Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Collector's Lord Nelson Hotel 3 stars

Västerlånggatan 22, Gamla stan, 11129 Stockholm, Sweden

#61 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 706 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Small in size but otherwise great hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff. The decoration made quite an impression on me, definitely worth your time looking it in detail. The room was small but at no point felt crammed even with a bit of luggage in it (and I am tall).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Nothing's cheap in Stockholm but this was good value for the city
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very basic and the bread rolls were not always that fresh. Coffee was good though.

    Sweden's narrowest hotel the single room was done out like a ship cabin as you would expect with the theme of the hotel. Staff were great, bed was fine, shower was great. Right in the centre but not much noise at all. Roof terrace is a nice bonus. Use of hot drink machine anytime was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Great introduction to Stockholm ( Especially for a Nelson fan.)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Once you accept that you are in Old Town in a building that is several hundred years old, nothing.

    This is an older property, updated to be a hotel in the Old Town. Located a block from a drivable street we had to walk with luggage - only a surprise! The location was superb. Close to everything. Good choices of restaurants, shopping, entertainment. The staff was attentive and helpful. I made a mistake and booked one night too little before boarding our cruise ship. The hotel found a room for me at their sister property ( at the same cost) , moved our luggage, and made my mistake go away. Will come back if we return to Stockholm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Happy experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably need a bigger fan in summer. But it's not a big issue :)

    I like the rooftop! and the happening location! and the indoor atmosphere of the hotel :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant overnight stop in the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil.

    Very good location in the Old Town in the tourist area. Not far from Gamla Stan station. Good continental breakfast. Friendly staff. Small but comfortable room. Wifi is free but no password. Can leave luggage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Charm and staff make up for size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very, very small.

    The staff is simply the best and who doesn’t love a 24 hr cappuccino machine! Take your coffee to the rooftop for a lovely view. Take advantage of booking yourself the free private sauna, was amazing. Hope to be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    A highly original hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Breakfast: same things EVERYDAY. The variety is also limited which makes eating the same food for 5 days in a row (my case) really annoying. Surely it must not be so difficult to buy tomatoes instead of cucumbers from time to time, and to change the type of cheese! - No minibar in room - Lack of AC in room – although here I must admit that it may not be necessary 9 summers out of 10, but this one was unusually hot in Stockholm and it was stifling in room. - Maids really not listening and or not applying the instructions from receptions task as per clients’ requests. O couple of other blunders: failure to replace the hand soap after it finished; handing an used bath towel as replacement; - Rooms facing the pedestrian street are sunnier but also exposed to noise well into the night. When so hot, when you need to sleep with windows open, it’s better to ask for a room facing the lateral alley. - The hotel policy of insisting to charge the entire amount for one’s stay at check-in. It’s not polite and is unusual (you pay when you check-out). - VERY SMALL shower cubicle, in an otherwise decently-sized bathroom.

    This is a very original hotel, marine-themed, in an old yet quaint building. It is, as advertised, the narrowest hotel in Sweden so you should be prepared for small size in pretty much everything. If you are willing to accept that then you will find it an agreeable place to stay. - Location, in the Old Town (Gamla Stan) - Theme: MARINE – if you are into ships and boats (see review photos) you’ll love your stay - Very good value for money, given all stated here + the expensive Stockholm - Clean room (stayed in a single, no 31, “Hotspur”) - Clean bathroom; good shower pressure - Decent, good-quality “organic” breakfast (you’ll soon find Swedes are obsessed with green/ organic/ recyclable/ reusable etc) - Free tea, coffee, orange juice and water, and sometimes cakes, available throughout the day in the breakfast room next to the reception desk - Very kind, smiling, helpful staff (special mention to Teresa) - Very good, free WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.5
    Excellent, exhiting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I loved this hotel, containing many exhibits ( from the owners' collection) about ships and sailors. Not an usual large anonymous room, but a small room pretending to be a cabine in a ship. the Hotel was an attraction itself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice cozy hotel in Gamla Stan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms near the main street was noisy especially at night and there was no fan available in that room, but as I requested to change the room, the staff were helpful to offer another room. There was not much variety in breakfasts and it could improve I guess.

    I really liked the atmosphere and decorations of the hotel which looked like a small ship. Although the hotel is small in size but it is located in the touristic area of Stockholm. The rooms are quite small in size but it is Ok for solo travelers for a short stay I guess. The staff were really nice and helpful and they helped me change my room upon my request.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Quirky and quaint!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a find! Situated in the Gamla Stan main tourist area was this quirky nautical hotel. Decor is to be seen to be believed. Room was small but very comfortable! Lift available! Delicious organic breakfast. Reception staff very friendly. Close to all tourist attractions and a 10-15 minute walk from Central Station. Wifi excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Stockholm is magic and the hotel was just right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was very hot and it was somewhat stuffy, but they produced a fan for us.

    I is like a museum - full of Nelson memorabilia and other sailing artefacts and pictures. The staff were charming and the location quite excellent. Claiming to be the narrowest hotel on Sweden, it is necessarily somewhat constricted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very lovely, charming hotel, as you hardly find nowadays.The lobby and the room are beautifully decorated with items and pictures reflecting its name "Lord Nelson". The staff was very nice. Complementary coffee, tea some sweets are available throughout the day and complementary. The location in the old town us just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, fabulous location, unique in a generic world, roof top not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that I had to leave, wanted to stay longer

    arrived way before check in after a horrible journey and staff managed to book me in early which I am so grateful for. In a nutshell staff amazing, location superb I would not have swapped this hotel with a 5 star one. Apart from the great staff my favourite point was there little unique roof top.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the hotel very much for the reasons mentioned. If you like space and modern decor this is not for you because rooms are very small. Also, only one electrical outlet and No safe.

    Great location. Very pleasant staff. Clean accomodations. Very unique. Convenient breakfast. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location in the center of Gamla Stan.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the center of Gamla Stan. Coffee, tea and hot water are available 24h/7 near the receptiom. Breakfast was tasty and rooms were in a style resembling boat's cabin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t believe it was value for money. Single room was too small, tiny bathroom. Breakfast could have been better.

    Good location. Right in the middle of Stockholm’s old town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay - good value, comfortable, ideal location, and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower has nice water pressure and good water temperature, however the space in shower was tight. Because it is in old town, which is mainly a pedestrian area, taxis have to park about a half block away, unless it is between certain morning hours, when they are allowed on the street because the number of pedestrians is lower. This was not a huge issue. It is good to know ....

    Location couldn't be better - right next to the Royal Palace and in Gamla Stan, and close to other attractions & public transportation. Bed was very comfortable. I liked the breakfast - I missed fruit but the coffee was excellent and there was a wide assortment of cold items - juice, cheese, ham, yogurt, sliced cucumber (very good!), both soft and hard boiled eggs, excellent breads and local sweet fika cake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    This place is all about location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have breakfast since they told me all they had for vegans was apples and cucumber. Not very impressive in 2018. However there are plenty of great restaurant in town who do cater for vegans so I didn’t go hungry.

    This place is all about location! It’s in the middle of the old town, short walk from the city and Södermalm, close to tunnelbana so easy access to anywhere really. The rooms are small but I didn’t need more space so was ok for me. For me this was just a bed and shower conveniently located in the city. The rooftop ”sun deck” was a plus on a sunny day. Can’t fault the service, the staff was friendly. I would consider staying here again if I again knew I didn’t have to spend a lot of time in the room. The sailing theme was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Very small room, barely big enough to put a suitcase on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC so you have to open the window and listen to the noise outside.

    Very small room, barely big enough to put a suitcase on the floor. But the location is great and the price is reasonable. Perfect for solo travelers. Interesting design

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful decoration throughout the hotel, and in the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room was very small - particularly the bathroom (but despite that, quite well equipped). The walls were also quite thin (could hear every noise from the adjacent rooms, as if the TV was on in my room), and a bit cold.

    Wonderful decoration throughout the hotel, and in the room itself, and great location - easy to reach from the Central Station and perfect to explore the streets of the old town. Nice breakfast also - thank you to the staff for replenishing everything promptly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was reeeaaaally tiny, but not problematic, for a tiny room it was quiet expensive, but it seems to be a Stockholm problem, not one specific for this hotel (this hotel was actually reasonably priced compared to the rest of Stockholm)

    Location, in the middle of the main shopping street but no bars around, the pillows which were really high end compared to most low to middle budget hotels, and the staff who were really nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely base for Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fabulous, and very accomodating. The rooms quirky but nice. Check out the rooftop ' poop deck' for a great view. Location right in the heart of the Gamla Stan.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very kind and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was totally satisfied with everything.

    The staff were very kind and helpful. Room was cute and I like this kind of style. So authentic. Very good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    I felt comfortable. The service was like I expected. Beutiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost everything. The staff had ambition for guests to feel comfortable. The history of the hotel fascinated me. I felt itb right away looking at the photos here before the trip. I felt very comfortable staying there. The area fascinated me, staying at Gamla stan. Beautiful place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was a bit slow and had to be reconnected all the time ( each surf period ) The Breakfast was sufficient for me, but could be improved by adding some veggies ( tomatoes, pepper ) and cereal types, as well as various bread brands. The coffee maker only fill half a cup when pressing on latte or cappucino

    No doubt the location takes first place, but a second close is the very friendly service and then of course the uniqueness of the hotel, especially the exhibition of artifacts and pictures surrounding lord Nelson and the maritime world, old clocks, and more

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Charming hotel with superb location, at the centre of things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is basic, adequate and quite good, not outstanding. It's a minor complaint. And as mentioned: expect small rooms, at least the single ones. Mine was 6 sqm, with an equally tiny bathroom.

    Superb location. Couldn't be better. At the centre of things, in Gamla Stan. And 10-15 minutes (relaxed) walking distance from the main train station, Stockholm Central. It's the narrowest hotel in Sweden (6 meters) so the rooms are small, at least mine was. But it was all well thought out, and contained what I needed. WiFi was superb. And elevator is appreciated at my age.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    good hotel with friendly staff and in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was limited, but always quickly replenished by the staff.

    The hostess, Lisa, was great, very friendly. Location was good. Hotel is nicely decorated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Nautical theme of the hotel is pretty cool, but it was really the staff that made the stay stand out, they were friendly and accommodating. My plane in had been delayed and I didn't get to the hotel until long after I had intended to, but there was no problem at check in. I intend to stay here on my next Stockholm visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Location, Location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms felt a tiny bit dated but really clean and comfortable. The lack of plug sockets was an issue but this is an issue in almost every hotel I stay in.

    Its location was phenomenal, the staff were very friendly and helpful and although small, the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Smalles room I have ever slept in.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More breakfast - however I do not see how they could fit it in. Everything is very small. But cozy.

    Smalles room I have ever slept in. BUT the place in very cozy and the location is excellent. So unless you plan to go to Stockholm in order to stay in your room I can really recommend this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in the heart of Gamla Stan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very small. Price is a bit high.

    Room was comfortable and cozy, had everything you need. Not extremely impressive, but not disappointing either.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, delicious breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the heart of the traditional Gamla Stan. Cozy hotel, charmingly decorated as a Lord Nelson's ship. Rooms a quite small, especially for those traveling with a big luggage, but it is very comfortable indeed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and included organic products as well as gluten-free options. During Christmas time, they serve alcohol-free glögg at the reception desk - a Swedish tradition which helps you keep warm during the freezing winter days. I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    A really pleasant and quiet hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and shower could use a heating.

    Located in a very nice part od the town, it was very quiet and pleasant to stay in the hotel. The extraordinary design of it made it all the better! The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    The Hotel that feels like a Tall Ship!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missed not having postcards of the hotel! ( They were out.)

    I am a Nelson fanatic so I had to stay at this hotel. There are 2 others in the Collector's series but this one is actually my favorite. Tall and narrow, itself like a ship, it is packed to the brim with nautical memorabilia and Nelson related goodies. The rom that I had was a single since I am a solo traveler and it was just perfect. Felt just like being on a ship. The bed was so comfy and right up against the wall which I always did like. Huge window at the foot of the bed with a great view down onto the popular pedestrian shopping area and in front of that, a nice wide writing desk...Bathroom was much larger than expected and shower was delicious. Everything was spotless. The library was my favorite room with two sides of windows and lots of old books, as well as nautical antiques..A great room to sit and read and sip your coffee or drink or whatever...Breakfast room is huge and surrounded by period artwork and antiques. Tea and coffee are there throughout. There are antiques on the wall and stuffed into nooks and crannys everywhere you walk so keep your eyes open. If you are a Nelson fan or a nautical buff you have to stay here. It is also close to the train station , bus routes, it is easy to find and of course it is in the old towne which is so lovely...You are in a perfect spot for visiting or doing so many places and things. Staff are REALLY helpful and friendly. I asked if the room had a kettle and the reception mistress produced one for me in a flash ( THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ) I think the fact that it is the smallest of the 3 hotels in the series gives it a sort of intimacy that the other lack. I can appreciate that and I think that you will too. Best regards...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Amazing Hotel. Recommend 100%, if you are not afraid of a small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What can be improved? Maybe, quality of Coffee.

    Supercentral Location, Value for Money, Soooo Comfortable Bed, Great Breakfast, Friendly Helpful Staff, Tea&Coffee and Apples available round o'clock.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Cosy place located in the old part of Stockholm and close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for me as I couldn’t have my bag open and cross the room at the same time. Also the bed was way too soft for my taste.

    Cosy place located in the old part of Stockholm and close to many sights. Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Cosy hotel in Gamla Stan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives. It's a special type of a hotel, so I knew what to expect.

    Excellent location in the middle of the Old Town. Cosy rooms with basic facilities. Nice place for one night. Rooms are quite small but decorated as cabins. The overall impression is positive. Wonderful, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Adorable hotel, excellent location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although it was clearly stated in the room information, be aware that the rooms are, in fact, small, especially the shower. It did not bother me personally, but it might cause difficulties to others depending on their body shape. Breakfast was fine, but could have some more variety.

    The location is fantastic, in the most beautiful part of town (Gamla Stan), short walking distance from both the train station and the main tourist sites such as the royal palace. As a solo female traveller, I felt safe in both the neighborhood and the hotel itself. The hotel's decorations - as well as the building - have a lot of history to them. The rooms are made to look like a ship's cabin and have a practical layout. Although the breakfast did not offer a lot of choice (1 type of cheese, 1 type of butter etc.) it was sufficient and quite tasty. I especially liked the yogurt with a bit of raspberry jam and sunflower seeds on top. I don't usually enjoy sitting in hotel lobbies, but I did in this hotel. In the lobby, unlimited tea, coffee and hot chocolate are available and I usually made a stop during the day to have a cup of tea, which is very nice in the cold weather (the tourist sites I was visiting were close anyway, so it was easy to walk back to the hotel). The lobby is decorated like the rest of the hotel, with a maritime feel to it. In the background, instrumental versions of well-known pop songs are played which I thought helped to create a nice atmosphere. The staff was fantastic. Not only were they efficient, but they really made an effort to make me feel welcome. All in all, I recommend this hotel and if I ever return to Stockholm, I will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    For those who appreciate character
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a place for people who prefer character over predictability. Not that there is anything wrong with the rooms or the facilities: they are small and cozy, clean and maintained, but not new or polished. Except for the copious brasswork, of course, which shines in the best tradition of Nelson's navy. If you want to read the original dispatch from the battle of Trafalgar to the Admirality while you brush your teeth, this is the place for you. If you need room service to bring you champagne and strawberries, stay away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Overall everything was good: nice and friendly receptionists...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast has some room for improvement.

    Overall everything was good: nice and friendly receptionists, convenient location, good breakfast, interesting design of the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    This is a little hotel with unique interior design, its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were small, it was smaller than the cruise ship I travelled to go there. Hard to move around in it, but that was expected. There was some street noise also.

    This is a little hotel with unique interior design, its designed to make you feel like you were inside a ship. Great location and friendly staff. Its in a walking distance from central train station. My room was extremely clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    this is anice clean hotel in a superb location and gave me a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is anice clean hotel in a superb location and gave me a nice feeling about stockholm and my short stay there reception could not have been better or more hrlpful. would consider another stay without hesitation. being on a solo trip the smaller than usual room did not matter at all to me but may affect a couple differently. although irish myself i enjoyed the historic english theme of hotel and it was well done. gerald daly drogheda.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding weekend in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small, but for me it wasn't a problem as I was more focused in enjoying the city. I was more looking for a good place to sleep on a nice location in Stockholm.Breakfast could have more options of food, but it was still good.

    This hotel has a perfect location, in the middle of Gamla Stan. It's also a quite unique hotel full of nice decorations. It seems you're inside a cruise ship! The attendants were very supportive either.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    A great location with a totally unique feel, small but friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms really are very small so don't expect minibars or espresso coffee making machines.

    A small, quirky hotel with a great location in Gamla Stan. The staff were polite and helpful. Free coffee and soft drinks are available in the small lounge in the reception area and it's a short walk to the central train station. Also within easy reach are the bars, cafe's and restaurants around Sodermalm, which is well worth exploring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Central, Charming, Clean, Friendly.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room especially bathroom was a tad tiny-but manageable. Breakfast not vegan-friendly: bread, apple and cucumber only. Would be nice to offer tomatos, olives, other fruit, hummus, plant margarine. Tea sortiment small: need Chamomille.

    Staff great and friendly; location in middle of old town direct on cobblestone alley minutes from Royal Palace! Hotel is a bit outdated, but love the old world charm and tons of navy decorations. free awesome sauna/grotto in sister hotel 50m away - need to register in advance;

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    An oasis of calm in is a very touristic sector of Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    Everything was excellent and more: the hotel is an oasis of calm in is a very touristic sector of Stockholm. The design of the hotel is very interesting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value in the heart of the tourist district!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a little cramped in the dining room during breakfast, but certainly manageable.

    The staff are super-friendly and helpful! The room is small, but cozy and comfortable and surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location if you want to be in the centre of the old - but that's about it for me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in a single room which I expected to be small, but it was actually tiny. Couldn't even bend down to wash my feet in the shower as the bathroom and shower cubicle was ridiculously small!

    Very central location - if you want to be in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    A unique and well placed small hotel with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast might have been a bit more varied, but it was more than adequate. In my experience variety at breakfast tends to increase with the number of rooms for obvious reasons. This is a small hotel so.........

    Very cosy and atmospheric. This is not a cloned international type hotel; it has its own special ambience. I liked the relics and items commemorating Nelson. The roof top terrace was great on a sunny evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Very original design and a peaceful oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Very nice and original design of the Hotel. Welcoming reception. good breakfast. Excellent situation in the old town. Peaceful oasis in a very touristic environment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bathroom was miniscule. I booked a single room and figured it would be small - but didn't expect it to be as small as it was. The room was on the ground floor and overlooked the street so I had to keep the curtains closed for privacy which made the room feel even smaller. I think the price I paid for the room was very high for what I got in return.

    The location is excellent - right the heart of the old town and close to many restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Location is the main selling point, it's right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the main selling point, it's right in the middle of old city. This make makes every sightseeing sight within short walk. It's around 10 min walk away from main train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    I felt totally taken care of, especially as a solo traveler, and the breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints. Some people noticed street noise, but it I didn't really notice it at all.

    Although the room was small, it fit in with the ship theme of the hotel, so it was fine for me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location! On the Main Street of Gamla Stan (the old town!) everything is SO CLOSE! Just a 15 minute walk from the central station, and close to get to other city areas like Sodermalm as well! It is a very compact hotel but we booked a double room and it was surprisingly spacious - very comfortable bed, lovely windows and a compact little bathroom. All you need and a great price for the location! The staff (especially Renate) were lovely and even though we couldn't check in early, we could have some light breakfast and relax in the sitting room on Level 1. An older property but well maintained and very clean! Great wifi! Would highly recommend :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant place to stay in Stockholm's Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good, but it would be even better if there were some fresh fruits and vegetables. Come on, it's the middle of summer! :)

    The hotel is situated almost in the middle of Gamla Stan - Stockholm's Old Town. The building itself is old, but interiors are well maintained, pleasant and in good condition. Rooms are small indeed, most of them with windows facing extremely narrow streets, but sincerely - that's what you should expect when you plan to stay in a hotel in historic part of the city. What important - rooms are spotlessly clean, including bathrooms and bed linen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was nice but it's very crowded in Gamla Stan and there's often a lot of noise. The rooms were small, but enough for the time I was there.

    The staff was great. They had coffee, tea and cinnamon rolls for us to take anytime we wanted. The theme design was really cool too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in the heart of the city center !
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just to make a "negative" comment, rooms are quite small and a bit old. But it was really not a problem.

    Very charming hotel, clean rooms with a very nice decoration. Very friendly and helpful staff. Calm while in the center of the old town. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    picturesque hotel, fulled with maritime memorabilia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TINIEST room I've ever stayed in, smaller than a cruise cabin. length of the room is the bed; width - a bit less. Couldn't even do my before-bed push-ups. There was NO mention of room size during the booking process.

    picturesque hotel, fulled with maritime memorabilia. VERY attentive staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Old and cozy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast food selection should be improved despite their excellent quality. Bathroom with a tiny washbasin.

    In the old Stokholm (Gamla Stan), the hotel is immersed in a unique historical atmosphere. Everything, monuments, restaurants and shops, in a walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Convenient, charming, welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A slightly larger room, but the room was charming so what it lacked in size it made up for in convenience and Lord Nelson-ish decor!

    Charming but small rooms -- the breakfast was fabulous, and the staff so eager to be helpful. A great experience in the "narrowest" hotel in Sweden. Located on a souvenir shopping street but very close to the waterfront and all the sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    This hotel has wonderful personnel and personality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was small, but the common area at the end of the hall provided a lovely gathering spot.

    This hotel has wonderful personnel and personality. It is in the bustling heart of the old city tourist district. The amenities are historic, quaint, compact and traditional - classic European style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    The location, as wandering through Gamla Stan early morning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price you pay for being so central is of course the noise (slightly rowdy people) but on balance I think it was worth it.

    The location, as wandering through Gamla Stan early morning, or during the evening to choose a restaurant, allows you to see Gamla Stan it at its least crowded best. The rooms are delightful - some rooms I believe are quite small, but certainly room 15 and room 41 were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very small.

    The breakfast was really good and the location of the hotel was unbeatable. I stayed there on my own and felt safe and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable value, great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included in our booking.com rate yet the posters in the hotel stated all tariffs included breakfast.... A little 'tired' and 'Double room' was disappointing. Comprised of 2 (quite uncomfortable) twin beds pushed together with individual (separate) bedding.

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Excellent location in the heart of the city, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location in the heart of the city, very friendly staff, good breakfast, very comfortable and clean room. The weather in Stockholm was cold, but the heating in the room worked just great. All sights are at a walking distance from the hotel. Many nice restaurants are around. Good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Very warm and nice place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better to provide separate shampoo and conditioner. Single room is really very small. But it wasn't a problem for me at all.

    Very nice hotel in the center of the old town. Close to King Palace, to Central Station (10 minutes walk). Free Hot tea and coffee all the day. Decorated by old ship models, pictures. Very fast wi-fi. Highly recommend for all travelers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Great 'quirky' little hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plug socket by the bed would have been handy

    Great 'quirky' little hotel. Lovely location and really friendly staff. Upgraded room simply as 'a better one was available'. Lovely!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    A boutique hotel with character in the middle of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in the middle of old town which you can walk to from the central train station in about 15 minutes. The room was tiny but clean and comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Loved the model ship lamp box in the room!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Small, charming, unique, ship look-alike hotel at a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware its a very small room, but it feels like you are onboard a ship, and in that way, its very charming.

    Very central, small and beautiful, charming hotel at the best location in gamla stan (old city). Wonderful to eat breakfast at a place that look like u are onboard a beautiful decorated ship.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Cosy hotel with great amenities, great staff, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fine but could be a little more varied. The room and bathroom were small but the presence of foyer and library made up for that. Also, the way it was decorated made it very cosy so the size of the room was less of a problem than I anticipated.

    The room is really small, but the foyer downstairs and the library on the first floor are excellent spaces to relax. The complimentary tea, coffee or even hot chocolate in the foyer are a really nice touch. Great to warm up when I was getting cold during my wander in Gamla Stan. The staff was really friendly and helpful as well. Nice hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Mysigt hotell för den som vill bo centralt för en billig peng
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frukosten var väldigt basic och man var tvungen att anmäla allergier i förväg så det var ren tur att det fanns laktosfri yoghurt. Utcheckningstiden var 12:00 och mellan 10 och 12 kom städerskan och knackade på två gånger. Kunde skötts bättre från hotellets sida.

    Trevlig personal och bra läge mitt i gamla stan. Nära till slottet och tunnelbanan. Perfekt om man i stort sett bara ska sova och äta frukost på hotellet. Fin utsikt för att vara gamla stan och väldigt mysigt med inslag av sjö- och havstema.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    All-in-all an enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All-in-all an enjoyable experience. The staff welcomed me in a very friendly fashion and offered me coffee upon arrival. The hotel itself is quaint, fashioned with all sorts of nautical fixings. Generally, most things are within walking distance and a metro stop (with reasonable connections) is less than a ten-minute walk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic fun & friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that it took a little while for the room to warm up one evening when the temperature dropped to -5C.

    Very warm welcome when we arrived early (offered coffee & a sit down) which continued through stay (free festive drinks in the afternoon to warm you up). Quirky rooms & decor. Very clean. Good breakfast & the best location on a street full of wonderful shops & restaurants, 5 min walk to palace. We will be coming back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.3
    Reception staff was very nice and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minuscule rooms and bathroom. Toilet hard to use with sink on top of it.

    Reception staff was very nice and warm. Hotels interiors are stylish. Wi-fi was good. Nice rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room (especially considering the price!), I asked for feather duvet to be changed as I'm allergic but it wasn't

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: