Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sälens Högfjällshotell 4 stars

Box 35, 780 67 Högfjället, Sweden

#2 of 2 hotels in Högfjället

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 570 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few aspects i wish i knew before: both bedrooms have bunk beds, no double bed in the 2 room apartment. It was indeed mentioned in room description, i did not pay attention and have a false expectation that at least one bedroom should have a double bed. The cleaning is done by people using the apartments. So you might have to do some before as well...

    The apartments in the old buildings were very spaciuous and kitchen well equipped. It is 2 min walk from the slopes, excellent location for a cosy ski vacation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It says Spa in the description. It has no pool Restaurant staff in the main breakfast area were often absent.

    The hotel rooms had dryers for ski wear in the room. The complex is great, with a variety of things to do. Cashless - only card payments accepted

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sälen is almost dead during summer and thus there is next to none services around the hotel, but the shops and restaurants in the centre are open, but it's quite a drive from the hotel.

    Beautiful decoration and cozy atmosphere. Our first room didn't have a sauna, but the receptionist gave us a another room with sauna and was very helpful. And the view from the balcony is stunning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jag heter Jonatan Zetterblom och driver ett byggföretag lokaliserat i Norrköping. Årets rekreationsresa för mig och mina anställda bar till Sälen. Till boende valde jag Högfjällshotellet för mina 10 snickare med respektive. Vi såg fram emot några härliga dagar i backen och trevliga kvällar i hotellets restauranger och barer. Vi hade aldrig kunnat föreställa oss det tråkiga bemötande vi skulle få från ert håll. Jag skulle vilja nämna några punkter: * Vid ankomst fann vi ett av våra bokade rum helt ostädat. Flera anställda vittnade om dålig städning av rummen. Muggarna var odiskade, fläckar var kvar på lakanen och det fanns kvarlämnat skräp från tidigare gäster. * Första kvällen höll vi på att bli utslängda från nattklubben på grund av huvudbonader. På ett hotell som hyser after ski? Det kan knappast vara ovanligt att personer som varit i backen hela dagen och landat för några drinkar gärna har mössan kvar på huvudet. Hotellets policy var svaret vi fick, och vi med mössa vägrades betjäning i baren. Tråkigt, och uråldrigt. Er personal kom en åt gången och störde oss angående detta totalt fem gånger, trots att alla vi förklarat för innan förstått vår poäng och avvikt. * Bemötandet i framförallt pianobaren var katastrofalt. Personalen hade en dålig attityd mot oss, något samtliga i vårt sällskap upplevde. De anställda med respektive anlände på söndagen och vi slog oss på söndag kväll ner i en så gott som folktom bar för några öl. Då vi var nästan 20 personer så hördes vi självklart, dock var ingen av oss otrevlig, full, aggressiv eller på något annat sätt förargelseväckande. Vi var ett glatt gäng men sansade. Jag i egenskap av chef valde att bjuda på ett par öl och beställde därför in lite större mängder per beställning, dock inte mer än 3-4 per person utslaget över en hel kväll, en ganska blygsam mängd alkohol. Dock blev vi behandlade som överförfriskade ungdomar och återigen vägrades vi betjäning i baren.

    Jag heter Jonatan Zetterblom och driver ett byggföretag lokaliserat i Norrköping. Årets rekreationsresa för mig och mina anställda bar till Sälen. Till boende valde jag Högfjällshotellet för mina 10 snickare med respektive. Vi såg fram emot några härliga dagar i backen och trevliga kvällar i hotellets restauranger och barer. Vi hade aldrig kunnat föreställa oss det tråkiga bemötande vi skulle få från ert håll. Jag skulle vilja nämna några punkter: * Vid ankomst fann vi ett av våra bokade rum helt ostädat. Flera anställda vittnade om dålig städning av rummen. Muggarna var odiskade, fläckar var kvar på lakanen och det fanns kvarlämnat skräp från tidigare gäster. * Första kvällen höll vi på att bli utslängda från nattklubben på grund av huvudbonader. På ett hotell som hyser after ski? Det kan knappast vara ovanligt att personer som varit i backen hela dagen och landat för några drinkar gärna har mössan kvar på huvudet. Hotellets policy var svaret vi fick, och vi med mössa vägrades betjäning i baren. Tråkigt, och uråldrigt. Er personal kom en åt gången och störde oss angående detta totalt fem gånger, trots att alla vi förklarat för innan förstått vår poäng och avvikt. * Bemötandet i framförallt pianobaren var katastrofalt. Personalen hade en dålig attityd mot oss, något samtliga i vårt sällskap upplevde. De anställda med respektive anlände på söndagen och vi slog oss på söndag kväll ner i en så gott som folktom bar för några öl. Då vi var nästan 20 personer så hördes vi självklart, dock var ingen av oss otrevlig, full, aggressiv eller på något annat sätt förargelseväckande. Vi var ett glatt gäng men sansade. Jag i egenskap av chef valde att bjuda på ett par öl och beställde därför in lite större mängder per beställning, dock inte mer än 3-4 per person utslaget över en hel kväll, en ganska blygsam mängd alkohol. Dock blev vi behandlade som överförfriskade ungdomar och återigen vägrades vi betjäning i baren.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna was not in the same building where appartments; requirement to clean appartments after staying (or extra cost) considering value for money was low

    Location to access calm ski tracks

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not that good of a breakfast. Maid didn't make up room - we didnt get a new towel for our entire stay over three nights.

    Just a short drive between the other resorts and activities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location. Several restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom. No view.

    Nice dekoration. Good TV-set.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist was disinterested or perhaps incredibly shy. Had no idea on what to do in the absence of snow. The bathroom was really tired. Needed decoration. We had a mini suite - it overlooked the car park and wasn't really a suite.

    Lovely piano bar. Great waiters and bar staff. Excellent steak restaurant. Nice sushi.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi often defunct Sauna could offer more, I.e. tub and turkish bath Little to offer a vegetarian in restaurant

    Ski in - ski out Breakfast great Grill restaurant very expensive, but superb meat

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    upper bed very narrow

    location

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was magical.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Couple

    The room, bathroom and breakfast area was unnecessarily dirty.

    Attractive location, helpful, and kind staff. Well assorted breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi dekningen dårlig

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service is perfect at this hotel.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Browse Sälens Högfjällshotell traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: