Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Kärnan 3 stars

Järnvägsgatan 17, 25224 Helsingborg, Sweden

#15 of 25 hotels in Helsingborg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 825 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    I would avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was almost rude, unwelcoming, unhelpful and seemed like she hates her job and the people coming to the hotel. I’ve been across Sweden for over 2 weeks and have never encountered such attitude from service providers or even people on the street. Saying that the hotel is outdated is an understatement - I don’t think it has been touched since the 70’s (at least that’s how it looks). Funky smell in the lobby and corridors. Shower and toilet could’ve been cleaner - found hairs wrapped around the shower handle and the toilet seat was very dusty. Also some of the cutlery in the dining room was not very clean.

    We selected this place because we needed a one night stay in Helsingborg and it was close to the ferry and relatively affordable. Location didn’t fail. Breakfast was also fine, with many selection and fresh ingredients.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Would NOT recommend this hotel to people i care about..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. The room smelled like a Chinese restaurant, it was horrible. We opened the windows which made it even worse. Even the towels smelled like a sweet and sour dish. The matress was old and hat a ditch. Unfortunately there were no other rooms available in the hotel or in Helsingborg. Bad experience.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could be a bit more up to date. And I missed a mini fridge in the room.

    Good location for a good price. Clean and fresh rooms. Many channels on the tv.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Very recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did't like, but we do not consider as a problem. We stay during the hot summer. The curtains were not able to block the sunlight. A noise coming from main street don't let use hold the window open during the night.

    Friendly staff, good room. The complimentary apples available during the day were enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    simple place in the very heart of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture old and worn out, same for bathroom equipment. Window can only be opened in full, no ventilation mode. Sound of air-conditioner from outside 24h - disturbing if window is open. Breakfast modest, not that fascinating (but had all the basics).

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent - in the very heart of the city. Room was quiet, bed good, all clean. Breakfast had all the basics (but was quite modest, not that fascinating).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constitution work outside the hotel so I had a little trouble finding it

    It was lovley, staff was super nice. I also like that breakfast is included in the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren’t any glass or kettle in the room which is not very convenient. The shower room is a bit small.

    Very good location just opposite the central station. Within walking distance to most of the attractions in the city center. We walked to Fredriksdal Park in 20mins! Breakfast was really nice. Staffs were very welcoming and friendly. They also helped us printing out some stuff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    The staff, helpful and kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold in the room, especially the floor, also in the bathroom. The wall on the right side of the wc was dirty, it gave no good feeling. All mirrors were dusty, sorry to say. Scrumbled eggs wasn´t scrumbled, it was halfboiled mixed eggs.

    The staff, helpful and kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Good staff, good coffee, really comfy bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing I'd want to pick on. Everything was just enough to suit me, and not enough to be overdone fuss. It was all I wanted.

    I wanted simplicity and I got it. I wasn't planning to hang around inside the hotel, so I can't comment on the other facilities. The staff were friendly and efficient, and the room was comfy. I'd happily stay again. Oh, the breakfast bar has something of everything and the coffee was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    Good value for a one night stay without requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt dark and small. Probably due to the choice of lightning in the corridors. The air in the hotel could have been much better, it felt boxed in.

    Price and location. The room was clean but the overall feeling was a little bit lower, but not bad.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Very nice and comfy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Very nice and comfy room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location but not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't properly cleaned and the property was old.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    We could very well return one day
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy hotel, with a fine location, and garage. The breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    the location, and the staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room could have been a little bigger

    the location, and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location and very helpful Asian Reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit old and need some renovations.

    Location is near to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Staff hospitality, assistance , clean rooms , thanks for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff hospitality, assistance , clean rooms , thanks for Adina on the front Desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    the room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast buffet with many kind of foods and beverages, the position is great and close to the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Very well placed, very easy acces to public transportation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well placed, very easy acces to public transportation. Very pleasant stay in this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    3.8
    Uncleaned room, uninterested staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned. Towels were still in the shower on the floor. The staff didn’t even ask hiw my stay was.

    Right next to station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Noisy, thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, thin walls

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    2.5
    Will really love everything about the hotel bed was so so...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will really love everything about the hotel bed was so so lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    God value no pancakes
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I need pancakes :D

    Close to train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Price for bike for 5 hours was fake we cannot book it in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for bike for 5 hours was fake we cannot book it in the morning we had to take it for the whole day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good location. Opposite to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the lift and outside the room. I recommend you to use air freshener.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff is very efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very efficient. Great price vs quality rate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    2.5
    This was really bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Convenient to the harbour and station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early morning breakfast bar provided and take away coffee

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Reallt comfortable bed, lovely room and the two ladies at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reallt comfortable bed, lovely room and the two ladies at reception on the evening of May 18th were great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Hostile and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location in town, kind personnel, not overcrowded. Liked my room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    6.3
    Perfect situation, nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very clean. The bin of the bathroom wasn't empty. Very dirty under the bed and the toilet wasn't clean. Only one blanket for two people, the pillow not very good.

    Perfect situation, nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    - no issues with wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wish I had access to a microwave to warm up food that was cold.

    - no issues with wifi - breakfast was delicious - location is perfect (close to food, buses, and train station)

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast, location opposite station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, location opposite station

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    5.0
    quite old - needs a renovation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    quite old - needs a renovation

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    9.2
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite expensive when compared to similar hotels in other southern Swedish cities.

    Everything was great

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Loved the staff and the breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was too bland and felt odd, but was really good overall.

    Loved the staff and the breakfast! Cute little hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Location ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom quite small . A shelf would be useful

    Location ideal. Very cute.great pastry shop a few doors away.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: