Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Opera 4 stars

Nils Ericsonsgatan 23, Centrum, 40126 Gothenburg, Sweden

#37 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4057 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had some technical problems with window closing for two nights although I had informed the front office. I could not sleep at night because of the noise from the trams below and the entering coldness. Finally the last day I saw accidentally the floor manager who took care of the problem. Cleanness was not ok especially last day.

    Excellent Breakfast more than expected. Nice location in the city center!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room had an old feel, it didnt felt like i was in an hotel with the amount of money i paid. no air condition it was very hot i had to open the window all night and i was on the first floor.

    Honestly, the first night was spoilt getting to the hotel at 12am , checking in and the night staff was'nt helpful was a bit arrogant . i wanted to cancelled my stay but it was because of the late time i got to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the Swedish quality grading system is very generous: how can this hotel be a "4 stars"???? Let's say that 2 stars would be more appropriate, though still generous... Apart 1 shower gel /shampoo sample for 4 days (no new/replacement even if missing!!!!), the dusty ancient carpets....I couldn't sleep in the room...30 degrees and no ventilation or temperature-control system...

    Position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given rooms not in the main hotel area and needed to catch a seperate lift, which reception failed to advise at check in. There was a long queue at breakfast and the overall tariff was expensive compared to our other Hotel stays in Scandinavia.

    Closeness to the station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad breakfast experience 1) the buffet was layed out in a very narrow corridor which everyone had to enter / exit through to get into the restaurant aswell - too small 2) staff had no clue that cheese, ham, coffe etc needed refilling 3) no staff to clear tables which means that people were standing with the breakfast in their hands as empty tables were full of empty plates etc 4) very long ques Room We were a couple plus child but no extra bed in room - but was arranged when we asked straight away Spa / pool On arrival we’re told pool opens at 8 in the morning the following day but that wasn’t the case, it opened at 3 pm

    Location, bedroom, cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inflexible and terrible service. Despoite arrangements before arrival to change the room to a twin bed , we had mistakenly booked a double bed, we were prompty "upgraded" to a family room at great expense. No understanding what so ever, poor service. Bad service ruined the stay, so nothing positive to say.

    probably a good hotel, but lack of service ruined our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a small window and was therefore a bit dark and claustrophobic. Long, windling corridors, quite narrow. The sockets and lamps in the room didn't work unless the lamp in the ceiling was lit, it was the same in the room next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now decoratiom of reception area is not cozy anymore. And it is ugly now. Initially they gave us s lousy room and with a double bed when I specified twin beds be suse i was wirh a friend. Room initially was very uncomfortable and with a single port to recharge cellphone.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little bit harder for our preferences.I was disappointed with the coffee.

    Nice decoration and clean room. A great variety in breakfast. The location was excellent near to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very pleased with everything about this hotel, the staff were amazingly friendly and couldn't do more to help. The breakfast was superb, fresh and tasty with many different choice options. The location was excellent also. My room was also very comfortable. When visiting back I'll definitely stay again at Hotel Opera.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was really the customer experience and satisfaction. 1. The 1st night room's toilet has no heat (no heating equipment) and the room is very cold even the heat by the window is on - I was not able to sleep at all. Therefore, I requested the room change on the 2nd Day. 2. The 2nd room is good at higher floor, but there was water dropping to my laptop in the morning. 3. I reported in the morning of 14th March, then no reply or update. 4. When I check out on the last day, and I asked again the root cause and she shout that NO WAY and it is impossible until I show the video and photo to prove... (Feel very bad with her attitude)

    The breakfast was good, they have three different kinds of fruit juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt very dated. The decor looked liked it hadn't changed for decades. The bed felt rather worn out and sagged in the middle.

    Nice & close to the main railway station. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast had a good selection & was tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wellness area doesnt meet expecations of a "Swedish Sauna" experience. Sauna was only maybe 60 degrees warm...

    convenient location for a one day biz trip to GOT. in walking distance to center and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The gym was a big cupboard with just a few pieces of equipment. Like wise the pool rather tiny... Wifi was a bit erratic and you have to get a new password every few days. No temperature control in the room. so sometimes a bit hot but mostly a bit cool.

    breakfast good, staff very good. Location excellent for the bus/train and tram to the university. Price very good....For Sweden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water for tea was warm in the lobby. Not hot. I.e no good tea. At the breakfast coffee was from the same big canister that provided this 24/7 lobby coffee. And it was not good at all. Service was impersonal and there was no real interest how the quest felt him/herself.

    Hotel was modest, but ok. Lobby and main central rooms were nicely renovated. Part of the hotel, where my room was located, was older and corridor smelled weirdly. But my single room was quiet, clean and warm. Internet connection was ok. Bed was quite comfortable. In bathroom there were amenities like soap, shampoo, conditioner, bodylotion etc. Tea and coffee was available in the lobby 24/7. In the room there was big TV, hairdryer (even though there was no socket in the bathroom) and iron with ironing table. Free bottle of sparkling water was there as well. It is very practical that keycard pocket is actually a small booklet with map of central Gothenburg inside. Really suitable for pockets and purses. Location of the hotel is clearly marked there. Breakfast was sufficient - something for everyone. There is also gym in the hotel that is accessible all day around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have appreciated a warm bathroom floor, and the kind personnel in the reception might have told me, that an evening meal on Sundays was available in the next door hotel. They just stated, that your restaurant was closed on Sundays.

    Excellent bed. Splendid breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant only barely operational in the evening (couldn't provide everything listed and what they had was edible but not more) and it was not operational at all at lunchtime. It is about to close for renovation and will probably be much better then.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good, but being Asian, would like to have at least a fried rice or noodles.

    Location and breakfast was good. Room has facilities for coffee/tea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with view right into the inner yard, and a too soft bed that made you feel like in a water bed! for the price we paid we would have expected better.

    Too highly priced mid range Hotel that uses location for pricing. Very good staff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was located in the older part of the hotel, the corridors as well as the room was very cold. The room was a bit worn, and the beds too soft.

    The location is very good, next to the central station, next to trams and buses, next to a big shopping mall. The staff helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor value for money. The room (in the old wing) had very poor lighting and was way too dark, the bathroom was freezing cold throughout my stay, and no floor heating which made the tiles even colder. No hairdryer even though one was advertised.

    Friendly staff in the reception and decent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no electric plug in the toillet. No extra blanket in the closet, I had to ask one at the reception.

    Late breakfast, untill 11h30 on weekens with a good variety.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small in comparison to other hotels

    Looks nice downstairs. Upstairs is dated and very compact. Room is not price reflective but staff are excellent and it's comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got a filthy old room with fungi everythere around the shower area (see pic attached). I asked guy at the front desk to change my room, showed him the pic and this stated that they are all booked and if I want I can use a shower in spa area. Great Joke:D they change the room next day but it was not better, worn old room that needs renovation. Not sure why the hotel has 8 rating on booking and 4 stars, location and breakfast (which are did not really enjoy, ate better ones) are not all. If you are looking for a stay near the central station definitely book something different.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are not big problems, just niggles: 1. Nearest power socket to table is too far away for the laptop - using the laptop on mains electricity meant sitting on the floor with the computer on my lap (not very comfortable). 2. Very keen on security - lift won't work without having your room key handy - but on the other hand it makes it seem safer.

    Key benefits: 1. Quiet. 2. Friendly, helpful staff. 3. Good location, right in the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the facilities need some remodelation. The entire hotel is a little bit outdated (the exception is the bar and restaurant).

    The location is perfect. Most attractions are at walking distance and the staff was super friendly and willing to help. The hotel has a very nice cafe and restaurant and the food and service were excellent. The biggest shopping mall in scandinavia is only feet away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -No power plug near the desk -Hotel restaurant has no idea what "gluen free" means -Shower knob was broken -Door lock was bad so it didn't close by itself

    in the center of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need repairs, look too old for their price. Also, there was no access to wi-fi internet for a whole afternoon.

    Very close to Gothenborg's centre and Central Station. Very good breakfast and very comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was very poor. Room was cleaned on days I did not request for it and vice versa. Toiletries were not replenished. Shower head was leaking. Wifi was almost non existent in room.

    Awesome location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took me a while to figure out how to turn the lights on (requires card) - not easy at 1am in the dark! I found the room quite hot and couldn't figure out how to lower the temperature of the room (thermostat seemed unresponsive) or open a window. Although I was kindly offered a quieter room, loud pelting rain on the windowsill woke me at 4am :-(

    Breakfast options for vegans was fantastic (oat milks, vegan 'cheese' slices, etc.). The staff when checking in were very polite and offered me an upgrade, also helpful staff at breakfast. Beds were super comfy and rooms very elegantly designed and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was really small. I could not find a place to properly open my luggage. Sound isolation could be better as you could hear too well from the neighboring room.

    The location close to central station and the communation hub of buses and trams. The staff was extremely kind. The breakfast was marvellous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms for 4* hotel very small - double bed for two persons on the absolute minimum where we did not ask for a substitute room - bath room in bad shape (cheap shaky toilet seat and lose tiles on the shower's floor) does not meet our expectations on a 4* hotel

    Breakfast was busy but very good - you can make your own waffles!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom is terrible: full of mold and fungi probably because there is no working fan. Some parts of the shower are broken. The room itself is small, the bed mediocre but still ok. There's a noisy AC (not from our room as it didn't have that feature) running directly beneath the only window which made ventilation difficult and loud. After the experience with our room we didn't want to try the spa at another 950 SEK p.p. without having it seen first. The price is a rip-off: a medium of 1600 SEK per night for a double room might be reasonable for a (****) hotel but this on gets a maximum of (**) from my wife and me! If the hostel is overbooked and you have too much money this might be a choice, otherwise: beware before booking a room that you haven't seen yourself!

    The breakfast is fine even though it can get crowded on the weekends. The location is close to the central station directly beneath a large shopping mall and not far from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description on booking.com did not reflect hotel, hotel does not have a car park, just an arrangement with nearby shopping centre car park, so its public car park. This is not reflected in booking.com site. Not sure who is to blame....the hotel or booking.com. But when travelling by car its an important element of booking an hotel. I think booking.com is very confusing with all its hotels with certain facilities offered and it should be much clearer.

    It was a nice clean hotel but totally over priced....staff were very friendly and helpful, but would not book again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not comfortable. The furniture was outdated and it was chipped or dented and the tv faced an uncomfortable couch instead of the beds, carpet was a weird colour and didn't feel very clean. Regarding the bathroom, the shower didn't have a base, something I'm not a fan of. The window looked into other rooms and there were just black out curtains, so it was either no light or being exposed to the other rooms. The room felt dark and the lights weren't enough. There were flies in the room when we arrived (odd, because the window didn't open). We found the mattress too soft, but that seems to be the norm in sweden and denmark.

    The breakfast is delicious. There are healthy options, a wide range of cold cuts, salmon and even a waffle machine. The tea offer was diverse and good quality. It was a pleasure to have breakfast, starting from the food, the staff and ending in the light and airy room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room was rather small with lack of privacy having no net curtains and being directly opposite another hotel. Had requested a room overlooking the front of the hotel and on an upper floor but instead were given a room on 1st floor and on the side overlooking a narrow passageway to a shopping centre.

    Very good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Free tea and coffee facilities available in reception area. Great location so near to the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed the comfort and amenities of the modern suite. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room.

    Right near central train station and close to everything but still quiet. Fabulous breakfast! Very helpful and friendly staff especially one receptionist who definitely went well beyond her role to help me when I had problems booking a train ticket, Liena (not sure of spelling).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The portion size of my evening dinner was disappointing for the price.

    Very central and close to amenities and sights. Just a stone's throw to the Central station. Staff excellent and breakfast really nice and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. Could hardly fit my suitcase in it and with a small kid that was very problematic. For SEK995 I expected more.

    The playground in the lobby! Perfect for relaxing while the kids are playing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 118,so small that we can at least open the luggage.The room was very old fashion.The toilet was 1 meter square maximum and there is no box around the shower so every time water everywhere.In Italy we have higher standard,this would be considered a 2 star,not for sure a 4 star hotel.

    In the heart of the city,very good breakfast,nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the hotel lobby was to strong even after adding water it was too bitter.

    The location of the hotel is really good for local transport. We only ate in the hotel at breakfast and a couple of times there was no scrambled eggs, no spoons and on 1 occasion it was difficult to get a seat. However the hotel was extremely busy both Saturday and Sunday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, great location (it was directly across from central station so public transport was easy but we just walked everywhere as it was easy to do so). We arrived early but they had rooms ready so they allowed us to check in much earlier. The room/bathroom was basic but it was plenty for us. They did offer an upgrade upon check in for just a small fee but we declined. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a little cleaner. Single room was good size and quiet but quite dark being on the first floor and overlooking the central roof area.

    Close to Station and wonderful gardens. Very good breakfast, free tea and coffee with biscuits and muffins at any time. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More electricity plugs in the room. It was very hard to spot them and charges many gadgets what we had.

    Got upgraded to the higher which meant we had nice view for the city streets. Breakfast had varietr of different food and everybody mus try their special soft waffels which everybody can prepare themselves there. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an early train so wanted breakfast from 06:30 which I was told was no problem. But the breakfast buffet was not ready at 06:30 and only a few things available. Apart from that the breakfast had a good selection of allergy friendly alternatives, milk, cereals, gluten free etc.

    Short walk from the translation, opposite the street from the mail entrance. Good value!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small, but this seems to be usual in Sweden. However, it was comfortable and functional.

    The breakfast was the best I have seen offered at any hotel. There was a very wide range of good, healthy food, making breakfast a very enjoyable part of the day. The breakfast room was easy to access, bright and well light, spacious, and practical. The best. The location downtown made it extremely easy to use public transport and to walk to many sites of interest. The Staff were always friendly and helpful. The free coffee and snacks in a room just off the lobby was extremely welcome, as we arrived with serious jet lag after 24 hours of travel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was small and facing inwards to a wall. Not much natural light. Also, the hotel in general feels a little tired. Cracks in the bathroom, etc. Enjoyed the bath though!

    Superb location right in the middle of town near the train station, can walk or cycle around easily. Staff very friendly, excellent choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and welcoming, excellent location. But the biggest appeal were the staff, extremely helpful, kind, happy and very accommodating.... thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is ok, but a bit small. Only one chair. But we slept well.

    Excellent, central location. The Norstan shopping center is in the same quarter, if you need anything or like shopping. Parking in the P-house of Norstan at a bargain price and with possibility to use the car whenever wanted during the stay. We upgraded our room for 200 SEK extra per night to sleep in the modern part of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room, but it was not disturbing at all

    It was a great idea that if you have paid the bill earlier, then when you leave the hotel then you don't need to wait at the reception to pass the room card.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my room was at corner I didnt feel very cozy. room was a bit old, out-dated facility. price/quality compared to another hotel in the same area is worse.

    cleanness; location; staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad cleaning. Unfriendly staff.

    Very bad cleaning of room. Nails from previous guest on the floor next to our bed. Old standard. Bad curtains making it impossible to sleep due to lights. A lot of noise from outdoors. Not recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much too small breakfast room, feels like in a fully booked hostel: cutleries were missing, plates were missing, a lot of food was not available. Not a good breakfast experience Many rooms are in an old building, which isn't shown on pictures. These rooms are really basic and some are dark because of the small yard behind The wellness center must be paid for some customers, a bit intransparent

    Very friendly staff at the front desk; my early check in was organized perfectly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small and old forniture. No coffe machine. The reception is nice but the rest is very old and unconfortable. Definitely not a

    Central location - Close to the airport express bus stop

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, as well as the bed.

    The location is unique. Very close to the central station and next to the bus station that comes from the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in staff could have given some more information about all that was going on in the lobby. There were selections of food set out a various times and we never knew if they were available, or not.

    The beds were very comfortable and the room was quite spacious. We stayed in the older part of the hotel, but it was still quite nice. The breakfast had a lot of variety and was very fresh and good. The locations was perfect! We were close to the train stations, mall, lots of sights. All within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived relatively late (ten minutes past midnight), the main entrance was closed and guests told they had to use their room card in order to get in (through door on the right), something that obviously wasn't an option for me and other late arriving guests. It was all a bit confusing, and an informative note about how to get the attention of the night receptionist would have been useful. I don't think I waited that long (perhaps only 3 or 4 minutes), but the feeling was of being a bit lost, while it lasted. And an electricity socket (for the laptop) close to the table would have been nice, but that's a minor detail.

    For me a great hotel, nice, convenient and close to Göteborg Central Station (150 meters!). I came very late from the Frederikshavn ferry, the room was nice and the bed perfect. Nice breakfast in the morning, the usual impressive Scandinavian standard. Fab view from my room, on the Central Station side of the hotel, and the noise isolation (windows/walls) was very good and impressive. WiFi worked very well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is quite aged.

    Excellent breakfast. I also saw the manager of hotel, in person, catching garbage (cleaning) in front of hotel. Amazing but shows how details they take care.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft for me but my friends they liked it!.

    The hotel's location was perfect. You could reach the restaurants and shopping centers just by foots!.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the wellness becuse it was so quiet with relaxing music 🎶 and you can get comfort form the pool and you can get some rest in there Cool lobby delicious breakfast ❤

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as i was only there 1 night, did not need to avail myself of many amenities - but the room i was given was amazingly small, might not have been suitably comfortable for a longer stay

    super easy to get to from gothenburg central station and ideally located literally in the center of the city - excellent breakfast - 2 towels in the bathroom, a plus!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vi ville ha ett rum högt upp, lugnt läge och utsikt. Vi fick ett trångt rum högt upp med noll utsikt (trots att den vänliga flickan i receptionen påstod att det var utsikt!!). Efter byte (mot pristillägg) fick vi ett fint rum med utsikt (och relativt högt upp men mot pristillägg). Den framskymtade att via booking.com får man ett "sämre" rum än om vi hade talat direkt med hotellet.

    Bra sängar. Riklig och god frukost. Fint rum (efter byte till rum i den nya delen med pristillägg på 400 kronor för 2 nätter)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little more than I usually spend in Europe but I'm not sure how it compares to Swedish prices. The shower was weird. It has no divider and the water goes all over the bathroom floor. You are suppose to use a squeegee to push it into the drain. The Nordstrom mall next store has gangs of foreign teenagers hanging out and harassing women which made me uncomfortable carrying cash but this is not the fault of the hotel but I would not advise going in Nordstrom after 2100hrs.

    Staff was friendly. The room was big enough and everything was close. Breakfast buffet had everything from fish, meats,breads and cereals to eggs and bacon. Flat screen tv had some English stations The staff let me check in early because I arrived by boat and were helpful with tourist maps and directions. A super location if you want the airport bus or Swedish trains.Right across the street from the station. The ferries are a $15 taxi ride and you can walk if you have no luggage.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were basic but clean. The bed was under the window which there was a small draft. I didn't complain as the hotel was full and maybe now I think I should have asked. Too polite!

    Brilliant friendly and very helpful reception staff. Excellent buffet breakfast and also complimentary tea and coffee in the day. Bathroom was very clean. Room clean but basic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Första rummet luktade rök. Det löstes dock utan problem. Fisken i restaurangen var inte ordentligt tillagad. Frukostpersonalen var inte service minded. Jag bad om smör som inte någon annan har tagit ifrån (celiaki) men det gick inte att få..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater and wifi should be better. Long walking from lift to room Nothing to see from window

    Excellent location with helpful staffs and very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to leave very early at 4am. I was told a packed breakfast would be ready. Yes, I did receive breakfast but I had to make the pack myself i.e. butter the bread, slice the cheese, slice the tomatoes etc. Probably being picky but I didn't really allow enough time for this as I thought it would be packed.

    Excellent location and good value for money. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was tiny and dingy. The mattresess where old. We payed extra to get two beds and where then told we should move the beds apart ourselfs The service was nonexisting over all. Even the breakfast was under normal standard.

    Inget var bra.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great position, confortable and superclean room, modern furniture and bathroom equipments, kind staff, great breakfast (wide variety of sweet and salty produts, a lot of fresh fruit)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initially we were given a room in the old part of the hotel which was awful. The hotel re-located us and while this room was better, it still looked nothing like the web pictures. Reception staff were generally dis-interested and could improve their service skills.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. Everything was very old and run down. Bathroom was horrible. The shower curtains was in your face if you sat on the toilet. Room was also dirty and did not feel like a 4 star hotel at all.

    Location was great. Breakfast was very good and had a large selection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That you could not alone start the jacuzzi so I could not enjoy fully the wellness centre. There was no information what to to and the phone didn't work. I didn't want to dress again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hardly had any sleep at this hotel as pipes were making loud, unpleasant noises and keeping me awake all night. Hotel didn't offer any refund for this, which considering the high price was very disappointing.

    Great location, nice facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger gym facilities, slow lifts, general maintenance (see attached foto), ask for quite room if you want to avoid being placed towards big noisy street

    Just next to central station. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Opera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: