Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Reisen 4 stars

Skeppsbron 12, Gamla stan, 111 30 Stockholm, Sweden

#95 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1264 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    I can truly recommend for those who prefer a smaller, more personal Hotel. Old Stockholm Style:)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed a small workingspace/working chair. Had a nice armchair, but no table.

    Beautiful sea and city views, large openable windows for fresh air, very underestimated nowadays:) Old Style Architecture, carefully renovated. Cosy restaurant and outstanding, subtle breakfast. Comfortable beds and crisp linning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    The staffs are friendly and the breakfast is delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good but not closed to the public transport. Some bath facilities were broken. The room is also a bit of narrow.

    The staffs are friendly and the breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location in the very center and in old town, small but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the very center and in old town, small but clean and comfortable rooms with everything needed, a very good breakfast, and a very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking very expensive but I suppose that was to be expected in this location. I had booked two rooms and paid for them which seemed to cause a problem as they charged our friends for their stay which was embarrassing. They got the money back though after we pointed this out. Also I left something in the room of sentimental value other than valuable and I emailed the hotel offering to pay for its return but no-one has got back to on this. Bad customer relations.

    Location. Couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Awful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were horrendously rude.

    I was called at 1.30AM!!! 1.30 in the MORNING regarding payment for the hotel. This is completely unacceptable if I am honest and extremely unprofessional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    Sadly, our room was right by the ally and since the A/C...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, our room was right by the ally and since the A/C was not working we had to open the window for air. You hear the service people, trucks, tourists and the 5a garbage trucks!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Superb after initial disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I accept we had booked a standard room but did expect the bathroom to be clean and well maintained.

    We were very disappointed with our allocated room - the bathroom tiles were full of black mould - but after speaking to reception we were upgraded very efficiently and had a lovely few days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no in-room tea/coffee offered after our 1st day! We have not encountered this previously and were amazedand rather disappointed as the hotel details seemed to advertise tea/coffee making facilities.

    The location & view were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Wow!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel, nice staff in the Reception, not so nice in the breakfast area. The interior design is absolutely wonderful, the location is fantastic, the views astonishing from the upper rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, unpretentious, pretty good value. Avoid the breakfast croissants!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many years ago, this hotel had a restaurant upstairs (the "Quarter Deck Club" I think it was called). It must have closed decades ago. Nowadays it feels like the hotel has had too many rooms stuffed in, it overruns from one building into another, and there are no longer any public areas with a sea view, except what glimpses you get from the ground floor. But the single most disappointing thing was the croissants. I'm a sucker for croissants when I am traveling in Europe---no matter where you go, even a mediocre European croissant is gourmet-level for an American. Well, except at Reisen. The breakfast croissants were like dish sponges! Come on....!!!! I saw the croissants and thought I was going to have a feast, but nooooo.... :-( :-( Yesterday morning, I had some croissants made out of a freezer package in Norway, and they were miles better than the Reisen ones. Sigh.... The rest of the breakfast was excellent. All the usual stuff (and some unusual) was there.

    The location of Reisen is hard to beat, in Gamla stan (the Old Town) on the waterfront. It's an unpretentious property with what I have to rate as a very large single room (they are usually tiny in this area). The tiny basement gym and pool are a nice touch (didn't use them, just visited).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed out stay at the First Hotel Reisen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The big negative for us was the noise in the early morning. At about 4:30 a.m. there were trucks in the side street right outside our window making more noise than you could imagine. This continued intermittently until we finally got up at about 6:30 a.m. It was kind of dark as well, maybe they could up the wattage of the lights.

    This was a unpretentious yet classy hotel in a great location in the Gamla Stan area of Stockholm. It is in walking distance of the train station, but might seem a bit far with heavy bags. We loved the classic old building and the staff was very helpful and kind. The breakfast was excellent and the property was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was outdated, old furniture, torn armchair. Very noisy in the morning, they are doing renovation and in the early morning we were woken by sound of breaking glass or something similar. We were unable to setup air conditioner to work.

    Location is great. Good breakfast Clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Not a 5 star hotel as described somewhere but was okay, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a 5 star hotel as described somewhere but was okay, Appears they were doing construction and a/c was off for 2 days in lobby. Could not tell if room was air conditioned and thermostat did not seem to ẃork. Put fan in the window. Assumed unusual high temps in Stockholm was biggest problem. Staff was great and the breakfast is a huge buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast, place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditionning for a 4 stars hotel, noise, very small bathroom, room does not correspond to the picture, need to refresh the hotel

    Breakfast, place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Revisiting my past!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    After having lived in Sweden in the 70s and 80s and having been to Gamla Stan on a number of occasions I was determined to stay there for a few days. Loved it! The hustle and bustle and the atmosphere was tremendous! Thanks for my stay!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The location is perfect, close to everything, with great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is perfect, close to everything, with great views of the water. We were upgraded to a suite that was newly renovated and it was beautiful. The breakfast is extensive and very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture was a bit old, but still quite serviceable.

    On the second night, I found I was missing shampoo. The staff responded with remarkable efficiency in bringing some.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful location, and what a breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very run down. But rooms on top floors renovated. No air conditioning.

    The breakfast was amazing; the location was great: the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Our favourite Stockholm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It's a lovely hotel which is always our first choice when visiting Stockholm.

    Wonderful location, comfortable, clean, well-equipped room. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was splendid and freshly prepared. There was some daytime noise from building works, but we had been warned about this in advance and it certainly didn't spoil our holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    this pleasant hotel has friendly and helpful staff, and is extremelywell sited for the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant had a disappointingly small range of dishes available. The restaurant did not live up to what we had read of it in advance.

    the staff, particularly at reception the location attractiveness of the building (interior and exterior)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Weekend in heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No answer to that. We loved it all.

    The personell was first class. There were renovations under way but absolutely did not disturb us. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    3.3
    Would NEVER think of coming back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff -they were so totally un-interested in helping with anything ,hotel under renovation !!! The room we got should not be let out,very small ,dark ,mould in bathroom & so small only one person at the time ,the sink didn't drain toilet seat cracked paint !

    Because of LOTS of roadworks it was almost impossible to get to the hotel by car ! Would have been great to be warned plus given instructions!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, medium hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ok, not special and not really 4* in my opinion. The whole hotel felt a little bit outdated. No power plugs directly by the bed, no proper airconditioning in my room. Also, the minibar wasn't filled and I couldn't get the fridge running, it just remained hot.

    Breakfast was great, location of the hotel is superb, personnel was also friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice 1-night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very pretty. I had a nice big and comfortable bed. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped me with an urgent matter even though the hotel doesn't offer the service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location shame about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was grubby too hot and unbelievably noisy due to being above lane were rubbish trucks etc came. The shower was broken and did not work correctly. Due to works in corridor NO FIRE ESCAPE access!!!

    Fabulous location, great breakfast choice was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    A brillant location, friendly & helpful staff & excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It would have been good to have had a kettle in the room. I was meant to travel with my wife but she was unable to come. The room would have been quite small for 2 people (top floor). The "bathroom" (shower, sink and toilet) was quite cramped - I had to step out of it to dry myself easily. However shower was very spacious.

    Brilliant location right by the harbour. Easy reach of Tbana Gamla Stan station. Staff very helpful and always courteous. Choices, quality and presentation of breakfast was excellent and was included in the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very dark, don't like bricks wall - make room even darker.

    Hotel is situated in the best location - a lot of attractions, shops and restaurants. Amazing! Breakfast was outstanding!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Very central hotel with a great breakfast option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was incredibly small. A shower cabin instead of a tiny bath tub would have been much better.

    Very central hotel with a great breakfast option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    We were not informed that the Sea view room we had booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed that the Sea view room we had booked was unavailable due to renovations despite having booked the room over 2 months ago. On arrival we were told that our room had been”upgraded” only when we went to our room did we discover that the room did not have a Seaview. After discussion with the staff we did receive a discounted rate. The issue was handled poorly though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    The staff was not very helpful with any of the questions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very helpful with any of the questions I’ve asked. They were busy renovating, and it felt dusty. Some doors were closed, and the entrance to the hotel and dining room was moved, however no information was given to the guests about where the new entrances were.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location, fantastic breakfast but bed mattresses need to be replaced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bouncy and sagging mattress left our backs hurting after the second night. Our room was next to the room used by staff early in the morning - loud noise from banging doors woke us up

    Great location, comprehensive and tasty breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was amazing, haven't had better anywhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was amazing, haven't had better anywhere else, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I'm not a tea/coffee drinker but my friends are and they all said they would have liked to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But other than that there were no negatives at all about the hotel. Would highly recommend to anyone and the staff should be commended for their friendly and very helpful approach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities in room to make a drink, coffee. Very limited choice of food for room service. Refurbishment work being carried out resulting in lots of cigarette smoke around the lift area which guests are forced to inhale. It’s a none smoking hotel so the workers should NOT be smoking. The water did not drain properly from my sink which was unpleasant.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    great location, very poor Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No value for the price in comparison to the hotel itself and to other hotels at the same price that are much much better in term of condition, style, modernity confort. Breakfast too normal and neutral, nothing was related to the place where we were

    location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.5
    Would thoroughly recommend the city and this hotel, definitely worth getting a room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some external building work being undertaken on the side of the hotel which was very noisy from our room, however the hotel staff were profusely apologetic, moved us to another room with the same view on a different floor, which sorted the problem instantly - great service on their part!

    Excellent location for the old town (Gamla Stan) and a short walk across the bridge in to Sodermalm & Ostermalm with some amazing views en route. The staff very friendly and exceptionally helpful. The facilities were outstanding, and the food and drink in the hotel was first class. Overall it was a great stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    The bed was comfy, the room was warm and breakfast provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was extremely small but had an enormous washbasin so a large person would have found using the loo very difficult, also there was no shelf which meant emptying and refilling washbags all the time. It would have been better as a wet room.

    The bed was comfy, the room was warm and breakfast provided a good choice of hot and cold food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More English TV channels

    The location was great. Room is small but to be expected in this type of hotel. Staff were marvelous. Really went out of their way to assist me several times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Mixed feelings !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed very run down for a superior room. The building noise on the floor above started at 8am. It was almost too noisy to hold a conversation. The main entrance was dominated by the building work.

    We thought the location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    It was good for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room might be more clean. There was stains on the bed cover. It was fine for me because anyway I didn’t use it but it is not nice to see.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, excellent breakfast. The room was not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For over $200 a night I expected a lot more. Granted, this is an old hotel and seems to be undergoing noisy renovations at this time, but the room was uncomfortably small and shabby looking. The bathroom was dreadful, hardly room to stand between the sink and the toilet. Had to keep toiletries in the cupboard across the hallway, reaching out the bathroom door for toothbrush, hairbrush, etc. I did not expect that a "Superior Double with Sea View" would have us tripping over our 2 medium suitcases, which took up all floor space, in order to get to the window to enjoy the truly beautiful view of the harbor.

    The location, with a room overlooking the wonderful Stockholm harbor, was the reason for choosing this hotel and that did not disappoint. Good bus service just in front, helpful staff, excellent breakfast. Attractive public spaces.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Best view from Gamla Stan?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no mat in the room so the beautiful dark wood floors got messy with all the salt on our shoes from the snowy sidewalks!

    Location and view could not be better. Walking distance to everything. Comfortable bed and fold out sofa. Staff was very accomodating when we had one extra visitor stay over. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    The view was amazing, the Reisen Bar is a great place for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a little bit vague , bathroom could do with a bit of refurbishment

    The view was amazing, the Reisen Bar is a great place for a nice cocktail and some great food ,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    It was ok, but I would try elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water in the shower never got warm - cold showers were not welcome! The bed was too soft and the location wasn't great.

    The staff and breakfast was good, and the room was cosy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location for the Old Town area, right next to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast seating seemed very disorganised.

    Great location for the Old Town area, right next to the castle and close to the main city centre shopping areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.4
    Great restaurant downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The plumbing is not great at the hotel. The bathtub drain was clogged when we reached the room and wanted to take a shower. It was impossible to wash hands, face or take a quick shower before the plumber came (definitely, swiftly, but, nonetheless, it spoiled the first impression). The room was visited by the cleaning stuff but wasn't cleaned really. There were balls of dust, hair and threads in the corners of the room looking like they haven't been touched for some time.

    Great restaurant downstairs. Delicious, versatile breakfast selection, as well as well-made, well tasting lunch and dinner choices - good portions, good money value, good stuff, good choices. Great, beautiful, convenient location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Great breakfast and location in Gamla Stan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 6 nights and we were given 2 tiny bars of soap during our stay (for 2 people). We would have preferred larger bars or at least one bar a day. We did tell the front desk after our 2nd day, but we received only one additional bar during the week. Our stay otherwise was good. The location in gamla stan is perfect for exploring.

    Breakfast was wonderful and location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    confortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the spa facilities and the hotel are not aligned,

    confortable beds. we all slept very well despite the fact that one of the beds was a pull outl couch bed.... the breakfast was very nice. something for everyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    A nice stay. The hotel is very nicely located in Gamla Stan with a great breakfastbuffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could do with a renovation. I did not like the fact that the toilet had a wooden seat!

    The hotel serves a very nice breakfast buffet. The staff was very helpful and service went quick.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Satisfied overall but there is space for improvement concerning room amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very limited selection of TV channels. The hotel was undergoing renovation and the noise of the construction work was quite disturbing in the early morning.

    Excellent breakfast buffet large variety of fresh produce. Ideal location in the old part of the city. Good quality beds and very clean and convenient bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Gamla stan, super central, amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked massages and the spa suite wasn't what was expected with no real relaxation zone, this could be improved. Lighting was a bit low in the room we were staying in but the bathroom was lit well.

    Great location and the breakfast buffet was sensational, best I've ever had! Staff friendly and helpful at front desk and bar. Cool little place to sit outside under a heater and watch the world go by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little small for 2 people. We were not asked if we wanted a non-smoking room, and didn't realise we were in a smoking room until we went to bed and could smell the smoke in the bedlinen.

    Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely cosy hotel stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not a case of not liking it, but those who prefer a W Hotel style should look elsewhere.

    The hotel is very cosy. It reminds me of staying in a cottage styled appartment with wood floors and vintage styled furniture. We had a lovely wooden desk overlooking the river. Very good location. The staff were absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Perfekt hotell för en mysig get-away. Ett av få hotell som erbjuder jacuzzi på rummet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kranen på jacuzzin fungerade inte (enbart kallvatten och långsamt flöde) och efter att ha ringt efter hjälp konstaterades det att vi fick använda duschhuvudet till att fylla badkaret vilket kändes lite tråkigt och dessutom ökar luftfuktigheten i rummet väldigt mycket. ACn på rummet gick inte att justera heller trots kontrollpanel på väggen, blev lite svalt på kvällen (tur vi hade bastu hehe). Jag saknade även någonstans att hänga kläder i rummet då det enbart fanns en hängyta för ytterkläder i "hallen" men ingenting inne i själva rummet, man fick istället drapera kläderna över skrivbordet eller lägga i fåtöljen vilket kändes lite stökigt.

    Jag bokade ett "jacuzzirum" till mig och min partners ettårsfirande, vi bor i Sthlm. Checkin gick smidigt och vi fick ett rum mot en sidogata vilket var tyst och skönt. Rummet i sig var rymligt och hade en helt okej säng. Det var framför allt badrummet vi var ute efter och vi blev inte besvikna, jacuzzi med rum för två och bastu i god kvalitet. Jag var lite tveksam till om det skulle vara värt pengarna för detta men i efterhand är jag väldigt nöjd, vi bokade rummet för att spendera ett dygn där och vi utnyttjade badkaret till max. Det fanns både varsin morgonrock och handdukar i överflöd. Rummet var tyst och behagligt och vi hörde inga grannar alls trots att hotellet var fullbokat. Blev positivt överraskad av att hitta vattenkokare på rummet med kaffe/te. Det finns massor av restauranger i Gamla Stan och närliggande stadsdelar om man vill gå ut och äta inom promenadavstånd på kvällen. Frukosten var generös och av bra kvalitet, fanns varm buffé med bacon, korv, ägg, plättar och stekt svamp samt smörgåsar, yoghurt/fil med tillbehör, juice, frukt och smoothie.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice location on the harbour in the old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although comfortable and clean the room was small and a bit dated.

    Nice location on the harbour in the old town. Close to lots of restaurants and historic centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Stockholm is well worth a visit, and the Hotel Reisen is an excellent base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While the breakfast was good, the variety was more limited than I would expect in such an establishment.

    Location right in the old town next to the Palace. Room was very comfortable, breakfast good. We ate in the restaurant on the evening of the first day and it was more than satisfactory.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Great cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It is definitely a cosy classic style hotel so W Hotel fans may want to look elsewhere. However everyone else will enjoy their stay here.

    Excellent location and wonderful front desk staff. Everyone was very helpful even getting me a booking same night at a popular restaurant. breakfast was very good and varied in choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    apart from water fiasco, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very concerned that on arrival and in the room, in the minibar were two bottles of water. No price in or on Mini Bar. No info regarding minibar and pricing in Hotel Booklet Info. Rightly or wrongly assumed complimentry, as it is elsewhere in the world. The first 2 days ,water was replaced by staff. On third night, mysteriously, a small paper slip had been inserted into the mini bar, stating water was 2.50 Sek a bottle. These small paper slips had also been inserted into the mini bar in ALL of our group booking rooms. (7 in number) the same day. When complaining I was told that water was chargeable at 2.50 Sek. I refused to accept the charge due to the above,and was then assured that we, our group, would not be charged for the water due to their mistake. So,,,,beware of hotel staff mistakes or management instruction to staff !!!!!!! Read the info booklet in your room.

    Breakfast was very good with a great selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable and ideally situated for exploring Gamla Stan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast selection was very good. Location was excellent close to ferries and a short walk to the Palace and centre of the old town. Standard rooms can be a bit dark due to small windows. Balcony rooms on the 5th floor have larger windows and have a nice view over roof tops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.5
    The location is terrific, across the street from the water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is terrific, across the street from the water facing Ostermalm. Being in Gamla Stan is a great central location, walkable to the other islands. And easy walk to the subway for more access. The breakfast buffet was very good. The room was a good size, comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Last night of our month long holiday so we lashed out and got the suite. Thoroughly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Windows need some weather seal. The weather was foul and whistled through the windows in the lounge room. Fine elsewhere. 2. Evening meal menu was "reduced" which meant "go out and find a restaurant" which in fact worked well because we found a cracker.

    We expected slightly bigger room than "normal" but got a suite of 3 rooms + ensuite. Sensational.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    First by name, first by service and location, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can be disturbed by road/alley noise. So if that's a problem for you then make enquiries first for a quiet room.

    It's very quaint and oldie worldie touches throughout (candles in the library area) but equally has all the mod cons needed. Breakfast is just fab, the choice and quality is first rate, make sure you have time to enjoy making choices! Location supurb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location, great breakfast, expensive parking
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall condition of the room. Empty minibar (just water), broken plates and a damaged sink in the bathroom. Not the best bed either. Parking was 50 euros per night (!) but they never mentioned the price Before.

    Good location. Great breakfast and nice atmosphere in the bar. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Hotel with comfortable room in a very handy location with beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything that we didn't like, but perhaps the restaurant menu could improve. We had eaten there on a Sunday with a very limited menu to choose from.

    Although this hotel is a bit pricey, but it is in an excellent location, with harbour opposite and only about ten minutes walk to the gate of the city. It is within walking distance to all site seeing in the Old City "Gamlan Stan", and only five minutes walk to purchase tickets for (1) boat cruises (2) on and off bus tours. Highly recommend to do the "Under the bridge boat cruise" which has good informative commentary and relaxing and nice view. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and good variety of food for breakfast. I loved the hot chocolate that was individually made and served.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    The location and breakfast are terrific. I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chambermaid knocked, I said please don't come in and she barged into the room anyway.

    Wonderful breakfast buffet. Excellent location near the Royal Palace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Location, very convenient for the old town and ferries to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly overpriced. Big opinion of itself as a hotel. Actually its main asset is location. Otherwise the hotel is a bit dated and quite sloppy: Supercilious reception staff; Stained bedlinen on arrival; Television not working. A rather awkward building: Standard rooms are small with no outlook at all, a bit like sleeping in a cupboard.

    Location, very convenient for the old town and ferries to the archipelago. Small but comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Updated and Modernized but still keeps the Old World Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being an American that had not traveled to Europe in 15 years, I had to learn that one unmarked handle in the bathroom was for the temperature and the other was for the amount of both cold and hot water to flow. I thought something was broken when I could not get any cold water! How embarrassing! The pool was just too cold for my bones! No air conditioning in the rooms, (only public places) but you can ask for a fan.

    I loved the Old World charm! This 1600's building is on one of the oldest islands (Gamla Stan) and very near the Palace! (The palace tour is a must see!) The hotel can be seen in promotional photos of the city's old harbor! It was built by owners of a company that imported coffee. The original bricks can be seen in many places inside and adds great charm! I love the heated towel racks! They are so practical for drying clothes, as well! The restaurant was very nice and the breakfast buffet is sublime! ...there must have been close to 40 items! It is also very close to many other restaurants! The desk is staffed by darling, young women who are very helpful. The most pleasant place was the serene library! Be creative and take a dessert and coffee there to relax and enjoy a romantic, low-lit atmosphere in the evening! The tranquil basement spa with soft music and candle light has exercise equipment, sauna, and a small very cold "cool down" pool is all under the original brick arches. What a unique experience! Try to get a room with the harbor view! Idea: Google the "Free Tours" and they are great fun! They just ask for tips! We also highly recommend the Vasa Museum! You can take a ferry there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel at nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Jacuzzi was too noisy to use, having the shower in it was also uncomfortable and it launched the pump occasionally.

    Excellent breakfast, also enough variation for multiple mornings. Old town sights and Royal castle are almost around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice boutique hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dated. The air conditioning hardly worked at all. Luckily the weather wasn't that warm and we were able to sleep with all of the windows open even though it was noisy

    Nice boutique hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast. Great location on the edge of Gamla stan facing the water

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was super awesome 👏The location of the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My window on the 4th floor overlooked the neighboring building pretty close.

    The breakfast was super awesome 👏The location of the hotel is very convenient!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    Don't believe to pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures of room on Booking and in reality have nothing common. No shower gel, no mini-bar, broken lamps etc etc. Not 4 star hotel room - lost money

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    A uniquely Swedish experience in the heart of Old Town Stockholm
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that we could only spend four nights there

    It was tough to think about anything other than the spectacular view. The only negative was the level of cognitive thought required to decide what to have for breakfast....such was the choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.8
    Dining room staff not nice at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room staff not nice at all. Breakfast was excellent but served in a rude and unfriendly manner. We arrived to late to get dinner and ordered room service which was "ok". Bedroom not at all in line with expectations (pictures on the website) and the furniture in the room was really old and dark..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable and excellent included breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were very friendly and helpful, a few of staff seemed bothered by questions. We had a ver early departure (6:15am). I asked for some water and coffee before we left, perhaps a few things to take out. There was no way to accommodate this. When I asked to book an additional night , I was told to go online and do it.

    Location is great. Room and bed very comfortable. Included breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Montys' Swedish excursion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool could be bigger and a little warmer. Rooms should have bottle openers.

    Location was fantastic and staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was very good in the restaurant and a good selection of beers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Classy Hotel in Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This lovely hotel is perfectly situated in the Old Town (Gamla Stan), in close walking distance from the palace, ferry port and a number of truly excellent restaurants. The exceptional staff at both the front desk and bar/restaurant went the extra mile to make the stay enjoyable. The room and amenities were top notch, highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse First Hotel Reisen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: