Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elite Hotel Knaust 4 stars

Storgatan 13, 852 30 Sundsvall, Sweden

#1 of 14 hotels in Sundsvall

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1246 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Atmosfär av Sundsvalls träbaroner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the bar by the reception and the restaurant Spegelsalen was closed the evening of my stay. Although the Bishop Arms pub is in the same building and saved my evening.

    The fantastic interior, the quiet comfortable room. The nice breakfast and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, 4 star is about right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Issues with a few bits not working like the lift when we got there although fixed towards the end. Was very hot for our stay and Air Conditioning fairly ineffective but I think this was a rare issue considering the extreme weather

    The building was stunning inside, our loft rooms was fairly spacious although stairs to bed were very steep

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Great building with some surprising minuses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo or body wash was available.The dust bin had no plastic bag inside (hygiene!).The air conditioning might not be in order.Dustballs under the bed.

    The building and the staircase were magificient.Breakfast was good and personell polite and attentive.Situated in the centre.Parking was nearby and cheap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, minus the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on; a sagging, worn-out box spring with a thin pad on top. I woke up repeatedly throughout the night and eventually moved to lying on the floor because the bed was so bad. Huge disappointment in an otherwise fantastic hotel.

    The hotel is a beautiful, historic building and in a fantastic location. Our room (312) had a lovely street view and was sparkling clean. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent breakfast, wide choice of meals, fresh orange juice and waffles, different yogurts to choose from. Nice room with a balcony, comfortable bed, bathroom with all the amenities. I appreciated the tea making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the bedding warm for the season and we could not figure out how to work the safe in the room, but otherwise, everything fine . It might be nice to provide information pamphlets on local attractions in the rooms for guests

    The hotel is situated in a perfect place in the city, we walked there in a few minutes from the train station. The hotel itself is amazing- what a fabulous staircase ! The dining room and foyer were architecturally interesting and we saw the hotel next day featured in a film on Sundsvall's history in the local museum!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    We were meeting friends who had chosen the hotel, and it was base for celebrations over the weekend.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check-out a bit confused. I wanted to pay with part cash and part card, but the amount was taken off my card before I'd even seen the bill. The receptionist did adjust the payment, so that I was able to pay partly by cash, but it was confusing and until I see my next credit card statement I'm a bit anxious.

    Lovely breakfast with a lot of choice. Comfy bed. There were two downstairs sitting rooms which was good, since the weather meant we spent a lot of time in the hotel. Our friends had reserved a suite in which they entertained lots of people, which was great - gorgeous suite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Loosing the sharp edge....?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Time for restoration? Cleanliness of bathroom. Still no proper scrambled eggs at the breakfast buffet.

    The hotel building is beutiful and the staff is very professional and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Historic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of information in regard the accessibility of the rooms

    There were no porters available and we had to negotiate two sets of stairs to get to a level 1 room. Rest of facility was good. Meals enjoyable also. Lack of close parking was a concern however public unsecure parking was available less than a km away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location but average room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean in the room. No double bed just two singles pushed together. Iron was leaking water. Dust in the wardrobe and dirty in between beds. Cracking paint work and the silicon seal around bath was dirty and discoloured.

    The location was great and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Really Enjoyed Sundsvall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small, but. Being alone it didn't really matter.

    There are many rooms and lounges in the plaza with lots going on but still very relaxing. The facilities, reception, stair case etc are all very decadent and impressive. I had to leave early in the more before breakfast opened so they made me a nice sandwich. All round pleasing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Tycker om att bo på Knaust !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toa / Duschen väldigt minimal för att inrymma dusch. Borde varit större badrum med duschväggar i glas mot skvätt ut på golvet. Välj kanske större, men dyrare rum

    Trevlig byggnad, vacker exteriör / interiör. Bra personal och alltid trevligt bemötande.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Best hotel ever! And it looks magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was simply perfect.

    We are still unsure how so much quality and comfort can be had for such a relatively low price. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever lain in, the breakfast was a smorgasbord of highest quality and astounding assortment of foods, and the staff would probably have helped me build a pillow Fort if I had asked them too, that's how friendly and helpful they are. Next time we're near Sundsvall, there is no other choice of hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Great location, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have little problem with wi-fi connection. Not can login by mail Adress

    Great location, nice staff. Very nice clean room with comfortable bad. breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great location and service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and service. Rich ranges of breakfast to choose!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Fascinating architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fascinating architecture

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    The hotel has old world elegance paired with modern amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sumptuous breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Good breakfast, central location, charming atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, central location, charming atmosphere. And the staircase!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking

    Exellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Would stay there again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from revelers down the street late at night.

    Great room with plenty of room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    We were very comfortable except no air conditioning- the food and breakfast were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price.

    Great hotel. It was so well located in center of city and a beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    No slippers or robe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers or robe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    The very kind staff, fantastic breakfast, the atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very kind staff, fantastic breakfast, the atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Super clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shortage of staff, had to come down to reception when I asked for toiletries to pick them up myself.

    Super clean and comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    An architectural experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel with a grand staircase and beautiful decor throughout. Excellent breakfast served in an amazing dining room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast excellent, good WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast excellent, good WiFi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Great pace to stay in Sundsvall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast dtaff outstanding!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Best breakfast in Sundsvall?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    The hotel is aesthetically beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have a power outlet beside either bedside.

    The hotel is aesthetically beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Old style hotel resto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    7

    Old style hotel resto

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    6.7
    The location was great as was the atmosphere in the pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the beds were of the cheapest quality possible. when you spend so much money on a hotel why skimp on one if not the most important part of the stay - the fact that you are going to sleep there?

    The location was great as was the atmosphere in the pub.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.2
    Very helpful and professional reception desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and professional reception desk staff. Nice building in excellent location for shopping and dining. Our (budget) room was small but functional. We left very early so we couldn't test the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Grand entrance staircase and dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We declined the 'superior' room which I had booked as it had a disabled toilet. We were then offered a family room with 2 camp beds - under the rafters which was claustrophobic. Eventually we settled for a junior suite which 300kr extra -what a palaver.

    Grand entrance staircase and dining room. Excellent breakfast catered for every taste.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel Knaust has been there for more than 100 years. I booked a superior room, but I doubt that the owners back then would call this room superior. The room was small. There was hardly place to open your suitcase, you had to manoeuvre around the bed. Low ceiling. There was a bath (wonderful), but the bath was small too (even for a small person like me).

    Breakfast. Beautiful old building.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    This is a beautiful historic grand European hotel located in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I know this is picky, but the television was not a flat screen, and was rather tiny for the size of the room

    This is a beautiful historic grand European hotel located in the heart of the city. The room was enormous and breathtakingly beautiful like the rest of the hotel. Four banks of enormous windows opened onto the shopping promenade below.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    It's a time warp big bellied modern Scandinavians in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, a pure joy.

    It's a time warp big bellied modern Scandinavians in T-shirts and shorts in a perfect historical environment: bronze, marble, velvet and mirrors, many mirrors.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    For $20 more we upgraded to an amazing room on the top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The initial room we booked was tiny, could barely walk around the bed. So we asked for an upgrade.

    For $20 more we upgraded to an amazing room on the top floor. Room had exposed timber beams and a bed in a loft accessible from a ladder. The bathroom was huge and had amazing views of all the rooftops. Morning buffet was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Well-run, with a friendly, knowledgeable and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The some rooms are smaller than others. We stayed in room 341 on our way North (EXCELLENT) and room 158 on the way south (frankly, it was too small). Now that we know, we shall book a Superior room next time

    Well-run, with a friendly, knowledgeable and efficient staff. The breakfast buffet puts some Marriott hotels to shame. The staff were constantly replenishing, right up to end of service. The indoors link to the "English pub" is very useful

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful décor, friendly staff, well-appointed rooms and a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Intermittent problems with in-room WiFi, but nothing major and no worse than the vast majority of hotels of this type

    Wonderful décor, friendly staff, well-appointed rooms and a good breakfast in the heart of town

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.9
    Location and the morning breakfast was absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was doll and boring.

    Location and the morning breakfast was absolutely fantastic.close to everything and alot of various things to pick from. A

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.1
    What they call "superior" double room is just a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    What they call "superior" double room is just a standard room elsewhere.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.2
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.3
    Good food Nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good food Nice room. Central location.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    6.7
    Frukosten var under all kritik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frukosten var under all kritik

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    very nice
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Have some stairs at entrance

    very nice

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    High ceilings, elegant decor, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only one person working the front desk, no help with parking a car

    High ceilings, elegant decor, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Breakfast until 12 o`clock was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast until 12 o`clock was great. Very friendly and serviceminded staff

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Location in the middle of the town and a great buildning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location in the middle of the town and a great buildning.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.5
    Very lovely hotel in the middle of Sundsvall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very lovely hotel in the middle of Sundsvall.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Memories+ breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Memories+ breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Very delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very delicious breakfast. comfortable beds. nice athmosphere

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. Nowadays is is difficult to find an hotel with such a flair and elegance.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    The ambience was lovely as was the kindliness of staff.
    • Couple

    The ambience was lovely as was the kindliness of staff. We were able to walk from the railway station which was a plus.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.3
    Standard of rooms and bathroom (double room) average and no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Standard of rooms and bathroom (double room) average and no bathrobes and phone not working in my last room was in need of a wake up call

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Pampig och charmig byggnad,sköna sängar,svala rum,underbar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pampig och charmig byggnad,sköna sängar,svala rum,underbar frukost,trevlig personal,bra läge men ändå lugnt

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    The orange juice contained very little orange
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The orange juice contained very little orange

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    9.6
    Superbra frukost!
    • Family with young children

    Superbra frukost!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in the middle of the city with a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel in the middle of the city with a fantastic breakfast.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Elite Hotel Knaust traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: