Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gammelgården 4 stars

Fjällvägen, 780 67 Högfjället, Sweden

#1 of 2 hotels in Högfjället

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With very late arrival, signing was not good. We could not find our room. Lucky for us there was staff I restaurant still that could help us.

    Very clean room. Nice and cosy restaurant and reception area. Very good breakfast. The waffles are special and great taste.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like. Just somewhat disappointed because we had heard so much about the waffles and how they were the best ever but none was available while we were there.

    Great accommodations. Breakfast was excellent and dinner was too. They alternate a la carte and buffet for dinner, so it was a good variety for the few days we were there. Rooms were not particularly spacious, but it worked. I was traveling with my husband and 2 kids and had 2 rooms, which we definitely needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skräpigt utanför ingången.Gamla utbrunna marschaller och andra rester från gårdagen. Synd för det är ju så fint annars. Mottagandet i receptionen: Mottagande receptionist pratade med annan anställd nästan hela tiden då hon tog emot oss. Vi beställde bord till 19 vilket inte matsalen hade fått information om när vi kom dit. Vi fick ju ett bord så det ordnade sig.

    Rummet bekvämt och fint.Nära parkeringen och lätt att ta sig in och ur på rummet. God mat och bra och trevlig service i matsalen och god frukost.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor and unstable unless you were very close to the router

    Good restaurant and very friendly, helpful staff. Ski in and out with drag lifts to two resorts.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things that could make the visit even better: Somewhere to put wet ski gear would be great. Also some more information/signs about where the reception/other places is located would be good. Maybe a bit more information about when the money is transferred from the account. A simple yet good thing to be clear about.

    Great bed and excellent food!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No other good restaurants in the neighborhood in the autumn.

    Very large and comfortable double-bed. Varied and tasty breakfast. Small, but high quality restaurant menu. Hiking track starts just outside the door! :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner buffets was pretty poor. Only 2 options; salmon or beef. We would expect a stew or pasta salad. Sorry we were not satisfied with the poor buffet!

    Nice room ; cosy beds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots to choose

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, but the hole room. Very nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast and dinner in a friendly atmosphere with a perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good.

    Amazing breakfast. Close to all ski locations in the area. Very cosy hotel atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most cosy lounge and dining room ever seen. Genuine Swedish wooden traditional house and very friendly staff.Excellent breakfast .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is rare that reality beats high gloss pictures. In this case it does. Lovely cosy but still quite stylish rooms. Bathroom uncharacteristically modern for being in the Swedish countryside. Very friendly team. Fantastic main house and restaurant

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom is particularly small. Also it is located a bit far from the ski slopes.

    It is a very warm and cosy boutique hotel. Employees are very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cosy hotel located close to Salen ski resort. Nice rooms, good food, beautiful nature, friendly staff. Would highly recommend to visit this amazing place.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nail clippings are not the nicest to find at the bedside when coming in for the first time to your room. The staff told us which room we would stay in and that was all. Not a welcome, where and when breakfast would be served or anything else that the hotel offered.

    Nice and comfortable hotel. Wonderful beds and really nice decor. The breakfast! I will write home about the breakfast (Swedes really love hotel breakfast).

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    This is the only one!

    One of a kind! This is the place if you want genuine mountain feel at you Winter stay. Heritage listed place that has been there for centuries. Such a nice Change from the rest of the busy Sälen area. Lovely staff and food is ta fabulous!0

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have a mini bar inside the room.

    Every thing !!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the very old main building, the excellent breakfast, hiking on the fjäll

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cosy rooms and place overall, also the reception are and dinner place where so warm and clean ,,

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't get to stay longer as it was booked out!

    The room was lovely & breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly stuff and excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Understaffed but friendy personel

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Browse Gammelgården traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: