Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Gamla Stan 4 stars

Lilla Nygatan 25, Gamla stan, 111 28 Stockholm, Sweden

#90 of 144 hotels in Stockholm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 694 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed Stockholm and the hotel. It's a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was all fine

    When we are in Stockholm we always choose this hotel. It is quite expensive but for the location and the friendly staff it is well worth it. I probably could have rated it 10/10 but I wanted to provide careful considered answers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Stefan on reception was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Some staff members could be abrupt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too small and very uncomfortable. The matresses dipped In the centre causing you to roll. Breakfast average.

    Location to the old town and Metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Clean an nice location. Small and noisy rooms on 1 st floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To small room on 1st floor, and situated beside storage delivery room, with trucks and noise from goods delivery. No view at all and no reduction in price.

    Helpful and smiling staff Clean rooms Good breakfast Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location - awesome breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's in the heart of Stockholm, so the area might be loud in the evening or nights on the weekend. For us no problem :)

    Perfect location for a city trip in stockholm. Friendly staff and the breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    The room was relatively clean and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was relatively clean and nice. We found a contact lens on the floor but it's clear so in my mind you can't really expect people to notice it, nothing serious. The breakfast was amazing! Probably the best I've ever seen for people who have any intolerance. Service was very friendly and good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a queen size bed, but got two singles that I wasn’t able to join properly. So that sort of ruined that but otherwise the room was good. I guess they were fully booked.

    Excellent breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    A very good location in Stockholm
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just perfect

    Perfect location in the heart of the Old Town. Close to many attractions and walking distance from the central railway station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your employee Stephen was not very good at his job and was rude on our initial bookin did not believe my booking was for 2 and argued with me even though I have proof on my iPad with my name and my wife's name he even took 800sek from my c/card without my knowledge or authorisation , not a very good advert for Scandic.All other staff were great I would suggest Stephen work alongside them and learn how to treat customers, the young Polish bloke at reception was excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous location in Gamla Stan surrounded by so many cafes...
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny but it was comfortable.

    Fabulous location in Gamla Stan surrounded by so many cafes and restaurants. Easy to walk to main tourist attractions and hop on hop off bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Old world charm with modern conveniences in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A refurbished hotel in a great location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's old city. Rooms and building retain their old world charm, with modern clean bathrooms. Complimentary breakfast is good quality, if a little busy on weekends and served in a room without windows!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    I was originally booked into Room 123, right at street level.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was originally booked into Room 123, right at street level. As the street noise finally diminished, set up noise from the breakfast room across the hall started up. I was able to move when another room opened up--thanks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Location of the hotel was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior of the rooms are a bit shabby and sparse, no underfloor heating in the bathrooms, and no tea and coffee facility in the room

    Location of the hotel was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    A nice little hotel on Gamla Stan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife was bothered by noise at night, with windows open.

    Location on gamla stan is excellent. Breakfast offering was one of the best we've ever seen. Room was a little small by American standards, but typical for large European cities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Hotel location is perfect for access to the old town, & is clean with helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite small, but not a big issue

    The location was excellent for access to the old town The breakfasts were really good, with a wide variety to choose from. The Staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel was very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    We liked the ambiance and staff was very accommodating! It suited our needs perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our first room was facing the street and the noise from the street from people leaving the bars at night was disturbing. The hotel did change our room later and we were very pleased with it.

    Breakfast was excellent! Very charming hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Choice in Gamla Stan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was very little storage space in our rooms and we stayed 6 nights, so we dressed out of our suitcases and piles of folded clothes by the bed. There is hanging space, just not much, and only a few shelves. Also, understand where you are staying - Gamla Stan is packed with restaurants and bars that cater to locals and tourists. If you're a light sleeper like me and leave the windows open, you'll hear occasional conversations/faint music/bursts of shouting all night, plus traffic/motorbikes on the main road. If we could change one thing, we would have packed our white noise machines to get better sleep. That would have solved the problem and kept us sleeping in the beautiful night air. One night we did close the windows and it was much quieter!

    Location is amazing - I wanted to stay only in Gamla Stan (old town) so we could be just steps from history, charm, shopping and restaurants. Our first night, we were exhausted but needed food, so we stumbled into the first place we found; just three doors down there was a small beer house and we had a fantastic Swedish meal. Every great meal we had was just a few minutes' walk down gorgeous cobblestone streets. The district is dripping with history. The Scandic is at the edge of the district but one street from the river, which is important for sightseeing. I have three teenaged children, so we each want a separate bed - the double twin rooms were perfect for us and the rate was excellent. The beds were very comfortable, soft and clean. The summer weather in Stockholm is beautiful, so we were able to keep our windows open all night (no bugs either). The bathrooms were small, but had everything we needed. The free breakfast was delicious, with many high-quality choices, and runs until 10:30 (great for late sleepers like us). The front desk staff were very helpful and polite. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Old Town stay with great breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room (and bathroom) quite small, and got quite hot during a warm spell. The surrounding area is busy until the early hours, so there can be some noise, but that's a result of the good central location. It's an old building, which brings some constraints, and could do with updating in places. There is no bar or restaurant in the hotel, if this is important to you, but plenty of facilities nearby. A small shop in reception, but they can't take cash.

    Good location in the Old Town - Gamla Stan, close to sights and many restaurants and bars nearby. Breakfast buffet is very good, included in the price - though the breakfast room can get very crowded at peak times. Wifi is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.8
    Great Staff and Location, terrible room and no facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was absolutely tiny for a double (bed more like large single). No wardrobe, chest of drawers, room safe etc. etc. No facilities to speak of (Hotel Bar etc.) Room was very noisy as overlooked loading bay alley.

    Staff and Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic would thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    The staff were brilliant. Very helpful when our luggage did not turn up at the airport. They couldn't have done more to help us. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel anywhere in the world.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Great Breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were outstanding, and set us up for lunch as well. This made up for the room which was on the ground floor and on the street with little privacy from people on the street outside. The room was small, but hey, this is Gamla Stan, so to be expected. The bathroom was very well designed, I really liked it. The decor is old Swedish style, which is what you want in Gamla Stan. There was some noise on Thursday from a nearby Bar, but otherwise it was OK for a city hotel. This was my 4th visit to Sweden and 2nd to Stockholm. I remembered Gamla Stan as being an interesting area, from my first visit, and found my choice to stay there was justified. This hotel is very handy to the metro and ferries. A 72 hour pass did us for both, as well as for the trams we took in areas further away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Moderately priced hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds connected together with no separation space between them.

    Great location, excellent breakfast with lots of options. The room was so clean, even the crystal wall scones were free of dust. Good quality Swedish made toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location and breakfast. Don't take your car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more help finding reasonable parking.

    Excellent location and breakfast. Awesome shower. Room and elevator very very small. No parking close by. More than $40 US/day for outside parking. Loud at night but sound app on iPad helped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Good Location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a certain taxi company and the desk called another, saying it was less expensive, it never came. We asked for the requested taxi company again and it came immediately.

    Location was good for public transportation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    2 days in Stockholm with my daughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction at the new bus station was audible sometimes.

    The location was excellent very close to some good tourist shopping streets and the water. A very short walk from public transport. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. There is a 1st floor and a rooftop sitting area but it's nice if you want to chill out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Staying in the heart of the old town in Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Holes in a bed sheet aren't very appealing, our room was to tiny for two people with luggage, it might okay if you stay only over a weekend with a little luggage, but not if you are on the go for 6 weeks with two people.

    Location was great right in the heart of the old town, breakfast was great. Internet connection was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel for Stockholm exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a minor point but tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice. You could get them in the lobby shop for a charge.

    The 3 things I usually look for in a hotel are a central location, a good breakfast and a comfortable room and the Scandic Gamla Stan scored highly in all these areas. In fact breakfast was very very good. Modern bathroom. Very close to main dining and shopping streets and to the T-bana (metro line) Also the hotel has a lift which is sometimes missing in historic buildings. And a lobby shop for essentials and food/snacks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Just right for a first visit to Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Limited facilities might detract for some, but suited us fine.

    Small friendly hotel in excellent, central, old town location. Good breakfasts, helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small rooms and cramped bath rooms. Too noisy from the streets to sleep with open windows.

    Fantastic location right in the middle of the old town with shops and restaurants in walking distance. Underground station very close by. Very convenient with children. Great breakfast buffet. Friendly staff esp. lady in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.6
    I booked it as a twin bed room - when we arrived it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked it as a twin bed room - when we arrived it was a very small double bed - the room was very small - they had to put a Z bed in the room and to fit it in they had to take the chair out of the room. we paid a lot of money for the room other guest who I spoke to paid a lot less and had far better rooms. We tried to move to another Scandic hotel (which had rooms available) and we were told we would have to pay again, as our booking was not transferable. the whole thing was very disappointing. Steve Watts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Right in the heart of the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We like to sleep with the window open, so it was a bit noisy when the bars and restaurants closed.

    This hotel is situated in the old part of town, Gamla Stan and therefore handy for the Royal Palace and the Cathedral. Close to Tunnelbana, Hop on and Hop off Ferries and Buses, so no problem getting around from here. It is a 17th century building so therefore the floors and walls are a bit uneven, but to us it adds to the charm. We had a comfortable bed and there was a wonderful breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, but you will pay for it
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it were more wallet friendly.

    Very good location to explore the city. The room was clean and comfortable, may need to be updated though. The staff was very polite and helpful. Accommodation is very expensive in Stockholm and Scandic was no exception, unfortunately. Great breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Great little gem in Gamla Stan
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was far too soft.

    The breakfast was AMAZING. Fantastic huge spread and selection. We loved that. Location is spot on also. Easy to walk everywhere and to central station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient location in old town, within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Very convenient location in old town, within walking distance to many attractions. Breakfast was delicious with lot of choice for every taste. Kind stuff, especially lady in breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Reception staff VERY welcoming and efficient.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is not too plentiful

    Reception staff VERY welcoming and efficient. The location in the middle of old stockholm is totally charming and also very close to the ferry terminal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Ideal location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service, no tea or coffee in room, room was old and in need of decoration,

    Breakfast was excellent , staff were very nice , TV was a good size, great restaurants nearby,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    The laidy in the restaurant was very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The softboiled eggs where not pealable. The where simply not cooked. We had to wait to eat breakfast since there was not enough tables in the restaurant. There closet lacked shelves to put t-shirts etc on. There was no beverages in the minibar which was odd for a four star hotel.

    The laidy in the restaurant was very welcoming. Cool with the little shop in the reception area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    Very nice location - in the center of Gamla Stan - old town...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price, comparing with other European capitals - very high.

    Very nice location - in the center of Gamla Stan - old town in Stockholm. Very quiet place, small but nice room, very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.5
    - perfect location in the old town district, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -it's has the feel of a small inner-city hotel rather than a large luxury hotel. there is no lobby and the corridors are rather small, which is very cosy but can be bothersome if you have mobility issues - every room is different, ours was nicely decorated but had no shelves, and laminate on the floor instead of hardwood. - there is a sauna that you can book in advance, but don't expect an entire wellness centre. - price is ok for the center of stockholm i guess, but it's still a lot of money.

    - perfect location in the old town district, close to the subway station, bus station and boat station. - old building with lots of atmosphere, our room was not so large but nicely decorated with some antiques. - small, but beautiful, immaculate and very practical bathroom - large and complete breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay and a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could not fault this hotel for the price and service they provide.

    Excellent value for money with very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Perfect location and a consistently good buffet breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are abit on the small side but cosy and its because this is an old Swedish building

    Great breakfast and great location, particularly for old town and metro. Old Swedish building and atmospheric. Someone always on reception and willing to help.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Not bad overall........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor was a bit shabby in places, the en-suite facilities a bit cramped, and the entrance steps were awkward to negotiate.

    The excellent location at the southern edge of Gamla Stan would be hard to better. Our room had one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in, in any hotel. The breakfast choice was first class, and really set you up for a day walking in the old town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Old town charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little wrong. Generally very quiet - no traffic noise at all - but some noise from the streets could filter through if you're on a lower level (on Friday / Saturday nights). Otherwise, lovely.

    Excellent location in one of the most beautiful parts of town. Quaint room - small but characterful, very clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent and incredibly helpful, and we felt very at home there. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was THE BEST!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really think of anything

    Breakfast (which is really important to us) was spectacular: fresh bread baked daily, cheese/meat, yogurt, fruit, hot food selection, and lots more. Very wide selection. Even a gluten free table with a dedicated toaster off to the side. Comfortable breakfast room. And...front desk staff was super helpfu throughout our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.0
    Scenic Stockholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not quite friendly to the elderly as it had several steps before reaching the lift. The entrance door is quite small. The rooms were cramped. It was quite expensive for the price.

    Superb breakfast. The lady at the cafe was very friendly and hospitable. Location was accessible to most of the tourist spots at Old Town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Super Scandic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    superb breakfast, something for everyone and fresh!!!! bedroom smallish but to be expected in an old building in the middle of Gamla Stan. Great location!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff need to learn to smile and improve their customer service. First impressions were poor and the service didn't improve during our stay.

    Great location and nice, old style Swedish decor. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Breakfast is excellent with a nice selection of food to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very accommodating - Shirin, Magnus and Heinrich. The breakfast was delightful. Our room was charming. The location in the old part of the city was excellent with easy access to city sights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Gamla Stan at your door- and don't miss the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were right on the alleyway, and with the windows open it was quite noisy (people late at night, service trucks early in the morning. A bit expensive, but worth the cost.

    Very clean room. Excellent breakfast- the variety was superb, food was fresh, and it typical Swedish fare. The woman setting up the food was very pleasant. The location couldn't have been better. Gamla Stan is really the hub of Stockholm, and everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The safe deposit box was accessible without needing to bother staff. We also liked the very modern bathroom with the clear plexiglass shower and the warming rack for towels. We would definitely stay again. The free Swedish newspapers were a nice thought- I wish there had been an international English one however.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small but not surprising given age of building. Bit overwarm. No kettle in room but hot water dispenser in lobby.

    Excellent location in old town close to masses of restaurants and easy walk to main sights. Excellent breakfast. Bed v comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.8
    great location, carpet at front desk worse than threadbare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    woken up at 1am by telephone front office for no good reason and then our welcome message on the TV turned on. So we had to turn on lights and find remote to turn TV off. Fawlty Towers?

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    sweet and homey place to stay with no problems whatsoever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a little cramped, but that's ok for old town!

    sweet and homey place to stay with no problems whatsoever. location is great - sort of on the edge-ish of the old city, which you can walk across in 15 minutes (so a perfect spot - you wouldn't necessarily be right in the middle). the staff asked us if it wasn't too noisy - yeah, there were some street sounds, but we grew up in NYC and didn't notice! the beds were comfy and the atmosphere very sweet. fantastic breakfast buffet included in room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    Decent hotel in the heart of Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Service was neither here nor there, but doesn't matter because we didn't need to interact with the staff other than to pay, pick up the key, and then drop off the key at the end.

    I have no real issues with this property - solid 3 star hotel in a perfect location in Stockholm's old town. We barely spent time in the room so it was absolutely fine for what we needed. It was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. Breakfast was included but we didn't eat it, instead opting to try a few places nearby (coffee is invariably going to be better out of the hotel).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.4
    very noisy and hot room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny it was also one the ground floor right by reception. It was so noisy with guests coming back at all hours that we couldn't sleep. There was no air conditioning or fan, and being on the ground floor we couldn't open the window. So we basically spent the night lying wide awake in a tiny hot noisy room.

    Great breakfast including a good range of dairy free and gluten free items.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Great location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Centrally located in Gamla Stan, this Scandic Hotel is perfect for seeing sights all over the city. The rooms, though somewhat small, retain an old world charm (though the bathrooms are thoroughly modern and clean). The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great location. Request a room away from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, it say noisy location on the weekends. Our room faced the terrace so we couldn't open our curtain.

    The staff was very helpful. It's in an excellent location and is very cute! The breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Gem in Gamla Stan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy with our window open. We had to open the window because of no AC.

    Breakfast was fantastic; a great selection and helpful staff. The location was top notch.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.3
    Quiet if windows closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in-room safe.

    Quiet if windows closed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and breakfast was great and staff was even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little loud but expected with this location so no problem

    Great location and breakfast was great and staff was even better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Wi Fi, breakfast, position, staff, ambient and style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi Fi, breakfast, position, staff, ambient and style

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, so windows open no peace

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location in the hart of the city close to a subway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location in the hart of the city close to a subway station. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Would highly recommend for great location and friendliness.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. No fan or Ac.

    Location. Nice bathroom for old hotel. Elevator. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Quiet area, lots of selection for breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get wifi working on my laptop (although I didn't ask for assistance).

    Quiet area, lots of selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent. Central and silent. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Would absolutely stay again! Centrally located, wonderful facilities and features, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bedding, decor, and coziness!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Absolute gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute gem

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was fabulous. The room was nice and quiet! Loved the staff. Nothing bad to say!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location yet quiet. Breakfast kept us going till lunch. Warm comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast. Lots of choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    The location was excellent. The staff were friendly. The room was compact but adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Mycket bra läge i Gamla Stan.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mycket bra läge i Gamla Stan.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    In tha center of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly & helpful staff, very comfortable room, great breakfast selection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but comfortable, and perfect location just in the old town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    A very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good breakfast. A very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Gamla Stan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: