Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Foresta 4 stars

Herserudsvägen, 181 25 Lidingö, Sweden

#4 of 8 hotels in Lidingö

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 427 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    A great week in Lidingo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a little tired decoration wise. There was no bottled water in the room or mini bar, you could only get filtered water down at reception. No muesli for breakfast and the porridge was warm.

    The hotel was clean, comfortable and suited our needs. Our twin bedded room was lovely and big. Some free fruit and cold filtered water at reception, where there was also a useful shop with snacks and toiletries. Good range of food for breakfast. The gym was small but the equipment was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would prefer some healthier bistro options in the evening Would have liked coffee/tea/water available in room

    Breakfast choice was great. Staff super friendly and wonderful with kids.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat and light shining through our window and no assistance in the first three days we were staying.

    To hot, we complained about the lack of air conditioning and were told you don’t have it in the hotel. The front desk sent a fan but new in a box at 11.30 pm. I tried assembly but didn’t have tools so the manager gave us a fan that worked, The noise was terrible. We needed to leave the windows open but the spot lights were on full directly shining Orange through our windows (24 hrs a day) I complained about this. We didn’t sleep for two nights, and had an hrs sleep in the third, finally were offered a room with air con on the final night. All in all a very unpleasant experience and came away needing rest, we have used the hotel before but are really disappointed with our stay this time and feel it was a waste of money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Explore Stockholm whilst enjoying the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had an issue with our bed, which had to be a double bed (not twin) as per booking. The receptionist could not take a decision as this was a Manager's responsibility, but there was no manager on the day. Fortunately we came up with the simple solution ourselves, of exchanging the beds between two rooms. However, there should always be a superior available to handle such situations and not left in the hands of a junior. Scandic Foresta is in a prime location and has potential, please do not let it rot away due to these little things.

    The breakfast was deliciously organised. The Tower restaurant is the best place to have your breakfast for an amazing view and a great start to the day. there is a cozy terrace where you can take a beer (or two) and enjoy the views in peace. The Hotel is conveniently located next to a bus stop which is only 1 stop away from the Ropsten Terminal (which goes down to city centre and old town, amongst others). a Coop market and a pharmacy are in the vicinity, so no hassle to stock up on any necessities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay at this hotel, something different from a typical city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location on Lidingo island perfect, city centre easy to reach in 20 min by bus + train. Spacious room with river/bridge view, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic views, very helpful staff...good location to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only evening meals available on some nights...perhaps it was because it was off peak season.

    The receptionist was extremely helpful and courteous......the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    View from room breath-taking.
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Narrow garage, with stairs to carry your suitcase up to the level of the lifts.

    View from room breath-taking. Good public transport nearby. Close to one of Stockholm's most interesting art museums. Nice restaurant on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location and easy links to Stockholm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and easy links to Stockholm. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a few little issues with room initially but the staff sorted the problems within the first day of our stay. Would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Very lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the room was very hot, and I couldn't find any way to alter this. The Windows can't open and there was no fan!

    The breakfast! And lovely, helpful and officiant staff. The room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    A nice hotel to go back to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a second door frame but unfortunately no second door, so you can hear all the noise in the corridor. Luckily the guests were quiet. However, the lobby and the breakfast room had revolting piped music all the time. Entertainment to make you go mad.

    An absolutely stunning room, very big and very clean with a grand view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Peaceful Lidingo - "The green Island"..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit worn. Tile from the floor were broken in several places..

    Great location, fantastic view over the Lidingo bridge and the Stockholm archipelago. Delicious breakfast. Bikes can be borrowed free of charge. I took the bike one early morning to Gronsta Garde about 3k from the hotel and ran the famous last 10k on the world's largest cross country race - Lidingoloppet. Something for those who like running and tough challenges. Big fun!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and hopefully will be back again.........We will be happy to recommend it.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed pillows were too small.....a minor point ..........

    We enjoyed the local views & scenery and the serenity......The choice of breakfasts was very good....Our room was very nice with great view of the bay......We had Dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first evening which was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.1
    location and neighbourhood
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room spider web in my room no cleaning of the room in 3 days

    location and neighbourhood bicycles for rent serveice friendly personnel the view in my room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice enough. Lovely staff. Juist needs an update
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dated and I didn't really like the thin (2") mattress, but that's just personal preference.

    Great food, albeit expensive, but that's Sweden for you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Very nice breakfast - fresh fruit, pretty much everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (We stayed in a family room with two twin beds and a a sofa bed.) The sofa bed was a bit wonky, the head part was lower than the rest.

    Very nice breakfast - fresh fruit, pretty much everything was organic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    3.3
    Buyer beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Completely understaffed. Extremely dirty, lots of leftover cups and wrappers on tables and floors, spilled food and drinks in the foyer, dirty windows, finger and hand prints everywhere. No attention from staff for dinner or drinks as there just were not enough of them to handle the guests.. so not their fault. Pretty view but location was too far to get into the city to enjoy a dinner elsewhere without a large taxi fee. I'm disappointed to have to pay such a high fee for a very below average hotel. The following night I paid less to stay in walking distance of old town, much cleaner place with nicer staff. So recommend to avoid this one.

    Breakfast buffet was good.. My room was very small but seemed clean enough compared to the public areas that were so dirty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, reasonable prices, great breakfast. Walking distance to train but up a significant hill coming back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    staff in restaurant and bar very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff in restaurant and bar very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    No air conditioner in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    No air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    bathroom floor could have been slippy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom floor could have been slippy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was OK.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of a minibar at the room, to soft beds, no floor mat in the bathroom.

    Breakfast was OK. The staff was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Very nice room with lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice room with lovely view.....Nice breakfasts .....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Beatles were at the hotel Foresta July 28 1964.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These were the best breakfasts with wonderful views of the marina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Up to expectations.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The orange juice was over-diluted. It was tasteless. No toaster for the bread.

    Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Great basics
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower: no place; Elevaror too comlicated (with two elevators up and also stairs); beds were too hard.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Close to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to city. The location and views very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Nice view from window, breakfest for every taste
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view from window, breakfest for every taste

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No self service laundry

    Quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Awesome stay at Scandic Foresta
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was excellent, with a great view!! Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    5.8
    Friendly personnel, only too few people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking just in front of the room windows.

    Friendly personnel, only too few people.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    Lovely, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for coffee! Buffet breakfast a little cold.

    Quiet location. Good transport links. Staff all helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They didn't have any map for Lidingö, only for Stockholm city.

    Very good breakfast. Pleasant neighborhood for walks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.5
    Very nice breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There were no sheets or towels for the extra bed/guest when we arrived. One of the sheets that was then delivered was wet and not ironed.

    Very nice breakfast buffet. Good variety.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    It is a nice hotel, you can book a bigger room with a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room would need some refurbishment. Walls are not very clean.

    It is a nice hotel, you can book a bigger room with a very nice view if you upgrade to a family room. The location is good if you want to stay in the residential Lidingo. You can get relatively easily to town by taking the bus for one stop and then travelling by metro. The staff is very helpful. I was 30 minutes late for breakfast and they still allowed me to have it without putting pressure on me.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.3
    Very helpful staff and child friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Glass blocks in the bathrooms an didn't like the coffee in the breakfast room

    Very helpful staff and child friendly hotel. The coffee machine in reception was great

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    7.9
    Good location out of city, great breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Twin room and single beds rather small.

    Good location out of city, great breakfast buffet. Good sized room (superior), a bit cold but extra duvets available. Staff all helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    5.4
    VERY VERY small shower, staff doesnt seem to enjoy working...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    VERY VERY small shower, staff doesnt seem to enjoy working here, from 8th to 6th Floor signposted unclear and door was locked ( in case of emergency absoltely very undesirable)

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.9
    Great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Over priced for location and facilities, I always resent when hotels double prices when there is a conference on,especially when I am booking at last minute and they have rooms

    Great staff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.1
    Excellent views from room and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were given room, with no elevator to. No help with luggage was given without asking for it. We had lot of stuff and child carriage.

    Excellent views from room and restaurant. Good selection in restaurant and good quality.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Provision of portable fan great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very uncomfortable bed, but took off the top mattress and slept on the base with the mattress protector and it worked fine!

    Provision of portable fan great. Design of the room terrific.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    View from decking where you can eat and drink was stunning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No baths so was difficult to wash my 1 yr old. Rooms were not cleaned to my satisfaction. Window in family room was almost to the floor .... Within climbing distance of my one ur old and fully opened into the room with no safety catch..... At least 4floors up..... Major safety risk especially in a family room. The location was beautiful just not a lot in the area to do. Very limited eating options if you are out of set meal times.

    View from decking where you can eat and drink was stunning ..... Reception staff were very helpful and accommodating ..... Breakfast was plentiful and delicious! Family room was spacious and comfortable with most nececisities. Wifi was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel really need reconstruction. A lot of scratches on all walls and furniture. Everything looks really old. No refrigerator in rooms. IMHO - Really overpriced

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we were staying over Easter the restaurant was closed and only the Easter Buffet was available. It was an excellent buffet but we would gave appreciated more choice. Many local restaurants were also closed over Easter so nipping out to eat wasn't straightforward.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Good sized, comfortable rooms. Bus stop right outside making city travel easy and convenient.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    8.8
    A very good hotel in a beautiful location (between sea and...
    • Solo traveller

    Millesgarden should feature on the list of attractions. Didn't see anything of the beautiful old hotel

    A very good hotel in a beautiful location (between sea and Millesgarden)

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    The Staff was very helpful and friendly in all matters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We got snowed in and arrived 2 days later due to the flight trying to find seats for a family of 5. Because we booked over Booking.com, the Hotel was not able to refund the 2 days! We paid in advance and still stayed there.

    The Staff was very helpful and friendly in all matters. Rooms were big and very clean. Quiet Good buffet Close to city transportations

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.1
    Quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is closed too early. Problems with the keys to room.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.1
    For the business purpose, the location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and pillows were not quite to my liking.

    For the business purpose, the location was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    10
    Nice and quiet hotel.
    • Couple

    Nice and quiet hotel. Big bonus was that our dog was warmly welcomed- water bowl and pled for dog was ready upon our arrival :) Enjoyed our stay 100%

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel in good location.
    • Couple

    Nice hotel in good location.Friendly and helpful personnel.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    5.0
    beds, toilet, space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    cleaning, broken equipment not changed in 3 days, coffeemachine, not worth the name suite

    beds, toilet, space

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    5.8
    Location, view from breakfast room and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A pretty worn down hotel which hasn't been updated for quite some time.

    Location, view from breakfast room and quite.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.5
    I asked for a electric kettle,and it was delivered until the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I asked for a electric kettle,and it was delivered until the last day before I left.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    beautiful Location, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    worn out towels

    beautiful Location, spacious room great sunset can be seen on beds

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.0
    Staff at the front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Toilets smells and the beds for all the rooms we got were old

    Staff at the front desk

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.5
    Surrounding views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All good!

    Surrounding views Staff friendly and helpful Safe underground parking Bistro and menu

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: