Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Mårtenson 4 stars

Storgatan 52, 30243 Halmstad, Sweden

#10 of 15 hotels in Halmstad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1066 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only shower gel dispenser on the wall of bathroom...no different lotions or body washes...just an all in one dispenser

    Friendly staff...nice atmosphere...lovely building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dispointed stay! Feel like a budget hotel. Hotel facility is very old, only one gel for shower and hair, they can't provide me the body location when I asked the front desk. Shower's hot water is getting colder while you shower longer. No towel for the floor when you step out from the shower. hair dryer is also old and simple, it smelled like burning while I'm using it and it stopped two times before I finish my hair. And front desk always only one person and very occupied and need been helpful either.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is in collaboration with a parking house close by not in direct vicinity, but only some 300 meters away.

    Wide variety on the breakfast and the location in town is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    For me, it's not always about the room or the food or what have you, but the staff. However that's not to say the room and breakfast I had was not good, they were both splendid. But the staff were magnificent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Very very noisy in the bedroom even at 2 AM, because of the nightclub situated under hotel. You vibrate out of your bed more or less. You don't expect this from a 4 star hotel. Apparently the noise insulation is not sufficient ( in case you want to sleep during the night in your room). We only stayed 1 night in this hotel (friday to saturday), but would certainly not have stayed for an other night. The personell told me when i complained the next morning about the noise in the room: ''You should have told us earlier, then we could put you in other room.''(at 2 AM in the night?) Why didn't they put us from the beginning in a less noisy room...? Off course the personell knows about those noisy rooms. There were still rooms free in the hotel when we checked in at the reception on friday night. Unfortunately for us we still payed the 4 star price for a 0 star room. - We knew the bed would be between 131 and 151 cm wide, but off course you don't want it then to be 131 cm wide, too narrow even for lean people. -to end more positive: breakfast really good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room terribly small. No shampoo, soap at arrival. Low vale for money. This hotel needs to be renovated😡 Bad breakfast.

    It is night club hotel. So if you want to have a adventure, this is a right place for you. From night club you are few steps from hotel room. Count with loud drunk crowd from 22:00 to 04:00 . If you have lucky, and you are not going alone back to the room (and you are a bit drunk), you will not see negative part of hotel and room. Even better, probably you will look forward to do it again some of next weekends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The not openable window headed to the breakfastroom so you cold not see outside. The room was very warm and the aircondition did not work. Bad sleep.

    Nice located in the center of Halmstad

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the very cheapest alternatives repackaged in glass bowls and containers. Dry, cheap and stale bread. Extremely low quality brands all around. First room we were offered was shrouded in darkness, on top of the kitchen and had a single window view of the dining area. Second choice was a street level view to a hill with bypassers looking through the windows. Better than the first offer, but not really the city view that our Confirmation mentioned.

    The location is the only real value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast, but no baked beans as a warm breakfast option for vegans. They do however have plant based milk and yoghurt and lots of fruit and bread, as well as cut vegetables, so it was not a problem to get a delicious meal.

    Our room was super spacious and had most amazing light. The hotel is a bit dated, but I liked it a lot. Our bathroom had stylish details. Location of the hotel is superb and only a short walk to many restaurants and pubs, as well as local market.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Received a phone call 2 days before arrival from someone trying to convince me to join a membership or book an upgrade. Not good practice. On arrival I saw they booked me an upgrade I did not want. Reception Lady said she will delete it. In the end I had to pay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV started playing in the middle of the night and woke me up. When people were opening and closing the doors of other rooms around, my door also slammed so it was noisy early in the morning. The TV is fastened on the wall and can not be turned towards the bed.

    The bed was very good and the staff at the reception friendly and willing to help with my problems.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was tasteless. The double bed was very small and the room overall was nothing special not what you expect from a four star hotel. You need to walk a block from the garage carrying you stuff.

    The location is excellent if you don't have a car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very nice, but it was a little bit small and the air conditioning was automatic so we couldnt adjust it according to how we felt. We got very warm and we did not wish to leave our window open over night. There was no nutella for breakfast!! Whaat? The coffee was also not very pleasing. It did the trick but we expected more.

    The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too bright. Curtains let in too much light. Too hot - no AC Too soft beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms, uncomfortable bed and noisy AC you cannot turn off

    Super nice staff, central location, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Didn’t eat breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location and very professional smiling staff. Will book again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was to narrow at the end of the bed. Could not open the window, and no minibar.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast buffe

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking Facilities

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nightclub close to the hotel

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough place at breakfast, maybe lack of staff?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring room , no pictures , real bare room . Hotel right next to several night clubs , noise to very late.

    Location to town was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for a tiny room with small bed alongside the wall, no night table and no soap in the dush dispenser..

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not even close to a 4 star hotel. The only window in this tiny sparse dorm room looked into a restaurant, not outside. Bush league.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To much bed for a small room

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotellgäster som hade fest och tog nästan 1 timme för personalen att få tyst på dem . Tycker det ska räcka att säga till en gång

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was OK. Kind and helpful staff, spacious room, sauna for free

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed is not confirmt

    location is very good in center city

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vädret

    Bra med Irish pub on premises

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in, personal told us that breakfest is up till 10.00... so we missed it, because they closed at 9.30

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room (303) not really ergonomic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very nice breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere, free wifi that actually worked

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room terribly small. No shampoo,soap am toiletpaper at arrival.Low vale for money. This hotel needs to be renovated😡

    Staff helpful and kind.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation on rooms.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not clean, very small room and rather expensive

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs and bacon, being the mass produced type kept under prolonged heating

    Good bread and cereals

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was good, you could make your own waffles! Nicely decorated room. Beautiful river/park view. Silent. Staff was always smiling and helpful. We had a double room superior, not sure if all the rooms have a view.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    you can't actually get next to the hotel with car without driving on pedestrian road - it was confusing and probably the hotel should explain this at reservation

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was unexaptable,in terms of size and smell. We booked the famely room for 2 adults and 2 kids and the room was extremely small.after my complain the nice lady gave us another room (single) for the 2 kids and then we saw it is the same size of rooms for single ad "family" room.!!! In addition the Pub at the hotel doing to much noise and really disturb until late night and when finally he closed all the drank people are staying under the windows and doing more noise. For 3 nights we couldn't sleep!!!

    Just the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps the hotel should make it clear that it is located on a walking street as I definitely thought my GPS had gone crazy. The location with several good restaurants within shouting distance is simply beyond excellent and the atmosphere in and around the hotel beyond excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV channels impossible to operate! As a hotel guest it should just work by a click of a button not flicking through settings! When asking for assistance we were brushed off by the receptionist! Totally unacceptable!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pub next door was good and staffed by friendly people. They served a buffet for 179 krone which is not too bad considering prices of food elsewhere.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast calcium deposit in the shower blind windows damaged chair damaged radiator

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was dusty.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no noise, the views, the location, the staff were super friendly

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: