from outside in good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff fexibiltet and the ability to solve unexpected situations with a cheerful and thoughtful actions. Breakfast staff should be mentioned. The young blonde waitress gilded the rest of the day . As gluten and lactose tollerant estimated the extra service and pleasant treatment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very warm, hard to complain really as Summer finally arrived in Sweden!

    The staff were very friendly... a really nice hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    False impressions and room was not as goos as it should have been when staying more than one night, but thy did change us when we asked.It has such a grand entrance but his is not used. Breakfast was very good, good selection hot & cold.

    The hotel was easily approachable from main roads and centre of town. Good relatively cheap safe secure car parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a bit soft for my liking, but I do like a firm bed so probably irrelevant.

    Good sized room in new part at the rear of hotel ( the front is older and rather grand ), good bathroom, speedy wifi, view over gardens and the cathedral. Ate in the Bishop’s Arms which was good and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Hotel right on the main square so easy to stroll around the town. Parked in the hotel's car park which seemed quite full, I had pre-requested a space, not sure if I'd have got a space if I hadn't.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything the staff food and facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor and cleanliness was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightmare to park you car

    Breakfast location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and fabulous location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too cold. I was freezing ! Bathroom nicely warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! I used to work there 26 years ago as a teen cleaning rooms. It was great to be a guest this time!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only criticism would be that I would have preferred coffee or tea facilities in the room. I would use this hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold scrambled eggs!

    Nice breakfast! Really good location in the heart of the city!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent buffet. The best location in Västerås and the nicest hotel in Västerås too! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no alarm clock. no wash cloths

    Beautiful room. Parking was on-site (paid). Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle and tea bags

    The heater in the bathroom so I can dry my washed clothes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of food in the hotel pub ... very expensive...... ouch !

    The staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took forever to find the iron

    The bathrooms were nice and the beds were comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast one of the best

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great rooms in a very grand looking hotel, right in the centre if things

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was fairly small, but nevertheless sufficient

    great building and ambience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location Pub quick wifi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been some tea or coffee machine in the room.

    Excellent staff and good location of the hotel directly in the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location, location combined with comfort, room had all I ever needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Self made scrambled eggs was excellent. You don't get that in hotels very often.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very noise room.

    Good location. Good hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not turn off the TV, some kind of problem. you should be able to plug it out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast. Good central location - rooms not facing the main square are much quieter!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel met my expectations very well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy looking hotel. Mixed impression from staff. Eggs at breakfast and scrambled eggs undercooked.

    Beds are great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was too soft and irregular! Mattresses need to be changed! My mother sat on the edge and slipped off. Could have been a bad accident. Fortunately she didn´t hurt herself.

    Very good location, nice room with excellent view, fantastic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was given a room with a view to the car park. I had a car 1 meter away from the room's window. I specifically requested a room with view to the park when I booked through Booking but my request was completely ignored!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The temperature in the room was cold and the wall heater was not working. There was no way to manually adjust the temp to make it warmer. It was difficult to sleep because of the cold. :(

    Friendly staff, great location, clean and nice rooms. Very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a 5 day liesure stay there was extremely limited storage for clothes and belongings. No bed side cabinet, wardrobe, desk drawers or anything like that. Simple hanging space and limited shelves just inside door. No real private/personal storage in the bathroom.

    Central location. Room 408 at the back of hotel had a nice view of the cathedral and was away from the town square and hotel function rooms, so nice and quiet, especially the weekend before Christmas. Good sized room safe. Very good breakfast. Bishops Arms provided a good first night meal until we found our way around town. Good room temperature control once understood - no instructions in room. Free coffee in the lobby. 4 minute walk to Stora Gatan for bus to airport (no. 3 Pink) or 7 minutes to the rail station. Room clean and fresh, but rather bare in the Scandinavian style. Our third visit to Vasteras and first time at this hotel. Would definitely use again.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Renovations guy decided to start banging nails into the wall at 7:30 in the morning. This was really not to my liking.

    Great location, parking available and they even have a little sauna/spa downstairs. The building is simply magnificent.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Couple

    We booked for a big double-bed but got two separate single beds, which is not nice.

    I like the fact that the hotel was in the middle of the town and that it was close to all the good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from bar/nightclub was disruptive during the night. Woke up several times during night.

    Bed was so comfortable, choice of pillows was a luxury, breakfast spread was great, room was clean and location was great.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The people at the reception so disappointed and without experience. Not behaving as a 4stars elite hotel. You reserve before with a credit card but than they ask you the money every day of you stay, they treat guest as they are not welcome. My supplementary night I have decided paying with Swedish maestro seb bank, they told me that they have changed the machine so not working anymore with maestro cards, I was asked to go and withdraw money in order to pay... I was disappointed all 11 days that I spent there

    The good central position, the bishops arms pub inside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The interior felt of good quality, but a little worn down. It seems they are currently working with repairs/modernisation, though. No biggie though, would gladly go there again.

    Location is perfect Old but classy place Very helpful personnel: When we said the room was a bit cold they went up to our room with an portable radiator within 5 minutes! Room service from real nearby restaurant. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Family with older children

    A lovely hotel with a cosy pub. Excellent breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff polite and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed before location central breakfast good choice room fine

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful old hotel. Central location. Walking distance to most sites in city.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was great!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location to the airport, comfy room .

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good central location breakfast efficient

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    English pub a bit shabby/dated.

    Central location and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, clean, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    lack of tea/coffee in room

    breakfast and excellent value

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Get hotel, staff and very convenient location from airport and the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good service

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    paying to park the car

    location was great

There are also 59 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: