Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Opera This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Nils Ericsonsgatan 23, Centrum, 40126 Gothenburg, Sweden

#33 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4068 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel at the heart of Gothenburg.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking on the street nor hotel parking lot. No pre information from booking.com page, where to park the car.

    Nice hotel at the very good location of Gothenburg. Good Breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt stale and the furniture is tired, but we were able to open the windows (a BIG plus) which was great. The shower poured out onto the floor (no raised hob) so the whole floor got wet (very impractical design).

    The location was great for us as we were catching a train to Denmark from Central Station in the morning. The hotel looks very nice but the room we had could do with upgrading (old furniture, stale smell). The room was basic and the bed was small, but it was otherwise comfortable. It had what's necessary from my point of view—a small fridge, a good TV with international channels, free and excellent wifi, a warm and sound proof room, two bedside tables with lamps and power points, openable windows and tea and coffee making facilities. There is an excellent restaurant (Angelini's) where we ate dinner and had a fantastic breakfast the next morning (included in the price). It was perfect for one night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Cozy lobby with a blazing fireplace and magical aura
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was well

    check in was smooth and speedy. The room was cozy and well decorated. The bed very comfy. Breakfast was excellent. Location is wonderful since it was downtown and right across from the bus/train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in the center of Göteborg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are missing the pancakes at breakfast.

    Nice hotel in the center of Göteborg. The receptions was very kind to take care of our kids so they could visit the spa after 18:00.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.9
    Property is well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating wasn’t working in my room during the first night. After mentioning this to the staff, they gave me a heater to help out. It was good enough for one night. The heating system in the corridor leading to my room also didn’t work.....

    Property is well located. Easy access to train station and city. Overall clean and bed was comfy. Staff helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    - The hotel is placed near the main station in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet is placed in the restaurant and the restaurant is very small. It took up to 15 minutes till the staff put away the used dishes so it was a little bit difficult to find a clean and prepared place.

    - The hotel is placed near the main station in the citycenter which is very practical. - You get a huge discount in the parking house of the shoppingcenter next to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A clean, modern hotel with a fantastic location right next to the central train station. The staff was really helpful, everything from holding my luggage when I arrived early, to putting a space heater in room, to giving me an extra key. My room was clean and comfortable with a great view over the city. The breakfast was great, with little extras such as non-dairy milk. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    6.7
    Surprisingly good breakfast but the hotel really needs to do something about their beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was for two but the BED was narrow, perhaps 140 cm, with a weak and old mattress. The room was super small with as I said a small bed. I was traveling alone and only slept there so for me it was ok though.

    The Breakfast was super good with a broad selection and suitable for people from different parts of the globe. I would recommend it to anyone and might be going back to Hotel Opera only for the Breakfast. The placement of Plates and Bowls need to be changed though. They are placed low down under the counter where people are standing in the queue and you basically bow down and end up looking up under the ladies skirts. I also appreciated the free mineral water bottles on the bedside tables.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    5.8
    Comfy sofas in the reception area and comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could have two doors. Now the toilet got completely wet. The room and bathroom needs to rehabilitated and were old. Many marks on the doors and walls and you got the feeling that it was not clean - ecpecially the wall to wall carpet.

    Comfy sofas in the reception area and comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    5.8
    A night at the Opera
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was small, which was expected, but beds awfully uncomfortable. room too hot, open windows and the noise from fans was unbearable - no A/C. did not replace shampoo etc or complimentary water.

    breakfast was fine, plenty of choice. although eggs were cold, which at 630 when it opened was surprising (for 3 days running)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.1
    Not bad but not for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nowhere it was written on booking.com that the price did not include the access to the swimming pool. Had I known that before, I would have booked another hotel. There is an obvious logistic problem at the breakfast buffet ;-)

    Excellent location. Hard to beat on that point. The rooms seem to be soundproofed. The blinders make the room dark enough for a good sleep. Most of the staff smile. Ok breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel Opera was the perfect location to stay in Gothenburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the scrambled eggs to be a bit runny for our liking, which seems to be how they are prepared in Sweden. The price was a bit high for the rooms, but we also chose to have the bigger rooms.

    The hotel was right near Central Station making it so convenient when arriving by train. The staff was very friendly and super helpful. The deluxe rooms were big and the beds & showers were great. We loved being able to catch trams & busses right across the street to get all around the city. It was also close enough to walk to most locations if you are a walker. They had a great breakfast buffet with lots of choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    absolute one before the central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of them. Kind staffs. The location cannot be better. 1 minute from the central station. Shopping mall is just out of the entrance. Breakfast at which lots of foods were on. The room (I got upgraded for free) was spacious and comfortable for me. I could see the city's main road from my room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    5.0
    Would not book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Frontdesk staff was ok. Room could have been cleaner. Not very practical.

    I wold not book this hotel again. location is very good. breakfast was good as well , the rest not so very much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    8.8
    A good and comfortable Hotel in the heart of Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The traffic noise could be heard, but it did not stop me from sleeping!

    The hotel is located in the heart of the city, on foot you can reach the most important things to visit and the opera house. A stone's throw from the central station and the most important connections to reach the city everywhere. The staff are very courteous and helpful, the room clean, welcoming and comfortable beds. The breakfast is very varied and with excellent and very fresh products. The restaurant is convenient for a quick dinner or lunch. It does not have a very varied menu but the quality of the food is tasty and well cooked and the staff polite and friendly. I will definitely come back to this Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    7.1
    Great Spa and lovely breakfast, but uncomfortable bed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn’t provide any large double beds with a single fixed mattress. They moved me to a different room but the bed was the same! Two single beds pushed together. It was uncomfortable and difficult to sleep at night.

    Spa facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    3.8
    It was so awful we checked out early and paid the penalty fee, front desk was awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was awful and way too over priced and the staff was unhelpful. They refused to even share their own hotel policy, we had to ring Booking.com to contact the hotel and ask on our behalf

    It's in the best location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.3
    Reasonable and nice hotel close to Central Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Short on staff during check-out (queue) - The gym was too small - The drinks at the bar were poor - No mini-bar in the hotel room

    - The bed was comfortable and soft - I was placed in the new renovated area , which was quiet and modern - Location (close to Central Station) - Good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.0
    DONT BOOK the small room (it is terrible)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is sad that a 4-star hotel has the standards to offer the Small Double Room. The photos are taken from a perspective that does not show how the real room is. The lack of AC just makes it worse, having to enjoy all the heat and the city night noise. The bed was bad, the room is sadly small and old. My recommendation if you stay in this hotel (which I recommend you do not) DO NOT BOOK the small room.

    The only good thing was the staff but I won't return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    8.8
    Great friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast queues Simple solution Move the bread from the entrance area to another area of the room. Just a thought

    Great friendly staff The decor is a bit dated but very clean Nice breakfast choices

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Great hotel in great area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is very well appointed. The staff were incredibly helpful. The room was perfect for us, and accommodated a trundle bed with plenty of room. This hotel is right across from Central Station and walking distance to great cafes, restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    4.6
    Location good room and breakfast is bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I reserved the hotel with my family, my room was nice but the other 3 rooms is below expectation and one of the room without a window. Moreover, we called the hotel to confirm that the room has an aircon system and they confirmed it but once we recieced the room too small and they provide us with a small fan. Finally, their breakfast is too bad for Adult and children i went in the first day and the other two days i was having my breakfast outside

    The Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    Very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found nails on the floor, and we found two MOTHS on the ceiling - the room was obviously not proper and clean. The hotel offered to pay us back 50% of the last night, but we couldn’t change rooms...

    Very well located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    Nice room, perfect breakfast, excelent place -in front of...
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Central ventilation. It was so cold in my room and i couldn't do anything to solve this. Lady from service gave me a heater-this is haw I survived. It's totaly uncomfortable that you can' t regulate climate in your room

    Nice room, perfect breakfast, excelent place -in front of central station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, great breakfast, quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You should include an info about the Nordstan parking, so that guests know you have a cooperation with them and that you will get a bit cheaper parking when buying via the hotel.

    Great location, friendly staff, great breakfast, quiet hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    6.7
    Comercial stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had some technical problems with window closing for two nights although I had informed the front office. I could not sleep at night because of the noise from the trams below and the entering coldness. Finally the last day I saw accidentally the floor manager who took care of the problem. Cleanness was not ok especially last day.

    Excellent Breakfast more than expected. Nice location in the city center!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    5.0
    not an hotel i would want to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room had an old feel, it didnt felt like i was in an hotel with the amount of money i paid. no air condition it was very hot i had to open the window all night and i was on the first floor.

    Honestly, the first night was spoilt getting to the hotel at 12am , checking in and the night staff was'nt helpful was a bit arrogant . i wanted to cancelled my stay but it was because of the late time i got to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    4.6
    Hot...but only for the temperature....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the Swedish quality grading system is very generous: how can this hotel be a "4 stars"???? Let's say that 2 stars would be more appropriate, though still generous... Apart 1 shower gel /shampoo sample for 4 days (no new/replacement even if missing!!!!), the dusty ancient carpets....I couldn't sleep in the room...30 degrees and no ventilation or temperature-control system...

    Position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.3
    Closeness to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given rooms not in the main hotel area and needed to catch a seperate lift, which reception failed to advise at check in. There was a long queue at breakfast and the overall tariff was expensive compared to our other Hotel stays in Scandinavia.

    Closeness to the station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    6.3
    Location, bedroom, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very bad breakfast experience 1) the buffet was layed out in a very narrow corridor which everyone had to enter / exit through to get into the restaurant aswell - too small 2) staff had no clue that cheese, ham, coffe etc needed refilling 3) no staff to clear tables which means that people were standing with the breakfast in their hands as empty tables were full of empty plates etc 4) very long ques Room We were a couple plus child but no extra bed in room - but was arranged when we asked straight away Spa / pool On arrival we’re told pool opens at 8 in the morning the following day but that wasn’t the case, it opened at 3 pm

    Location, bedroom, cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    probably a good hotel, but lack of service ruined our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inflexible and terrible service. Despoite arrangements before arrival to change the room to a twin bed , we had mistakenly booked a double bed, we were prompty "upgraded" to a family room at great expense. No understanding what so ever, poor service. Bad service ruined the stay, so nothing positive to say.

    probably a good hotel, but lack of service ruined our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was ok, but I won't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a small window and was therefore a bit dark and claustrophobic. Long, windling corridors, quite narrow. The sockets and lamps in the room didn't work unless the lamp in the ceiling was lit, it was the same in the room next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    6.7
    Thank you to administrator that moved us to a better room. Opera hotel must improve its bedrooms a
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Now decoratiom of reception area is not cozy anymore. And it is ugly now. Initially they gave us s lousy room and with a double bed when I specified twin beds be suse i was wirh a friend. Room initially was very uncomfortable and with a single port to recharge cellphone.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a little bit harder for our preferences.I was disappointed with the coffee.

    Nice decoration and clean room. A great variety in breakfast. The location was excellent near to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    A perfect stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was very pleased with everything about this hotel, the staff were amazingly friendly and couldn't do more to help. The breakfast was superb, fresh and tasty with many different choice options. The location was excellent also. My room was also very comfortable. When visiting back I'll definitely stay again at Hotel Opera.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    3.8
    Hotel could be better with better frontdesk, I could not find any reason to come back again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was really the customer experience and satisfaction. 1. The 1st night room's toilet has no heat (no heating equipment) and the room is very cold even the heat by the window is on - I was not able to sleep at all. Therefore, I requested the room change on the 2nd Day. 2. The 2nd room is good at higher floor, but there was water dropping to my laptop in the morning. 3. I reported in the morning of 14th March, then no reply or update. 4. When I check out on the last day, and I asked again the root cause and she shout that NO WAY and it is impossible until I show the video and photo to prove... (Feel very bad with her attitude)

    The breakfast was good, they have three different kinds of fruit juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.9
    Central hotel but with rather dated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room felt very dated. The decor looked liked it hadn't changed for decades. The bed felt rather worn out and sagged in the middle.

    Nice & close to the main railway station. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast had a good selection & was tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    7.1
    convenient location for a one day biz trip to GOT.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wellness area doesnt meet expecations of a "Swedish Sauna" experience. Sauna was only maybe 60 degrees warm...

    convenient location for a one day biz trip to GOT. in walking distance to center and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.9
    breakfast good, staff very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The gym was a big cupboard with just a few pieces of equipment. Like wise the pool rather tiny... Wifi was a bit erratic and you have to get a new password every few days. No temperature control in the room. so sometimes a bit hot but mostly a bit cool.

    breakfast good, staff very good. Location excellent for the bus/train and tram to the university. Price very good....For Sweden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    8.3
    Central and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water for tea was warm in the lobby. Not hot. I.e no good tea. At the breakfast coffee was from the same big canister that provided this 24/7 lobby coffee. And it was not good at all. Service was impersonal and there was no real interest how the quest felt him/herself.

    Hotel was modest, but ok. Lobby and main central rooms were nicely renovated. Part of the hotel, where my room was located, was older and corridor smelled weirdly. But my single room was quiet, clean and warm. Internet connection was ok. Bed was quite comfortable. In bathroom there were amenities like soap, shampoo, conditioner, bodylotion etc. Tea and coffee was available in the lobby 24/7. In the room there was big TV, hairdryer (even though there was no socket in the bathroom) and iron with ironing table. Free bottle of sparkling water was there as well. It is very practical that keycard pocket is actually a small booklet with map of central Gothenburg inside. Really suitable for pockets and purses. Location of the hotel is clearly marked there. Breakfast was sufficient - something for everyone. There is also gym in the hotel that is accessible all day around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have appreciated a warm bathroom floor, and the kind personnel in the reception might have told me, that an evening meal on Sundays was available in the next door hotel. They just stated, that your restaurant was closed on Sundays.

    Excellent bed. Splendid breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.5
    Close to railway station but there are lots of other hotels equally close.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant only barely operational in the evening (couldn't provide everything listed and what they had was edible but not more) and it was not operational at all at lunchtime. It is about to close for renovation and will probably be much better then.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.6
    Location and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good, but being Asian, would like to have at least a fried rice or noodles.

    Location and breakfast was good. Room has facilities for coffee/tea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    6.3
    Not value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with view right into the inner yard, and a too soft bed that made you feel like in a water bed! for the price we paid we would have expected better.

    Too highly priced mid range Hotel that uses location for pricing. Very good staff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    5.0
    A disappointment as to the room, perfect for the trains and the opera
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was located in the older part of the hotel, the corridors as well as the room was very cold. The room was a bit worn, and the beds too soft.

    The location is very good, next to the central station, next to trams and buses, next to a big shopping mall. The staff helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    4.6
    Poor value for money in a hotel which needs some serious shaping up
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor value for money. The room (in the old wing) had very poor lighting and was way too dark, the bathroom was freezing cold throughout my stay, and no floor heating which made the tiles even colder. No hairdryer even though one was advertised.

    Friendly staff in the reception and decent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    Superb location. Breakfast served until late.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no electric plug in the toillet. No extra blanket in the closet, I had to ask one at the reception.

    Late breakfast, untill 11h30 on weekens with a good variety.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    8.3
    Expensive but compact. comfortable and friendly. If there's nothing else it's fine
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small in comparison to other hotels

    Looks nice downstairs. Upstairs is dated and very compact. Room is not price reflective but staff are excellent and it's comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    3.3
    Avoid, worn old hotel with fungi in the shower, there are many other better nearby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got a filthy old room with fungi everythere around the shower area (see pic attached). I asked guy at the front desk to change my room, showed him the pic and this stated that they are all booked and if I want I can use a shower in spa area. Great Joke:D they change the room next day but it was not better, worn old room that needs renovation. Not sure why the hotel has 8 rating on booking and 4 stars, location and breakfast (which are did not really enjoy, ate better ones) are not all. If you are looking for a stay near the central station definitely book something different.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in Gothenburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are not big problems, just niggles: 1. Nearest power socket to table is too far away for the laptop - using the laptop on mains electricity meant sitting on the floor with the computer on my lap (not very comfortable). 2. Very keen on security - lift won't work without having your room key handy - but on the other hand it makes it seem safer.

    Key benefits: 1. Quiet. 2. Friendly, helpful staff. 3. Good location, right in the centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    9.2
    great location, nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the facilities need some remodelation. The entire hotel is a little bit outdated (the exception is the bar and restaurant).

    The location is perfect. Most attractions are at walking distance and the staff was super friendly and willing to help. The hotel has a very nice cafe and restaurant and the food and service were excellent. The biggest shopping mall in scandinavia is only feet away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    5.8
    in the center of town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -No power plug near the desk -Hotel restaurant has no idea what "gluen free" means -Shower knob was broken -Door lock was bad so it didn't close by itself

    in the center of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.5
    Very close to Gothenborg's centre and Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need repairs, look too old for their price. Also, there was no access to wi-fi internet for a whole afternoon.

    Very close to Gothenborg's centre and Central Station. Very good breakfast and very comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    6.3
    Awesome location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service was very poor. Room was cleaned on days I did not request for it and vice versa. Toiletries were not replenished. Shower head was leaking. Wifi was almost non existent in room.

    Awesome location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, great breakfast options
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took me a while to figure out how to turn the lights on (requires card) - not easy at 1am in the dark! I found the room quite hot and couldn't figure out how to lower the temperature of the room (thermostat seemed unresponsive) or open a window. Although I was kindly offered a quieter room, loud pelting rain on the windowsill woke me at 4am :-(

    Breakfast options for vegans was fantastic (oat milks, vegan 'cheese' slices, etc.). The staff when checking in were very polite and offered me an upgrade, also helpful staff at breakfast. Beds were super comfy and rooms very elegantly designed and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for a short term visit in Gothenburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room was really small. I could not find a place to properly open my luggage. Sound isolation could be better as you could hear too well from the neighboring room.

    The location close to central station and the communation hub of buses and trams. The staff was extremely kind. The breakfast was marvellous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    6.7
    Good location but way off 4* standard - especially in Sweden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms for 4* hotel very small - double bed for two persons on the absolute minimum where we did not ask for a substitute room - bath room in bad shape (cheap shaky toilet seat and lose tiles on the shower's floor) does not meet our expectations on a 4* hotel

    Breakfast was busy but very good - you can make your own waffles!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    5.4
    Fungi in bathroom and bad ventilation: Much too expensive for what it offers!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom is terrible: full of mold and fungi probably because there is no working fan. Some parts of the shower are broken. The room itself is small, the bed mediocre but still ok. There's a noisy AC (not from our room as it didn't have that feature) running directly beneath the only window which made ventilation difficult and loud. After the experience with our room we didn't want to try the spa at another 950 SEK p.p. without having it seen first. The price is a rip-off: a medium of 1600 SEK per night for a double room might be reasonable for a (****) hotel but this on gets a maximum of (**) from my wife and me! If the hostel is overbooked and you have too much money this might be a choice, otherwise: beware before booking a room that you haven't seen yourself!

    The breakfast is fine even though it can get crowded on the weekends. The location is close to the central station directly beneath a large shopping mall and not far from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    6.7
    Good but over priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The description on booking.com did not reflect hotel, hotel does not have a car park, just an arrangement with nearby shopping centre car park, so its public car park. This is not reflected in booking.com site. Not sure who is to blame....the hotel or booking.com. But when travelling by car its an important element of booking an hotel. I think booking.com is very confusing with all its hotels with certain facilities offered and it should be much clearer.

    It was a nice clean hotel but totally over priced....staff were very friendly and helpful, but would not book again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    6.3
    Delicious breakfast but dissapointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not comfortable. The furniture was outdated and it was chipped or dented and the tv faced an uncomfortable couch instead of the beds, carpet was a weird colour and didn't feel very clean. Regarding the bathroom, the shower didn't have a base, something I'm not a fan of. The window looked into other rooms and there were just black out curtains, so it was either no light or being exposed to the other rooms. The room felt dark and the lights weren't enough. There were flies in the room when we arrived (odd, because the window didn't open). We found the mattress too soft, but that seems to be the norm in sweden and denmark.

    The breakfast is delicious. There are healthy options, a wide range of cold cuts, salmon and even a waffle machine. The tea offer was diverse and good quality. It was a pleasure to have breakfast, starting from the food, the staff and ending in the light and airy room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable night but if staying longer would have asked for a better room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room was rather small with lack of privacy having no net curtains and being directly opposite another hotel. Had requested a room overlooking the front of the hotel and on an upper floor but instead were given a room on 1st floor and on the side overlooking a narrow passageway to a shopping centre.

    Very good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Free tea and coffee facilities available in reception area. Great location so near to the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Excellent service and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed the comfort and amenities of the modern suite. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.9
    Right near central train station and close to everything but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room.

    Right near central train station and close to everything but still quiet. Fabulous breakfast! Very helpful and friendly staff especially one receptionist who definitely went well beyond her role to help me when I had problems booking a train ticket, Liena (not sure of spelling).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    8.8
    Opera Hotel stay Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The portion size of my evening dinner was disappointing for the price.

    Very central and close to amenities and sights. Just a stone's throw to the Central station. Staff excellent and breakfast really nice and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    7.1
    The playground in the lobby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small. Could hardly fit my suitcase in it and with a small kid that was very problematic. For SEK995 I expected more.

    The playground in the lobby! Perfect for relaxing while the kids are playing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    5.4
    Not so good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in room 118,so small that we can at least open the luggage.The room was very old fashion.The toilet was 1 meter square maximum and there is no box around the shower so every time water everywhere.In Italy we have higher standard,this would be considered a 2 star,not for sure a 4 star hotel.

    In the heart of the city,very good breakfast,nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Ideal situation, friendly stafff just need to improve coffee in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee in the hotel lobby was to strong even after adding water it was too bitter.

    The location of the hotel is really good for local transport. We only ate in the hotel at breakfast and a couple of times there was no scrambled eggs, no spoons and on 1 occasion it was difficult to get a seat. However the hotel was extremely busy both Saturday and Sunday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, great location (it was directly across from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice hotel, great location (it was directly across from central station so public transport was easy but we just walked everywhere as it was easy to do so). We arrived early but they had rooms ready so they allowed us to check in much earlier. The room/bathroom was basic but it was plenty for us. They did offer an upgrade upon check in for just a small fee but we declined. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    7.9
    Well satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower could have been a little cleaner. Single room was good size and quiet but quite dark being on the first floor and overlooking the central roof area.

    Close to Station and wonderful gardens. Very good breakfast, free tea and coffee with biscuits and muffins at any time. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    Got upgraded to the higher which meant we had nice view for...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More electricity plugs in the room. It was very hard to spot them and charges many gadgets what we had.

    Got upgraded to the higher which meant we had nice view for the city streets. Breakfast had varietr of different food and everybody mus try their special soft waffels which everybody can prepare themselves there. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.3
    Ok good value for a short stay, central location to train and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an early train so wanted breakfast from 06:30 which I was told was no problem. But the breakfast buffet was not ready at 06:30 and only a few things available. Apart from that the breakfast had a good selection of allergy friendly alternatives, milk, cereals, gluten free etc.

    Short walk from the translation, opposite the street from the mail entrance. Good value!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    8.8
    A great base from which to explore the city,
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small, but this seems to be usual in Sweden. However, it was comfortable and functional.

    The breakfast was the best I have seen offered at any hotel. There was a very wide range of good, healthy food, making breakfast a very enjoyable part of the day. The breakfast room was easy to access, bright and well light, spacious, and practical. The best. The location downtown made it extremely easy to use public transport and to walk to many sites of interest. The Staff were always friendly and helpful. The free coffee and snacks in a room just off the lobby was extremely welcome, as we arrived with serious jet lag after 24 hours of travel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.9
    Great location but needs sprucing up a little!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was small and facing inwards to a wall. Not much natural light. Also, the hotel in general feels a little tired. Cracks in the bathroom, etc. Enjoyed the bath though!

    Superb location right in the middle of town near the train station, can walk or cycle around easily. Staff very friendly, excellent choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    10
    Outstanding customer service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, comfortable and welcoming, excellent location. But the biggest appeal were the staff, extremely helpful, kind, happy and very accommodating.... thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is ok, but a bit small. Only one chair. But we slept well.

    Excellent, central location. The Norstan shopping center is in the same quarter, if you need anything or like shopping. Parking in the P-house of Norstan at a bargain price and with possibility to use the car whenever wanted during the stay. We upgraded our room for 200 SEK extra per night to sleep in the modern part of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Opera Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: