Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell 4 stars

Fiskaregatan 5, 39232 Kalmar, Sweden

#6 of 16 hotels in Kalmar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 752 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Poor quality hotel, not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my booking and at check-in I asked for a quiet room. My room had no apparent noise isolation and faced the street so was not quiet. The air conditioning in the room didn't function well so the room was very hot and uncomfortable. When I asked to be moved to another room ( a few times) I was told that the room I had was the only single room so thats what I got. When I mentioned that virtually any other hotel I've been in would just move me to a better twin room they simply didn't reply. Cleanliness wasn't great. There were stains on the chairs in the breakfast room and flies were buzzing around and landing in the food. The shower wasn't to clean with what looked like some mould. There was a desk for laptop use, but no power outlets present unless you unplugged the fridge after moving the stand it was on. So in summary the only thing about this hotel that is 4 star is the price they charge. The rest of the place reminds me of some single rooms I've stayed in in YMCAs.

    Location is good, a short walk from the bus and train station. Shower and bed were OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choices were a bit limited.

    The hotel is a walk from the station, marina and shops, so a little out of the way, but quiet as it's away from the main square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my short stay. Very good for business as well as for holiday trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast with big variety and the best: make your own waffles! Very friendly receptionists and nice bikes to rent for free to explore Kalmar and its surroundings. Unfortunately no time to see the spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Expectations were met
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our case a fridge in the room was sort of missing. Hotel parking is very expensive; public parking is a better option.

    Good location, good breakfast. Overall a simple but nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn´t go there again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First at check in the receptionist looked like the most bitter person I´ve ever seen in a lobbey. No direct info about checkout time nor breakfast what so ever. That should be a commun proccedure to breath standard info at every checkin. Cleaning trolleys where parked everywhere even though we checked in about 15.30. Towels and sheets thrown in the aisle but no cleaner to be seen. maybe they had a break and left it like that? At 8 o´clock in the morning the cleaner knocked the door when in the next minute she opened it and sneaky eyed. Same thing was repeated at 10am even though we answered it was occupied. Don´t think this hotel has a standard rutin on checking with the lobbey first who checked out or who hasn´t.

    The central location was probably it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the troubles with the elextronic keys. Did hear some noise from the street outside, but it was Saturday so not really a problem.

    Good breakfast. Fast Internet. It is nice that you can go down to the lobby have a beer and some food, quite good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    The total ambience of this property: a re purposed historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The soap and the lack of toiletries.

    The total ambience of this property: a re purposed historic structure. The food was the best and most Swedish of all three properties we stayed at. The location in Kalmar was great, right in the heart of it all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - parking is fairly expensive, but it's expected because of the location. For those who check in later than 6pm and leaving before 9am the following day can park for free in the street, which is just a short walk from the hotel

    + great location with shopping and restaurants just in front of the hotel + short drive to most tourist attractions + big and clean room + good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy environment, soundproofing does not work, we could hear everything from the street and the corridor, dragging chairs from upstairs constantly. The door is for example brand new and thick but still everything could be heard, probably because it is an old building and the walls are poorly designed

    Perfect location, nice breakfast, good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Jätte fräscht och lyxigt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hade varit fint med kycklingröra på frukosten för de som inte äter skaldjur, fler alternativ för de som inte äter gris.

    Rummet var fint och sängen var skön!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Best place to stay at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pillows were not good

    the sauna and spa facilities we amazing and the breakfast was unbelievably good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Great. I stay at this location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    2 days is just right - not a long term stay hotel for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High price for the size & quality of the room.

    Rustic and excellent location. Free coffee all day!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good location, secure parking, comfortable bed with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiders in the room. Need mosquito nets!

    Very good location, secure parking, comfortable bed with adjustments. Plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    We've stayed before happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No airconditioning room rather warm even with window open

    Plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel for exploring Kalmar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent family room, great service from the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for a round trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Nice location in the centre of Kalmar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good. Bedroom was dusty.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition. Outside temperature above 30 degrees every day during our stay...

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place in Kalmar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Central location near restaurants and Kalmar Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location near restaurants and Kalmar Castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central Location! Perfect breakfast! Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location in the old town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in the old town center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was great, could’ve used some white beans in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too “soft” causing me back pain.

    The breakfast was great, could’ve used some white beans in red sauce but other than that it was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    short but perfectly fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not have the proper breakfast experience due to my early departure but I actually got a breakfast bag of my choice for my journey

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    The location is just wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor in the room could be cleaner.

    The location is just wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, nice and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't change the towels regularly. Some time jacuzzi was really very, very hot.

    Great location, nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegan

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay when visiting Kalmar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a better coffee maker for the room.

    Wonderful selection of breakfast items. Very helpful staff, good location for walking.w

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.5
    Our Company requires VPN connection which didn'twork...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Company requires VPN connection which didn'twork just Internet connection possible

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    Clean, quite spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, quite spacious rooms. The hotel is in the city center close to everything. Very friendly staff. Parking was available and we could leave our car until the evening, even though we were checked out.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    Location is good, room had good size and good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi-connect require registration and then ending up with big troubles to make it work with smartphone. Session ends unexpectly and finally I found out it is better to use 3G. By year 2015 why shall Internet be so hard to access?

    Location is good, room had good size and good bed. Quiet rooms and suitable breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable, with an easy walk in shower, and the room includes a kettle and selection of hot drinks in the room.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.8
    Very nice family room - plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast room can get a little busy at peak times.

    Very nice family room - plenty of space. Well equipped, with a useful entrance space. Friendly, helpful staff. Centrally located.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    The breakfast selection was good and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were not told that they would not be serving dinner on the first 2 nights of our stay and only a few restaurants were open in the area. The jacuzzi and sauna dont open until 3pm.

    The breakfast selection was good and tasty. Rooms comfortable. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    6.7
    Really comfy bed
    • Solo traveller

    Few TV-channels, old TV somewhat dirty too few and badly placed wall sockets

    Really comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    8.8
    Best location in Kalmar, nice staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing Everything was as we have expected

    Best location in Kalmar, nice staff and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.9
    Great location in town helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Broken shower head fitting, building work nearby

    Great location in town helpful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    5.8
    Good location of hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Needs renovation. Small rooms. Not practical set up of the breakfast buffet.

    Good location of hotel

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.9
    Pleasant helpful staff and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was satisfactory and no better; could do with more fruit.

    Pleasant helpful staff and good food.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: