Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel G 4 stars

Nils Ericssonsplatsen 4, Centrum, 41103 Gothenburg, Sweden

#26 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5835 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very well equipped and quiet, a very comfortable bed. Walking distance to parks and canals. Right by the rail station - wonderful if you are traveling that way

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi connection isn't stable, the TV channel has too few international outlets

    the staff is very helpful, the location is superb, the breakfast is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit overpriced but so are most places in Scandinavia.

    Being literally above the main station it couldn’t have been more conveniently situated. Decent breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent central location, helpful friendly staff. Amazing sound-proofing, so quiet and peaceful despite being located directly over Goteborg Central Station. Extremely comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very short stay - just one night before a very early train departure the next day. Friendly and efficient check-in. Room not huge but perfectly comfortable. Surprisingly quiet for being pretty much above the railway tracks! Stopped by for an evening drink in the bar which was very nice. Very comfortable bed. Appreciated the offer of a take-away breakfast box, which was welcomed on the train journey. Highly recommended for those looking for a hotel close to the central station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price would be the only concern.

    The room is nicely decorated, bathroom was pristine. The hotel is somehow a nice building in the main Central train station of Gothenburg, but somehow the architecture and glass isolate any possible noise. (One less worry). Sweden is overall pricy, and having the breakfast included is a plus. Food was great, fresh and buffet-style. The front desk staff were kind and accommodating. In terms of location, you will be in the main train station, the buses are also downstairs and the rail station is 2-3 blocks away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the breakfast had varieties of items, but the same items were offered every day. This might be boring to some people. Otherwise, everything is in order.

    The hotel is just above the Gothenburg Central station, in the same building. The room and the hotel is surprisingly quiet, although it is right in the Central Train station. The room size is spacious. The breakfast offered reasonable varieties from hot to cold food items. All public transportations are around the corner of the hotel --very convenient. The bed, quilt and pillows were very comfortable. Definitely I love to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less facility

    They are not provided any water bottles & even they didn’t change the towels every day. No vanity kits & no toothpaste, toothbrush.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One receptionist was really unhelpful in a situation of real health-related need. No complimentary slippers. No salmon nor fresh orange juice. Maximum temperature of the room was too low and couldn't be raised.

    Conveniently located at the train station. Welcoming staff, apart from one episode. Cleanliness of the room. Comfortable and clean bathroom. Variety of the breakfast. Quality of the air in the room despite window can't be open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so pro active and the breakfast was yummylious....the staff were so very polite my daughter loved it and the swedish people were ever so friendly...Sonia at the front desk was a relevation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small breakfastarea. No cups, bags or glasses for the icecubemachine. Had to ask in the bar everytime. We didnt have big pillows in our sitting/sofaarea. (The other room had that)

    Comfy beds, tasty breakfast, superb location, easy parking in nordstan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the 'Double Room with View' room. When I checked in, the view was of the inner court, and the bed was 2 connected single beds. So when I went downstairs to ask about my reservation, I was given the room diagonal to the given room. The receptionist said that it was because there was a change in the system. I did get a room with a view, but I still got 2 connected single beds and not a double bed

    The location was superb because I was only in Gothenburg for one night and I was traveling in and out by train. And it was well connected by the trams. There's even a mall right across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The minibar/fridge was broken. Wanted to use it to store water and fruit, and couldn't. The TV has very few channels, and from the few ones that were there, most of them were unstable, intermittently showing "Data only"

    Big rooms. Very quiet, even though so close to train station. Big and extremely confortable bed. Had such an amazing sleep. Very good breakfast, in terms of variety and quality. Possible to adjust floor heating on the bathroom, which is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    even though it was quiet and none of the station noise could be heard, the announcement jingle of the station could be heard, which might be really annoying for folks sensible for that. Also to get to the breakfast area one has to cross an inside walking bridge exposed to the station traffic below

    great location directly at the central station. good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    I liked it that there's a gym at the property. Being on a business trip, it was good to be able to keep up with my exercise regime.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The excellent location if travelling by train - above the train station and also within easy walking distance of many attractions. Comfortable and spacious room and bathroom. Excellent sleep quality. Great breakfast with a variety of warm and cold foods and yummy coffee. Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small thing but the bath tub was separated from the wall so the water ran underneath. Not a big problem.

    Very comfortable room. Great bed and really well payed out. Great lighting options. Very quiet. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no window nor balcony looking to the outside so you have no chance to interact with fresh air, and have also a little chance to have direct sunlight!!! %80 of the rooms are looking to the depressive and meaningless inner galleries.. Our reservation was obviously for 3 persons including our 3 years old daughter, but they did not put any extra bed for her which they were supposed to... When I called the reception, They told me that "there is no place in the room for an extra bed" and referred to a close at the very end of the booking page saying: "Children under 6 years old will sleep with their parents" etc.. (Thank you for that!!) However, They've also added that they can bring an extra bed if we pay 200 kronors more per night!! (Then what about the argument that "there is no place in the room for an extra bed" !!??) So that was a very cheap try to rip off..

    You are staying at the upper floors of the train station..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two aspects to keep in mind: from the room you will hear your neighbors and the speaker from the station... and the mattress is very soft.

    Cleaned room and good breakfast with large choice! Located in the building of the central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With check in I got a filty room, apologized for it and got a new room. But that room overflooded when you take a bath.

    Nice location and very silent room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too hot and there didn’t seem to be air conditioning. If there was, it was not obvious where this was or how it worked. The windows didn’t open either which was a bit of a low point - fresh air is always good. No baths either, just a shower. However, I’m citing this as a negative as this is more just my preference.

    Very comfortable beds and I’m a great location. The hotel bar was a nice relaxing area too with a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    PARKING & TRYING TO FIND THE HOTEL - Driving in Gothenberg is a night mare and poor directions on Sat Nav , trams, 1 way streets and NO out front parking & insufficient street signage. Had to stop and ask a cab driver how to get there when I was across the road.??? - Bookings SHOULD SAY ACCOMMODATION IS RIGHT OVER THE TRAIN LINE at Central Station - NO PARKING - Please Park at the shopping centre across the road and walk in luggage.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not fantastic

    The location was perfect, right next to the train station, and accessible to the main tram lines, and the biggest shopping malls - Nordstan. The under floor heating in the bathroom really helps to keep the bathroom clean, and the shower was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You could clearly hear Railway station announcements on your room from 05.00 am, every morning.

    Location of this hotel is perfect. Breakfast had a wide selection of foods.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel integrated into the central station and annexed mall. Well connected with the different parts of the city and walking distance to the city center. The rooms are well organized and comfortable, the bathroom spacious and clean. The Wi-Fi connection is good and the breakfast various and tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, next to the central train and bus stations. Wonderful breakfast. Fully recomend to take it. Room is comfortable. There is teapot in room, cups and glasses for wine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An announces at Gothenburg station annoyed me, especially in the early morning. I had to wake up earlier than usual, even though it was weekend. It was not loud but keeping listening was a bit annoying. Maybe it was because our room was top end and facing platforms. But otherwise comfortable stay.

    The room is clean and big enough for three people with a fridge, safety box, coffee and tea, extra bed is comfortable than it looks. The breakfasts were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The side of the bed had stains, as if someone spill something, it was cleaned but never changed the fabric.

    The location is extra great! and the experience in the hotel was good enough. Would come back again. The staff was the best of the visit. Some rooms have an amazing view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not possible to open the windows and it would be nice to bring in some fresh air as needed.

    it was very quiet despite being at the central station... great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bet dark and cold.

    I really liked the location that was so close to the station and the center. I also loved the leisurely breakfast and room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we liked it all!

    The room was spacious and airy with comfortable, single beds and good quality duvets. Smartly decorated modern interior and very clean. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, an iron, hairdryer, tv and an umbrella to use if necessary! The bathroom was spotless, had heated floors and a wonderful walk-in shower with good quality toiletries. The lady at the reception was very helpful and polite and our room was ready early (11:30 instead of 15:00) They have a secure area for luggage if you need to store it somewhere on your day of departure. We ate a delicious breakfast which was included in our price. A great choice of dishes from bacon, eggs and baked beans, cold meats and cheeses through to rolls, cereals, yoghurt, fruit and pancakes. Check-out was a very generous 12:00.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You are not supposed to bring any guest after 22.00 o'clock - strange and old-fashioned limitation for a modern hotel in 2018.

    Fitness and sauna facility with view to the Central Station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor might be a bit dated.

    Location is perfect, above the central station and right by shops and tram stops. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Room was spacious with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was dissapointed that the kids channel was not working after the 1st day. I stayed there for 7 nights, and nothing was done. One staff after one staff followed up and still nothing was done. They mentioned they will do something about it. I waited 5 nights and they mentioned it was the tv channel’s fault. Nothing was done to soothe the situation. I was dissapointed and hope booking.com to get back to me. Thank you.

    Good breakast spread, clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm and no possibilty to turn down temperature. Bathroom could use some more cleaning.

    Friendly staff, quiet room, simple but complete hotelroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All standard rooms are inside a closed courtyard. As I asked for a room with a view I had to take an upgrade for 10 euro to a better category...and there was then no nice view ( parking place). You cannot open the windows. At all IT seemed to be more a 3 star instead of a 4 star category!

    The location in the central station is really good when you travel. Breakfast is ok but nothing special. Fast check in and out. Very quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern hotel in an excellent central location. Room pleasant - standard layout but clean and modern. Good buffet breakfast. Dinner was good with very pleasant service (but quite expensive).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for all sights. Friendly staff. Ease to all public transport. Big room, comfortable, quiet. Huge breakfast buffet selection to start the day!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good location, do not think about its location of being in train station. You will not hear anything. Good Staff. They provided us an extra heater as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, just above the Central Station. And besides that, the hotel is very quiet, excellent. Friendly staff. I had some problems buying train tickets and the staff was very nice helping me. Delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit stuffy and no way to crack window or get airflow.

    Excellent location at a decent price. Breakfast was good and rooms were clean and well furnished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my room ad the window on an internal closed court. Can't refresh the room opening it.

    nice position directly in the central station, very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised as the hotel was IN the central station, so that wasn't very comfortable as the access pass through it. So you see the station while you are in the hotel, not very nice. I had a car and the parking lot is hard to access and not as close to the hotel as I thought.

    Nice staff and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just be aware that the Scandinavians make their beds differently than the English do ..... so if you like stretching out under a king size duvet, then you're in for a surprise! It would appear that they prefer to roll up in single duvets, so be aware! :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room is a bit poor. Lat time I got a room with an exterior view, this time I saw only the hotel itself!

    I like the hotel, convenient location, good with the fitness/gym-section, good breakfast, great lounge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff Poor service Disgusting overpriced foods Service to room- use tea bags milk, shower on day 1 of a 3 day stay snd you get no more. Staff at bar- serve you while chatting- dont look at you- take your money- dont look at you, slam your change in front of you. Like nothing I have ever experienced in Sweden. As a woman travelling alone I was made to feel insignificant and invisible. Absolute disgrace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was just fine.

    The breakfast was very nice, the location of the hotel was perfect, in the same building as the central station and it was perfect for us since we had a very early train. It took us 3 minutes to come inside the train. The staff was also very nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply Nothing

    One can not find a better hotel than this, situated just above the Central Station... Lovely Staff and lavish buffet breakfast... Everything is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got wrong info on breakfast hours ... and then only little and in a rush breakfast after discussion with staff while breakfast buffet was already being cleaned up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist did not allow to cancel one night saying its on booking., even though it was the third time I booked that hotel. Rooms not so clean as expected and poor breakfast. Arrogant woman in reception

    Location is good and practical

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was trapped in the room for two hours due to jammed door lock. Couldn’t get out of the room. Took them two hours to get someone to get us out. No compensation was offered for this disastrous experience.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the announcements on the speaker in the train station from the room which was annoying. Breakfast was just Ok.

    close to trains and public transportation, comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average: no fresh juice. I couldn't find the porridge. The breakfast area was too dark.

    We were so pleased to be able to walk from the high speed train directly to the hotel in only 2 minutes. I enjoyed the large screen TV to watch a movie from my iPhone and the bed was very comfortable. Easy access to convenient stores (Seven-Eleven) and other shops of the train station is a big plus. I liked the hotel's architecture with his footbridge through the station with its glass roof. I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I travel to Gothenburg.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ?

    Wonderful bed, spacious room, top design in a fine funktionalist style, but not cold. The breakfest has many items to choose between. Directly at the railwaystation. Helpful staff! We got sandwiches at Sunday evening when both bar and restaurant were closed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not especially cosy

    It seems to be a well runned hotel. It's conveniently located on the central station. Good rooms, restaurant and bar. Spacious with many guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The gym was quite small, although very clean and inside a nice 'spa' area. The sauna was good if you like Swedish sauna (which is basically just a very dry room with a heater, something we Finns do not consider as a sauna). The gym and sauna open only until 9PM which was a bit tight in my case (very long work days during this trip). Interesting view from the gym and sauna though....straight to the train station's platforms;-)). The luggage room was marked as "hotel takes no responsibility of luggages" so I did not leave my luggage there, although it would have been a convenient solution during my last day.

    Great location at the central station (actually inside the central station in upper floors, from elevators a direct view to the main hall of the station). Very good connections (bus, tram, train) right outside the door. Flygbussarna from airport also have their end station here. Exceptionally silent rooms, comfortable bed, good wifi. Super breakfast with all you need and very good coffee. 7-eleven supermarket at the central station open until midnight. Everything that one needs during a business trip. Easy and fast check-in and -out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist attitude is very bad. They keyed in wrong name when checking in. But they told that they could not correct the name on the receipt, because the system!!!

    Location is very convenient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been interesting to see some display of simple art between the empty gaps that are visible walking through the hallway (I was staying on the 4th floor). As well as when you look through your room window and only see the empty space between you and the other rooms. I think it was a missed opportunity to make it look more interesting.

    A great place to stay if you are going for a short visit, as its right above the train station. Lovely staff, clean rooms and a relaxing lobby. Enjoyed the addition of a soft red mood light in my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge in the room

    Staff speaks several languages, but it would be good to have pins indicating which ones. Excellent Location Clean Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pillows, too soft bed, unfresh breakfast food (too long in room temperature), still very poor bread. Gloomy and dark overall.

    Nice reception staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room got cold - heating controlled across the hotel centrally so you couldn't arrange the temperature to your own liking. Also be aware that dogs are allowed in the hotel - problem if you have an allergy as my wife does.

    Excellent location, and very good choice of breakfast food. Very comfortable and clean hotel with helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a nightmare if you are traveling to Goteborg for the first time. Parking garage is across the street from the hotel but I think I broke like 4 traffic rules before I got there. Fortunately Swedish drivers are very understanding and patient with foreign drivers as I wasn’t honked a single time.

    Great location if you are a traveler. Actually the hotel is inside the grand central station, but also quiet so you can relax and rest. Breakfast was particularly good – great variety and really mouthful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from the rooms (not too much privacy), and I also didnt like that I had to pay a lot extra for each night for my dogs even though I didnt ask housekeeping on any days of the 4 nights we stayed because my dogs where inside the room and there was no need for it. At least I was advice previously that they were going to charge but still didn't like it I continue with the booking because of last minute booking and location. The extra cleaning fee for dogs was way to high.

    The staff very nice and the silence of the rooms was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning in the room is too dry

    Location was perfect, breakfast was plentiful and varied, staff friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked on arrival to pay extra for baby bed when we’d booked with a child. Then given cot for free afterwards.

    Comfortable, very clean, friendly and central to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms, poor selection of tv Chanels, no movie rent, unfriendly staff, the rooms was actually inside a bunker, so no chance of fresh air, the pictures was very diffrent from the actual room, overpriced, the bathrooom looked like a hospital bathroom.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was great and its part of the cost. Nice gym and spa area. Easy location to the railway station, just across the street. Nice place to shop and eat. Christmas event at Lisberg was beautiful, and the christmas was good with singing christmas trees. Really enjoyed my stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't really comfortable a part form that everything was great.

    The location is perfect, specially with the central station being so close getting to places was easy, the hotel had extremely friendly staff and a wonderful bar. The hotel also had a number of food joints close by. Also not to forget the breakfast it was spectacular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of hair left in the bathroom from the previous guest, on the shower floor. It was a bit hard to find as the website doesn’t mention which part of the station the entrance is in.

    Very modern hotel. Amazing breakfast. Comfortable beds. Really cool fittings and design. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was average and the coffee digusting. I found it a bit pedantic that they closed the curtain to the breakfast buffet exactly to the minute.

    The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel good value for money. The lounge next to the hotel entrance gave off a nice atmosphere. The hotel is very easy to get to from the airport as it is in the same complex as the central train station and bus terminal. Right across the street is the biggest shopping centre of göteborg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable but the coverlet was really narrow and small. The view of my room was really bad. First hotel denied to add point on my SJ card since I booked via Booking.com

    The location of the hotel is very good. It takes 2 min to train station and one min to public transport. The stuff was friendly and breakfast was very good. The room was clean and well equipped with necessary accessories.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold staff, extra small room, felt cheated as I thought from the pictures and area mentioned that mine would be a double room, my university dorm room was much nicer than this.

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Train-station location a bit distant from some attractions - Not all staff well-informed or friendly

    - Very quiet despite location over train station - Creative, attractive architecture - Location near public transport - Tea and coffee in room - Great bathroom/shower (we were offered choice of tub or shower) - Good breakfast buffet - Pleasant staff at check-in and check-out - Comfortable beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A disaster stay. First room we got had a bathroom with a toilet completely clogged when we entered- just disgusting! Hours and hours of waiting for staff to come upstairs to fix it, had to use the toilets at the reception eventually. In the end we were told that nothing can be done and changed rooms around mid-night. Room was not of the type we had booked though. The next day after long complaints we finally got an upgrade to another room, which was appreciated. All three rooms had issues with cleanliness, suggests that the hotel does not maintain high standards on this. The breakfast was ok, no thrills. Will not be coming back as not as good value as we originally had hoped.

    Convenient location by the train station, although you have to exit the station to enter the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a twin bed but received two seperate matrasses on one bedframe.

    Location was excellent. Even within the station, the acoustic has been dealt with. There was no noise. I'm curious about the kind of isolation that was used when building the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse First Hotel G traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: