Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotell Villa Borgen 3 stars

Adelsgatan 11, 621 57 Visby, Sweden

#13 of 47 hotels in Visby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 662 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beaches aren’t great in this part and early May some places weren’t yet open for the season.

    Beautiful little boutique hotel. Excellent location in the old town within the walls. Our room was spacious and light, in fact too light! So when we asked if they could provide something at the windows to block out the early sunlight, they put up blinds. Now that’s service. Nothing was too much trouble. The receptionist, Emma, is their greatest asset. Comfy beds and bedding, always a bonus. Breakfast was lovely, in fact we moved to another hotel for the second part of the week for my work conference, it was rated 5 stars but it wasn’t a patch on Villa Borgen. Wonderful island, lots of history just don’t expect great beaches in this area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit too small, with no cupboard for clothes.

    Great location up on the city hill, close to the medieval city wall. Good, healthy breakfast (smoothies, fruit as well as the ordinary Swedish breakfast). Mostly friendly staff and a nice little garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant not fault the hotel at all. And anyone who can find a fault with it was clearly staying in a different hotel to the one i was in

    The hotel was absolutely incredible. The staff were incredibly helpful and so welcoming and helped with my early check in n out with Taxi from n to the airport. It was an total pleasure staying there. As someone who doesnt speak a word of english the staff in reception were more than helpful helping me find my way around with everything within walking distance :) . A definate recommendation to anyone who wishes to stay in such a beautifully set out hotel in such a beautiful place in my opinion and i really look forward to my next stay. Thank you for such a wonderful time. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi connectivity was quite in the hotelroom poor but that problem was solved when moved to the common area!

    Everything was excellent except for the wifi in my room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply put, awesome. The staff is more than kind, always there to give you a hand. The location is in the shopping street. The room is really cleaned every day. Breakfast healthy and generous with different juices every morning. An inside patio gives you zen-like peace of mind.Quiet, cozy, and very very well managed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explanation on how to use clothes washer, we should have asked at the beginning of our stay and I am sure they would have helped us but we put it off until our last evening when staff had gone home. You could call them at any time but I didn't want to bother them so late in the evening.

    We were able To cook on site. Since we were in the apartment. Located on the major shopping street, access to sites of interest in the walled city were at our doorstep. Staff is more than helpful. We stayed here 4 years ago and it is better than ever.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could very easily hear everything from other rooms which was bad, especially since there was a baby staying next door. So possibly the rooms might not be quiet, depending on who's staying next door. The smoking area was right under our window and this was a huge minus. It would be better if smoking was not allowed on the hitel yard at all. Also there were only few channels (all swedish) on tv, so you will get easily bored on rainy days.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and a bit healthier than your average hotel breakfast in scandinavia.It was great to get to make your own waffles at breakfast. The room was very clean, even from under the bed.They also have umbrellas for the customers to borrow which is great. Their garden was also beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the apartment. It was very large with a nice windowed dining area and terrace with a table and chairs. We used the kitchen for dinner one night. The location is terrific. There is also a small clothes washing machine in the apartment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish we could have stayed much longer.

    Good breakfast , best. bed and the most central place for all of Visby. Don't forget to visit the Black sheep Arms Pub for a Beer. Most important though try a Hop Shed Craft beer while in Gotland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get the email that no one would be there after 8 until we got onto the hotel wifi after two very helpful ladies got us through the locked door. US phone.

    Loved the courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small bathroom with strong smell of humidity. Thin walls so that you could hear the snoring from the neighbouring room

    When leaving with an early ferry, they gave a voucher for a breakfast on the ferry

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with updating soon, and the curtains don't block out much light.

    Our room was enormous, we had a little balcony with a great view, the breakfast was cute. The waffle iron was a lovely touch! The toiletries were nice too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather, as it was awful when we were there.

    Breakfast was a buffet style, but had everything you could wish for, rooms were very clean, staff very very helpful, nothing to much trouble,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was really nothing to complain.

    We had the apartment for three people and that was the best idea we could have. It is really huge and offers 4 bedrooms (2 with big size beds), a nice living room and big kitchen. Also washing machine and stuff is available. We really enjoyed the apartment. The hotel is very well located in the center of Visby. You can visit easily all sightseeing spots and also shopping is nearby. It is also easily reachable by car. The parking is nearby and should be booked in advance. We also enjoyed the great and very healthy breakfast. The stuff is very friendly and helpful in everything. There was really nothing to complain. Perfect stay in Visby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The small room was VERY small !

    Everything spotlessly clean . loved the minimilist style of interior decoration . pleasant secluded garden , just a bit cold in the prevailing wind . Very helpful receptionist who arranged a change of room when we found the original one , and its bed , too small , provided recommendations and contacted our next hotel for us . Price was reasonable ( for Sweden !)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only, only little minus would be that in our suite the internet connection was quite poor, but personally that didn't affect me that much, however some travellers might want better connection.

    We only had a very short visit to Visby to celebrate friends' wedding. Due to the busyness of the medieval festival I booked a night in hotel Villa Borgen over 6 months early to make sure we get a hotel in central location. On our arrival we were greeted by one of the lovely receptionist girls, who informed us we had been upgraded to their suite room, as i guess there must have been a mess up with room reservation. However, this worked perfectly for us and the room was absolutely stunning, we were happy to spend the afternoon in there relaxing and getting ready for the wedding. The girls at the reception were amazing and very accommodating for us letting us borrow an iron and ironing board and ordering us a taxi to the wedding location. I had a quick breakfast early in the morning before our check out, and it was the cutest little set up with lot to choose from. Thank you so much for our lovely brief visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was near the outdoor seating and several nights of my stay there were some very noisy other hotel guests who kept me awake until the sun came back up again at 4am..also the little fridge didn't fit anything in it..

    breakfast was great, nice comfy clean rooms and great location in the old town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/WC space for our room was extremely small, though very cleverly designed. The wash basin was attached to a panel which opened to give access to the shower, which shared the same plumbing equipment. Very clever, but large adults would find the space very tight! (My wife is size twelve (UK) and I am 175.25 cms tall with 101.6 cms chest. We felt very restricted!

    Everything except our shower/WC facilities! Excellent location; friendly, helpful staff; good breakfast; car parking facilities; nice courtyard. Beautifully quiet in early June.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived in the afternoon I had to wait for a long time while the receptionist had a conversation on the phone with someone. The other receptionist just stood by listening to the phone call. After the call I was told said that the other receptionist was under training but she could have just handled me my room key. I had paid for the room in advance and only needed to get my key. I was warm and sweaty. Most irritating.

    Good location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located at a quiet shopping street a short walk off the main square. I appreciated the staff's willingness to help me with my various troublesome requests! I had to switch the first room I was allocated to, as I am a light-sleeper and didn't like that my windows were right beside the door to the building. The heater and hot water worked just fine. The breakfast spread was great! Love the waffle maker as well. There's a small carpark and bicycle park just a few units down from the main stretch. The stray kitty that came to visit was friendly and affectionate!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited check in times, reception was closing early due to Midsummer Holiday, but we had no prior notice. Just as well we turned up early.

    A good breakfast and relaxed atmosphere; flexible timing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with small bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Balkon - breakfast - staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff, and lovely breakfast room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and patio were adorable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The small garden outside our room is great for a late afternoon drink and relax. Breakfast is wonderful and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am being picky but we both bumped our elbows against the bathroom counter.

    Excellent breakfast, helpful staff and amazing bed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was behind a door in the toilet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was only a small double , although comfortable

    The hotel was clean quiet and the room although small was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, comfortable beds and perfect breakfast. Josef in the reception was ever so helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and personal small hotel, nice and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and room were excellent. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quaint

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfortable bed, friendly staff, breakfast simple but well made. Super "hyggelige" surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent place, everything was perfect, great view from the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non working wifi for iPad Not dark enough blinds Small room for that price

    Good breakfast Nice staff when they were working

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception schedule

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room a bit crowded. Outside walk to room..

    Location was perfect and room cosy with close car park.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smart hotel in a fantastic location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We arrived after reception's opening hours, but everything was well prepared so that we could check in without problems. Very nice atmosphere, nice house, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ventilation in the room was not perfect but this was the only thing I can recall on the "minus"-side

    Location - within the Wall ring but still 5 min walking distance away from the crowd of the central squares. Afternoon "fika", which is a small meal, was included in the room rate. I had no idea it was! great possibility to relax and have some snack (like cheese, bread, pastry to coffee/tea).

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Junior Suite has at least two flights of stairs, might not be suitable for people with knee/leg problems

    Awesome location. Amazing staff. Breakfast in the morning and afternoon tea are superb.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Familyroom nr17 situated in a cellar without windows which was not mentioned when reserved. Showerroom and sauna were old and had some humidity problems.

    Very helpful staff. Nice breakfast room and very good breakfast+Afternoon tea.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely hotel villa rooms, well furnished, clean and plenty of facilities. Villa Borgen isa a a great asset to Visby. I have stayed twice there. Great relaxing place to stay in an excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in the jr suite in the attic. It was very spacious and peaceful (although steep stairs to get up). The room was clean, afternoon tea and breakfast were included. Loved the make your own waffle at breakfast! Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great, we walked around Old Town Visby and enjoyed our stay very much. I would recommend staying at Villa Borgen when in Visby.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were initially given a room with a very small toilet that doubled as a shower room, the shower cubicle being created with a folding door device. This meant the floor would be wet and there was a musty drain smell. We complained and we were moved to one of the newer garden rooms the next day.

    Helpfull, friendly staff. Small court yard garden. Free tea in the afternoon, very enjoyable after a busy day. Good location with easy walking distance to city attractions and car parks.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bedroom on the courtyard was nice, but lacked privacy: in the morning there were guests eating breakfast outside our window.

    Great location on the main pedestrianized street in the old town, but with allocated car parking. Bike rental. Friendly youthful staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower could really use a small rail to keep the water from going everywhere. Makes a complete mess. Otherwise lived the place.

    I loved the breakfast and tea time. Staff were super friendly and helpful. The courtyard was charming.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us there was nothing to dislike.

    We booked for three nights in late May 2015, definitely the off-season but nevertheless a relaxing time to visit Visby. The Villa Borgen is well designed, tastefully modern, well managed, perfectly located, clean, and staffed by courteous, helpful, outgoing employees. Any problems other guests may have encountered there were long ago fixed. High points: the generous tasty breakfasts and afternoon teas, the restful courtyard with its -- count 'em -- two Buddha statues and sunny tables and chairs, the subdued Scandinavian design of our bedroom with its comfortable queen-sized bed. Low point: finding the hotel (the Visby information center was totally inadequate and the hotel neither responded to my pre-arrival request for help nor included its address or a map in its confirmation). Note: we were assigned one of a half dozen "motel" units in the courtyard; it provided good value, but the room photos you will see online were taken in the larger rooms and suites in the main building.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was very helpful with giving suggestions on places we should visit during our stay. The apartment was perfect and would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, very friendly staff, yummy waffles for breakfast, afternoon tea. We stayed in the appartment and everything was simply perfect. If we are ever back in Visby - Villa Borgen is our only choice.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Rooms are very noisy as you hear the one next door and above you.

    Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mm, hard one there.

    Everything was just great.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic service and friendly staff. The included breakfast was very fresh and had a wide spread.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastisk frukost!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This hotel is ideally located for a Visby visit.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great apartment! Large and comfortable. Wonderful location. Good breakfasts and even afternoon fika!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning. Room very warm at night.

    Attention to detail. Lovely afternoon tea. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no effective blinds

    - best breakfast since years!! - tiny but very cosy rooms with everything you need - good location - very friendly service

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    difficulty to get the keys

    great location big room

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotell Villa Borgen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: