Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Christian IV

Västra Boulevarden 15, 29131 Kristianstad, Sweden

#8 of 13 hotels in Kristianstad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 905 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Not bad, seeing that there isn't really a big choice of accommodation in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could have been a bit warmer. There are no free parking spaces right next to the hotel.

    It's basically a good hotel, bit old-fashioned, but with character. Right across from the station bang in the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location.. take this hotell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private parking... is couple rows in public parking lot... not sure, but fast might eat the slow... so not sure there is enough parking spaces for all.

    We arrived with motorcycles (4) and selected the place because it had free private parking.. which ended up to be couple of rows in public parking lot.. but reception saved the day and we could park in inner ward so basically bikes were in openroof garage. Ten points of that!!! Place is magnificigant... big rooms where ceiling is in 4meters or more. Friendly staff and good breakfast. I recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Sitting in reception enjoying a cup of tea and reading my...
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A kettle in the room so when i woke very early I could make my own tea.!

    Sitting in reception enjoying a cup of tea and reading my book. Nobody complained about how much tea I drank!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    Not a good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't get to stay at this hotel, however, they did create a problem with the information they provided at the time of booking. I booked the non-refundable option, and it said that I would be charged immediately - or before my stay. When my plans changed I didn't want the booking to go to waste so I offered it to a friend who paid the amount I (thought) I had paid. When he came to check in, he was told that they HADN'T charged anything beforehand and wanted him to pay. He didn't have that amount cause he had been informed that it had all been taken care of. So, it created a mess beyond belief and the hotel just explained that "we SAY that we will charge you but we prefer to do so at the time of stay". Yet I couldn't cancel the room because THEN I would have been charged (according to the information given on the site). It makes no sense whatsoever. The bad vibe this whole thing created makes me not want to stay here in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Everything was more than OK – except for the awful...
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was more than OK – except for the awful "art" covering all surfaces in the corridors, the entré and the breakfast room. Tasteless, amateurish and at times downright offensive (especially when you looked the prices!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff, amazing location, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Friendly and helpful staff, amazing location, good breakfast, plenty of restaurants around. We staid in Kristianstad two days and have had very good time together. Hotel made our stay smooth, safe and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    Only if you didn't find any other option, consider it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast (specially the coffee), bathroom too poor fashion, quite loud during night

    Outside (the building) promising, inside disappointing. Inside although old fashion but not maintained properly, lift was smelling very strange

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    History, nature and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The ambiance, the location to both the city and the nature area and the connection to Linnaeus, close to the train station, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, history of building and area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    2.9
    Horrible, dirty hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was terrible. Mattresses were rotten (i have photos), falling apart and needed vaccuming up and what appears to be old blood covering the mattress under covers... mouldy tiles in bathroom, no sound proofing at all... dont ever take small kids here.. in fact, if thinking of booking, move along.

    The staff were ok..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is placed in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked quite old and needed painting. The breakfast could have been better.

    The hotel is placed in the middle of the city. The room was very clean. The staff was nice and helped us getting around the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of was trying to get the temperature in the room constant.

    Great location and very clean. Once you got used to no tea and coffee in room and used the tea making faculties in the lobby it was great. Will be visiting on a regular basis and will being using this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.9
    Super location, right next to the railway station for those...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms with a bath and better decor could really make this a special hotel.

    Super location, right next to the railway station for those wanting an easy to find Hotel. Housed in a wonderful old building, great breakfast and pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    The location in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite run down.

    The location in town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities in the room should be renovated

    Fantastic location, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Stunning building!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    It was alright
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast could be better, maybe have some waffles and berries

    The location and the personal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    The room was quite large and had a good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite large and had a good view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location, fine breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, fine breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.0
    Not value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Renovate rooms and lobby.

    Too old.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    No schampoo and towell refill after cleaning the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No schampoo and towell refill after cleaning the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location, beautiful old building, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition

    Great location, beautiful old building, great breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    ok men slidt hotel
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rent men meget slidt hotel

    god morgenmad, fine senge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Design, interior and exterior of hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need an update to 2017. No soap in bathroom.

    Design, interior and exterior of hotel. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for a visit in Kristianstad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for a visit in Kristianstad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast, Wifi, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit minimalistic for a four star rating, it needs a good refubishment

    Breakfast, Wifi, good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    A great place in a great town where I will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.3
    I would not recommend it comparing the price of the room paid in another competitors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were below expectations, breakfast was bad, and the bed is unconfortable single bed.

    Location only was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Plenty of space in the common rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plenty of space in the common rooms. Beds very good. Room well appointed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.3
    Mold & Cold
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell of mold in room. Cold room. Smell of hydraulic oil in elevator was horrific

    Speedy WiFi. Friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.8
    Will probably not return
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bee nest inside window, room 505, very overpriced for being a "svuite". Not many channels on the TV.

    Location and view was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    Lovely clean hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would like more a restaurant than there was. although there was a few local restaurants near by

    Lovely clean hotel .not noisy. Internet worked al lover the hotel. The staff were professional and friendly. Excellent !

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    7.5
    Mia the receptionist was extremely helpful and let me have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience at this hotel - beautiful and quiet

    Mia the receptionist was extremely helpful and let me have a room early - about 11am - check in is officially 3pm.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    What a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tiniest bit of feedback I have would be to update the old school hair dryer.

    What a great place to stay. The service was fantastic. Sandra in particular was outstanding! The room was spacious and the hotel was in a great location close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    5.4
    Friendly service with a smile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room quality is bad. First room on 5th floor was very dark & bed was ok for a superior room. Tv was an old tv, not flatscreen. Squeaking floor. Bathroom was very basic. No ventilation. Shower very basic. Asked to moved to better room. Got a slighty bbetter room, with a nice balcony, but an extremely small bed. Same squeaky floors & poor quality bathroom & shower. Lift is very slow & has a very bad smell. Lobby carpets & stair carpets are very old & worn & some areas stained.

    Friendly service with a smile. Free fresh coffee & tea in reception area. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.0
    very friendly staff, breakfast was good, nice and quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    blind in bedroom window broken. pillows the size of postage stamps. windows frames falling apart and rotten, no restaurant

    very friendly staff, breakfast was good, nice and quiet

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    5.8
    Very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is rather run down and in bad need for a complete renovation. The building is magnificent but not the maintenance of it.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.5
    Good and positive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old rooms.

    Good and positive staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location with helpful staff and free tea & coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower sometimes went cold

    Great location with helpful staff and free tea & coffee from lobby

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very dated interior, warm room, bus stop outside the room so no sleep with an open window.

    Friendly staff

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse First Hotel Christian IV traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: