Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rival 4 stars

Mariatorget 3, Södermalm, 118 91 Stockholm, Sweden

#3 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1044 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    My favourite hotel in Sweden
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel Rival is beautifully decorated, it is stylish and modern. The customer service is excellent, the staff are friendly and knowledgeable. It is spotlessly clean and the food is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again if coming to Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only slight gripe was that the curtains let a fair bit of light in underneath - the sun was up quite early so that's the only reason we noticed.

    Really quiet room, seemed to be well sound-proofed. Breakfast had a good selection and was to a reasonable time for holidaymakers (until 1030/1130 at weekends). Really clean, good staff at reception, just remember to add valet parking before your stay if you're planning on bringing a car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    great choice..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    action jackson...lively in the evening but gets quiet early enough...best morning breakfast layout i've seen...they look after their guests by ordering taxis to the airport with a set fare and clean ...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    one of the best in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there was nothing that i hated about the hotel. the only thing that i disliked was the location which even though it was a very good one everything was a walk away it still was kinda far compared to the other hotels.

    one of the best hotels that i ever stayed in. everything was better than what i heard about the breakfast in particular was amazing i would recommend trying it at least once. the room also had a very nice view overlooking the garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    This was our second memorable stay in a unique hotel, in lovely area of Stockholm.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than the one we had for our previous stay, and with less of a view.

    The restaurant's food was excellent, staff professional and the vibe great. Our family group of six adults and a toddler were catered for with flexibility and efficiency to make evening a memorable event. Reception staff friendly, welcoming, and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Fsbulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in - it was clean, comfortable, the staff were very efficient and accommodating - the food in the Restaurant was amazing and reasonably priced - I canbonly recommend this hotel highly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Location was great, breakfast was excellent (chef prepared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was great, breakfast was excellent (chef prepared sandwiches, croissants and pain at chocolate for us when we had to check out early), room was very quiet and clean, coffee bar all day long was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    One of my favorite hotels in Stockholm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit sad that we could not sit outside on the terrace later the 21 o'clock :-( Since this was a very hot summer, we could have needed a ventilation or even AC in our room :-(

    We especially liked the look and design of this historical hotel in the style of the 20s/30s! We also appreciated the beautiful and delicious breakfast buffet, including the smoked and cured salmon!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little small but very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the stay.

    Very clean. Staff excellent. Good location. Situated in nice square. Near tube station and easy access round Stockholm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    I wasn't expexting that most of the rooms are without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't expexting that most of the rooms are without A/C. Luckily, we were upgraded to the room with A/C. Usually, it wouldn't be a problem but Stockholm suffered the extreme heat during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Would highly recommend this hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lower level bar was not opened

    It was terrific location fantastic welcoming helpful staff in all areas and beds and bed linen Fabulous . Would highly recommend . Cafe also great bonus

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Amazing stay. No need to Chek other sthlm hotels :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel lovely area. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff. The only downside was that I had to upgrade to a superior room (and even then it wasn't guaranteed. You'd have to upgrade to deluxe to get it for sure) to get an air conditioning in the room. And it was indeed required part of the time due to August heat. . But I would definitely go back next time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Blend with the locals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is important to get the right room. Not all of them are that great.

    I am a returning guest This is my favourite hotel in Stockholm. I like the area, the french windows, the breakfast and the friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastically luxurious bedding and extra quiet location. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant on nights, both delicious. Staff were lovely. Quiet efficient air conditioning made the hotel a wonderful refuge in Sweden's unusual heatwave.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The air conditioning was very poor, it didn’t get cold and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was very poor, it didn’t get cold and was very noise. It was very warm in Stockholm and we couldn’t get the room cold the 5 nights we spend at the Hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Th eggs were watery but everything else was wonderful. Great staff and loved the interior design. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and it was the best meal we had during our four day stay. Kudos to everyone and I will recommend to all my friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A most enjoyable stay with polite and helpful staff running a very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Our room with view through tree tops to park across the very quiet square. The balcony you could sit out on and enjoy a drink. Particularly, the ironing board and iron cleverly installed in closet. The coffee machine and laptop work area setup on each floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in rooms. Bathroom in standard room very small.

    Quiet location. Bed was very comfortable. Staff very friendly but were unable to help with information re ferries etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Happy with my stay with Hotel Rival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room is a bit too small, I should book a bigger room, but it is much more expensive for leisure travel.

    Excellent breakfast and I like the location which is close to the subway station and bus stop. The park in front of the hotel is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved the hotel, staff and the excellent food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a first time visitor to Stockholm, the location wasn't the best. I would have preferred to be nearer the city center and shopping district.

    Food was wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Rival performs as one can expect from a hotel of this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Rival performs as one can expect from a hotel of this level. The staff is great; polite, friendly, helpful and responsive. I wish to especially point out the breakfast staff, where they really make an effort in keeping it clean and neat AND actually wipe the tables between guests - something that hotel guests in Sweden are not spoilt with. The breakfast itself is impressively great. Can’t leave a review without mentioning the fabulous neighbourhood surrounding the hotel - without a doubt one of the nicest in Stockholm. The restaurant scene has been good for many years but is now excelling further.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Incredible Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing hotel. Incredible location, beautiful rooms with great views, lovely staff, the list goes on. I live out of hotels for work so I know the good vs the bad and this is one of the best. I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really dislike the trend of having a window from the room into the bathroom. There was a shade, but why have the window at all?

    The reception was very helpful about finding reasonably priced parking close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    amazing breakfast and beautiful location. quiet spot just outside the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    incredible breakfast included! smoked salmon, breads, juices, view of the park outside. great location two stops from gamla stan, and right on a little park/square in a very nice neighborhood with bars restaurants and shops nearby. interesting decor throughout the hotel. super convenient free coffee station open 24/7.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Great location with a welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful, welcoming staff. We upgraded to a room overlooking the park and thought it was well worth the expense. The breakfast is also a bargain with a huge selection and a wide selection of tasty and interesting food. We easily walked to and from the old town. We'll stay at the Rival again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel for business and pleasure. Good to explore Stockholm
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good sized room with good layout and nice bathroom. Everything needed to stay a few days were there. The Blue Ray Player and DVDs and CDs was a nice touch. TV was equipped with several plugs for connection with laptop PC but I didn't have a cable. Not needed but reception probably could have helped. Great breakfast selection with attentive staff. Hotel Rival has lots of restaurants and bars nearby, so it's easy to find somewhere to go in the evenings. The historic old town is about 15 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxed , comfortable and friendly home from home .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We upgraded to a Deluxe Room - view over the square - better bathroom facilities . Very comfortable ,spacious room - choice of pillows and a decent sized bath - excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The bed was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was superb. Beautiful smooth sheets and a huge choice of pillows The complimentary coffee and water station on the 4th. floor was much appreciated and despite the popularity of the hotel over the weekend, my room was quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    The city was a delight to walk around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was terrific, tons of choice. Every member of staff were helpful to the nth degree. A special mention to the concierge Mr. Séan Naughton who gave us great advice about Stockholm City’s many delights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Thank you for making our honeymoon/stockholm special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly I cannot think of one thing.

    Fun hotel with very friendly staff. Great breakfast and the lobby is full of life on evenings. We really enjoyed our experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely city trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was rather small for the standard and price of the room. Our room was very quiet, as we were looking onto apartments and a courtyard. However this meant people could see us directly as well - perhaps a white thin curtain would help (Not the dark ones for the night). Also the lighting wasn't great in the room, atmospheric but not necessarily practical.

    Unique room and design in the whole hotel. The 'extras' were wonderful; such as CDs in the room, the audio and heated floor in the bathroom, coffee maker in the corridor and very rich breakfast service. Staff were friendly and accommodating! Location was perfect! Walking distance to the old town, metro and other public transport on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Nicely fitted out hotel on a pleasant square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom quite small. Bar was closed in afternoon.

    Good breakfast selection - wonderful bread. Our room was at the back and very quiet, even with the window open. Heated floor in bathroom was a nice touch. Lots of lovely pillows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Unique and well-placed place to stay in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are relatively small but work fine.

    It's rare to find a top hotel that retains its individuality. Hotel Rival was a excellent place to stay for three nights in Stockholm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff at reception
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Noise from theatre late Friday afternoon- and during the evening to a lesser extent . We were 3 floors up !

    Friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    The food was excellent with an abundance of choices but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On a sunny day the room was unbearably hot despite the fact that it was so cold outside. We could not find a way to monitor the temperature. The bathroom was small as expected but no where to hang towels which made you want to get a fresh towel daily despite the wastefulness of doing so.

    The food was excellent with an abundance of choices but somewhat chaotic and line to get items like coffee. The view from our room was spectacular. The staff was helpful and friendly and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous welcoming vibrant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous room with balcony overlooking a lovely square. Comfy bed, luxurious bathroom with bath and walk in shower. Cds and DVDs provided for your entertainment. It was beautifully warm as the temperature was below freezing outside. Great breakfast with lots of choices. The bars are a great feature of the hotel, spread over three floors, serving scrumptious cocktails. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to some shops, the old town and ferries to get around Stockholm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely cute hotel, good location, breakfast needs improving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed with the breakfast. The scrambled eggs were powdered and also very runny, the boiled eggs were underdone, in fact my partner cracked open a boiled egg and yolk popped out over her top. Instead we thought we would order an omelette and pancakes from the order menu (which is included in price which is great), however, they both came with a very high amount of vegetable oil on the plate, if you moved the plate you could see the oil sliding from one side to the other, you could even taste the oil while eating. We both ended up leaving our omelette/pancakes. The next morning, I gave it another shot incase it was just a one off or a bad day for the chef, once again, very heavily doused in vegetable oil, very offputting. Sadly, very poorly rated breakfast.

    The hotel is a charming and unique, visually unlike any other hotels we've stayed in. Very cute! Located close to the Metro and tram station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Very good quality hotel, situated sufficiently close to good transport links and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Yes, the croissants were extra flakey and the bed comfy! It was nice having a choice of pillows - a bonus. Could see no reason for changing the towels every day, but this is common despite the usual 'green' declaration made by many hotels. Appreciate the tea/coffee facilities on the 4th floor and the breakfast was excellent, as was the evening meal. For obvious reasons we found Stockholm expensive but it was also value for money. We would have no reservations about recommending Rival, although it might be nice if guests knew that a dinner reservation would be necessary if the adjoining theatre has a show on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, quiet rooms with very comfortable beds,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor lightning in rooms, single rooms very small

    Great breakfast, quiet rooms with very comfortable beds, wonderful location in the best area of Södermalm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    2.5
    Worst experience I had
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im a regular guest of the bar and the hotel and neighbor as well ! They didn’t let me in after the gym I asked the reception they said he is the responsible of the door ! I had been spending a lot of money on this bar and rooms and restaurants and then a door man and receptionist don’t let me in because I was in the gym and I had an important meeting. Congrats guys.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely bed, practical set-up of the room and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only disappointment was the drink served in the bar. The whisky sour was without refinement. A quarter of a lemon dropped in a glass with lots of ice and two plastic straws - no egg white.

    Lovely bed, practical set-up of the room and friendly service. The breakfast was less spectacular than I remembered, but still very very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, comfortable beds & nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu in the restaurant is rather limited.

    The coffee shop next door was great for grabbing breakfast or coffee and hanging out in. Rooms were very clean and had a fun modern vibe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    I came close to forgetting it was not ”home”, among best stays I can recall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentle and attentive informality and professionalism of staff (incl the alert housekeeping team), the amazing breakfast, the large and interesting choice of wine by the glass, the success in combining style and a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel - as cool as it sounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the small side (no space to open 2 cases at once and not enough cupboard space to unpack).

    Loved the knowledgeable staff and free coffee and work station. Great vibe and really cool ambience. Music and movies in the rooms are an excellent touch. Breakfast is outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Staff was super nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny crammed room decorated like a children's closet.

    Staff was super nice and helpful. The location is fantastic and the hotel is adjacent to a large and popular bar/club/restaurant/venue with a great vibe, yet no noise or anything reaches the hotel area, so that's kind of perfect. Also bathroom was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Could not fault this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast fabulous. Our room was lovely, great size and good bathroom. Staff were all extremely efficient and friendly. Superb location, easy walking distance to old town and literally 2 mins walk to closest underground station. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already recommended to others, we hope to return again. Thankyou.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A place Not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely NOTHING!

    The place is located in a perfect Location in front of a cute park! The hotel is super nice chic restaurants all around. Just perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    We have tried several Stockholm hotels and we would definitely return to this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was quite expensive, but probably not excessive compared to other good Stockholm restaurants.

    Bed was very comfortable. We booked a superior room, which was spacious and well furnished. We were on the 3rd floor, which was very quiet The bar has a rather glamorous decor, reminds one of a grand old theatre. Dinner in the restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    If you are posh, go for it, but if you like quality, don't!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was extremelly expensive. Teddy bear in the room, a coke, a beer, a robe... everything was expensive for no reason, and then... The room was small, the smallest we've got for many years. The hotel bar was full, and so was the restaurant, we had to use the theater foyer (The hotel and the theater are connected) and there was a guy playing the saxophone very badly, and then the theater was finished and there was so many people leaving it... The nice glass of wine was suddenly very not nice No, we didn't really find anything that made this a pleasent stay. (Except, of course, the breakfast)

    The breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice Hotel, Good Breakfast, cozy bar on the ground floor. Bedroom with great shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our first experience was rather poor. Having booked before with Booking.com I sometime get the feeling that reception tries to punish you because of that. Even though I had stated the names of the two persons staying in each room (we had tvo booked roomes) the hotel tried to charge us extra as I was supposed to not have informed in the booking process on Booking.com website that two persons were staying in the room. Still like said before, the name of both persons staying in each room was stated on the booking and therefore very strange that either Booking.com or the hotel can not figure this out and see to that this does not happen again. The receptionist told me that this frequently happened and did his best to try and charge us extra but I was stubborn and would not agree on this so they accepted to not charge extra. The feeling I had after this is that they will always try and some customers will give up and pay the extra. This definitely need to be fiexed by eithe Booking.com or the hotel as it is a very poor start of your stay. The receptionist was also very ridiculous as he continued to try and proof that he was right but the customer was wrong.

    The bedroom was very nice and bright with a good overview towards Marietorget. Location good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Maitre d' at the restaurant the first night was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maitre d' at the restaurant the first night was very rude. Said to our Swedish guest, "Swedish or English?" Nasty tone of voice and bad first impression. However, you have an excellent Swedish speaking America waiter; he was delightful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok but not worth the money.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and bathroom.Hard to be there. Can't move in this room and very dark, not enough lights.

    Breakfast was very good and beds comfortable with nice bedlinnen. Calm surrounding, cosy balcony with chairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful three nights in Stockholm in a really lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a real gem. A small boutique hotel situated in a superb location within easy walking distance of the metro with a small park in front of it and surrounded by leafy lanes with al-fresco dining. We absolutely loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great stay in Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here for 2 nights. It's very close to the Metro and other buses that you need to get around. Area is very nice as well. Not heavily busy like center city. Arrival from airport with airport shuttle train and local metro was relatively straight forward. Staff was friendly. My room was a good size for party of 1-2. Nice shower. There is a little break area, lucky for me was on my floor, to get tea/coffee/water/cookies which was nice as I like to have late night tea. I got the buffet breakfast which was plenty to eat. Overall it made my stay in Stockholm even more pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at Rival Hotel to start our tour of the Baltic Sea region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Quick taxi ride from the train station, east walk across the river to Old Town, and in front of a park filled with local folks enjoying the sunshine and long summer days. Staff was extremely helpful. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable modern hotel, with a great breakfast and easy walk/subway access to tourist areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an older couple, presence of teddy bear was in the way. Also a decorative bowl on the table. In the way. Need surfaces for cameras, computers, iPhones, iPads, etc. Extra junk just in the way. Also, so many switches to control and dim lights. Never did figure out how to turn OFF some of the lights, so we had to take card out of power control slot at night. Instructions, please!

    Good breakfast buffet plus ability to order excellent Swedish pancakes. Tea, coffee, ice water available 24 hours. Close to subway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Excellent! Definitely recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel Rival is a great hotel. Traveling from the US to Stockholm alone was intimidating enough so I was relieved when I found the hotel staff to be so accommodating! The rooms are very nice with a cool vibe. The shower is amazing, great water pressure as well as a rain shower from the ceiling for that calm feeling. I discovered a fan as part of the air conditioning unit which gave me my humming noise that I need to fall asleep. My package included breakfast, which is great! They have a large variety of food as well as options to order from the menu on the tables. I will say that the table service is much different than in the US. The waiters do not actually wait on you unless you seek them out to do so. The food was delicious and is offered until 1030, which is great as well if you like to sleep in! The view from the restaurant is to a park which is beautiful with a large fountain in the center. On Friday evening, I had a glass of wine and watched the passer-bys from the balcony. I def recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Great choice for a stay in Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing I can mention is that I could not turn off the sound of the TV in the bathroom. How about that for a complaint!

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was also very good, had dinner twice, good food and good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Checkin staff standout with their welcome and helpfulness. Room large and airy. Quirky touches fun. Colourful rooms. Best show in Sweden. Great toiletries. Large and delicious breakfast. All in all VERY good hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    High-quality but cosy hotel in the middle of Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could've been a bit better lit.

    DVDs to watch and CDs to listen to included in the room price were a nice extra. The breakfast buffet and dinner in the restaurant were very delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    We loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We loved this hotel. It is not in the Old City, but it is an easy walk to go there. Other destinations are easily accessible by ferry or subway. The staff was extremely nice, and the concierge was very helpful with advice on sightseeing, shopping and eating. The room and the public facilities reflect the Scandinavian design sensibility and include many thoughtful touches. There was a delicious, extensive buffet breakfast, and dinner in the restaurant featured wonderful food and a knowledgeable sommelier with good wine suggestions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    An excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A great hotel, which we have stayed at before. It costs a bit extra, but it is worth the money. The breakfast is first class, one of the best we had in Sweden. The hotel restaurant serves excellent meals and the staff have a very good wine knowledge. There is also a café attached to the hotel, which is a great place to relax with a good coffee and a nice piece of cake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel more than surpassed my expectations - the location was perfect, the staff were very friendly and helpful (and even gave me a later checkout, unprompted and free of charge, when they found out my flight had been delayed - hugely appreciated!), and the room was extremely comfortable and clean. Facilities were great, especially the guest coffee/tea/ice facilities on Level 4. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    This is a wonderful hotel, located in a lovely part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a wonderful hotel, located in a lovely part of Stockholm. Extremely well-equipped with the small touches that add value. We had a room with a private veranda overlooking the park. The best accommodation in a five week European trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Good calm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive.

    Good, clean and spacious room. Comfy bed and nice bathroom. Free Tea/coffee and biscuits 24/7. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. The place feels calm and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely loved Hotel Rival. Great location just a little away from the high tourist traffic areas but all within easy & picturesque walking distance. Brilliant breakfast buffet & lovely bistro for dinner. Very friendly and helpful staff. The CD's & DVDs in room were an added bonus as was the tea & coffee & internet/printing facility on the floor. Would highly recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    One of the finest major city hotels I have ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the finest major city hotels I have ever visited. The stars was outstanding, the breakfast superb, and the room was perfect. Strongly recommend a room with a balcony -- such as 409.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Cozy hotel in a good neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms are very small, you can not even fully open the window due to the bed, very tiny bathroom, practically impossible to wash your face without washing the toilette as well due to the small size. Very soft and thus uncomfortable bed.

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast with wide choice, close to the old town, nice neighbourhood

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee service at the breakfast buffet was slow. Each morning, we waited at our table to place our order but ended giving up and going instead to the bar to place our order.

    Great hotel in a quiet hipster part of Stockholm, but just a 15min walk to the Gamla Stan and 2min to the Underground/Metro/Tunnelbahn (x2 stops from Gamla Stan). The Room was small, but comfortable. The bed had a "pillow menu" (x3 different types). Also, very little noise from the hallway or from outside (window was facing the backside of the hotel) or from the other rooms. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Overall brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The centrally-controlled air con meant that it was a bit warm in the room at night. We slept with the window open, but a nearby church has a bell that chimes every 15mins, so not ideal

    Spacious room, very friendly staff, lovely location and great breakfast. The tea and coffee machine on the 4th floor with free biscuits was a nice added extra. Also, the bed and pillows were super-comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, although still comfortable.

    Quiet location, right next to the metro. Comfortable and clean room. Very good breakfast. Great value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were kept very clean and tidy, bed was comfortable, the shower was excellent. the staff at reception very knowledgeable and helpful. Food for breakfast excellent, ate in restaurant one night and was superb, waiter Justin couldn't do enough for us and it was lovely chatting to him. Cant really complain. From the time I was there 3 years ago, there was no candy in the room this time, missed that, but not a complaint

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Rudest waiters, no air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room staffs attitude, lacking politeness . Ridiculous lighting in the bathroom, tricky electric switches and the complete lack of operational instructions. Lack of shower door. Lack of air conditioning when the sun heats up hot the room.

    Location, beautiful design elements, complimentary buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel when travelling to Stockholm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot chocolate at the drinks bar would be great !

    Opening the cupboard was like going into a magic place - everything you could need but just those little extras - a nice umbrella, spray for the ironing, 2 shoe cleaning sponges instead of one ... There was also a resident bear which was a nice touch :) It was beautifully designed and everything was done with thought and style Great hot drinks space available whenever you want a tea or coffee A nice hotel where I felt particularly comfortable as a woman Good advice for dinner outside the hotel when I wanted to explore a little Loads of pillows to choose from

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Love love love
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It was a beautiful hotel. I loved the windows in the room that opened up. I loved the small extras like the music in the bathroom and the cds/dvds. I loved the self serve drink bar, the decorations, and the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rival traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: