Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotell Värend 3 stars

Kungsgatan 27, 352 33 Växjö, Sweden

#9 of 14 hotels in Växjö

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1317 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room and window (no air-conditioning) was next to the smoking patio.

    Hotel is family operation and owners are very helpful and hospitable. The hotel is on the bus route, there is nearby a Italian restaurant and pizzeria, and it is in pleasant and quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was decent, although small. It was the right size for the room, but I don't think sleeping on it for more than a few nights would do you any good.

    I requested an early check-in and without hesitation they happily made it so I could have my room 4 hours early. Overall great service there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    The hotel was very basic as expected but every basic was here. It suited my requirements perfectly. I will be very happy to return when the need arises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heard the guests in the neighboring rooms a little too well.

    Nice staff, good breakfast, good location, generous welcom, fruits and coffee/tea/chocolate for free in the lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hair dryer in the room; the early check-in confirmation was sent in Swedish and nor English.

    The breakfast was very generous in quantity and diversity; the bed was extremely comfortable and the pillow was just the right size; the bathroom was very clean and functional; fresh fruit was available at the reception. Upon request, the staff made a room available for early check-in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom (shower). Extra (3rd) bed not comfortable.

    Good parking, good breakfast if you do not need egg&bacon. Big and clean room. Good sound insulation. Free coffee and fruit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, comfortable and simple place. It was very easy to contact them for the late check-in. Walking distance to the central Växjö and very good breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast is just a Little to small,no warm food like scvrambled egs or bacon.

    we booked a room for pets and it was perfect located.free wifi with no problems.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one container with shampoo/shower gel/hand soap. We removed it from the support on the wall over the sink, and took it to the shower to be able to use it there. It was not a big problem, but it would be nice to have at least two separate bottles.

    A simple but comfortable hotel, with great location and good price. It has the essencials plus fresh fruit, tea and coffee all day. Breakfast was simple but had a little bit of everything and everything was tasty. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to improve

    Great hotel for the cost, very friendly staff who spoke great English. Gave us a map of the town so we didn’t get lost and marked out where we were travelling!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice univeristy city, the staff member was friendly. We can communicate in English. The room was clean and well equipped and the hotel is nicely renivated. Breakfast has wide variety of food. Has free tea and coffe in the hotelX

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    located very near to the center. very friendly hosts always willing to serve/ help. automatic coffee machine where you could get coffee/hot water/chocolate 24x7 with no extra cost. free basket of fruits left daily at the concierge for the guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small, but very clean and adequate. Glad we had a GPS to guide us because it was not easy to find.

    Great beds. Phenomenal breakfast. Staff was really helpful. Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didnt like. I enjoyed using the elevator for my heavy suite case. No I was not paid to say this!

    Nice, very clean, good if you have allergies-no dusty rugs. Owners very gracious and eager to help with anything. Very thoughtful-put a small fridge in the room for groceries.I stayed a week. I could wash my clothes. Free 24/7 coffee of various typed/ coffee machine. Good fresh breakfast with good bread variety.. Newspapers, tv, and free apples. Fresh, good coffee. Good windows that open. Good darkening shades. Some traffic noise on street side rooms. Didnt bother me though. I think I could have changed rooms if it had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Check in staff is only available after 4 pm in afternoon. The breakfast spread is limited. Rooms are bit small if travelling with luggage and kids.

    Great value for money. Close to Glasrikets area and also Glass Museum in Vaxjo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early, before check-in time. There were no hotel personnel present and there was no place to wait with our luggage. We were unaware this would be the situation. So, we drug our luggage down the street and waited in a restaurant for two to three hours until it was time to check in and hike back up the hill to the hotel.

    The location, the management and the cleanliness are all top notch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice cozy place just outside the center of Vaxjo. We thought the room was quite spacious, with a very nice small but modern bathroom with a great shower. Parking was no problem just behind the hotel. Plenty of space to sit outside. We stayed for 1 night, just driving through, but a longer stay would be very much fine if you need/ want to stay in Vaxjo and visit this part of Sweden. Standard but nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, making you feel right at home. Not huge rooms, but big enough with everything you need, clean and tidy. The breakfast is nice too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallway carpeting could be replaced. The hallways painted.

    Room was clean and comfortably sized for three of us; good size windows for plenty of light and the drapes were sufficient to keep out sun as needed. The breakfast was good and considering the price of the room, a good value. There is plenty of parking behind both buildings. Its a five minute walk to shopping area. The neighborhood is quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is unpretentious, nothing to complain about. You get what you pay for.

    Good breakfast. Quiet neighbourhood. Value for money. Nice to have extra fruit and coffee in the "lobby", available even when arriving late at night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some kitchen facilities (e.g. micowave oven, electric kettle, fridge) as well as free coffee machine available to all hotel guests (some in the basement, some on the groundfloor) for 24h.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really like the location of this hotel. Good walking to all the shops, restaurants, museums, and the lake. It is an older hotel but very comfortable and clean. There is an elevator for those who need it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quick wi-fi, clean rooms, more than adequate breakfast, free parking and generally very very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value, it’s basic but everything we needed was there. The free coffee machine is brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel and great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was great, breakfast had many offerings and the room met my expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A modest hotel (previous student house, renovated). Clean and comfortable, no luxury.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is silent, clean and bed is comfortable. Breakfast is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and tiny. Dog fee was too much

    Stuff was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    please note the hotel is closed for a few hours for lunch!!

    super friendly manager, great little breakfast- this hotel was fantastic value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not dirty by any means but not the most inspiring facilities. Good for sleeping pretty much but that was it.

    Decent price for central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in from 16.00. Would be nice if it was open from 14.00 15.00

    NO noice. Good for a stop over in Växjö. Close to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean. Good beds. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    quiet, cozy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, good beds, modern bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room Looks very good, clean and space with shower. You have coffe machine that you can use it, breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall to wall carpets in the hotel give an unfresh feel.

    Comfy bed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfy and the shower was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sloppy bed making. No new towles

    Quiet, location, staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds is to soft. Check in is after 16.00.

    Location is perfect, close to city with restaurants and shopping. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Badrummet luktade riktigt illa. Kunde knappt vara där. Måste vara problem med avloppet.

    Väldigt skön säng!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no check-in possible from 11am till 4pm, hotel and reception were closed

    Location, friendly stuff, clean and quiet rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed was small there should be electric kettle in the room room service could be better

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for money, but of course it looks a bit old

    Location, price, staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything just went pretty well for us. Cozy room, nice people, great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny and lacked amenities like shampoo and hair conditioner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    attitude of owners ... very welcoming and keen to help

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good! Very good location, exellent room, wi fi quality perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would have liked a keetle in the room for coffee

    friendly people clean room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally nice and uncomplicated. Super service! Nice location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice small hotel in the centre. The parking was next to the hotel which was very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evrething clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and very professional staff! Had two issues during our visit and both of them we resolved immediately with the help of the reception personnell.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hair dryer or floor towel in the room (odd for a 3 star hotel). WiFi only worked on and off. Reception only open very limited hours.

    Very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff, free WIFI, convenient location

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff at the front is very helpful and kind. When I had to print out my flight ticket, he was very kindly letting me use his computer and printer. Thanks to him, I can escapte to charge the fine :) Also, the facility is particularly suitable for a single traveler like me. It's very clean and neat. The location is quite good. It takes 10minutes by walk getting to a trainstation and 5minutes to town.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Family with older children

    the shower place would be nice to have more bigger and stairs in front of hotel back door were dangerous even they looked really nice.

    It was really nice to see how hotel took care of clients with dogs too. The good luck cake for all who took a part to a dog show was brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The attendance hours are unpracticle. For many hours the guest are left completely alone and cannot arrive after a certain time.

    Nice staff, very helpful; very good breakfast and free coffee and fruit available at all times.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff/owner was very friendly and welcoming. He drove to the hotel to let us in before check in because we were carrying suitcases. Hotel was clean and cheerful.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had to leave a little while before breakfast was due for transport reasons and felt maybe an offer of a quick breakfast would have been nice.

    Friendly staff and a comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It seemed a bit out of the way of things. Very plain, simple room but comfortable beds. The construction on the street out front made it a bit tricky to access, but that is not their fault.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The drains need to be thoroughly cleaned - the room and bathroom were clean, but the scent of poorly cleaned or maybe near blocked drains was unpleasant.

    It's a basic hotel and (apparently) value for money, considering it's Sweden. Staff pleasant. Coffee machine downstairs very covenient and breakfast plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no cupboard / wardrobe in my room, and it is definitely something you would expect in a hotel. Beside that, it was ok.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad smell from the bathroom which infiltrated the bedroom. If one makes the slightest move, the mattress begins to slide off the bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Group

    The internet

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not too clean.

    Good location, friendly staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had good experience.

    I like everything about the hotel.I will be happy to have my next trip there also.thanks

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred tea and coffee making facilities in the room as opposed to a vending machine in the corridor.

    Comfort and cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did expect the bed to be a bit wider, poor internet connection

    Location, easy to find, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Couple

    No reception until 4pm. Very basic accommodation.

    Central location , dog friendly, reasonable price

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the breakfast is not so good, wifi does not work sometimes.

    low price, staff is very nice

There are also 59 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotell Värend traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: