Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal 3 stars

Drottninggatan 67, Centrum, 411 07 Gothenburg, Sweden

#4 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2291 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed one night, but the location was great, few minutes walk from the train station and close to the Nordstan shopping centre. Room is cosy but very comfortable. Free tea coffee and cake in the lobby and a nice waiting area if you arrive before check in/room is ready. Beautiful staircase too!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Probably would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very small - if you’re tall you can’t even lay your legs straight if you prefer using the luggage holder. Also there was no hair dryer - maybe it was available in the reception but no one told me that once I got there.

    Amazing location, friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place. Must be if you are staying in GOT!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    iron which is available in the room (shall be with water tank)

    Swedish hospitality at this hotel was amazing! I wish other hotels were like this one. And fresh waffles on breakfast with delicious coffee 24/7 just made my stay wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, placed right next to city center and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, a little bit suffocating :)

    Very nice hotel, placed right next to city center and the main attractions. Very clean, with nice personel, feels like you are at your grand parents house: with cookies, coffee and tea at your disposal :) Very good breakfast, covering all your dreams: starting from omlette, all the way to make-your-own waffle with the full range of toppings. Delicious!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Loved the location, close to restaurants, boat cruise etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Loved the location, close to restaurants, boat cruise etc. comfortable beds too. Great buffet breakfast included! Best waffles ever. Parking in the garage across the street is 240KR per day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some net curtains would have been useful for a little more privacy. I was looking out on the main street.

    Everything. Photos didn't do it justice. Friendly staff, good breakfast and well decorated rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Pretty much perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like. Probably just the bed was a bit soft for my taste.

    This hotel has a special flair. It was a great break from standard, chain hotels! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The room was very clean. The location is great and very close to the city centre. I truly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Perfect Gotenburg hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room (140 cm bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located hotel. We loved the unique style and friendly approach of the hotel. The breakfast was superb and we loved enjoying the complimentary tea and cinnamon cake in the library. We would highly recommend it and thought it was great value for the quality of stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a fabulous city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small but it is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg so it has lots of character.

    Great location. Good quality complimentary tea coffee and homemade cake always available in the lounge. Wide variety for breakfast with a waffle iron to make your own delicious waffles.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    A gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like!

    An absolute gem of a hotel in a superb location - slap-bang in the middle of the city centre and yet perfectly quiet and idyllic. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and the room was so cosy and comfortable. We’ll definitely back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    They were very accommodating of my gluten free needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very accommodating of my gluten free needs. Staff were helpful. You really sensed it was a lovely establishment and those who worked there enjoyed doing so.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Hotel Royal oozes charm and is very well-maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Royal oozes charm and is very well-maintained. I love my tiny room with pink accents and floral curtains. There are baked goods for guests in the lobby and the buffet breakfast is excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was amazing just a short walk from the train. Loved the extra touches- coffee, teas, cake available all day and night. Great little seating areas too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Traveling alone A widows new adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charm and uniqueness of the hotel. The extra care from staff. You feel like you are in another time but in a blink of an eye all high tech services are available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. We had to check out by 11 but were able to leave our bags and come back for tea, coffee, and cake before our train departed late in the day. Breakfast was varied and tasty and the room spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Location is great, close to train station, big shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great, close to train station, big shopping streets and restaurants. Room was clean and bigger than expectaiton. Compfy beds but not a queen size but 2 seperate beds together. Good with AC in the room since summer has been so hot in Sweden. Breakfast was above avarage with belgian waffles and well cooked scrable eggs. Fresh bread and bakeries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    A royal jewel in Goteborg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reputedly the oldest hotel in Goteborg, this place is a gem. Well located just steps from the central train station and near the lovely Goteborg Garden Society park and a large indoor shopping mall, it has an extremely capable and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, some English language TV stations, and as good a breakfast spread as I’ve ever enjoyed at a hotel. Perfect base for exploring the charming Goteborg.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    A memorable stay for my first visit to Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information on how to park and get the discount from the hotel.

    Breakfast was delicious with many choices. The staff was extremely helpful, how to get places, what tram to take etc. The location was perfect and I loved the history of the hotel. Charming!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind!

    Friendly, efficient staff. Comfortable room with excellent air conditioning that the staff can alter to your wishes. Coffee and cake available whenever. Great central location without being too noisy. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in an ideal location with really polite, helpful staff. Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right beside Botanical Gardens, shopping district & 5 mins to Central Station. Architectural facade of a mini castle. Large rooms with all conveniences. Attention to detail features: coffee & tea facilities with Swedish home-baked cakes, like Tosca, shoe polishing apparatus, organic spa toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Minor issues but a very good hotel, I would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are relatively small (Gothenburg seems to have a pattern for that!) but the bigger rooms are a good size though too small to really use the sofa as a third person's bed. Tiny shower cubicle, very frustrating/claustrophobic - would actually be an issue for the more generously proportioned guest! Corner position of room (130) on ground floor led to a very brief but noisy disturbance very early each morning from neighbouring shops/restaurant delivery. Hotel staff were excpetionally helpful in trying to resolve the issue.

    Confident informal style to the hotel, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Great beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in Göteborg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location near the centralstation and major sites. Wonderful breakfast with excellent service.

    The staff was personable and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants and transportation options were appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Going back to quality and service in Gothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm a big guy. The bed mattress could have been a little thicker as I found the bed hard. (Hated writing that comment as the it doesn't reflect the standard) Hope you take it as positive and not negative.

    I arrived during a thunderstorm on my motorcycle and was wet through. I was welcomed by staff who helped me check comfortably. The Hotel is amazing and everything is well maintained and interesting. Attention to detail was excellent. The Hotel was clean and functional. There is constant tea, coffee and cakes all day. The Breakfast was excellent with vast choice of food etc. The staff are outstanding and friendly. Nothings a problem at this Hotel. GREAT HOTEL and STAFF.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location in Gotheburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed here for my cousin's wedding. She booked the hotel for us and we had no problems checking in. Location is very central close to shops and restaurants and public transportation. But we walked almost everywhere. If you have good walking shoes and the stamina we definitely recommend you navigate the city centre by walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Royal stay in a Royal Room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all. I had a perfect stay!

    I had a great stay at Hotel Royal, i stayed 4 days in a single room that was beautifully decorated, the breakfast has too many varieties. The guys at the reception were truly amazing and very helpful, they kept my bike bag in the luggage room and they provided me a perfect outdoor space to assemble my bike as i started my cycling tour from there. I really recommend to stay at Royal Hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel Experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, I can't think of anything. I loved it there. Typically, I stay in hostels for the atmosphere, but I'm happy I splurged and stayed here. Plus, it is so close to the gardens.

    That breakfast was incredible, and the staff were absolutely amazing. They gave me great recommendations of things around the city, including the best Thai food place I've had outside of Thailand, and helped me get to the archipelago. Whatever they didn't know, they found for me, and every single person was super friendly and cool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in a great location. The staff is super friendly and makes you feel welcome from the first minute. The rooms are beautiful with a lot of lovely details. The breakfast is great and there is always coffee and tea in the lounge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely clean hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was busy meaning you had to wait for a table, but not to long. We had a rear room and we’re woken both mornings at 6am by the bins being filled up.

    Lovely clean hotel. Great location and cute courtyard to the rear. Bathroom was spacious with a good shower. Liked the Fika, nice little touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Coffee and tea where offered for free around the clock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee and tea where offered for free around the clock. In combination with a very nice inner courtyard to sit and read a good book, it was an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Its a very beautiful property in old style but newly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a very beautiful property in old style but newly renovated. I love the old style of houses in Gothenburg and they decorated the rooms and the lobby with lovely old Persian carpets. The scrambled egg and the breakfast was fantastic as well as the daily free coffee and tea and home made cakes like Tosca cake ! Staff are very friendly and you felt as at home. Its the oldest hotel in Gothenburg with the most perfect location, comfort and charm.. Thank you. This was our second time but not the last

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, easy to recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault but the neighbourhood is a bit noisy

    Great location and beautiful building/decoration! So cozy to be there, extremely confortable and spacious room. They take care of every detail... Nice staff and very good breakfast. And they offer fresh coffee and delicious cakes for free in the afternoon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, cozy stay in the heart of Gothenburg, with some really nice flourishes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While I appreciated the attempt to cut down on plastic waste with the soap/shower-gel dispensers in the bathroom, there were still a couple of small travel-sized bottles (body lotion etc.) available. I'm sure other guests like to stock up on such items, I would rather that hotels stopped using these wasteful bottles altogether.

    After a long day of travelling (delayed flight, late trains) Hotel Royal was perfect. The receptionist was efficient and friendly, and the tea and cakes available were a really nice touch. My room was small but clean and well-appointed. The breakfast buffet was more than ample, with a lot of healthy options. After check out, I was able to enjoy the quiet lounge with a cup of tea before my train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and charming hotel located very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant and charming hotel located very close to the railway station and the city centre. There's free coffee and cake in the lobby and the breakfast is alright if nothing special. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I prefer older hotels with good personal service

    The beds were very comfortable and the room a good size, breakfast was excellent and the staff superb . Very near to Central Station, do not get a taxi just walk it is about 5 minutes at most

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location, great lobby atmosphere, bathroom was fine,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great lobby atmosphere, bathroom was fine, stairs in room are narrow and awkward, windows are very small and hard to see out of, and room was very noisy at night making it difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A comfortable stay with efficient but friendly staff who made sure that everything ran smoothly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was charming- no complaints.

    The fact that it is a family owned individual hotel with a more personal touch than the corporates. Complimentary tea & coffee available at all times with a couple of cosy sitting rooms in which to take it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Another excellent short break. Gothenburg is a lovely location and all the locals make you feel welc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect central location within easy walking distance to all attractions. Very comfortable and all staff attentive and friendly The included breakfast was excellent and really sets you up for a day seeing the sights

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    your little home in göteborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's so clean, comfortable bed, nice curtains, air conditionner, in the city center near the train station, old traditional swedish design with wood everywhere, a little library, very friendly staff, exceptional breakfast where you can have waffles too, best brewed coffee.. definitely good value for money and a must !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Historic hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An historic hotel tastefully modernised, great location close to Central station and the city centre. Upgraded to a superior room which was a generous size (corner room). Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room (140 cm bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are steps from the street to the reception.

    The hotel is near the central station, and the shopping centers. It is easy to catch the train or bus to airport. It is easy to find a restaurant. The staffs are nice. The breakfast is excellent. The free cake and tea are perfect. It is in an old building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly and welcoming.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No safe in the room. More shelves for your clothes would be nice, but ok for one night.

    The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Hotel is nicely situated and has a homely feeling. Breakfast is very good. We have stayed at this hotel several times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    One reception staff member, a gray-haired gentleman, John,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of my room, facing the street was very noisy, especially in the early morning with what sounded like a garbage truck out and about. After the first night, I'd requested to switch rooms to a possibly more quiet one facing the courtyard, but the lady at reception, while telling me she'd try, did not seem all that eager to accommodate me, stating that the hotel was booked throughout the rest of my stay (3 more nights). That may be so, but she never got back to me to let me know whether she tried and couldn't or not. Also, the curtains in the room did not close all the way (on the sides, hence not amenable to the paper clip solution) and I could not make the room completely dark. So all in all, my sleep factor was not great.

    One reception staff member, a gray-haired gentleman, John, was super kind and went above and beyond on my request for a shower cap. He does the hotel proud! Breakfast was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    A remarkable experience in the heart of Gothenborg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit small

    The truly special thing about this hotel is its early-1900s charme, which is appropriately mixed with modern elements like the fantastic acoustic "chill-out" music in the corridor and breakfast room. I enjoyed the excellent breakfast, the friendly staff and the cleanness. On request, I could borrow an extension cord for no additional fee (making up for the lack of a power socket next to the bed).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely authentic old hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved that they've kept it in the style of it's age. Although old, it wasn't worn or looked faded - it was a beautiful old style. The staff was really welcoming and the service was according to the hotel - friendly and authentic. Serving afternoon coffee with homebaked cakes matched the authenticity. This is not the hotel for those who look for a super hip and smart hotel, this is for people who like to sleep in a good bed, served good breakfast (try the waffles) and like to feel a bit like going back in time when stairs were beautifully decorated. A bit English, Down Town Abbey style. The single room looks a bit empty, but the bed was bliss

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    I was very happy with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    My single room was relatively small but very clean, quiet and nicely decorated. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast and very good location. Tea, coffee and cake free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Easy location from the train station. Nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room (140 cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got excited to see air conditioning, but it barely worked.

    Room was large. We took our child and had plenty of room for a portable crib. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Superb hotel in Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff made us welcome. Complimentary coffee, tea and cakes available in the afternoon and excellent breakfasts made this a memorable stay. A delightful hotel with an old world feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Everything - location - close to centre easy walking 5 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Everything - location - close to centre easy walking 5 mins - close to bus and trams. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. The free/coffee and cake - breakfast was good and the takeaway breakfast offered for our early flight home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We had a pleasant stay in Gotenburg with good shopping, nice museums and a great jazz consert.,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i cannot think of anythng I did not like.

    I liked the staff, they were very serviceminded. We also noticed the art in the breakfastroom as very modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Truly royal indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are relatively small, but quite cosy. They lack a seating area, but there is a large lobby downstairs to make up for that.

    Very friendly reception with free coffee, tea and cake in the lobby: the hotel truly makes you feel welcome! The hotel building is beautiful and excellently located, right in the city centre and close to both the train station and a large parking garage (although parking rates are expectably high). The breakfast is delicious and includes a (home-made?) raspberry yoghurt with fresh raspberries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    excellent location - ideal for a weekend break and to explore gothenburg on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we would have liked tea and coffee facilities in the room. there was both in the lobby together with cake and ice but that meant a walk downstairs to the public area.

    the hotel was very comfortable - nice decorations and old-fashioned ambience. Excellent breakfast and comfortable dining area. Also enjoyed sitting on the outdoor terrace. the location was excellent - just a short walk from the bus and train terminal and close to all the shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our window was right above the outdoor terrace where people smoked - we could not leave our window open. Fortunately the temperature was OK

    Lovely old world hotel, and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    A real gem - character, welcome and comfort in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, close to all trams/trains/buses, yet tucked away from the noise down a little side street. Lovely character building; delightful lounge areas, with tea, coffee and even cake available at all times. Super welcoming staff (even the voice in the lift says Good Morning and Good Night in such a charming way that you want to reply!). Absolutely loved this place - it's a real "find".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Quality independent hotel in central Gothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was a little small, but met my needs.

    The breakfast was excellent, and well laid out. I found the staff exceedingly helpful and pleasant. The hotel was located very close to the train station, so was very convenient. Complimentary hot drinks and cakes were available in the lobby in the afternoon, which I enjoyed very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect downtown location in Gothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel parking. You can go to the P Hus across the street (very close!) but even with hotel discount it is very expensive! (About 25€/day). The double beds are actually two singles put next to the other. They slide and you quickly end up with a gap in between. Not very confortable...

    Perfect location. Great breakfast! (Waffles, hmmmmm!) Coffee and cake all day. Beautiful charming old house. Great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great friendly hotel conveniently located in central Gothenburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-conditioning/heating in the room was sometimes a little noisy during the night - I guess a consequence of staying in a very old established hotel building.

    Very comfortable and clean room on the top floor, lovely old fashioned quirky decor, and very friendly and helpful staff make you feel really "at home" in this hotel. Great location in the city centre means most places are only short walk away. Very close to a city centre carpark (check with hotel and buy your overnight ticket from them when you check in) makes the stay more relaxing. Breakfast is good and with great variety and the free coffee/tea bar with delicious afternoon cakes makes the lounge area very inviting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere, it's the oldest hotel of GOthenburg...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great atmosphere, it's the oldest hotel of GOthenburg and they take pride in that. Friendly, helpfull staff who put out coffee, tea and cakes in the evening. Breakfast was delicious, spoiled for choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, pity about the HVAC issues ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room (140 cm bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was a hot ventilation fan blowing hot air in my room that could not be turned off or controlled using the thermostat. The reception staff was unable to help and advised to leave the window open. however the ventilation was still producing background noise. As a result I did not sleep well despite the room being otherwise quite comfortable. If you book this hotel ask for a room where the ventilation can be controlled. They really ought to fix this.

    Great location, nice classical decor and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Charming place with a delicious breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room (140 cm bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have been a bit more warm.

    The Hotel Royal is a charming hotel, different than the others and a really nice place to be. It is good that the HR is not following any hotel chains. Instead, they are taking care of the guests, are naturally friendly, provide helpful and useful information, providing a pin board where guests can give advises to guests and offering breakfast opening hours that are supporting your holidays!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff lovely antique environment kept well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold, but it was minus 5 when I was there

    Nice staff lovely antique environment kept well Cakes every afternoon and free coffee tea enclave in lobby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Genuine, friendly and central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're tired of the big chains and want something with a more genuine feel to it, but still be in a really central location, this is the perfect hotel for you. Friendly staff, classic interior and the feeling that the people there really like their own hotell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the room was quite small (I've previously stayed in one of the larger rooms) they are very comfortable with excellent wifi, nice tea and coffee facilities readily available near the lounge. Very convenient for station and bus station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was adequate, and the location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was renovation during our accomodation. The workers were quiet and we were not disturbed. But they could arrange a renovation by floor which they don't accept any guest.

    The breakfast was adequate, and the location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the theme of the hotel, with antique details.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cold at night .

    I really liked the theme of the hotel, with antique details. Really nice staff who were super helpful and happy. The breakfast is to die for, I loooved that you could make your own waffles and choose the toppings. Really cute idea. Good location at the centre of Gothenburg.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Oldest and best hotel in Gothenburg
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great room with a lovely decent sized bathroom and shower. Superb breakfast and cosy breakfast room as well as a recreation area with comfy sofa chairs, free coffee/tea and cake. Second time we stay here and it certainly won't be the last time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    My stay in Gothenburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact the rooms were not properly heated and I had to ask for additional heater. Also the rooms are kind of small, maybe too small from my PoV.

    Great location, I liked the vintage style of the hotel and the rooms. Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay-in a rather almost familiar setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the very entrance party-difficult for heavier luggage

    Breakfast great-could have more sweet pastries/croissants totally absent ?/ ! We would encourage the management to seek new solutions for guest parking/a more affordable deal for guests with another garage, within a reasonable walking distance

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Cosy, characterful hotel right in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegan options at breakfast were a little thin on the ground.

    The property was really clean and beautifully refurbished with tonnes of character. As soon as we arrived, we were offered coffee and cake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely! I will definetly stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasnt an extra blanket in the closet. Had do call reception and ask for one. It was a bit cold in the room.

    Good location. Nice decoration. Lovely staff. Good size bedroom. Organic hygiene products. Lovely Christmas decoration and music.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Very nice staff, clean room, comfy bed and great breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff, clean room, comfy bed and great breakfast (with waffles!). Will definitely stay there again if I need to be in Göteborg. Location is close to the Central station and to Brunnsparken where almost all trams pass. The atmosphere was cosy and a bit luxurious at the same time. Perfect for a romantic weekend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Thoroughly recommended, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Gothenburg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Lovely hotel, kept many of the original features. There's a quirky lift and beautiful tiled floors, grand staircase and my room (472) was spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent shower too (sadly lacking in many hotels still).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    great location, comfortable bed, first class breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was better than expected

    A very well place hotel for exploring the city. The room was lovely warm and comfortable. The shower room is a little small, but very clean. The breakfast was excellent, good buffet choice of food and beverages. The free tea in the lobby was a bonus with first class choice of tea and cake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    I enjoyed the breakfast and the afternoon tea with cake was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the breakfast and the afternoon tea with cake was a great moment. It's a really nice building, it's a jump into the past. Near to the center, the central station, the shopping center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived tired and late due to a delayed flight and were delighted by the very friendly welcome at the hotel reception. The staff is awesome. Our room was on the fourth floor and looked out on an inner courtyard. No noise from outside plus excellent beds made for two perfect nights sleep. The room had a separate sitting area, really cozy, with a comfy chair and a couch. The colour pattern and decoration of the room was inviting and calm. All necessary amenities were provided (Hair dryer, bathrobe, large TV...) Right behind the reception, a small coffee corner has coffee, tea, cool water and cake ready 24/7. Add a great breakfast for a very reasonable price and the location (bang in the middle of town) and you have everything for a perfect stay in Gothenburg. Thanks!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    An old style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner does not work quite well. Bed is narrow.

    Decoration is old style and unique. Staff is very helpful and warm. self made waffle for breakfast and self made cake for afternoon tea. Location is 5 mins from central station

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: