Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotell Stella 3 stars

St Johannesgatan 31 C, 75233 Uppsala, Sweden

#20 of 29 hotels in Uppsala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 581 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a perfect hotel for my parents who were visiting me and needed just enough comfort (they are senior so don't want to do do shared bathroom, etc.) but nothing extravagant for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It can be a bit hard to sleep during spring and summer nights in Sweden when you are not used to have only a curtain instead of shutters in front of your window...

    Good location not far from the city centre (10 min. by walking). Lots of students living in the neighbourhood, so that you don't really feel yourself alone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. I arrived at hotel late evening but red a note on front door so i called the number and door was opend for me. Everything was ready for me on reception desk. Room was clean and accessories were useful. I had a fresh morning wakeup. Highly recommended and freindly service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy small hotel, very helpful staff, tasty breakfast, quiet location, excellent wifi connection, ICA shop just over the road. If you decide to walk from the Central Station, you can go past Uppsala Cathedral on your way :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot ... breakfast starts at 8am which we missed because we started left at 6am but tea and coffee is there 24/7 help ourselves ... so all great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No waste-bin in the room itself, only one in the washroom; dust on the power points and other small surfaces

    Nice place, decent rooms, adequate bathrooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot complain of anything. My experience was flawless. Perhaps the only thing you may want to pay attention is that after 9.00pm, you will need to remember a code to enter the hotel as there is nobody in the reception to open the door for you. Apart from that, everything was nice!

    The place seems quite new, and very well decorated. The staff was very friendly, and supportive. The room was modern, and it had a small but clean bathroom. All you can need to spend a good time in Uppsala. There is a grocery store in front of the hotel, so that you can buy lunch or dinner there. The room had a small fridge in the room, and other bigger fridges in the corridor so that you can keep your food there if you want. There's also a microwave for you to use in the breakfast room. Regarding breakfast, it was OK. Not the best I've had in my life, but good enough. It had fruit, some cold meat, coffee, milk, yogurt, cereals, bread, that nordic flavored cheese in a tube... well it was definitely good. Its location is a bit far from the centre, but with small towns far is never too far. I didn't feel I was isolated. It was a 20 min walk from the centre only! Overall, I'm pretty satisfied and I would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My trip was business, total group 4 people. Check in was, due to late arrival time, via pin code to open front door. Ok but not very personal. Unfortunately no lobby to sit together after long travel. Rooms are very basic, bed is small but good; work desk too small to sit comfortable. Bathroom very basic, too basic for me. Breakfast was sufficient but also quite simple. All basics were there but not much extra besides the olives. I would not go here if you travel in business groups. If you are alone and do not require luxury, then it is ok. Hotel is close to center so plenty of good restaurants.

    Bed was small but good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No weekend room service. Tiny on suite. Car parking is across the road from the hotel in front of student accommodation building and costs an extra 50SEK per night. Maintenance required on the windows.

    Fair breakfast, staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Yes, however the access to the kitchen was difficult after the breakfast. The shop in front of the hotel is expensive. You have to take it into consideration in your offer. The room was nice and quiet,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The office was closed in the evening - normally no problem. But it took me 3 emails to get the Code for the door before we started our travel. The room was small. The Hotel took the money before the night. Because: To cancel during the last 2 weeks is not possible!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast, unfriendly reception Unbelievable! - If you would like to get an invoice, information has to be included in your booking!

    Clean room, close to the city centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were awful (as usual in Swedish hotels) bathroom needs a refurb. Breakfast was pretty basic - cold soft-boiled eggs are not a good start to the day.

    Bed was comfy, public spaces and bedroom was pretty; coffee was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast -finnished at 09:00AM - it is good to be as at other hotels finish at 10:00 AM there was not a hotel parking

    bed was confortable and the room was cosy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller room than it looked on pics To hard boiled eggs-green inside No hot water for tea at self service if you arrived late and just need to make yourself a hot cup

    Bed was soft enough. Easy communication and easy check in/out Great orangejuice Extra pillows

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short on parkings. But the ICAstore parking across the street was good enough and not to expensive.

    All i needed, no more or less. Calm location. Small room, but clean and fresh.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    Perfect for car traveller. Not far from, just 10 minutes, walk to church, university,and botanic garden etc. Small hotell, quiet situated with family style. Comfortabel bed. Possible to fix your own tea or coffee in light resturant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no cleaning on weekends although in case of necessity it can be asked for.

    Good breakfast, tea and coffee all day. Two bikes available for free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Breakfast buffet was not a extravaganza but contained all standard elements of a Swedish breakfast. If your plan is to stay in the room and watch television then you might be disappointed by the size of the TV.

    Nice stay in a hotel that gives a value for money. Room was well set and looked like it had been renovated not long ago. Very clean and the bed was comfy. Parking across the street is convenient and cost only 40 SEK a day. Close walk to university and city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning service of room was not efficient.

    Good location (grocery store nearby, but around 20 minutes walk from train station), nice staff, good breakfast, quiet and clean room (although they didn´t make my room for 2 days).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For me all was very nice. However, for the ones travelling for fun in Uppsala, the hotel could be a bit far away from the station and the city center.

    I was on Uppsala 4 days for work and it was very good hotel. Warm personal, nice room with private bathroom, very nice breakfast, good Wifi connection, all clean and neat. I enjoy it and recommend it 100%

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact that the blinds even tho closed, were still letting a lot of the light in, making it hard to sleep for me after 4am when it was already getting lighter. Forgot my face mask!

    The breakfast was very nice and being able to get tea in the night was also great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small bathroom

    Nice and cozy hotel close to the city center. I really liked that there was a corner with tea and coffee available at any time, it made me feel at home!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very spacious room- very nice furniture. Very very nice staff!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was well organized for my out of hours arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cold , in the morning. Ok at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinks in the mini bar No ink in the writing pen No drinks (water) anywhere in this hotel

    They provided a real comfy cot for our baby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loves the decor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very convenient to where I needed to be; very pleasant and helpful staff; lovely breakfasts; nice feel to the hotel itself

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a second child chair at breakfast.

    Staff was extra-nice to find a place for our twin pram.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast

    Not much

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No night staff on premises

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Quiet and safety. Rich breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional charge for parking Noise from kitchen area early morning

    Close to centre Good price for private room Nice breakfast Comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pleasant low-cost hotel. Rooms are small but adequate. Cheese, cold meats, coffee and juice breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was hot in the evening. Breakfast was uninspiring.

    Fitted all our needs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A reasonably nice place, reasonably cheap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BREAKFAST must be the best

    at the hotel was calm, very good internet, good cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very lovely place, very cosy. Breakfast spread was generous and sumptuous. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price and location balance the size of the room

    Nice and quiet property. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much noise and could hear everything. Also "Private parking" is actually just Puplic parking with a kost of 50 SEK.

    Employees.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very close to everywhere and a great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is very very small comparing to the price

    The personal are very nice very simpa and they tried their best to help

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor! Nearly no choice!

    The room was small but really neat except for the facilieties.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English breakfast.

    Rummet lagom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All of the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful. I liked the times of breakfast (7am to 9am) as this enabled you to make an early start to the day.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The hotel had a great location for us, just meters away from Uppsala university's economics department. It was also at a walking distance to the city center. The personnel were really kind and helpful in providing everything we needed. The breakfast was also great! In general, i had a very positive experience of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist was strange... Not tuned to guests needs, but rather to himself. Rules were rules. Very strict and non-flexible. Communication was difficult. Unfriendly. Breakfast was from 8 till 10 during weekends too... No exceptions could be made. No knowledge of allergies. Very black/white view...

    Quite nice rooms. Good bed. Strange tough to have a toilet separate from a shower. (Shower on one side, toilet and sink on the other... seemed logical, but during use it turned to be rather uncomfortable...

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price. The reason may be that I booked the room only few days in advance but anyway, it was a little too much.

    Nice place near the city centre. Nice stuff. Excellent breakfast and personnel

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny bathroom. Reasonably convenient parking across the street, but it was not included in the room price. Breakfast OK but not quite up to the standards of typical Swedish hotel breakfasts. Breakfast room quite small and crowded.

    Pleasant, comfortable, clean room in a modern building. Appreciated having an elevator to take our luggage to our 2nd floor room. Good location near the university and in walking distance to downtown and related tourist attractions. Reasonable price for expensive Sweden and for Uppsala, where there are not a lot of hotel options.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited hours for check-in. Very small bathroom with few places to store toiletries. A small fridge and safe would be good additions.

    Really nice room on the back side of the hotel, so very quiet and secure. Reserved parking across the street. Nice breakfast room and good breakfast. Very friendly fellow guests made for good breakfast conversations. Great and fast wifi.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing fancy in this hotel, although room price is not cheap. I think room price should be lower, considering the overall quality standard of the hotel. In cheaper price category, this hotel would be very feasible choice. Breakfast rather simple, no warm dishes, but good bread, cereal, juice, coffee etc

    Location closed to downtown. Relatively peaceful area

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom got wet with the shower, curtain was a bit slimy, need better reading lights by the bed, internet connection was unstable and impossible in the rooms.

    staff, breakfast, room amenities, small open fresh atmosphere. Nice to have bikes, maps and easy bus access. Loved the name!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was OK but not so inspiring (boiled eggs were good but otherwise a small section of breads and cold meat etc). Though hotel does have a microwave for guest use so you can also use your own food. Perhaps a little expensive for room size/facilities on my second visit.

    Rooms were small but clean, comfortable, quiet. Facilities to prepare food in evening. Nice breakfast room with tv that could also be used in evening. Ground floor rooms perfect for cycling/tourers as owners permit bike to be kept in room (I visited during Uppsala Bike Weekend). There is a ICA supermarket opposite hotel which is very useful for multi-night stays.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one in the reception or hotel area except for short amount of time during the day. Coffee/tea plus milk was often not available.

    Nice, quiet and comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-Fi did not work well, if at all most of the time. Connection usually either dropped or simply wouldn't load anything.

    Room was cozy, breakfast was very nice, very good spot as far as sleeping and being comfortable is concerned

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very loud inside. When people talk in the corridors, they seem to be in your room. Wifi out most of the 4 days we spent there and staff seemed just not interested. On weekend breakfast starts later which is not convenient when sth to do

    Room size and layout. Breakfast included. Small grocery store just in front. Location close to my meeting place but far from everything and bus don't run in the evening and weekend. Staff polite but...

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed too soft, not clean

    close to uni

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    After a few days wifi stopped working in the rooms

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfectly located, comfy beds, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable, convenient to all of downtown Uppsala. Perfect all around.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice location, reasonable room and very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really friendly staff and very comfortable room - easy walk to the university.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Couple

    no working wi-fi. bad news.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Hotell Stella traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: