Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensionat Björnen

Storgatan 61, 831 33 Östersund, Sweden

#15 of 19 hotels in Östersund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.0
    Breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I din`t like the furniture in the room, it wasn`t cosy at all, but very cold.

    Breakfast was really good. I enjoyed it very much. The room was clean and near the station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a block of rooms with shared bathroom and you can here everything what your neighbors are doing.

    Location is great. 3-5 minutes from the station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    It is an ok place to stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an ok place to stay for one night. It is equipped with everything you need and my room had a sink. The whole atmosphere is not very charming but it has everything you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    The perfect choice for a night-two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As soon as the building enters the building, it smells stingy, and in the room smell of air, rancid.

    The room is clean, towels and bed linen are impeccably clean, parking is paid but is very safe (in the underground of a building). Has WC in the room and the shower is in the corridor. At the end of the corridor there is a small kitchen with a fridge and dishes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    Close to train station, bus & city centre, nice bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only pillow cases, remember to bring your own bed sheets

    Close to train station, bus & city centre, nice bathroom, kitchen with utensils, spacious, warm blanket

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Great personal, interesting place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen - shabby, few utensils

    Lots of space, huge rooms, unique weird planning. Great staff, nice cheap breakfast buffé in the sister hotel Älgen next door - there is something tasty for everyones taste!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    .......
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sheets and pillows towells are not included in the room price, which is very ugly for such a location, it is not a luxury location, it is just a vandrarhem, cheaper you get to a 4 star hotel

    the staff was very frisndly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    All facilities that you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After taking a shower the whole bathroom floor was wet and there was no way to collect the water from it.

    The room that we had was very big with a private bathroom and kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, good value and access
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy due to kitchen and toilets being so near short reception times

    Near train and instructions for after hours access were clear and worked! I was on the Inlandsbanan and it arrived at 2100 and departs Ostersund next morning at 700.The room was a good size and adequate fascilites just outside room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Kan rekommendera boendet för närhet i centrum.Personalen vi träffade var mycket trevlig .
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We hear a lot of noise when other people was walking outside the room. It was not so nice. It was early in the morning and we was sleeping and the noise woke us up. We heard also the cleaner who was cleaning a room beside us another morning before that we was walking up and it disturbt us a lot. Why couldnt this wait to do later? It would have been nice if the tv had been a little been bigger so you could see it better from the bed.

    The best was the close to the centrum and to go to restaurants and for shopping. We like when we could park our car close to the pensionat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, clean rooms and great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked rooms with shared bathrooms but it was a bit ashame that it were multiple open showers within the bathroom so only 1 person at a time was able to shower if you lock the door.

    Really nice location close to the lake. There is a small cafe within 5 min walking distance with great cakes. The hosts are really nice and helpful. The rooms are simple but clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Good accomodation in the city centre
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great to have an option for the travelers with dogs to provide a dog bed and bowl as I saw it in some dog-friendly hotels, which would make the facility even more than the standard for the travel.

    No extra charges for dogs, cooking facilities available, good TV channels and free coffee/tea in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Really basic small room but good value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities outside the room were a little outdated. I cut my hand on a metal lip above the refrigerator. The brown blanket was dirty.

    It was basic but what I needed, close to train station and perfect if you want to catch an early train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean and cosy with a great (powerful!) shower, comfy bed, no problems with the wifi and the breakfast buffet was particularly delicious! Location is very close (2 minute walk) to the main Ostersund train station, and another couple of minutes into the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Very convenient for the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom was a bit minimalist, a shelf or chair to place things could help.

    Very convenient for the train station. Spacious single room with everything you need.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.0
    Good for a night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled

    Very central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    We were late in and had to make a bed. We were prepared for this however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked because we knew we would be late arriving. Having the apartment meant we could enjoy a late night supper.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Location, staff, room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen is a bit small if we all need to cook at the same time.

    Location, staff, room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Center of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not adapted to strollers or heavy luggage Plz do not use softener when washing your towels: absolutely impossible to get dry

    Center of the town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    a sanctuary for peace lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    no noise insolation you hear the neigboor snoring heavily

    confortable, kitchen to cook, staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door lock was broken.

    Large room with comfortable beds. Kitchen for guest use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom/shower was in the hall and not the actual room.

    Perfect for short stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable room with a kitchenette - very close to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable room with a kitchenette - very close to city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, served in the hotel across the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, served in the hotel across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location but bad sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lightning wasnt good, very dark room. And the bed was so soft both of us had back pain the next day.

    Good facilities in the kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    It was close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the appartment. The kitchen was very dirty.

    It was close to the city. The woman at the reception was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Newly furnished
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly furnished

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Very basic in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that you don't expect at this price.

    Location, big tv and comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Did what it needed to - cheap and cheerful place to sleep between train journeys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. Close to train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Skiing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants in the City walking distance. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    6.3
    Simple overnight possibility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple, just for sleeping

    Near the city center, little pentry was included

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Comfortable room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find the shower.

    Comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.5
    the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff weren't very helpful. we weren't told when we arrived that we needed to purchase towels or sheets at an extra cost and they didn't seem too happy to give us directions to places

    the bed was comfortable. the accomodation was very close to the train station and to the city centre. there was a stove and a microwave in the room which was great

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    8.8
    Nice classical Swedish Pension accommodation that is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice classical Swedish Pension accommodation that is inexpensive, well situated in centre of Ostersund but within a few minutes of station. Great place to base yourself in the city that has the brother/sister to the Loch Ness monster allegedly swimming around in the lake

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.3
    convenient location and secure, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed for 7 days and not once did someone empty the bin in my room or change my towels. Sometimes the bathroom bins werent changed for a day or so..which i can only guess this means the showers or toilets werent cleaned either

    convenient location and secure, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    3.8
    The breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to move to another hotel because there was no WiFi access. The room wasn't cleaned everyday. The window room hadn't curtains.

    The breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.1
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would have loved for bedsheets to have been included and breakfast more homemade

    Great service

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    10
    all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    all

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    10
    all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    all

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: