Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elite Stora Hotellet Örebro 4 stars

Drottninggatan 1, 701 45 Örebro, Sweden

#7 of 19 hotels in Örebro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1317 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No differences more than the price between economy and superior!! No aircon and the rooms towards the sourh and west were very hot, at least 35 degrees!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unaware when booking that we'd be staying in a separate building to the main one, so across the street from the sauna etc. Also the lobby of the building we stayed in was untidy, tools were left next to the elevator and there was signs of work being done throughout.

    The room itself was perfect. Very comfy bed. Good bathroom. Everything clean to a very high standard. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Off site parking is a couple of blocks away for a fee.

    The property was clean , the room was large but in a building accross the street from the hotel lobby but it was not a problem. A good breakfast and the town is fun, with a river, a castle and restaraunts next to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff assesses you on arrival and place you in the room they think is ok for you. Especially if you did your booking through booking.com. Got placed in a very old and dirty room on first floor, closed to a storage room where all the housekeeping took place. Had to ask the staff for a change of room and got placed in a room with inyard view with very bad ventilation.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy ventilation system outside our courtyard-facing window. the room was unusually small, especially when you consider the price, but very comfortable and cozy nevertheless!

    the breakfast buffet was out of this world! the bed was amaaaaaazingly comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a view of the sky and nothing else! The floor in my room room had not been cleaned since quite some time. My room was in an annex and it was not comfortable to walk to the main building for breakfast. The juice to breakfast was rancid and hardly good for my health.

    Excellent location with good view of the castle from the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh painting of the closet gave a persistent smell when opening it. The smell spread in the room, not pleasant. The ventilation in the room brings up some bad smells from the plumbing / evacuation in the bathroom.

    The location is excellent, as well as the surroundings. The staff is friendly and very informative.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by car and it was said in advance that we don't need to book a parking spot in advance, we can sort it out upon arrival. We arrived and it turned out that they have a cooperation with a parking house, but it's full now, so we should find a parking spot in the street... Which in the centre isn't too easy... Thank God it was a Saturday, so we didn't have to pay for the parking in the street. The receptionist wasn't too nice. We arrived at 14:00 and check-in was from 15:00. She told our room wasn't ready yet, which we didn't have a problem with, but when I told her we would wait until 15:00, she said she couldn't guarantee that the room was ready until 15:00... After we checked it with her colleague, her colleague assured us that our room would be ready until 15:00, as all rooms have to be ready by that time. While we were sitting and waiting, we heard all other guests arriving and getting their rooms before 15:00... When I went to the receptionist again at 15:00, she then told oh yes, the room was ready. She wouldn't have told us if I didn't ask... Then we got the cards for the room and none of them worked. We had to go back to the reception and the receptionist still wasn't nice. She said we shouldn't have kept the cards next to our mobiles... which wasn't the case at all..., probably she did something wrong while activating the cards. Gosh... In a 4-star hotel... how can such things happen?

    The location is perfect, right next to the castle, in the centre. The breakfast was perfect. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at night from local bars. Nice breakfast. Fairly typical European Hotel... small rooms, terrible showers, no gym/pool facilities.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small but very comfortable. The hotel is in front of Örebro Slott, so everything is close. It was Midsommar but I was not bothered by the noise from the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't really bother me but there was mildew in the shower recess.

    All the staff were friendly and helpful especially the reception staff. Breakfast was excellent, the choice was one of the best I've seen and again, obliging staff. The location of the hotel in the centre of town overlooking the Slottet was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts were great, generous and varied, buta as a vegan I thought the hotel could perhaps have some cooked veg or porridge or something warm for those who do not eat eggs and meat.

    I managed to move to a room that faces the castle and the view was magnificent and I was really happy in my room, very special! I really loved the location - so close to everything and the pub and restaurant attached to the hotel are both excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff, walking distance to attractions, tasty restaurants on your doorstep, and a delicious breakfast! It was a wonderful stay! I will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a coffee snob and I love great coffee. As always however, hotels are for staying in and not drinking coffee so the coffees not so great!

    The hotel was very good and the pictures on Booking.com don't really do it justice. We moved here from another hotel and we're glad we did. The hotel was much quieter although it was only a minutes walk away from everything you might want. The sauna is also properly hot, not like the others I had tried. Our room was spotless and recently renovated like the rest of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smallest rooms are indeed quite small. Pillows could be better. But these comments are minor. It's a nice hotel.

    This is a solid and consistent hotel. I've stayed here many times. Staff is friendly and rooms are clean. I booked very late the same day and got a good deal incl breakfast. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I couldn't pay in advance and the stay was 200 sek more expensive than when I booked the room. This is not really fair.

    - The room was very comfy and big. - The buffet - Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there with a small group, and the single bed room had a weird set-up for the shower that prevented it from working -- only flaw in the stay.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior is obsolete. The tv:s location in the room was just weird, on the left side of the bed, flat against the wall.

    Breakfast was awesome! The location was very good.. There was a Pokemon stop right outside our window..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luftkonditionering/ventilation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was lovely and located near the castle as well as shopping and restaurants!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer care

    It smells bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was small. That's all.

    Location, cleanliness, superb breakfast given it's large variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a cab was difficult

    Good location, helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be cleaned better

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking is for extra money. The parking place can be full. Difficult to park

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were not very helpful or friendly.

    Lovely old building right across from the castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service

    Very good and excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brighter reading light is needed

    Great bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was very comfortable. Room was beautiful. Very clean. Close to Castle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom is too small

    The location is excellent and the room is very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not very good.

    good breakfast, good size room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds.

    Good location, clean rooms, good breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't that good

    Excellent location, staff super friendly,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's wonderful to have breakfast with the view of the castle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a view over the city would be better!

    Great location!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a vehicle

    Right in the centre of town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is hotel from 70-x years, also the smell the same!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    carpets a bit dirty in entrance

    Breakfast fantastic

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The cooked breakfast was tasty but was cold every morning.

    On arrival staff were welcoming and friendly and acoommodating for any requests. The room was very comfortable, with a nice layout and a lovley view over the old castle, but best of all it was very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sofa bed in our room was dirty, we had to ask reception for a second bed as they hadn't provided enough beds for us all. The breakfast had a good selection but some of the fruit and vegetables looked like they had been out for too long.

    The location was great.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had read reviews that stated the hotel was cold. It was! My room was freezing but I came prepared for that.

    Great location across from the castle. Easy walk from the train station. Very good breakfast. Room and bathroom were spacious.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. There is no nearbly carpark. And the charge per day starting at 8 am is unrerasonable, especially since most tourist will leave after 8 am, meanign 2 days' charge for a 1 night stay. Luckily we got a space at the castle carpark, and the parking charge for the space was 10 times less than the hotel's. 2. We got assigned to a separate building from the main hotel, on a side street. We have to take our baggages there, and there was no view!

    The location next to the river and facing the castle is superb.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is inconvenient and costly. But, it seems inevitable if you want to stay next to Örebro castle.

    Superb location. Breakfast is excellent in this price range. Staffs are very kind.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There isn't anything which I didn't like!

    This hotel has it all! Set in a prime location in downtown Örebro, within walking distance to city attractions, restaurants & shopping. The rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds & beautiful bathrooms with heated floors. The crown of my stay was the amazing breakfast buffet with everything under the sun! All these amazing amenities make Elite hotel my home in Örebro.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Couple

    Pleasant in all respects

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was cozy, attractive, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Couple

    The room the breakfast buffet the mini bar utmärkt

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The scenery was bad, only a backyard

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small, as was bathroom

    Excellent breakfast , comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location in the city center.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position of hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from elevator, in front of the room and noise from airsystem building just in front of the window. Do not book room 601

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking could be difficult, motorcycles was ok

    the location and restaurants near by Love the castle

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good business hotel perfectly situated, but not too much charm

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room contained bunk beds for the kids and not as advertised (2 single beds).

    Location, price, staff, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Reception very helpful, good breakfast. Ideally located in the center of Orebro

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfy beds, big room, the Bishops Arms pub attached had a great atmosphere and good food and drinks

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    airco

    mooie stad Orebro

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bestuhlung im Frühstücksraum altbacken

    sehr freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal, tolle Lage,gutes Frühstück mit reichhaltiger Auswahl

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no flowers

    location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff didn't know what to do.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is perfect. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast superb.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: