Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vandrarhem Uppsala Kungsängstorg 2 stars

Kungsängstorg 6, 75320 Uppsala, Sweden

#16 of 29 hotels in Uppsala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 447 hostel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin, so you could hear the floor creaking when the other guests walked around. However, that is to be expected with a very old house.

    The hostel was quaint and picturesque, and just like it looked in the pictures!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a clean and beautiful room. The hotel had a great feel, very cosy and quiet. They looked after my bags after I checked out and offered me a friendly face.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on a busy street and I awakened at 2:30 and 4:30 am with the sound of college students speaking loudly returning home from the bars. My daughter says Swedes as quiet except when they are drunk. Bring ear plugs.

    The staff was extremely helpful and cheerful. They felt like family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must pay for parking

    Location. There was enough space in the room. The toilet was very clean and it was for a common use. The girl of the appartment so kind. She accepted we had lunch in the apartment the day we left.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is basically no parking available at the property. If you don't watch out, you have to go to another location to pay before let into the hostel. The noise level can be somewhat disturbing at night, when there are people who in their intoxicated state decide to have what in Sweden is called "Allsång" (A common form of entertainment in outdoor settings, but not suitable for a hotel).

    I enjoyed the location and the fact that you are right in the center of town. The house is quaint and have a very interesting layout. All you need for cooking is provided in the kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a "hostel" single room. It is really small, moreover one of the walls is inclined (being in fact the surface of the roof) and the only window is in it, so only a small piece of the sky can be seen. Bed linens are not included. Check-in is at another building close to the train/bus station.

    Kitchen is well equipped, nearly everything you might need. Several toilets on the floor (although some are very tight). Staff is helpful. Supermarket (ICA) is about 5 min. walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the hotel was very good (near to train station as well as main sightseeing points) and still in quiet area. It was an adventure to get inside since there wasn't anybody present at the reception. They told me codes how to get inside and into my room via speaker on the door. The room was very nice, equipped in white and pink.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in( u have to go pick up the key elsewhere), not informed ahead. The facilities are worn out. Broken chairs, stains on the walls and stairs. With sheets added we payed for a bunk beds room with a shared toilet as much as a nice double would have cost us in a hotel. Perhaps good for students but a defeniye No for a family with kids.

    Once when it was new it might have been called cute

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bathroom facilities were nice and clean, there isn't a lot of them- not a huge problem tho.

    The kitchen was really clean, and well stocked with more than enough utensils ect. The breakfast was a great spread. The room was big, and comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was very unpolite. Although I booked at the beginning of Januari we got the worst room of the house (an attick without windows to open or look through). No appologies, although we got our room as booked and promissed on the picture the next day. It was not clean (paper of chocolate bars under bed), the lampshade was broken (in both rooms), the shower was broken. We had to brush our teeth and shave in a small sink next to the toilet, totally uncomfortable but also very unhiegynic. There was one kind of homeless girl staying in the house who messed up the kitchen entirely, with food everywhere, even on the floor. Me and other guests were in shock, there was no staff in the house who checked on matters. After I sent a message about the situatuation and I cleaned the floor myself, they cleaned the kitchen but again no apology or whatsoever. We could not put any closed shade or curtain in front of our windows; the shade was broken as was the lampshade. Even though we had a spare heater the room was quite cold.On the day of leaving there was no polite goodbye or anything. (inquiery about our stay for example)The hostel looks lovely but it is the worst place I stayed in for the last two and half years (I come to Sweden every two months so I am able to compare). To my opinion the staff should go back to school and is not fit at all to welcome guests. I would really not recommand this place to anyone. It was a total shame.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a cupboard in the room. But still, It is an excellence place. Central, peaceful, quiet. Highly recommended. Will be back soon.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was very small, it felt big enough due to the good configuration and use of space. It was very homely, Scandinavian style. I'm putting this here in this section, because I do not like to see this negative bit above the more obvious positive points The toilet was rather close to the door in the shower room and not much room to move and I'm quite small

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic but clean and nice. Only the bathrooms are Underdimensioned for such number of rooms and as they are shared, sometimes were not clean. Overall good value for money in expensive Sweden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel was not very clean, and the rooms smelled bad

    We loved Tove at the reception! She was absolutely wonderful, and her English was outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Depends on the room (my second stay), but an extra easily accessible power point would be nice in these times of hungry cell-phones etc.

    Simple but good accommodation. Clean. Basic necessities available. Well-organized. Friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleansiness was acceptable but only considering the fact you stayed at a hostel and didn't pay that much for the stay. Our room was under the roof in the corner from the building, that meant a bad wifi reception and rather warm and dull room. Toilet/shower (same room, quite small) smelt unfresh and was too hot/moist because of the lack of suction of the room.

    Close to the trainstation and rather central location in the city of uppsala. They offered a great breakfast option at there sister-hotel only a five minute walk away from the hostel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had like to get a map and tourist info, and instructions to find the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff.

    Kitchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not so clean

    The place is so ner the station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleaness and the level of care and attention with small details. made me feel home

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It hade some old furiture that did not go with the room wich made it feel a bit un clean.

    It was a good hostel by the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the concept plastic, but old and charming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Just read information about the hostel (doesn't include bed shits)and be prepared.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice furnishing, comfortable bed Free coffee & tea available in the communal kitchen Easy checkout by dropping key to postbox

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of shared bathrooms. Paying extra for bed sheets

    the location is 5 mins away from the central station. Was quite easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    N.A.

    It's very efficient for check-in and check-out. (using telecom to contact them). The internet was fast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice place for this budget.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed phone to contact staff to enter property. Never met any staff.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds could have been more comfortable

    Both the hostel and the neighborhood were relatively quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hostel in in the centre of the town, really close to the station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The triple room has no space to put personal things for 3 people.

    The location is great and breakfast room is very cosy. We fell at home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great location within the city and the option to have a good breakfast and to prepare your own meal in the evening in a well equiped kitchen

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent beds.Nice and clean room. Breakfast at Vandrarhem Centralstation was good enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room facilities, poor cleaning of shared toilet, noise

    Central position

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is bit small but ok.

    Nice place near centre. Clean room with sweet Nordic style.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was so great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom should be better equipped. Extra fee for towels and bed linen.

    Shared kitchen is quite nice and clean. Wifi works well

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was not working properly, at least not in the room

    Great rooms nice staff good brekfast clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    just a suggestion: for if you arrive in the afternoon there is no open reception even if the interphone system works it might be easier to email the entrance and key code before. but it's really not a problem, everything was smooth

    very nice and clean. the bed is comfortable and the house is very nice

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small bathrooms but that is a given in a hostel.

    Quiet property. Very convenient to bus and train station. Rooms are simple but adorable. Kitchen is well stocked and clean. Coffee maker makes great lattes!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, the reception service could have been a little bit better, the lady at the reception in the central hotel did not know much about the city, which i believe should be improved, since it s logical to ask these questions from someone who is the first person you see in town. It was not written on the booking.com website that bed sheets and towels are for extra price either. What else...The blanket on the bed was old and in a worn-out condition, with a visible stain and human hair stuck to it. Disgusting.

    The location is really perfect and that is the only thing I liked about my stay. Just 2-3 minutes to the central station.and unlimited coffee from a machine during the day

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -We traveled with a group of 6 friends, we all have stayed in lots of hostels and we all agree this was our worst stay EVER. Upon arrival we discovered we did not get the rooms we payed for. They gave us a cheaper room while we payed for a more expensive one and they did not want to refund us. At first we called through the intercom to ask what was going on, since there is almost no staff present during the day. We didn't really get any kind of explanation. On our second day we talked with a staff member that was present during the morning, she agreed to give us our bed linnen for free as compensation for the 'downgrade' to a cheaper room. However, when we arrived back later that day we discovered that the staff moved all of our stuff from one of our rooms to the biggest room we had + they took the key to the small room from our table in our big room. Without any explanation or consent from our side they grabbed our stuff and just moved it around. After explaining the problem the woman on the intercom reacted very unprofessionally saying things such as "OH MY GOOOOD". Not really the kind of language we expected from hotel staff. We asked if someone could please meet us at the hostel to talk it over, but they were just to lazy to move. Than she told us she was going to send us an e-mail. Their explanation: oh we thought that you did not want the small room anymore since you were compensated through bed linnen. -> as if an 180 euro room for 2 nights is compensated by 40 euro of bedlinnen? We all got very agitated by this and wanted our second room back, since we payed for it. We tried communicating by e-mail, but since we wanted to do some sight seeing instead of being clutched to our phones in the hostel were the wifi was to see what they were going to answer, we went to their other facility, the hotel, only 2 minutes away. When we arrived there, the staff was very rude and did not want to listen to what we had to say.

    Euhm. Nothing really...

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My stay was for 15 days and I went out of town during the weekend in the middle. When I came back Sunday evening, the main entrance code they provided me the previous week was not working any more... So I was locked out of the hotel for a while trying to discover what was happening with my code... Then, I call the reception and they gave me the new code for the second week. But in any case, they should let me know that every week needs a new entry code. It was not a good moment staying outside in the cold evening Uppsala without knowing why my entrance code was not working.

    Nice and calm. The shared kitchen was well equipped and the shared bathroom was always clean. The location near the Centrum and not far away from the University was also really convenient. The staff (during the reception hours) was very nice and kindly. I would stay there again if I have to come back to Uppsala.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    toilet and bathroom facilities are clean, but seem limited to the number of guests that use them

    it's a quiet and nice place to stay in, located near the central station and key places in Uppsala

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    that the bed linens and towels had to be rented; the beddings don't smell nice

    the location is very convenient and the place is tucked away in a nice, quiet courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The aeration system goes all the time, also during night, and makes a terrible noise that makes it hard to sleep. The roof window has only a light curtain and in summer there is no dark in the room, making it hard to sleep. You must rent towels and blankets.

    The location is good, the hostel is nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The internet slows down in the evening wehn all the other students come to their homes and log in.

    Michal is a very kind guy who is very interested in the wellbeing of his guest. Everything is perfect organised and very clean. I also have to say that he can tell you a lot of uppsala and the studies there.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    no negative experience

    Great location in the very center of Uppsala. Friendly staff (which is typical for Sweden:)). Very clean. Everything is perfect for a hostel but... it is just a hostel, so please don't try to find there any extra comfort

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were no bedsheets and no towel. The hostel charges extra for bedsheets and towel (which I didn't know), so when I arrived at around 11 p.m. there were no bedsheets and no one at the reception to ask for them.

    The hostel is well-located, in a nice-looking house, the size of the room was decent

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Přijeli jsme po 14. hodině, nemohli jsme se dovolat pro kód ode dveří (jen ve švédštině), tak jsme jeli pro kód do "hlavního" hostelu u nádraží, kde jsou na recepci 24 hod.

    V centru, dobře vybavená kuchyň v podkroví, čaj a káva k dispozici celý den, starý dům s atmosférou.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location ,close to the centrum and central station,good quality/price ratio

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillows and comforter looked a bit too yellow for my liking

    Looked cozy, good for a night!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We should pay during our accomodation, but the hostel took a payment themself from our card before our arrival.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast is poor

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A great value, but it was very inconvenient that the staff is gone after 12:00. I had to walk to a different hotel to get my key

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    safe and calm

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    kind staff. 5 minute from city center. secure place

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small window.

    Small but perfect Place to stay beween the railwaystation and the old city.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: