Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mälardrottningen Yacht Hotel & Restaurant 3 stars

Riddarholmen, Gamla stan, 111 28 Stockholm, Sweden

#3 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1533 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast is really good if we don't consider the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was the second time I was staying at this hotel so I was not so much surprised, but there were couple of issues. Water temperature doesn't stay stable when taking a shower, it gets cold and hot back and forth. The place is great if you want to see the old town, but other than that there's not much you can do, you have to go outside of the center. Breakfast time is too early for me (7:30-9:30). But the biggest issue was an additional $40 (390 SEK if I remember correctly) during the check-out which I didn't eventually understood what we're paying for. First they said it is for parking, but I told them that we don't have a car and didn't use the parking. Then after some checks they said they mixed up with another room and that we had to pay that amount during the check-in for something that I didn't get. We were in hurry so I just payed and didn't try to clarify the details.

    Breakfast is really good if we don't consider the time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and unique hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had a decent selection of cold and hot breakfast options but the dining room is quite small so tables are limited and you might be forced to wait (especially because there is a nice view over the water and most people like to sit there and slowly drink their coffee from start of breakfast to the end).

    A great location, only a few minutes walk to the old town and just over the other side of the river to the central station. Room was clean if not a little small but that was to be expected. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Great experience, but not for a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors are really creaky, so if anyone is walking in the room next to you or above you, it would be super noisy. The smell in room is not really good, but I think it's similar to other old boats. Very hard to get to the upper bed, no ladder to help you. The breakfast is average, no eggs or porridge, but it's fine, won't rate it as "excellent".

    The location is really good, so close so the touristic centre. The view from the top deck is really nice and you have great couches there to enjoy it. Great experience staying on the boat overall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    An unforgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it wasn't unexpected, cabins were very small & bunk beds quite uncomfortable - all-in-all, we were happy to sacrifice comfort for the location

    The location & views from the yacht were fabulous - staff were all friendly & helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Good idea but not well executed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a bunk bed and getting into the top bed was quite dangerous because the small ladder was not secured and is an accident waiting to happen. Needs hand rail on our near the ceiling. Ventilation is lacking even though we obtained a fan and had the porthole opened for us but this created another problem as both of us were severely stung by mosquitos despite buying repellant. Lastly, the temperature in the cabin was like being in a sauna.

    Friendly staff, excellent location, great brealpkfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Location - Gamla Stan
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms get kind of musty as it lacks a HVAC system but that’s ok bc it’s an older yacht.

    Location - Gamla Stan Lovely old style yacht, with great views Great history to the yacht. Yummy breakfast. 24 hr reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    It is special experience to live in a boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the extreme hot 2018 Summer, the room was sweltering.

    The staff is extremely helpful, nice and patient to answer all my questions. The location is in walking distance to Stockholm old city, and Gamla Stan metro station. Room is clean, however it is quite small. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Room 205 is not suitable for tall people. No ventilation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 205: No ventilation in room which was very hot. It was 18 degrees outside the evening I stayed, but room much hotter. There was a fan which rattled all right. Tiny sink, w a shelf over it making it very difficult to wash your face. Very difficult to sit on toilet except side on. I’m 1.87m tall. It would be fine for short people. Door rattled. I jammed it w paper to silence it.

    The staff deserve 10/10. Location is excellent if u want Gamla Stan or Central Station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cabins on the lower deck have portholes which couldn't be opened. during this summers heat it got very hot in the cabin - ventilation couldn't cope with. no air condition

    great location breakfast with a view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Best way to relax at the end of the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small, but to be expected on a ship.

    A great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Drinks on the boat, beautiful view, no traffic noise. For me, it was just a great end of the day after sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Really Good location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air condition in the common room, it was beautiful decorated but imposible to use because of the warm and the single room is very little för the price it costs

    Really Good Breakfast, The View is awesome, Bar at the deck is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay "at sea side" with good breakfast and nice crew on board!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don´t touch the lever of the shower faucet with your back! The adjustment of temperature on that lever is difficult at standard, and the provided warm water exceeds the thermal capabilities of your skin by a multiple! ;-)

    As private Skipper I chosed the possibility of sleeping on a ship with enthusiasm. And, much better as estimated, I found a nice and tidy ship with individual history on a pleasent spot. I got a warm and friendly welcome, help and support. Cabin has been very well been equipped, also bathroom exeeded my expectations a lot. When I will visit Stockholm I would ever chose that Hotel again, especially to get that nice view by the portholes to the water and to have while hot summer days a well climatisized room by standard! Also food and breakfast has been very good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, rooms are small and too warm in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and there is no air conditioning. It was very warm during our stay and there was only one little fan in the room. When the sun went down, we saw many spiders making weeks on the top decks outside.

    Location was great! Short walk to Old Town. Cold water available in the lobby. Staff was very pleasant. Views from the deck were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes you could hear noise from other cabins that made it hard to sleep. It was a fun experience but you have to be prepared for tight quarters.

    The location was great. Close walking distance to Gamla Stan but in a quiet location. Beautiful views of Stockholm. The upper deck was a wonderful place to relax after a day of touring the city. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful and unusual place to stay that encompasses history with charm and elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    I booked a cabin with a south-facing sea view overlooking the beautiful architecture of Södermalm and the Mälaren. It was probably the most peaceful place to stay in central Stockholm with the sounds of terns and oyster catchers from the portholes: perfect if you like nature too. Very comfortable with good facilities, just sorry I only had 2 nights as there is much to see and explore on board, and just absorb the wonderful feel and atmosphere of an old boat. Would highly recommend and it will be my top place to stay if I'm ever next in Stockholm. Very helpful staff too, and the breakfast room, as well as having great food, was just wonderful with sloping floor and stunning views out to the water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Best view in town but no supper with that view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening I stayed there was no supper possible. That was a bit disappointing, I was looking forward to having a supper with best view in town. Not even snack bar menu, so ended up going outside. The little ladder to get up to the top banc is flimsy. I actually fell from it on my way back down. So be careful, its not suitable for everyone to be on the top. Of cause, I had a room all by myself, so slept on the bottom.... Still hurting from that fell.

    Location is one of best in Stockholm Room comfort was actually comparable with real hotel Very good shower, surprisingly good water pressure and temperature Very comfy bed (banc) A nice size desk ( can actually work in the room)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    I would certainly recommend the hotel to any friends planning to stay in Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    It is a very good idea to have turned a luxury Yaught into a hotel. It is very pleasant having breakfast looking at the sights of Stockholm across the river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Unique experience. Well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fantastic central location! Our room was updated and larger than I expected. The breakfast, included, was great! Staff was friendly and helpful. I wish we'd had more nights here. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Smart choice in the heart of Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nicely situated hotel right the heart of Stockholm. Walking distance to many attractions. Unusual experience on the yacht. Sauna onboard, good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the bar on deck was not open and we were not able to order any food up there. Which was a bit unfortunate. The staff would not even allow us to order food and carry it up on our own. When we mentioned that we saw people up there the evening before and that they had a cheese and meat platter, the response was: Yes, they always do that to me!

    Location, location, location. Cosy small rooms, clean facilities and a great view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Good variety at breakfast - especially loved the pancakes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was downstairs and there was a problem with the toilet ... NOT recommended for the elderly or families with toddlers/babies - lots of very steep and narrow steps.

    Good variety at breakfast - especially loved the pancakes and coffee ! Very convenient for the trains , Gamla Stan and major tourist sites. Fun staying in a cabin on a real ship - though very small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Good, but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Room 2018, port side, was malodorous. This problem seems to plague the whole property. They ought to look into the sewage system, which seems to be releasing rancid gas into HVAC systems. I cannot recall if they had this problem last time we stayed here in June 2016. Please resolve this problem; it is very off-putting. 2) They are changing carpeting. In our case, in the room next door. It was very noisy in the morning.

    1) Superb location. 2) Parking nearby (beware: it is not cheap). 3) Accommodating staff. 4) We were given a discount because of the discomfort we endured. We were also offered a change of rooms. They have courteous staff that takes complaints seriously. It’s hard to stay mad when someone is listening patiently and visibly doing everything to resolve the problem. Kudos to the gentleman manning the desk on the morning of 19 May 2018.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value, clean, comfy, lovely staff - I shall return. Thankyou.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If breakfast could go on for a little later it would better - a 9.30 finish during the week is a bit early.

    I have stayed on Malardrottningen several times previously. It is a comfortable, reasonably priced option in a beautiful part of the city, just next to Gamla Stan. The staff are unfailingly lovely and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful and good - all the usual fare. My cabin was fairly small but it was a single. My friend who also booked a single got a larger cabin on an upper floor with 3 portholes! But no matter - I was comfy and it didn't break the bank. I wont hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Old World Charm in the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are TINY. No tea/coffee facilities unless the dining rooms are open. The same booking closer to our departure date was much cheaper, book the no fee cancellation rate so you can update the booking if the price drops, we paid way too much.

    Very convenient, once you get your bearings. It's very olde world Romantic, a slice of recent history. The staff are just wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Compact yet every basic thing is available
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, great sea-level view from the windows in the room, great and very professional front desk, very nice and clean facilities, very comfort bed, and decent breakfast. Almost everything is beyond my expectation. Definitely value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The Yacht itself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The Yacht itself!!!! So... cool👍😍, Breakfast was great, so tasty and the beautiful Asian Lady’s serving breakfast was sooo... nice, very friendly with a smiley face-always👍🤗😍 Amazing & awesome experience at Mälardrottningen Yacht & Hotel. Thank you very much!!! Best Regards from Vienna/Austria, Catherine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views, lovely and helpful staff that made sure you had clear directions and recommendations for Stockholm. The beds are comfy and the rooms are spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a wonderful location on a fabulous ship
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, staff, facilities, attention to detail - all a wonderful experience. A truly fabulous trip was had and well recommended for all the points mentioned above!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice place and very central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit old and tired looking, and in need of airing.

    Nice ship and location is fantastic, staff friendly and helpful, a good hot - cold breakfast selection, bar had a range of local and international beers. Bunk bed was comfortable and linen clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, comfortable facilities....wonky floors giving right romantic 'slant'!
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A 'welcome' cup of tea (offered on arrival) is always great!! I arrived at 11pm - after a long day travelling....and was so glad to have a cup of tea, (ask for it!) So good!

    Location excellent - for the tourist centre, the closeness to the station, and the feeling that you really were in the watery centre of Stockholm....Breakfast was good, bed was very comfortable..... Staff were fantastically helpful....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value in a prime location - but has some drawbacks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were tiny and heat in room was slightly unbearable at times. Could not adjust temp. Not a good stay if you’re taller than 5’9.

    Great location and fun staying on a boat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for visiting the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, few minutes walk from the Old Town, unusual climate of a 100 years old ship with an interesting history. 2 minutes walk from a subway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staying on a boat is a very nice experience and something a bit different. There is a nice view out onto the water and a small seating area looking down into the engine room. Overall a good experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location. The subway is less than a five minute walk away. The view of the city is amazing. It was quite fun to stay on a boat and even though the room was small it was still nice and cosy. You had everything you needed when it came to what they served at breakfast. Sausage, amazing scrambled eggs and pancakes! The staff was nice and friendly. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money in central Stockholm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed - only alternative was crisps, nuts and chocolate. Very cramped bathroom. Smell of diesel in the room.

    Good breakfast. Excellent staff on reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    Very dissapointing, badly designed and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were uncomfortable and narrow. A dangerous board ran above the bottom bunk. Very easy to hit your head. The rooms were very hot then next day very cold. The bathrooms cramped and shower hot/cold water terribly dangerous. No bathmats supplied and the whole bathroom got wet every shower. The basin so small you can't rinse your mouth without hitting your head on the glass shelf. The restaurant didn't open as scheduled and with bad weather was very inconvenient.

    Good breakfast. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    We loved the whole ambience, the natural setting with all the city in easy reach, brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sound from neighbouring cabins , alongside and below especially bathrooms- but expected that , it is an old boat after all!

    Location excellent, bed comfy, shower great,lovely breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.6
    Cramped, terrible shower, freezing or hot air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped cabins, very hot or very very cold. Beds cramped and poor mattresses. Terrible hot cpld water flow in shower. Shower tiny wet whole bathroom. No bathroom floor mats supplied.Restaurant not open as advertised

    Good breakfasy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay, perfectly located in a great city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rather crowded at breakfast if you don't time it right (early or very late). The only time we wanted to use the restaurant it turned out to be booked (but it was New Year's night...). But these things hardly matter. Central Stockholm is lovely to visit in winter, with wonderful views, museums and relaxed atmosphere; such a pity it's so expensive for those of us on non-Scandivavian incomes, which makes eating out and longer stays prohibitive!

    The boat is perhaps not as luxurious as the impression given by description: its long history has left it a little worn at the edges, but it's a welcoming, cosy, slightly quirky place to stay in Stockholm, ideally located for everything on foot or by ferry, and at (by local standards anyway) a reasonable price. Copious breakfast in the galley watching the winter dawn over Lake Malaren is a pleasant memory. The young staff were friendly and very responsive to questions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Very good location with walking distance to Gamla Stan and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location with walking distance to Gamla Stan and some other attractions, nice view of Stockholm, good breakfast and value for money. Sauna can be used too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location & staff with heating issue
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was worried about how cold out would be at wintertime but the opposite - heat way top hot in small cabin - hard 2 sleep

    Helpful staff apart from charging my fried double & not me - hard to fix internationally

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, unique stay, it's an older boat so remember that when considering room size and look
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    HOT at night, can't control the room temp. Kind of noisy, you can hear people slamming their doors and moving about.

    Great location, unique setting, and nice staff, would be an amazing place in the summer to sit out and look out at the town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    It was a nice experience to stay on a boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture is a little older and the beds are kind of small.

    Breakfast was delicious and lots to choose from. Staff was very friendly too. The location was perfect, very central and close to Gamla Stan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    This hotel is delightful and in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is delightful and in an excellent location. The staff is very friendly, they speak excellent English (I would also guess that they speak other languages as well), and the place is wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit hot in the room sometimes as the window didn't open easily

    Amazing place. We stayed in the standart room (with 2 beds one above another) and didn't consider it small or inconvenient (which we expected according to some reviews). Breakfast is very good and great benefit for Stockholm where everything seems to be a bit $$$$:) Location is perfect - just 5 minutes (or less) to the center, 3 min to Gamla Stan metro station yet in a really quite place. Nice common areas - deck with chairs, tables and the view (good even in winter time + smokers will appreciate:), lobby, restaurant etc. Totally recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Gamla Stan location and value for the money. Small but exactly what you would expect. Nice breakfast area with a great view of Sodermalm. Easy 10-15 minute walk to Central Station. Neat to stay in a place with a little history. Google Barbara Hutton.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommended - really excellent. Be sure to get on the roster for an hour in the sauna.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent in every way! Location was excellent for walking all over Gamla Stan. Comfortable beds and linens that were so soft. Staff were helpful, provided excellent restaurant recommendations. There is a Sauna on the yacht - used it every day and loved it (AND easier to use the roomier shower there than the smaller one in the cabin. Breakfast is a fabulous spread and sitting by the window watching the sun come up and color the clouds over the Stockholm skyline was wonderful. Felt luxurious without being expensive. Will recommend to friends, would be glad to stay there again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Best place/deal In Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the place, its crew, food And the distance to all the best areas of Stockholm. Sincerly the best quality/price you can wish for! We recommend it. We'll be back! Thanks for a lovely time 🎄🎄God Jul!! ❤️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location and nice holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the rooms are really smal! We were lucky, but the room of our friends was tiny. Non of us could open the window (some rooms can) and it was hot (not warm...hot) inside, we could not regulate the heating system.

    The breakfast was good as well as the location! Near the sub and near of the old town, nice view. The ship does not move at all, for sea sick getting ones. Very clean!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Great for a short weekend stay if you're not fussed about having a spacious really comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was very busy all the time and there were lots of problems with the rooms e.g. the toilet was jammed in one room and in the other the mattress was very uncomfortable and the beds creeked loudly. The toilet was hard to shut the door while your sat on it and the shower had a mind of its own.

    Great location. Staff extrenely pleasant and helpful and they all spoke English. Rooms were cool too as it's different from staying in a hotel. We stayed two night and we were happy to pay half the price of a hotel to stay in the city centre in a smaller room. Surprisingly quiet concidering it was a fairly old boat with tight rooms/corridors.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely bit of history to stay on
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was excellent and with stunning views. the staff very very helpful and friendly breakfast was lovely The boat itself was a unique and lovely place to stay very comfortable and cosy and had the best shower ive had staying away for a long time If / when come again |I would definitely stay again. I imagine would be lovely with the bar deck in summer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture a bit old and damaged in the room, but still very confortable.

    The general cleanliness was great. Modern bathrooms on an older vessel. Amazing breakfast and great location, 15 minutes or less of every major neighbourhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful views and great breakfast in the heart of Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a very long walk into Gamla Stan (maybe 4-5 minutes) but there isn’t anything directly next to the ship in terms of food or anything else. Bundle up before you head out! The other gripe is that there isn’t any guest laundry facilities on the ship. So if you need to do laundry then you’d better plan ahead. That said, the woman at the front desk was very helpful in locating the only laundromat in Stockholm for me.

    I got a room with a water view and it was absolutely gorgeous. The included breakfast was one of the best I’ve ever had, they give you the full works here. The sauna was very nice, too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    occasionally a little smelly.

    value for money. breakfast, very nice. warm and cosy stay. In a very good position for access to the old town. Quiet at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Memorable trip and if I were to visit Stockholm again I'd stay at the same hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being a boat, there are some features witch cannot be overcome. One of the most noticeable thing was the fact that there were some noises coming from upstairs (the upper deck was the mess hall).

    Making a hotel out of a yacht while keeping it's original looking is one of the best features. The hotel is stylish with it's wooden furniture at the entrance and a glass deck above the engine room. The lobby gives the impression of being in the 1920'. The rooms really make you feel like on a cruise as they are very navy-like. Good breakfast, with all sorts of fresh food (I really like the coffee & croissants). The location is perfect for sightseeing and offers a very good starting point for planning the trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Unique hotel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little warm and was difficult to open windows.

    Fascinating yacht - a unique hotel experience. Clean and comfortable, good price, and great location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    I like the style something different then normal hotel staff friendly helpful I recommend for people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the style something different then normal hotel staff friendly helpful I recommend for people who want to have new experience and the location is good too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Mälardrottningen is a MUST!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives whatsoever.

    What an amazing place! Reminded me of the Barken Viking in Goteburg. Beautiful ship with gorgeous rooms ( and I had a SINGLE!! ) and common areas to walk around in and relax in were just so lovely ..Nautical artwork and memorabilia all around...dark wood and lots of brass. Very masculine and delicious. The room was a single , since I travel alone, but I found it to be quite spacious, and it had a nice sized writing desk with a view to the dock. The bathroom was very roomy too and brightly lit and everything was spotless. The ladies in reception were very helpful and pleasant too and in very good humor to boot! I really enjoyed the coffees they brewed up for me over and over and over (!)The bar up top was closed for the season but reception let me go up there and take pictures, drink my coffee, enjoy the nightfall and watch the city light up. Don't forget that it is close to everything! Walking distance from many attractions and also close to the bus stop and train station. I wish I could have had more time there but had to leave on an early flight after one day. Highly recommended. Dare to be different. Do not miss this place. Even in off season!!! Best regards...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Would definititely go for this again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a problem in cleaning of the room but once telling the reception, they immediately reacted and took care of it.

    - Location is excellent in the heart of Stockholm - Breakfast was very good, as was the restaurant (although the menu was quite limited) - Bed was very comfortable - Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Clean, simple and effortless.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toothpaste in room, restaurant closes earlier than specified on the website (maybe they decide from day to day). Kind of noisy when you sleep in a room next to the hallway.

    Clean, simple and effortless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic! Julie was fabulous and so was our cabin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero complaints as it was all quite fabulous.

    Julie at the front desk was very helpful and friendly!She greeted us warmly with a smile and answered all our questions regarding our unique accommodations. The staff was lovely to us and we will be returning with our friends and family!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    The unique feel of staying on a yacht was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower shares the floor with the rest of the bathroom, so it easily gets flooded. I was wearing rubber flip-flops, so it wasn't that bad.

    The unique feel of staying on a yacht was great! She's conveniently located close to everything, but on an island, at the same time. The room was warm and there was extra heater as well as quite a good blow dryer. Also you won't be sea sick, as she feels very stable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    The staff is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you take shower you stay on the naked floor, after the shower it's cold to get dressed.

    The staff is great. They were helpful and attentive. Location is perfect, 3 min from tunnelbana Gamlastan. 10 walk to old town. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The illuminators have gaps and in sea view room water would get into the room through it. In street view room it was OK. The rooms were tiny but it was expected from the description. The bathrooms are even tinier, no place for legs whatsoever and we aren't tall :)

    Breakfast was awesome - lots of choices, everything was tasty. The bed itself was comfortable and wide enough. The hotel is situated very close to the Gamla stan metro station and in walking distance to the places of interest in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Great atmosphere and very authebtic, but not for people who suffer from back pains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you suffer from backpain easily, the mattress may not be for you. It was soft and it felt comfortable, but after the second night my back started hurting (something I often have)

    I loved the Riddarholmenarea and the authenticity of the accomodation. Being on a boat is really lovely. It was like being in a book. I often found myself wondering who had been in our room in the past. Probably not Lady Hutton herself, but hey :) Even though the bathroom was small, I really liked the design of it. The view on the cityhall was a nice extra.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely location and view, close to the old town and to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was incredibly small and very warm, with no chance to modify the temperature.

    Lovely location and view, close to the old town and to the central station. Very friendly staff. Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Just a few blocks from Old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were extremely small. We had to put luggage on the upper bunk.

    Just a few blocks from Old town. Parking is not controlled by the hotel. Desk staff was very cooperative and friendly. also knowledgeable about the area regarding shopping, tours, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Short walk to metro (5 mins) with access to airport quick...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short walk to metro (5 mins) with access to airport quick and easy. Close to restaurants and shops (10 mins walk). Set in fairly quiet area but I did visit slightly out of tourist season.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Happy sailing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep stairs to my room.

    It was in a good location. The staff were very nice. The breakfast was great. I loved the views from my room and the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect hotel for a weekend trip to Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very small, you barely have enough place for your luggage. After using the shower the whole bathroom is flooded and the toilet flush is very loud. If you like your roommate/spouse do not use the toilet during the night :)

    Very nice hotel located on an old motor yacht. This results in very steep stairs, obviously no elevators and small rooms. The Hotel is located right next to Gamla Stan and the Royal Palace, the Metro station is 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    It made our stay in Stockholm all the more memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on a lower deck, and getting luggage up and down the narrow, twisting stairs was not particularly easy.

    Location is excellent as is moored right beside the old part of Stockholm so it's easy to walk to see most of the main sights. It was very different from the usual hotel stay and was the first time I've ever slept on a boat - albeit a permanently moored one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Good, unusual hotel, well placed for visiting the centre of Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bunks were ok but could have been more comfortable. We are sailors, so the small cabins were what we expected.

    Position was excellent. Food in restaurant good. Open air deck pleasant in evening sun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Stay here it's nothing quite like anywhere else you've stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a wonderfully quirky place to stay. Very quiet yet a 2 minute stroll to beautiful Gamla Stan and the old city. Great to look out across the water and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant views and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views from the lower deck, just outside our room, were gorgeous. All the staff, especially in the restaurant were very friendly - they arranged for a gluten-free meal. An excellent location too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing location,great breakfast and wonderful view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room window won't open as of the danger of flooding.Bad smell was there in the first days.

    Amazing location,great breakfast and wonderful view from the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: