Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotell Gute 3 stars

Mellangatan 29, 621 56 Visby, Sweden

#24 of 47 hotels in Visby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 415 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They organised a new room for us when our original room had separate beds across the room. The lovely staff also pointed out vegan alternatives at breakfast for us and even went and bought some vegan yoghurt for the next morning. The location was so central and easy to walk around and see many amazig sites. It's also close to the ferry terminal and also the bike hire shop. We hired bikes and went along the coast. Such amazing views. Coming back to the hotel was so comforting after a big day out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As it was the Stockholm youngsters' party week, the street noise went on till 4 in the morning! Of course this was not the hotel's fault.

    We enjoyed the cosiness of the hotel and the complimentary hot drinks at the end of the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have absolutely no complaints.

    Everything about the hotel was perfect! Location: Central, walking distance to all attractions. Rooms: Clean, modern, comfortable, and well-equipped with everything you need and more! Food: Coffee and tea in rooms, phenomenal breakfast in the morning. Staff: AMAZING. Helped me book a last-minute flight when my ferry was cancelled due to a storm, extended my stay for free so I would have a place to keep my bags while waiting for my flight, and Eva even drew up a personalized walking tour on a map of the old town which really showed off the best of Visby. Both women at the desk (Ana(?) and Eva) are ridiculously kind and go out of their way to take care of their guests. I cannot adequately express how much they improved my visit to Visby. Overall: Between the location and quality of the facility, and the best service I've ever received from hotel staff, Hotell Gute is a *stunning* value!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    After having to cancel a non-refundable booking because of my husband's unexpected need for surgery, the hotel's reception made kind provisions to alleviate our disappointment of missing the medieval festival by carrying our booking into the next month. One night in one of Stockholm's minimalistic hotels - we were indeed looking forward to and found an inviting hotel more atmospheric for it's touch of age. Breakfast left nothing to be desired and was a boost to my husband's recovering appetite. The receptionist eagerly helped us define our interests for our days out at a time when a much quieter tourist season was settling over the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in middle of Visby old town and convinience for sightseeing. you can get a small super market 3 minutes walk and a big one 10 minutns walk. The staffs were so klnd. One of them in the reception lent me a plug adapter free.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i really think the only thing that could've been better were the bed pillows - but otherwise, the whole experience was genuinely very good

    location, perfect - staff, incredibly helpful, pleasant, resourceful, knowledgeable and proud to be gotlanders - if you're only in visby (not touring around the rest of the island), you won't need a car, as this is far and away one of the best locations and one of the best staffs for answering questions and taking care of their guests

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, value was not great for the money. That said, I went on a popular weekend and prices may have been higher than normal.. Overall, it was a good facility but outdated.

    Great location! Staff is very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast on MONDAY WAS RATHER poor in comparison to Sunday.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was rather cold when we arrived as previous occupants had turned radiator off.

    Excellent breakfast, relaxed comfortable atmosphere in hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. The room had everything you might need. The staff was also very friendly, when present (reception closes early).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curtains on the window didn't really cover the window... so some privacy issues if you care about that sort of thing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet access for the first 3 days of stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff was lovely. a very cozy place to stay in the heart of visby's old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, Nice with rituals products Service minded staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of a boiling pot

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was the worst I have ever seen in a hotel. They seemed like I was doing them a favor by staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything but would have been nice to have toiletries ( i.e. Shampoo/cream rinse, shower cap)

    The staff are amazing! So friendly and proud to share the history of their heritage. The breakfast is delicious , especially Anta's home made jams, marmalades and pesto!!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is located in the middle of Visby and offers very beautiful furnished rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was rich and offered regional products.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was quite noisy & you needed to have the windows open to cool down the room. Also did not have block out blinds.

    Location was great. Room was basic but clean & had all that's needed.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was hot and stuffy. There was something wrong with the Swedish television channels.

    The location was excellent: quiet yet central which is important in Visby where there is so much partying and music going on until late at night in the summer. The breakfast lavish. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really there was noting I didn't like. I am handicapped and found the building very accessible. The elevator was a great help. The room was a bit stuffy at times but that was due to weather and not the hotel.

    The staff, Suzanne and Emma, were fantastic. They answered all our questions and gave helpful suggestions for our daily excursions.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing i didn't like, the only improvement i could imagine would be the possibility for guests to use the breakfast room during the day for tea, coffee or self provided meal breaks.

    Personalised attention, comfort of room, position of hotel in old town

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Everything. Breakfast and location.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is quite small

    Great and helpful staff. Great location to check around most of the tourism attractions in the old town.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Hotell Gute traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: