Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Good Morning Karlstad City 3 stars

Västra Torggatan 20, 652 24 Karlstad, Sweden

#17 of 20 hotels in Karlstad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 952 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bit of mold in the shower and a bit of a stain on one of the seat cushions. Nothing super disgusting, but not totally inviting. I couldn't figure out how to use the blinds, but that's on me.

    The reception was great with checking me in very helpful with booking a taxi to take me to the airport early the morning on the day of departure. It is located a block away from a big square, so you get convenience, but less noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures of the rooms advertised were not the rooms given. The room we stayed in was very small and outdated. The pictures on booking.com showed very glamourous and spacious rooms. This was not the case. I believe there are many good morning karltad hotels. The rooms must have been in another location. The room as very clean though , just not as expected from booking.com images.

    The staff were excellent, very accommodating. We had to leave very early 5:30 in the morning for the WRC rally. We mentioned this the night before & the breakfast buffet was made available to us 5:15 the following morning (6:00 is the usual time for breakfast start up) He also had fresh bread, scrambled egg & hot bacon ready for our arrival. We were also advised to make a sandwich & snacks to bring with us for the day. This was exceptional customer service that I was not expecting. it was also done at no extra charge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hairdryer in the room, you can get it at the front desk though.

    It was easy and fast to check in/check out. Room was clean and tidy. Nice location - close to train station, shops and few cafes&restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decorations at all, not even a poster. No fabric such as curtains, carpets, making the room very ”clean” in a negative sense. Not cozy at all. You sleep there. Period. You don’t want to be there at any other time. No comfortable chairs for instance.

    The breakfast was nice and with a good variety of choices. Beds were fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot & was a bit grim looking, room facilities weren't great for the price - e.g. no hairdryer/tea & coffee making facilities - had to go to reception on ground floor from 4th floor for these.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking in hotel, we need to park in garage and pay extra money. Extra payment for pets. Total we paid the same price like in the Scandic, but there we got very good breakfast, parking and no extra payment for pets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor ventilation in the room, which was also overviewing a parking, and definitely too small for the price we payed... I don't recommend this hotel !

    the good location is the only reason to stay at this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit warm and when the window was opened it was a bit noisy from the people walking past. We were there on a Saturday so there were a few revellers out.

    Very nice, helpful staff on check in. Breakfast was excellent with lots of tasty options. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff even if we arrived at 2.30am in the morning because the flight from Stockholm had been cancelled and we had to take the bus to Karlstad

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    Great staff, really comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, calm big room, location of the hotel was very near the centre and nice nature near the hotel as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was prepared for one person only though the second set of pillow, blanket and towels was in the room. Weird shower - all the floor in the bathroom was wet, so you have to clean it all the time after shower; no hairdryer in the room; room was cold and heater didn't work well

    Close to city center, bright and big room, we asked for early check-in and room was ready on arrival, fast internet connection

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every other staff member was really rude. This can only come from terrible management, so that's where I'm guessing the problem is. I stay in hotels a lot and have never seen anything like this, everyone apart from the new girl was really unfriendly. It was amazing to see how inhospitable they could be. It's like they deliberately tried to be abrasive.

    There was a new staff member who was very nice. She tried hard to please us. The rooms were ok for a budget hotel. Breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom are too old !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To hot, no aircondition

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor maintenance of door and windows

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable for a 3 star hotel, and noisy during s***

    Big and nice room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee/tea and water boiler in room. Better to have hairdryer in room than having to ask for it in lobby.

    Good bed. Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    City

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IKEA beds very uncomfortable

    Ok breakfast close to the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no bad to inform all was exelent

    The wiev from the hotel and the location ..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in the room, the bed, bed sheet, the restroom, the breakfast.

    Not very cold in the room - that's a plus!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't super fresh, the butter eas warm already when the breakfast restaurant opened.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    strong smell of chemicals in the room. Room kinda look like a prison visitor room and not very comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. Very hot. The location of TV completely wrong.

    Beeakfest

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was tiny.

    The breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too outdated and the bath towel is too old and not clean, it's grey in color!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, wonderful staff!! VERY comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room beneath breakfast room, noise from 6 am from there. Cleaning noise at about 1 am!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air condition and it was a chalalnge to sleep when outside 20 in the night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The birds were SO loud, they kept us up!

    Fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast did not change for the week we were there. A variety of breakfast items for the week would have been nice.

    We were in one of the four VIP rooms in the hotel. We had a room with a glassed-in veranda with settee. Was the party room for our group.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There could have been more choice at breakfast. The barrier around the shower area leaked and let water flood the rest of the bathroom.

    Friendly staff, efficient check-in. Quiet, central location, convenient for the station and everything else one might need.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As with any hotel/hostel in Scandinavia the prices are expensive for just a room and breakfast was to quite dear, even with a discount.

    The location was as good as it gets in Karlstad, they had hot food for breakfast which is really nice thing to get. Most of the places I've been to don't do that. We really appreciated that the staff were also very accommodating, allowing us to eat our own lunch.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I tried to fing the "Good Morning Hotel" nur they have changed the name into "Ibis Style". I haven't been informed. The maps of Karlstad ran out, I didn't get one. The room was very small and mit very clean, the bed wasn't made well.

    The Position in the Centre was ok

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The baby bed was a bit broken in one end. Not suitable for bigger babies/children who can pull themselfs up.Only one bedcover on the bed and only one set of towels, but we booked only 2 hour before arriving. Found second set in the shelfs, so it resolved it self:) Breakfast was ok, but the bread was very dry.

    Nice and clean room.Very comfortable bed and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast area need more tables and chairs. How can a hotel with 44+ rooms only have 10 tables in breakfast area? There were no place for us to sit, all seats were taken. Small tv.

    Good location Great restaurant just across the street

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No hairdryer in the room 210 but you could ask for one. Why not put it in the room. Would of liked tea or coffee facilities in the room.

    Near to the station & shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Family with older children

    The room is as expected since i'm a fan of IBIS chain hotels.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - I have no complains to say

    - Breakfast very complet - Staff very helpful - Perfect for a weekend away - Complimentary cofee&nuts

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well located on a trip from Oslo to Stockholm. Helpful staff. Clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was great, it was pretty near to everything. Everything was simple & plain.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was very good and much better than our expectations.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been a bit better and maybe having tea/coffee in the rooms.

    Great location!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Family with older children

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bed expirence.

    Freindly personal, cleaness and direkt in the city.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Good Morning Karlstad City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: