Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Saltsjöbaden

Hotellvägen 2, 13383 Saltsjöbaden, Sweden

#2 of 2 hotels in Saltsjöbaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 736 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing views and calmness of the location is breath taking. Staff is friendly and professional. Food is great. Spa was great way to relax on some days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pretty high fee to use the pool. It's ok to pay for the spa but not to use the pool, should be included for guests.

    The location is wonderful and great view from the hotel. Beautiful light room. Good restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was a bit slow. I asked 3 times for help in opening the safe before I worked out the default code myself.

    The situation, very relaxing sitting in our room looking out over the bay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cheap plastic toilet seat, was loose too very soft bed, but that depends on your preferences

    beautiful surrounding, nice staff at the restaurant, impressive building with nice whirlpool, sauna and indoor swimming pool, small but good gym

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit simple for what kind of hotel it is. It had yogurt, bread, cheese, ham, eggs etc but the selection was smaller than expected. The breakfast was ok but I would prefer a bigger selection. They only had simple cofffe, no capuccino or similar. Although the coffe was good. The wifi in the room was a bit weak but who needs it when you are in a location like this.

    Wonderful old hotel with wonderful location. I was there for just one night with my two Children 11 and 15 years old. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was so nice with a Beautiful view over the sea. The room was big and nice and it had a separate room for the third bed. If you are only two it is a nice sitting room. The beds are nice an comfortable. The room was very clean. I read some of the Reviews and some were not so nice and they wrote about bad smells etc, but we did not notice anything like that. Our room was on the second floor and that was nice. We had a small balcony also. Once again we enjoyed our stay and the view from the room was so nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Way past it's sell by date, in need of a refurb. No tea / coffee making facilities in the room, no room service, no trouser press / iron. there was a mini bar, empty but there was one. Used glasses not washed up

    Location over looking Baltic sea

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the room. I mentioned this to the staff, after the first night, but no action has been taken. I recommand a sleeping bag for any tourist who will come at this hotel. Even outside there were 0-1 C, the heating was not working but the cooler yes!?! The best place to get sick, as I did.

    Very nice location, nice lobby atmosphere and rich breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's not a lot to do in Saltsjöbaden and the hotel is a little run down. The little things haven't been taken care of lately. The door handle to the patio is practically falling off and the covering on the pool table is old and ripped for example.

    The room was clean, the bed was super comfy, and the breakfast was among the best hotel breakfasts I've had in the Nordics. Pleased overall with our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not fully made up and only the bathroom was cleaned but our bed was not made, bins were not emptied and floor not cleaned, I did mentioned it to reception who advised me to send an email to her Manager ?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Specially the balcony rooms it has a good view

    I like the the location of Hotel specially it’s a very quiet and beautiful place I recommend to the families they shold visit this place once in his life

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fairly small and had no view. To get to the spa you have to walk through the restaurant - a very strange building layout.

    The setting of the hotel is beautiful with extensive views out to sea from the rear of the hotel. The building is elegant and spacious with large lounge areas and a pool table. The bathroom had a bath, which is a rare pleasure to find in hotels. The evening meal was of high quality, as was the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was full of mold and the bathroom smelled like sewer gas. There was no flat surface in the bathroom to put anything, toothbrush, toiletry kit, etc. The paint around the windows is all chipping and cracked.

    The view from the hotel and the surroundings are magnificent. The lounge area with billiard table was a real plus. The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness and building condition.

    Hotel has been badly maintained in the past. Now the new owners are trying to restore the hotel to "Grand" status. It will take time. It has the potential to be a great hotel in a few years time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not cleaned the next day. We pointed it out to the staff at the reception but unfortunately nothing happened.

    The reception upon arrival was polite and helpful. Small services were done immediately. The room interior pleased the eye; although old style it remembered of past glorious days. Charming! The food at the restaurant was excellent, one evening to remember. If you intend to book a table in advance, make sure you choose the table too. Otherwise, you end up where you don't want to sit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in room. This is a very romantic hotel and we booked this for our 10 year wedding anniversary and wrote this in our booking. They did not acknowledge this at all which was poor customer service. We booked a meal at Plyms for our anniversary meal and they really spoiled us.

    Gorgeous romantic setting only 30mins from Stockholm worth the trip out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities (pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna) were an additional charge of 250 SEK per adult and 110 SEK per child. This was not clearly advertised. The restaurant was adequate but did not represent good value for money.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, beside the water in a peaceful and pretty setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interesting to have the terrace only on the frontside of the hotel. When sunset, the frontside is in shadow.

    You can feel the history in the building. The food was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Include access to pool area in room pricing or at least offer to upgrade.

    Liked the view over the archipelago from my room. Immediate surroundings are excellent for a nice relaxing walks along the waterfront. Country side feel but still comfortably near the city and just a 20-25min car ride to city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit tired. Needs a lick of paint in places. But that sort of adds to the charm

    The location! Right on the waterfront with pictures in whatever direction you cared to look

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lower than 1 star hotel. Price is as u pay for 4 or 5 star hotel! Room is cold! Freezing although we tried to fix the heating element. Floors are slippery my gf fell! Full of children in spa and not a place to be. Not recommending this place to anyone even for children its dangerous due to the slippery floor on spa area! Not to mention the spa is far away from being in hotel name such as grand hotel

    Nothing, grand hotel should deny them from having their name!!! 2 star is too much to be rated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old elevators. There were 2, then one broke. Used the gorgeous grand staircase instead.

    Beautiful grand hotel. Our room was very clean, spacious with a very comfortable bed and quiet. The bathroom was small, typical of European hotels, but very clean. Breakfast was awesome! Although time has taken a toll on this early 1900's beauty, it's still charming and elegant. takes you back to a long by gone era.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool or spa was not included with was confusing Room temperature way too hot all though we tried to put it down it didn't work. Beds a little hard. Breakfast a little poor.

    Stunning location by the water, take a stroll around the small islands right out side if you get a chance Good food in the a la carte restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely amazing historical property in amazing location by the sea. 30 minutes from Stockholm city, but perfect for someone who appreciates peacefulness and beautiful surroundings. In the summer perfect for swimming, in the winter cozy and mysterious. After new owners there is clearly efforts made to improve. Great staff, excellent food in the restaurant that is open every day. Still a bit shabby chic in some parts, but for me this just gives the place more character. Big rooms and get a room with sea view, it is gorgeous.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating in room inadequate. No plug in basin.Could have done with tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Friendly welcome. Good cuisine in restaurant. Room comfortably furnished. Magnificent building.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super nice welcome from the woman in the reception, who gave us numerous choices when we asked if we could have a room at the second or third floor. Overall great customer service!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not prepared for the 3 of us at our late arrival. Broken glass in the corridor and poor condition of the floors on the balconies.

    The staff were flexible and managed to give us access to the second room one day earlier than booked. (due to that the first room was not prepared for 3 at arrival) The area is fantastic and the access to "Saltsjöbanan" made it easy to commute to the center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    No need to say that the location of the hotel is fascinating. Super helpful staff, managed to find an electric teapot on my request. Good air conditioner, great sea view. Though the furniture and bathroom equipment is a bit old, it still looks admirably. Couple of times I could here the neighbours, but it was really quiet in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A quiet place very near to the centre of Stockholm, just a 20 minutes drive away. Directly located on a small Marina in a beautiful nature. A traditional old but stylish hotel - a very comfortabel visit in the past - great staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, the bath difficult to get into. Not enough shelving to put your sponge bag etc on.

    The situation of the hotel, the furnishings, the different places to sit out on. I grew up in Saltsjöbaden had our wedding there 1959. Live in London since then

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prices of food in Sweden. This is a general comment and not particular to this hotel.

    Lovely room with great view. Breakfast was good quality with good choice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was not very knowledgeable on interesting places nearby It would be nice to see more Swedish dishes on the menu.

    Scenic location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drum machine playing in the bars

    Position, food, drink, breakfast, terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit worn out equipment that would deserve renovation.

    Nice resort on the shore with a perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a beautiful location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I like all

    All

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As returning customers we were upgraded to a superior room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room

    The staff were great and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPA is very small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Location, building, staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly , the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be better choices on the breakfast, such as eco friendly options.

    The location and the fact that the dog got his own bed and water cup.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust under furniture and on the carpet

    Lovely view, peaceful place, beautiful surroundings, spacious room. Really nice seafront bar with good menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs modernisation - and I believe that is planned

    Lovely atmosphere in exceptional location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast absolutely pathetic . No other proper Resturants

    location is great beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property needs restauration.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for those interested in yachting. The hotel has a nice historic atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa got very crowed at the weekend - couldn't use facilities.

    Great view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historic hotel that’s beginning to get the love it deserves. Is in a beautiful area near Stockholm with lots to do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent, "old style" hotel in beautiful surroundings. Excellent, fantastic restaurant with a great view of the inner archipelago

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variety in vegetarian food was almost nil. Should not charge for pool separately.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nice but needs updating, it is tired and dated.

    Location and views and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selection.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent in every way, could not ask for better.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is stunning, right at the beginning of the Archipelago. The bed was very comfortable. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location on at water

    very clean, see view from the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a good atmosphere. It has a timeless quality!! If you want to get married, Grand Hotel Saltsjöbaden gives you the opportunities!! Ken

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Beautiful location, very comfortable beds, spacious dining room, super friendly staff, lovely uncrowded spa.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small, far to the city , no shop to buy bus cards

    The location is nice with good view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Just 25 mins from Stockholm by train bit a very reasonable rate for staying in luxury. Gorgeous area. We stayed 3 days and highly recommend if you like traditional historic luxury. Great breakfast, nice area to walk and terrific relaxing public rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    heating broke down on first night although they gave us a portable heater. the room was a bit dusty. provided complimentary robes and slippers even if we weren't going to the spa. on one day, the cleaner didn't clean the coffee or refill the coffee pods. on the second day the steam room at the spa broke down.

    Setting by the water was beautiful which we could look out to from our mini sitting room. bed was very comfortable. nespresso machine. easily commutable from centralen. restaurant had good food and nicely bourjois french interiors

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    However hotel doesn't live up to the Grand Hotel name: overall quality just isn't high enough. Appliances in the bathroom and far from being new, or luxury antique for that matter, everything is scratched or damaged in some way. We had a twin room with sea view, so that view was really the highlight of our stay. Balcony door had a broken lock, so was difficult to open or close. No bathrobes or slippers in the room. The last drop, literally, was when I was taking a bath - the water didn't drain properly so the whole bathroom floor was totally covered in water. I did mention this issue when checking out but they didn't react at all - no apologizing, no explanation, as if it was normal. Really a pity, this hotel could be so much better, but the view just isn't enough to come back.

    Amazing surroundings - beautiful lake with breathtaking view,nature is amazing, and we could walk around just enjoying peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that the made simply forgot to make my room vanished any good feeling regarding this property.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was very cold all nights I spended in the castle.

    Nice place.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rest of the hotel is worn down

    I liked the spa area very nice ,

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: