Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotell Stenugnen 3 stars

Korsgatan 4-6, 621 57 Visby, Sweden

#23 of 47 hotels in Visby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.0
    A hotel where savings exceed the limit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The doubleroom was so small that there was not the space (absent) for even 1 chair. When we came at 7pm there was no staff (reception service stops at 5) we could ask for the total lack of toilet paper. By knocking on another guest room lady helped us with her spare roll. The second day I wanted to take a shower after a full day as tourist but found the water not even luke warm. Thus we didn't fell any regret to leave this hotel. There is more but I will not continue and I only wonder how they got all the nice diplomas from TravelAdvise.

    The place was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    A modern seaside hotel with marine light coloured interior and homely privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower curtains with water on the bathroom floor could be replaced by solid walls and a proper drain.

    as a tea drinker I was impressed by the variety of loose teas to brew in a sieve with properly hot water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast needs to be better for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was escarce, they hardboil eggs, and then slice them in little slices, never seen that in another hotel before. How expensive can one egg for each guest be?

    Good location close to the port and to the old town. Good bed. Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Nice november-weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't manage to change the temperature in the shower.

    Boiled eggs had the perfect consistence, there were no advertise-flyers everywhere like in many other hotels and the blanket was much better than my own.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was terrible throughout our stay, we could hardly get a signal at all. We felt the bathroom was poorly designed and in need of updating. Breakfast, while served in a nice conservatory, was very limited, with no hot options, and on the day we were there, mostly already gone by the time we arrived. Overall we felt that for a cost of SEK 1599 per night (around $250 Aussie dollars) the hotel offers very poor value for money.

    The hotel has an excellent location within the city walls of Visby, just a few minutes walk from the central area, numerous restaurants and bars, and also the harbour. The room was quite small, but tastefully designed with a really comfortable bed, flat screen television, a set of draws and a small place to hang clothes.   Service throughout our stay was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.2
    nice room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room or Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi-fi did't work very much in the dependance.

    nice room; good breakfast; really comfortable common living room wiht coffe and biscuits h24; very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.6
    We loved our stay in Visby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room or Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need another chair or luggage rack in room 3, annex. Awkward to have suitcase on floor.

    Breakfast was fabulous. Staff were especially helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly personal;
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast (coffee quality); bathroom (shower should be fixed).

    Friendly personal; aesthetically designed room and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    A fine small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager was most helpful, the rooms were well appointed and there was a very nice lounge area with refreshment facilities available for guests

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.9
    Will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too small, not much fruit

    Coffee and tea and biscuits permanently available, very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    4.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very expensive and noisy.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast, the bed, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ...but having old eyes I could have used more light over the bathroom mirror and also a shelf for small stuff. The toilet roll holder made me almost break my back to get to. I would mount it on the wall across from the toilet (with a little shelf above). At least that would work in room 26.

    Breakfast, the bed, staff... Everything...

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    9.2
    location, breakfast, if the departure is very early,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the code from the hotel door is changed each month, we weren't informed and could get inside on the 1'st of December with the help of the other guests who were luckily staying in the hall, and the reception doesn't work after 5pm

    location, breakfast, if the departure is very early, there's some take away sandwiches in the fridge as well as the cofee, it was really nice, it's the place where you really feel like home

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, working...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manual air-conditioning (ie. open the window when you have used up all the oxygen in your room), it's an old house, after all.

    Friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, working Wi-Fi, perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.9
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was shared. This would have been less of an issue of the shower did not constantly flood.

    Location was perfect. Beautiful style and comfortable accommodations.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    The whole nautical décor was simple and relaxing and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The whole nautical décor was simple and relaxing and the location was excellent. We thought being so close to the quay would be noisy but we slept very well. Breakfast was great and set us up for the whole day. The bonus was we timed our visit with the mediaeval festival!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Helpful friendly staff, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy room in annex, every time doors elsewhere opened and closed you could hear it. Shower was temperamental

    Helpful friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Well located in relation to harbour and old town.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    7.5
    Location is great within the old city of Visby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our double room was so small there were no rome for chairs. We stayed four nights, and they ever came in and did maid work.

    Location is great within the old city of Visby. Staff is friendly and helpful. Basic

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.9
    The location is excellent and the room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no kettle in the room and no toiletries apart from soap, shampoo and shower gel. Some of the staff were very friendly, some less so. Not saying they were rude, but a smile or two wouldn't hurt!

    The location is excellent and the room was nice. It had a fan which was great because the room got very hot during the day.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    The staff were so accommodating and lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly a small hot breakfast option.

    The staff were so accommodating and lovely! My partner and I arrived very late at night and they organised a key to be left for us. We had one or two mishaps and the hotel was more than accommodating to correct this.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.6
    Pleasant lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't work out how to use the lift for luggage when we arrived - note that desk is not staffed in the evening.

    Pleasant lounge. Refrigerator for guests so you can make picnic lunches. Staff very helpful. One wall of breakfast room is the old town wall! Excellent breakfast buffet including home made bread.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.1
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shared bathroom. Old, cheap, rundown furniture. Had the feeling of a hostel. Not a hotel.

    Location Friendly staff Bed was comfy

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    Very clean, peaceful, and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very clean, peaceful, and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    10
    very friendly & helpful girls on desk leaving for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly & helpful girls on desk leaving for us breakfast when we departing early so it was very kind..many thanks

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Outstanding service, facility and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Outstanding service, facility and food. Very attentive to making sure we had a great stay. Absolutely!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Historical location close to harbour and city wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Historical location close to harbour and city wall

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful hotel in perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.8
    Central in Visby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid parking on the street

    Central in Visby

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Parking was a little bit of an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a little bit of an issue. I think in summer it would be really difficult.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    Excellent staff, old fashioned seaside hotel, amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent staff, old fashioned seaside hotel, amazing breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    The location, old style hotel, amazing breakfast and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location, old style hotel, amazing breakfast and staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff Well-furnished breakfast Cosy room (Annexet) Really good quality/price ratio All-day free coffee break

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Hotell Stenugnen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: