Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Dragonen 4 stars

Västra Norrlandsgatan 5, 903 27 Umeå, Sweden

#9 of 19 hotels in Umeå

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1595 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on street level and looked out onto a road. It was quite hot in the room and we could not find the thermostat to control this. The blinds and curtains did not close very well - and they were definitely needed as there were not many hours of darkness.

    Excellent location in the centre of town and walking distance to all amenities and public transport links such as buses and trains. The buffet breakfast was good. Simply furnished and decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening receptionist with blond hair was nice and smiling, morning receptionist with dark hair during the check out was not pleasant, little posh and not smiling at all - you don’t feel comfortable with her. Parking is in public garage and you have to pay for it.

    Clean and good rooms, very nice food in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna department was spacious and ingenious. Heat was of Finnish standard and glass wall facilitated interaction with those recovering in-between sauna rounds on comfy sofas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would've been nice to have an iron and a kettle in the room.

    The room was quite big and quiet, and I really liked the bed and the shower. Breakfast was excellent. It takes a couple of minutes to walk to the center so the location is also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting there. It was a bit sketchy that late. And, obviously, the price. Even for Scandinavia, it's a bit pricey. In other parts of Scandinavia you can get something nicer at a lower rate. Also, the breakfast in the morning was quite short.

    It was quite close to everything. The staff was nice, even tho we arrived in the middle of the night. The beds were great. Also, you could use your chromecast with the tv, which is a plus. The check out was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit crowded but I believe this can be avoided by going to breakfast a lot earlier than 10 :) also there arent plugs for electronics in the bathrooms but we were able to work it out fine.

    Clean, good rooms, soft beds, easy access, great location, good customer service and delicious breakfast. Reliable hotel. We stayed at the non-window rooms and it didnt bother us at all that there weren't windows. They had great lighting in all the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a room in the basement without windows. The air didn't feel fresh, but at least there was no noice from the traffic.

    Friendly staff. Easy to find. Good gym and a wonderful sauna

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late, and the kitchen was closed. Staff accommodated us in the restaurant, allowed us to have wine and snacks. Rooms are big, clean, warm. Excellent beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The half board announced is not real since you wont be able to dinner for that price. It is just an advanced payment you do and then you will pay the dinner difference. This is misleading advertising!

    The breakfast and the room. The hotel is close to the central station and easy to access. The restaurant is also a great place to enjoy a meal with very friendly and thoughtful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first staff we met at the reception, during check-in was a bit unfriendly. I told her that I was here to check in and she did not reply anything or say anything until I show my booking receipt. Asked her about parking and she was a bit rude and not informative at all. However, the staff we met the second day was friendly and helpful!

    The room is clean and nice, free breakfast and free access to the sauna. It is close to the train and main bus station, and the main shopping street is within walking distance. It was perfect for a one night stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    The things that could be improved are: - Better lighting in the bathroom, especially the mirror area - Bathroom plug for electric shavers - Payment instructions for the parking lot near the hotel were slightly unclear, staff did not know how the system worked

    The room was clean and quiet with comfortable beds. The best features were: - Foldable extra beds for increased space during the day - Additional electric heater in the bathroom for drying towels - Extensive continental breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothingto complain about.

    Very pleasant place. Nice and cozy rooms. Great food at the restaurant. Owner is also a superb person who can provide a lot of local info.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the fire alarm went off at 1am and they couldn't get it to turn off for about 20 minutes - otherwise, great stay!

    They had a fantastic breakfast with lots of options that were all delicious! Check in was easy and friendly. Our room was comfortable with a large bathroom - much better than we had expected! Very close to downtown area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    City center location. Staff was cooperative and friendly, comfortable bed, good internet. Free of charge coffee, magazines and cookies available at the reception. Parking is available at a building besides the hotel at an extra charge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little cookie with the free coffee and te

    The second night I had big problems with people in the next room having party, but I got a new upgraded room in 10 minutes !!! Very close to busstation and center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street level window invited people on the street to open the curtains and peek inside my room when the window was open. However, there's no temperature control in the room so to cool off, you had to open the window.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to complain about. This hotel is nice and clean, not 5 stars but very good value

    good hotel in a central location. VERY GOOD food in the restaurant in the evening ( second floor), we really liked the arctic char! Also breakfast wonderful and very rich in choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not enough toiletries:(

    After having read some reviews, we didn't expect the hotel to be so good:) The breakfast was excellent: pancakes, ham, eggs, pickles, herring, some types of cheese, fruit (melon, pine-apple, oranges), etc.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad space in toilet Toilett chair into to the wall Programmes TV no choices Not much is changes from the old cheap hotel

    Restaurant okey but not breakfast (very poor)Very simple hotell

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enda negativa var äggröran med lite konstig konsistens. Bra kokta ägg dock så tog ett sådant istället.

    Ren, fint och bekvämt! Nära centrum med shopping och restauranger och väldigt sköna sängar. Enkel och god frukostbuffe.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle in the room would have been great.

    The hotel is close both to train/bus station and Umeå city center (just a few minutes walking). The room was small but comfortable, with a big window.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold, not to clean, did not smell fresh, bathtub with shower- to short protection glass water was over flowing and floor was very wet, could not find plug in in the bathroom to plug hairdryer. Food in the restaurant was not that good, i think the wings was old- my husband got sick. I asked for glass of water with lemon - i got it with extra black things swiming in it, wr skiped breakfast .

    Parking right next to the door/same building

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Breakfast was OK, but could be better. Some fruits and at least one more type of meat but beacon would definitely make it better. 2. Could be cheaper.

    Our double sized bed was extremely comfy. Staff was polite and smily. The location is just perfect -- 5 min walk from centre and very peaceful. Although I think the whole Umeå is extremely cozy and peaceful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few blocks further from railway and airport bus than I realized, yet too close to justify a taxi. So I ended up carrying my bags.

    Nice, quiet. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only slight niggle was that although there was a blind and curtains, they didn’t quite seal out the light from around the edges and in June Umeå is very very very light !

    Excellent hotel. Not much to look at from outside, but really modern and comfortable inside. We had a car and the public car park next door was only 50 SEK for the weekend ( park there first, then get permit from hotel, very straightforward ). Friendly helpful staff, good sized rooms with modern minimalist styling, comfy bed, excellent bathroom with walk-in style shower, speedy wifi. We were visiting local friends so didn’t eat in the restaurant, but the buffet breakfast was excellent, plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room without any window, only artificial lighting and air-condition.

    Available tea maker on hotel reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good service, minimalistic design, breakfast available to take out and a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place but could do with an upgrade of the dining and lounge bar facilities. Very helpful staff and very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had no window in the room

    locally sourced food in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sparse room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and the Windows.

    Bed terribel.no Windows.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great sauna (mixed) with the bucket of ice cold water in the common area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    There where some drops of blood under the bed, other than that it was clean.

    Very good breakfast, comfortable room. Very kind personnel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator from garage didnt work for personal transport . Heavy to carry all our luggage up for the stairs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to reach, clean and good price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, location and quite rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice sauna!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • People with friends
    • Budget Quadruple Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed there just for a sleep over. Room small but enough for one night. Very good breakfast. Staff freindly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near main Street, a bit noisy.

    Nice place, clean, near center, cozy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful reception staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the room was terrible.

    Very central in the city, close to two grocery stores and has car parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning

    Great location near town centre. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice and relatively cheap location in Umea. Comfortable room and wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very recently renovated. Bed was extra comfy. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation bad

    Roms in bad shape

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great, with rich choice breakfast. Perfect location. Accept pets. Comfy room. close car parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit far from the bus for airport

    They served a really good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mager frukost!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The standard of hotel was only just above the level that I can accept

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grear and fast service, location easy to get. Spacious and comfi room, Great choice ar breakfaat. Vitsit toi again in a week.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a funky smell

    Perfect for when you're driving up-norht

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not accepting cash

    Great customer service, very friendly staff, got that home from home feeling

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel restaurant food was delicious (not so common in hotels). The desserts were some of the best ever. Nice, clean and quiet rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel in Umeå! I recommend him to everyone, if you want to sleep good try it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public parking a little bit difficult accessibility from hotel.

    Comfortable and clean rooms. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe and kettle in room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken by very noisy guests early in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent rooms, clean, spacious, great breakfasts, very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location of the TV, I can't work on the desk and watch TV at the same time. It is just too close.

    Breakfast was great, especially the bread, love it. Quality of bacon and scramble egg may be inconsistent at times. Location is just a 5 mins slow walk to the city center. Cleanliness is excellent! Room is good with window that can be open for fresh air. Counter staffs are friendly and service is excellent!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff is outstanding in their effort to make you feel comfortable. I had lost bags from the airline and the staff followed up more than I did to make sure my trip wasn't interrupted. They were wonderful in their concern that I was able to enjoy my vacation.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit farther than what i wanted to the house of metal

    friendly staff, Elin was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was good and the scrambled eggs were really good.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Whole room fee taken on booking. Expensive bar, can only pay with card. Breakfast room too warm.

    Nice friendly staff. Good location for town centre. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to park nextdoor on the top levels but there is no working lift. It was an inconvenience to carry the luggage up and down the stairs. There is no direct access from the car park.

    Our room was very quiet and clean. Nice firm bed. It had coffee-making facilities in the room, in the lobby and a varied buffet-breakfast. It has a good sauna as well. It is centrally located, within walking distance of shops, cafés and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good hotel, friendly staff, free coffee, tea at reception. Room spacious, clean. Nice pedestrian mall nearby. close to water. Only stayed one day as a 1/2 stop from Stockholm to Rovaniemi. Wished could have stayed another day to visit Umea. Recommend travellers to book 2 days to explore town for a day. As always, one day I may be back. Oh, well memories exist.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was very hot, although the weather was quite bad. When we came in, the children's bed was not made, but this was fixed rapidly when pointed out to personnel.

    The rapid service by the personnel and the possibility to accommodate a whole family (three children) in the same suite.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    40 SEK/night for parking could have been included. No direct door from the parking house to the hotel, you have to walk on the street. This sould be nice in winter...

    Breakfast, lift, clean room, close to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bar was still under construction so i could only take coffe and water. It was ready for the day i was returning to Uk. Didn't like the shower.

    I came from uk and everybody was able to speak English. They helped me in moving around town and gave me maps and advices. The room Was clean and tidy and the owerall look was good

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I could not get the soap out of the plastic boxes but I believe that is a design problem not unique to the hotel.

    the cleanliness, the breakfast, the staff, the location, the thoughtful complimentary coffee and fruit in the lounge

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is building work around the lobby but it didn't impact on our stay.

    The room was surprisingly comfortable and well serviced with staff polite and friendly with the hotel just a short walk from both train and bus stations.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was a very clean hotel that provided all the necessities - very comfortable bed, hot shower and decent storage for clothing. I felt grateful to the staff for giving me a free upgrade, so I had two twin beds (pushed together) and a much more spacious room than I had booked. One minor issue - there was no electrical socket in the washroom. The room was very quiet, but I should mention that the pub/restaurant was being renovated, so it was not in use (except for the hotel's breakfast). I don't know if it would be noisy normally. The breakfast was fine, but it was always the same and served rather early (e.g., discontinued at 9:00 am). This early cut-off time could prove difficult for visitors dealing with jet lag who want to sleep in a little later (me!). The staff were quite accommodating in storing my bags for me until my flight later in the day, following my check-out. The hotel is located a few blocks from the city centre, but it is not quite in the heart of the city. Although several other hotels were closer, these were more expensive. This hotel is a good choice if you want something clean, comfortable, basic and not too expensive.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was smelling very bad. The rest are acceptable

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: